Man explains on Facebook why he's pulling out of paying for his step daughter's wedding last minute...was he right? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 October 2015

Man explains on Facebook why he's pulling out of paying for his step daughter's wedding last minute...was he right?

The man shared this on Facebook. Read and tell us if you think he was wrong for this. I'm on his side on this. Read after the cut...

228 comments:

1 – 200 of 228   Newer›   Newest»

I support him #lindaobserve

The girl and her mum are sick. Pls tell them to avoid you for life wth?

The step dad tried oooo they are just ungrateful to him

Carry go jare...dem De mad! In fact break up with that your yeye GF.

Juliet Iwobi said...

wow Lesbianism scandal hits Kogi university, sex video goes viral (Download)

I don't blame him. He was humiliated in the most cruel and selfish way, therefore he has every right to do whatever he wants with his money.

This man really has a good heart. I swear if this was me I would cock my pistol my giving the toast

That was the right thing to do

I absolutely agree and it is the mother's fault!

Completely agree with him

My darling you are not wrong atall in my opinion it's better to walk away from people who don't know ur worth and treat you right, we have a lot of ungrateful people in this world. Just so unfortunate you did the right thing for the wrong set of people.

Absolutely right. He was just a money stream to them with no worth. Let the real dad so cherished live up to his financial duty.

Albert Gideon said...

this is why most men dont want to date single moms

He did wonderfully well. I have never been this pleased

The GF and the step daughter got what they wanted.....I honestly support his stepping out of the the wedding..let the real dad pay the bill.

SAD BUT i totally agree with him

If what he says is true, I am not kinda on his side, I am totally on his side.

S E L F I S H N E S S

He's not wrong to feel dat way tho!Wat dey did ws painful.

Ella said...

am on his side........ the mum and daughter are very very ungrateful...... they should go meet der irresponsible father to fund her wedding......

I love this man...revenge is best served cold! hahahahahaha(laughin in darth vader's voice)

Good one step dad!!!

I concur

Chi chi said...

It seem fair. They were using the man. Good one he woke up from his slumber.

God hates ugly. If this story is true they should be ashamed of themselves for treating a good man in that manner.

Speechless

BoeDazzle said...

He is absolutely right. Ingratitude is some peoples' middle name.

There's no point for him to remain a part of anything since her real father is around he should pay. After everything he's done you hurt him like dat. Fuck it

It's not enough joo

Very very right...

Eyaaaaa. I feel for the man. In my own opinion, I don't think he's wrong.

Aite.

100% support. I know people like that. They treat u with respect only when they need your money.

Good job man!! Good for them

Kourtney said...

He did absolutely did the right thing. What sort of rubbish is that, he cant even get to invite his own guest and he's paying for the wedding... Oya if they like they shouldn't get married again

Hian, how can u be paying for a wedding u can't invite anyone too.. Did dey write Mumu on your forehead... They are bunch of users besides ur not married to her mom so she's not ur step and u don't owe her anything. Her father should pay for her wedding and In turn pay u the school fees money... She done find mugu correct Maga

Their koko

Linda my love sleep na or you want me to pet you! 4 u go to bed ok come here...
(taps her back and she's dozing off)
Pretty Linda

That vuvuzela P guy

Well, the man is at fault. But I'm totally in support of his action. He should save his money and move on with his life.

Behind u bro

Oga e do. u don try

Hmmmm God hlp us all

Yes he is right

AIRBAG100 said...

World people ,users of men

Black Belle said...

He did th right thing! Let no one use you!

There is absolutely nothing wrong with what he did. I applaud him for being extremely sophisticated about it. Most people constantly want to take but won't take a min to appreciate or acknowledge the giver. 10yrs!!! And yet he was disrespected like that! He is a saint.

Nnedimma said...

He should have been given a little respect. I support his decision

NaturalWellnessSolutionHub said...

Very funny. Really don't blame the man.

Admiral said...

Which daughter? Step daughter... They just acted like Africans. Am so in support of the man.

Very ungrateful bastards

He did well, he tried sef to have taken all d humiliation and let down ontop en money!!

Blood is always thicker than water...sad truth..Principle doesn't exist in the dictionary of most people...I feel for this man..I personally think you did the right thing

TES said...

Eyah dat's a bittered man.
But truth be told he wasn't too harsh on the gf and the step daughter they were greedy

I support him jooor..

I love this guy......exactly what I would do, with no grain of guilt.

I dont think he is being selfish, they obviously dont care about him! Let the real father play the fatherly financial role as well.

Interested in volunteering for a youth sport fun event as an usher, cheerleader, ref, ball boy etc? Please register at thetpl.org. Thanks

Fine by me. That's a selfish step daughter and stupid girlfriend... The man has had enough. Serves her right. She should go learn about the word "gratitude"

Duketundesblog said...

Mehn They really hurt this man abeg....just after his money! And i will say what he did is way to go...

Check out today's World's Greatest unsolved mystery on DTB Saturday Digest...click my profile

www.duketundesblog.com

in my opinion,he has the right to do what he did,and he is totally not wrong for doing it.what sort of rubbish and disrespectful attitude is that,he does not deserve such treatment from the step daughter and her mother.that is such an ungrateful and disrespectful attitude form the step-daughter.

That is just the best thing to do for the mother and the daughter. I pity the man oooooooo.

U r right, I pity u

Linda,
The poor guy deserves some respect....i will definitely put out.

Cheers to that, I will do the same

My brother you did the right thing. You can't suffer ultimate disrespect and stay silent. The gf and her daughter took you for granted big time, only appreciated the money you offered. Glad you took measures showing that you respect yourself, even if they don't.kudos

Bros. nothing do you, ride on and take to your heels . there not worth it

FRESH said...

No! You are not selfish at all.Your Gf,her daughter are just a bunch of mean manipulators.You were actually their 'Alhaji Bring Bring'.Lolz

He's 101% right to do that. He's been a mugu for 10 good years!

Can't read the last part Linda even wen I zoomed it was blurred, Choi. Why leave me high and dry like ds now

Yes please, pull out...this is wjat happens when people dont show appreciation

Bishop said...

You did the right thing Mr Man. But you mumu sha, how couldnt you decode the fact that you were just an ATM all this while.

I want to kmow the emd of this story tho

Collect all your money fast fast. Ungrateful people

Mona4real said...

You sure did the right thing!!!! If you are not good for a little bit of respect or consideration, your money should not be good enough to pay for the wedding!!!!

jide ferrari said...

Bros na beta tin u do ooo fuck dem atm ke

What he did was OK...

Hello Linda I will do the same if am in the man's shoes. The man have been used, washed and dumped lIke a refused dump. To hell with the girl, the mom and the real dad.

Fantastic.... Selfish wicked people! Get you money back

Ehya, he was just a sponsor
Good thing he renounced his position

Best option

guy you have been ATM for the past 10 years. you will do know wrong if you withdraw your finances from the daughter and mother forever.

You are a very wonderful man.

I support the guy totally...if I were him, God please lemme never be him, I'll walk away from all of them... GF, daughter, her dad all of it. Change my number, move away and never keep in touch... Just as I forgive them, I also will forget about them ..forever

You are a very wonderful man.

Diva said...

My guy keep ur money! U did the right thing

Hell yes. Don't spend a dime.

Lol. Real ATM

WASHERE !!!! May the good lord bless you

He was definitely an atm. And a very patient one. No iota of respect given to this man

He is soo right.

dudette said...

He's on point ,if he isn't relevant to the family then his money shouldn't be too!!

SMURF said...

There are all wicked, so they wanna use him as an ATM and not include him as a family!! Not even giving him 20 guest out of 250 was bad enough, now u ridiculed him by announce he won't be walking her down the aisle but his money is welcomed....... Best solution ever! Ungrateful bunch.

bummyla said...

Damn! It Hurts When We Are Not Appreciated! Damn! http://www.bummyla.com

Lol. Na real ATM

It's so devastating, I agree wt d man though cos dere wasn't a bit of respect towards him

You acted perfectly well and u should also not forget to collect the car bought for the girl. Her father should be able to upgrade her status.

mary nwa mama said...

i am 101% in support of this man. that is actually a slap on his face. you can imagine, he is the sole sponsor of the wedding and his name was not even on the Invite. even none of his guests were even invited. he was just been taken as a fool. since her real dad is giving her away in marriage, he can as well continue from where the step dad stopped.

Great decision he took. Let the real dad take over.

Knowledge of Aeons

I just found the original post on Reddit. The conclusion to the story is below (BTW, this was written in 2013):

EDIT: The immediate aftermath was tantrum and people sitting there mumbling while not actually saying anything to me, but to each other. After much yelling with the GF about me being selfish, I spent the night in my home office and no one knocked on my door, not once. Today's aftermath is kind of depressing for me. GF brought me Bride's wedding planner to show me how much work I was ruining. I thumbed through it, found a page in the music section for Father / Daughter dances. All of the songs were catered to Real Dad's taste. So I thought they were just being disrespectful, but now I'm feeling like they never really gave a crap at all, especially since the menu included two ingredients I'm allergic to, that actually made me laugh. Either way, I'm glad to be done, returned the planner and asked her when she and bride could move out. Also, I never promised to pay for the wedding. I offered them the use of my home when they were sure it was going to be small, but other than that, all I've heard is how it's the Bride's family that should pay, so, let it be the bride's family then, aka, not me.

EDIT: June 9th 1:15 am. Girlfriend and Bride are now moved out. They are moving in with the groom. It was very hard not to be petty with some of the "belongings" they took with them, but it's done and I switched out the locks and now it's time for a brew. I can't believe how popular this story got, but I feel good to be given support by so many. If I find out what happens with the wedding, I will let you know, but I can't guarantee that I will put in the effort to find out. From what I've heard they are trying to "scale things back" and get his parents to help out. GF burned bridges when I found out she tried to write herself a check on our joint account the day after the unpleasantness. By then I had already moved money, so I guess I'm a bigger ass than her, but I could feel it coming. That's all. Thanks.

Lala said...

Wow, women! You did the right thing.

I AM ON YOUR SIDE. SELFISH MOTHER AND DAUGHTER.

You are probably using a cheap phone

Funny story,good thing your woke up on time. I wont judge you at all

100% with u

100% with u

Well to a large extent he was right because who pays the piper should at least be able to dictate some tune. The GF and the step-daughter ought to have at least made sure that his 25 invites were accommodated in their plans. I bet 25/250 is just about 10% that the man wanted.However on the flip side, one should be able to sympathise with the GF and stepdaughter because statutorily, the man lacks the locus standi to hand the girl out in marriage when her real father is still alive. Such is the difficult situations that life throws up sometimes.

Ina said...

You sound like a user.

Great decision

I support him a million times!!! Poor guy...

Great decision dearie!!!
People like to take others for a ride!!!!
Rubbish!!!

Ronald said...

It's only a fool who would say he's not done the right thing. The truth is dat if they could treat him in such manner, little wonder how they would if he's not got the chips anymore or if he faces some money stress. Sadly, such kinda folks are around us, they pretend to love you and show loyalty cos of the chips they know you've got or give to them. And when they don't see it coming anymore they show their real colours and abandon you. The guy really took some shit but handled it wisely. May God help flush out unfriendly friends from our circles.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Shut ur stupid mouth idiot d man is right to pull out rubbish people guy pull out let d dead beat dad pay for it useless people d man no b mugu

hrm paul ojeih said...

No vex again d man don wise up d stupid gf and gf daughter be tink say d man na fool d guy don open eye useless people

hrm paul ojeih said...

Thunder fire u oloshi if she sleep who go give us gist guy take time

Baddest Puta said...

Linda see question ya asking, is the man a maga or what? I think he's too calm sef he should ask for a refund from the venue too. Ogini?!

What do u mean by "its not enough jo"? Did u even read what that man wrote? Put yourself in that man's shoes before u comment. D guy even tried sef. If na me i'll collect her car and everything i can from d selfish thieves. Tsheww!
Now, let's see how d good for nothong Dad hosts d wedding.

Linda, abeg give us updates incase.

hrm paul ojeih said...

All of una way don comment una make sense joor but if na me I go throw d girl and d mom out of my house

hrm paul ojeih said...

All of una way don comment una make sense joor but if na me I go throw d girl and d mom out of my house

Tuitiontinz said...

I support him one hundred percent

100% correct.

U have even been so patient with them, u shld hv backed out a long time ago. What insolence!! Mtchewwwww. Ur absentee father take over......

Sulaz said...

He obviously did the right thing to me though. I truly feel for him. He was just used as the family ATM.

yemkeke said...

I agree with the guy abi that was the height of disrespect did this he is a mugu

E don pass self. What are u talking about? If I were d step father I'd do worse

You did the best thing

ibeakwadalam said...

Petty!

Extremely petty.

That serves them right, if I was the man I will send them all packing that night.

He is absolutely right to pull out. I will also eject them from my house and collect my car with immediate effect.

seyi crown said...

I love this man.....in support of u bro

Seyilicious

You are more kind becos if it were to be me, l'll send them packing after my speech that same day, nothing on earth will make me keep those golddiggers in my house.

Very fair. It's so obvious he's been used.

He obviously did the ryt thing...he took her as her daughter not as his gfs dota and she sees him as an atm, a maga! He quit d 'relationship' when he reAlised they have a clash of interest and can't work out...lmao...sharp man!!! He has left deir lives for good!

Reads like some fictional story, which it might be.. . But for sake of the story, this is one person's perspective and you can't make whole judgement based on one story

I really hate it when 'real' parents think they can just come into the lives of their children anyhow! Man up to your responsibilities! D girl respects her fada bcos she didn't suffer, if she had, she'd av had sense. If to say na d mama struggle send d girl go sch, she for turn d girl bak against ha fada!!! Dis lyf ehn

He obviously did the ryt thing...he took her as her daughter not as his gfs dota and she sees him as an atm, a maga! He quit d 'relationship' when he reAlised they have a clash of interest and can't work out...lmao...sharp man!!! He has left deir lives for good!

Hell yeah. The gods are pleased with your actions. They're 1000% in support of it.

R U KIDDING ME?... THIS IS A CASE OF THAT OLD SAYING...BABOON WAN CHOP. CAN U IMAGINE? I GUESS HE HAS BEEN SO LAID BACK THAT THEY FIGURED ANOTHER ADVANTAGE OF HIM WASN'T A BIG DEAL. WOW

That's fine by me. Many people's in this life are ungrateful.

One good reason i can never marry a single mom. I will be changing diapper or picking the child from sch and the real dad will be somewhere in elegushi drinking beer and eating pepper soup with some olosho girls. No way!

Karlsson said...

Can you imagine that? This girl is so selfish and self centred with the wicked mother

Ubanagum

Good one

Sounds like the step daughter and mum are Nigerians oh. lol.

ADEWALE ADEGOKE GIS BLOG said...

He did rather well.I applaud his patience.

Do you ever read anything? He said he is done with his girlfriend.

Africans do this a lot too. Cheers to a new Sugar daddy available for grabs.

Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

God bless you for rescinding your decision to sponsor , they were all cheeky bastards

You dey craze?? "To a large extent he was right"?? Only to a large extent?? Meaning what?? Oh.... So now you know that statutorily he lacks the right to hand the girl over in marriage bah!! Statutory doesn't come into play when it has to do with spending money to train your own daughter okwaya?? No just spoil my mood right now guy.

I support him too, some people feel they r smarter than others,

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

9ja Parrot said...

This man mumu tay tay. For where, who born monkey? We for don scatter am tay tay.

AMIJEZ said...

Supported. You are not their ATM.

Did the man use his money to steal the mother away from the man she love?
from swiss

Seriously

I am with him a hundred percent, he is a walking ATM to them! I would sue the girl and her dad so they will pay me back all my college tuition.

Onengs said...

My bro u try welwel.thank God ur eyes wz opened on tym to c.gdluck

With him all the way, total disrespect and no regard for his personality. A parent is that person who sees you through the early stages of your life physically, financially and emotionally. That real father should have been given one invite with no 'plus 1'. Some people can be so mean.

Dis is a good man... If it were me i will promise them that i will pay for the whole wedding and do even more regardless of what they had done that i still love them, i will just act like everthing is fine and cool , on one fateful day they will meet their belongings outside the house, their car keys missing and make sure i block all their credit cards, i wont even tell them am not paying for the wedding, i wont even call or tell them my reasons for acting the way i did, if they call my phone i will pick and act cool like nothing happened and if we eventually bump into each other somewhere and they ask me why i did all that, i wont give them any reasonable reply, i will just say i was tired of the relationship and wanted to be alone, still acting very cool and calm i will wish the woman and her child a wonderful life ahead

I'm proud of u Mr, such heartless family

I over support his decision. Who be maga! Her father should go ahead and foot the bill of the wedding. Ungrateful people. Linda take note!

This is exactly how Nigerian girls behave that has made a lot of the innocent onces suffer from boys, a guy will take care of you, spend when you need, need, is th jobless and annoying they will be loving, so we become the bang and move on guys, ya all going to remain single for a long time

Father in Jesus' s name. Amen! You are the one that helps pursue flies off the back of the cows. Please help flush out every kind of parasite and inconsiderate blood and financial suckers that will ever try to attach itself to my life at any point in my life in the name of a relative, wife, lover, friend, pastor or Imam and above all enemy.

He did the right thing tho. I support him, but we all know he can't be the one to hand over the lady to the man, because by the father of the lady is still very much alive. So by traditions he can't..the lady should have talk his dad and step dad concerning this. Probably that might make more sense. Anyways the mother and the daughter deserves wat happened to them

pat said...

their ear! Who b Fool? Who b anybody ATM? God punish devil Oga in fact flush both d girl and her mum,cos dem go kill u.

Well, he did the right thing. But what if its your own biological daughter that did this to you? You've brought her up, paid her College fees, gave the best of what you could afford. You've dreamt of her wedding day and how you would one day walk her down the aisle. She meets a guy, brings him to meet you (you meet the guy only once) and she goes off to marry him without informing you. You don't even get a wedding announcement!!! You are only informed two years later. How would you feel??
Life happens. We are learning...

Hell YEA!!!!!!!

Ungrateful bastard mother and daughter!

What do you mean by that statement? Nuthead! Africans ain't ungrateful people so if u don't know what to write then shutup

That saves them right in fact the man was so nice with them

He did the right thing, he should even send them packing immediately.

Some people are shameless n free loaders walking away without throwing a punch was a very civil way of doing things. Let d real papa take over .

I really feel for him, even felt like crying as I was reading. They are just ungrateful for real. The step dad took a very bold step that I love so much. That serves them right.

Wow so painful, may we not be loved and used just for financial gains alone

dharmmy said...

Hee see part 2 here ooo

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

I over support him.

beckysworldevent.blogspot.com

God I am so with him, dat so cruel..
Dis kinda ppl corrupt real men! Mtchew
Tnk God dis man is smart!

Diamond said...

He did d right thing, don't kno y it took him this long to do dt sef... stupid mother & daughter

Emir said...

What d man did was very correct,even if he is a certified maga,atleast he deserves some respect,and acknowledgment,not insulting him even to his guests.. its painful,to meet a maga of dis gratitude ia nt easy,men don wiseup finish... bt if i was him?i will be making dat speech while their bags and luggages are been trown out of d house by d security guards.

Emir said...

Emir said...What d man did was very correct,even if he is a certified maga,atleast he deserves some respect,and acknowledgment,not insulting him even to his guests.. its painful,to meet a maga of dis magnitude is nt easy,men don wiseup finish... bt if i was him?i will be making dat speech while their bags and luggages are been trown out of d house by d security guards.October 31, 2015 at 7:31 AM

Nothing does you step father. Right decision

Olu said...

Good decision.

Selfish people, he should pls kick them out

Yinx said...

So thoughtful of u

Castro said...

Like he said, all they saw him s was an atm. This atm just stopped dispensing. Nice one man. Thanks aunty Linda for sharing such a tremendous story

One of de stupid tin u wil ever do in ur life is to be ungateful to anyone who helped u financialy.

I support him 102%..

I support him 102%.

Very unfair to him. I am totally with him: he should not pay and they should go on with the wedding. Looks like they are using him. Smh

U are very right to withdraw ur finacial support,

Na just tori, e bi like. ' Ask Libbers ' story on Reddit - read about it on SNOPES - http://www.snopes.com/step-dad-pulls-funding-daughters-wedding/ -

True_Solution...AM Studios_ said...

...great speech, but i sure would hv sd, go ahead and fulfill your promise, as a KING that you are and will always be when you mk a declaration, let it stand, you would hv gotten a better opportunity for that recognition you needed! Sure painful, buh that ws what Christ did for us and how we treated him in return, yet He went thru with it. Very painful feeling i must say!
IamTempest.

Yhetunde said...

Karma is a dammn bitch. i sure support the man. Good riddance to bad rubbish

The girl and her mom are indeed useless. Many step daughters will kill to have a step dad like him. Can u imagine paid her way through school with a car on top. Nawa ooo, people are indeed wicked. A man that took her as his own, my dear make she come live with my step father for a week she will adore the one she has. Useless idiot... Can't believe I cried while reading this. my step dad didn't even lift a finger to assist me during my school days, I had to drop out of school at one point cuz my mom couldn't raise the fees, went back and finished up when she could. Even as I dey house they clean they cook he didn't even ask what happened that am not in school meanwhile his kids got the best. When I was getting married he didn't even lift a finger let alone invite his friends. I walked down the aile myself as my 'real dad' is late. but I thank God for giving me a father a brother a husband and a friend. Then this idiot had a God sent man for a father and she uselessed herself. She's a joker if she thinks her husband will respect her.

He made the best decision. Its obvious both the gf & his step daughter had no regards for him as a man all they were interested in is his hard earned money. Thank God he realised he was a MAGA b4 it was too late.

I see nothing wrong in what he did....

Hahaha. Crazy guy

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 228   Newer› Newest»