Handle Niger-Delta issue using the stick and carrot approach - Atiku appeals to FG | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 31 May 2016

Handle Niger-Delta issue using the stick and carrot approach - Atiku appeals to FG

Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar has appealed to the Federal Government to apply the stick and carrot approach to solve the issues surrounding militant activities in the Niger Delta region. Atiku made the appeal while speaking at the launch of a book titled "We Are All Biafrans’’ written by Chido Onumah‎ today May 31st.

“I think the Niger Delta should be handled with a stick and carrot approach. In 2007, before I ran for president, I met with various stakeholders on the Niger Delta issue and they came up with a policy. Part of the recommendations was that the ministry be moved to the Niger Delta and not Abuja. We have had administrations that did not do their homework on the Niger Delta. If I had won, I would have sold 10 per cent shares in the NNPC; that will give me 20 billion dollars which would build infrastructure for the Niger delta but we will always end up with accidental leadership. Bring peace and development to the Niger Delta then they will stop blowing up pipelines. Then, we will get gas and then power can be stable but until then, we will not get it.’’he said.

66 comments:

Stick and carrot.. Ok o!!! Hope that clueless man understands what u mean.. Issoright!!!

Stick and carrot approach.. Ok o!!! Hope that clueless man understands what u mean.. Issoright!!!

Na una sabi...

OMG..SEE WHAT NIKI MINAJ IS DOING IN A SWIMMING POOL

What infrastructure has your INTELS provided there despite the billions it has made from their land sir?

Adviser, who begged u

Meaning??

javar10 said...

Naso adviser, make sure u give vacate workers 4rm ur oil bloc in de creek or u will be surprise.

Odiegwu what other approach do they want.
Ministry of Niger delta,
NDDC
PTDF
Amnesty
Highest allocation from FG
Interventions from oil companies.

What else do they want,the truth is that responsible ones among them went to school on scholarships and are now doing well for themselves, while some are looking for easy wealth.
During GEJ they lived like kings in Abuja.

isaiahokoduwa said...

Atiku just making common sense

Story.
And am sure this ur hypocrite meaningless advice is one of the thing that keep Nigeria backward.
Why will this fool call this traitor in LUNCHING BIAFRA BOOKS? IBOS ARE PROBLEM TO THEM SELFS SHAME TO HIM THAT INVITED ATIKU.

neo said...

Ok.well said.

Thank u for your honesty, simple and straight. some of your friends recommend fire for fire while some say kill them all and dont negotiate.

Why dont you tell this to your brother?

abi, you guys dont have meetings where you tafia human beings?

and give back all the oil blocks the north has confiscated for decades. period!

True!

It is well! Linda take note!

If we can have leaders who who are God fearing,with wisdom,who have the interest of the people at heart,believe me I will tell you that nigeria has no problem at all and if the resources gotten in the Niger delta region is carefully manage,we all no matter what part of Nigeria you come from will all leave like kings and Queens

Atiku u wil live long

BLISS said...

Exactly. You released warships and fighter jets on people that have successfully taken down many pipelines without killing a soul but will I able to say same when this military start. Just be careful president general. One Nigeria #lindaobserve!!!

Citiindex said...

Una don start, this same stick and carrot Wey cause fight between obj and gej

true talk, but easier said than done. No be so them promise us change. If u had won. Only if.

Your makin some sense Sir

That's why ur lame as didn't win. Let them keep vandalising the pipelines u don't care as u stole enough of Nigeria money to last u and 20 generations to come. So the only people that will suffer from all this foolishness by ur militants is the poor innocent masses.

Ehen!! Those that have oil wells are begining to speak up bcos they know they will be affected in no distant time.
Signed
#LibBadBoy

jamal cojo said...

Very funny...you wah use stick and carrot approach for peeps way spend there whole life 4 creek...na gun and bullet approach dem go use for u!

U are right atiku,but this Hausa Fulani man will not agree,he is trying to take us back to 1984,all he knows is kill am kill am..aboki

Well constructed. That's a win-win situation. Tell them. We don't need an autocratic dictator. We don't get everything by force oooh! Linda communicate to mallam buhari please.

Ehn?Atiku, now I will vote for you.

God will deliver us o

Mumu talk from a corrupt fuck with selfish plan of ruling this Country someday.

Promise and fail is a sin ooooo Oga Atiku. 2019 shey you will come and contest again?same self old story of self justification. When you where. Vp why didn't you advice the presido them? Story for the gods.

I hope they will listen to you.because they know all.hence they never listen to good advice

Atiku makes alot of sense on how best to deal with the Niger-Delta challenges. QED@atm

You re a big fool... Waiting for Linda's gifts

How many was given scholarship? You pick a few and say, you have given them scholarship! Please research well before you comment here!

GLOWREEYAH said...

Mr adviser Easier said than done.

EFCC awaits you courtesy of APC and Buhaha....you're welcome tho!

Genny's Blog said...

Politics issue every time,let them go n rest abeg.

says,Genevieve.

Chei! In Dija's voice! Oya take a kiss! Abubakar just said it all. I hope our president sees this.

LIB addiCT#just passing#

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 08151626086 PLEASE BE MATURED >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Really

Well

Truthfully Atiku is corrupt like all other politicians, I have said that in all the politician we have he is still like the best option he is smart enough and knows how to grease the right palm for progress. We dont need a total strong headed or weak leader, we need smart people. Kill the right people when the time is right, bribe the rest, imprison some, without compromise we cant move forward. ATIKU, IBB they are both the right ones out of the heavy weight I can see today.. SMART I REPEAT. GEJ N GMB not smart.Think out of the box Nigerians

He's so on point...

I S OMOYA said...

The carrot is development and cleaning up the polution, the stick is whip them to be law abiding, the President is doing that already. I dont See the morals in Atiku leading us. Buhari is Not there by accident, He had Plans and can be trusted Not to betrat himself.

This is pure campaign speech. Atiku is just preparing for 2019. If he ever gets there he won't do any better. #selfishOilblocker.

The fool was only concerned with his Oil blucks investment in Niger delta. Hypocrisy of the highest order!

I think Pa BuhRi deserves to taste d same BH propaganda ...this time d Avengers hv come and ur Almighty army can't do a thang ..they promised during election to make BH look like child's play...Hausa militants r learners ..now baba won't enjoy his 4yrs like he promised GEJ in 201 except he issues public apology which the Avengers can choose to accept or reject still....go and kill urself

You are the biggest idiot on this blog!A mallam claiming to be Igbo or whatever! Is your father and your mother that lived in Abuja like kings!I live in the US currently! Most of adult years has been split between the UK,Nja and the US! So stop coming here to display your high level stupidity and crass behaviour! My 1st and last commenting on LIB,as I am disappointed in her allowing idiots like you to have a voice on her blog! You and your lineage are all bastards!

Atiku is on it again; 2019 on the play

Atiku what sense does it make moving the Niger Delta ministry from Abuja to Niger Delta areas.Ain't all our Federal units supposed to operate from Abuja as our headquarters. Just look for better ways to protect your interest & keep your political interest aloof until when Nigerians will decide to go back to Egypt by voting corruptly enriched persons.

Noted

lovina said...

Lol shame at bonario for ur statement don't say things based on sentiment and ear say they re actually suppose to b the richest Nigerians pls Nigerians Andd other 35 stats keep taking for this state what do dey give in return? And all these names u mentioned of what dey ve or done for them are they d ones benefiting from them? Hmmmmmm

Na only ur head dey dis Mata! God bless u! Ndi ala gba oto! Blow dem oil blocs jor!

What is the amnesty programme about? Was it not stick and carrot approach? Yet, what is happening now? Bomberdment of oil fields and installation accompanied by further boastful threat of more vandalisation. This is no time for politics.

Hmmmmm, whatever

Ptdf. YOU GO SCHOOL AT ALL? ANYONE WITH INTERNET ACCESS CAN SIT IN HIS CUBICLE AND TYPE NONSENSE

That is why Atiku is marketing himself as a problem solver and getting involved in community issues. He wants votes come 2019. This man cannot be trusted!

Atiku is just canvassing for 2019 election. Don't mind him, he is only interested in becoming president, he does not care about the people.

May God not give you porus brain like he gave bonario

And now the Hausa/Fulani young men are now living like kings! Heck they've got you even denouncing ur tribe and dressing like them. It's turn by turn boy, the question is when will it be ur tribe's(Ibo) turn?? Sycophant.

Bonario, you speak like an ignorant illiterate.

People will never believe that Atiku will make a good President. I am an Atiku supporter anyday anytime. Hope he contests for 2019.

ATIKU ur so on point! Double twalee for u sir!!!! FG simply develop the land from where cometh the National cake and the problem will end!!!