Residents in Benin kingdom advised not to cook with fire on Sunday 5th June | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 June 2016

Residents in Benin kingdom advised not to cook with fire on Sunday 5th June

A press statement signed & released by Secretary to the Benin Traditional Council, Mr. Frank Irabor, has advised Benin kingdom residents not to cook with fire on Sunday - the day of Igberimwin in the royal funeral rites programme.

According to the statement, cooking without fire is in accordance with Benin customs & tradition and is part of activities for the continuation of the 15 days funeral rites of late Benin Monarch, Oba Erediauwa.

72 comments:

Would like to know what will happen should one cook with fire.

So what should they cook with other than fire? Just state it clearly that they should not eat on that day

I'm surprised dat deir rites were not as restricting as ours in Ife

TESSY YOU said...

Huh??!!

😞😞

This is a joke right??? What will they cook with if they don't cook with fire?? They should just tell them not to eat

So ppl no go chop

Wonders they say shall never end but continue.
Well there is no different between Benin and yorubas Benin get alhajies yoruba get ma they get Islam yorubas get am the get imbecilic governor yorubas get am they now get WITCHES AND WIZARDS YORUBAS GET AM WHAT AGAIN?
PLEASE THEY WOULD HAVE TELL BOYS AND GIRLS NOT TO FUNK BECAUSE NA THEM KILL THE KING.
EVEN IN THIS 21 CENTURY NA WAH OH.
GUYS MAKE UNA COOK AM WELL I DONT MIND SENDING UNA GAS OR KEROSENE IF UNA DONT HAVE make i see how heaven go fall.

Let them use ice block to cook instead.

baba said...

For what

Okay oo... #Lindatakenote

ella-b said...

That means all food prepared on that day can be done electrically, if Nepa go gree.

Pls are they supposed to cook with microwave because that is the closest substitute

Hmm wat are they going to cook wit or u guys don't want them to eat something on dat day

Say wetin happen.

**************************Are u fucking kidding me ????????????pipo are still dix backward ????????????? What will dey cooking do to d dead ????????????????? Burn him in d other world ??????????????????? Nnaa eeer !!!!!!!!!!!!

Abeg wetin go happen?
😕😕😕😕😕😕😕

Should not cook with fire more like don't eat dat day.. I never Fast to my Almighty God finish na 4 Man. I wish iwas in school ryt now wud soo cook.. All dez dia yeye practices

Aproko Queen said...

What are we going to cook with? Air or water?

Tradition oh!

THEIR CULTURE,THEIR HERITAGE,THEIR PRIDE,RESPECT THAT!

Na to chop bread ,sardine, fried stew dat dosnt need warming .Garri and sugar , cereal ,eko/ agidi with milk etc or use kettle cook indomie

Hmm!

I am Coonett

Rita said...

Na who go now wetin i dey do for my kitchen?
I go cook well, well.

U got it right.

You are just a fool,idiot

hianye yeye superstition

Hmmmmm

No b edo state again? People are flying inside sardine tin and u think say na to cook without fire go hard them? Yimu

So they should just bring out their food to the sun for Solar cooking abi? LMAO!
Embrace Jesus my pple.

Fire will burn them-very fetish people-Go to Church in the morning&at night worship their idol.

Hian!!

Damn, I wish everybody had a brain.

princessi lee said...

Lol can't wait to see what would happen to those who cook with fire

princessi lee said...

Femimexican said...

Bunch of insane & selfish pple. This their culture is outdated abeg.

Fallacy

All dis devilish customs r meant for non Christians and I don't advice to all dis trash of devilish customs.

Naija and tradition...changE my plans of going to bini dis weekend...nt redy to fast nw...#onMYway...

Hot plate will do if Phcn go gree
#nobesmallthing

bibi said...

Hahahaha, you forgot cabin biscuit and milk, coke and bread

I'll advise you use boiling ring if there is light....lol.

Sky said...

You can imagine

I think they mean cooking with open fire. I.e firewood

So what should dey cook with??? Linda take note!

Rozay said...

So are people supposed to starve then? Lol

What kind of diabolic culture is this one?

Lolzzzzzxx😂😂😂😂😂

Crap. Kindly keep your superstitious beliefs to yourself and stop telling others what to do in their own homes. There is no tradition or culture great than God Almighty because Jesus Christ is Lord! Fire of the Holy Spirit take control.

You can find out naa by cooking with fire on that day. Simple

Please slaveborn stop this your grammatical bombs. Spend the time you waste on cyber bullying to improve yourself academically. Haba stop murdering the English language

Can they warm food with microwave or use electric grill to cook their food? If microwave is allowed then they can use it to cook noodles like indomie. Cook a day before and microwave your food but that is if you have electricity or generator since most people are living in darkness.

These pple again!!! After blocking road to d palace today and making one go tru long journey. .....
Now is don't cook with fire.
So what shud be use to cook?
Electric cooker? With which light?
Or na to eat sandine and bread all day.

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB

Oil money said...

I live in Benin. And I am a Christian, I'm going to cook with fire for sure. I just tire for all dis kind fetish abeg

pbaby said...

Can't stop laughing. Funny comments #lol cook indomie wit kettle

I beg.

Does dis make sense to u as well?... dee

Indirectly telling them to do Fasting for the dead. Uchugbakwaa

So they should cook with water or ice

Maybe electric cooker aka hot plate

Savage custom.with all the churches in Benin shouldn't folks blatantly kick against this nonsense? The man could be in hell for Gods sake.

Admin said...

YeYe Dey Smell

ngfineface said...

So what should they cook with? Gas, stove, firewood all comes with fire. Stupid fetish people and their tradition

Bella said...

nnaaa eeehhhn na hia u go fear fear wetin them want chop as e bi say them no go make fire? if to say I dey that place I go cook make d oba no go rest him wey don die? abegiii

Hahahahahaha
I believe U die..
Dem dey even fly for groundnut back sef...
Edo Una try ooo..

Lol Na U Biko my sister hahaha

Hahahahahaha
I believe U die..
Dem dey even fly for groundnut back sef...
Edo Una try ooo..