Oil thieves jailed for 84 yrs | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 October 2015

Oil thieves jailed for 84 yrs

Justice Okon Abang of the Federal High Court in Lagos yesterday convicted seven men to 84 years imprisonment for illegal and unlawful dealing in 1,459 metric tonnes of petrol. The court sentenced each of the convicts to a jail term of 12 years each starting Friday after they were all found guilty of the five count charge preferred against them.
The convicts are; Adedamola Ogungbayi; Olaniran Olabode; Suraju Gasali; Moses Emmanuel; Wilson Bonsi; Okaraodi Uche and Onyeogo Happy. Apart from the jail term, Justice Abang also  ordered the forfeiture of the vessel, ‘MT Good Success’, used by the convicts in stealing the said petroleum product, as well as the recovered petroleum product to the Federal Government.

The judge also ordered the forfeiture of the sums of N66.6m and $975,000 which belonged to the convicts’ company, Hepa Global Energy Limited, domiciled with the First City Monument Bank to the Federal Government.
The convicts, were arraigned alongside their vessel and company on August 28, 2014 on five counts alongside one Padoun Jacob, who was discharged and acquitted by the court. The judge, in setting Jacob free on all the five counts, described him as a desperate job seeker, who became a victim of circumstances.

Vanguard

50 comments:

#LordSandra said...

Very good

Michael Udo said...

Rubish! Learn how to make money blogging like Linda Ikeji. Register here. Training is 100% FREE

84 years is tantamount to life imprisonment nah. Dey should go enjoy their new home. Linda take note!

Wow! Is the hope and confidence of the common man on our judiciary gradually returning?

84 years wow!!!

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Hmmmmm. Well what can I say? They aint profs....that's why they were caught

#It WiLL onLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd In PrAisE

Peace nwadire said...

My goodness, there's no point, the judge rather say life imprisonment. Jacob must be a looking man.

Politically thieves are roaming around free.

The politicians nko? When are we gonna start hearing about their own convictions? Oh that's right, they go on to the senate as reward for their theft while in previous office. Trash of a country.

Like dey will survive d first 10years in Nigerianprison

romich said...

End of the road!

Oh! they were sentenced to 12years each, this should serve as a deterrent to others like them.

Lilian Jacobs said...

thats like forever Lesbianism scandal hits Kogi university, sex video goes viral (Download)

GOOD TO SEE

AUNTY LINDA........

Best judgment I have heard of in ages. This will serve as a deterrent to those who plan to do same. It's obvious the judge did not accept their bribe, because they will always try to bribe the judge..Kudos Judge

Dis is serious
Life sentence naa..
Hmmmmmm
Odas shld learn frm dis one in oda not 2 fall a victim
Dis isn't child's play at all
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Good for em

Yet, corrupt ex-governors are becoming ministers. This country is a joke. I'm ashamed of our elderly president

Those idiot, you've got what you want,enjoy your jail term,if eventually you all didn't die there live a good life. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Quick money
Faceoflib

Bye!

DucciGreen said...

What are they doing to boko haram members? Sick sectional government!

But is too harsh nw.... Stupid judge.....

Choi!

Jail d main culprits and not dis one's we don't know, Kingsley Kuku and co are still parading up and down free with out any one picking them up, they should try all d idiots that sabotaged Jonathans government, all d money he approved for projects wus diverted for their own personal use. Dis r d people that should b arrested. Kingsley Kuku, Alex Onyeama,Bola Tinubu,Pat Utomi,Rotimi Amechi,Chris Asoloko,Ahmed Gulag, Godwin Obuah,Nduka d owner of This Day,Raymond Dokpesi, and host of other thieves should b arrested not forgetting Pastor Oritsejafor and other fake pastors, Nollywood criminals, Ben Bruce. They should b d one's facing d law and not dis unknown individuals for oil theft.We should stop deceiving our selves

Rest in prison to dem!!

The main cabals are yet to be jailed! But good one.

Punishment well deserved...

Black Belle said...

U get brain! My thoughts exactly

That's the problem.the major criminals like the likes of amechi,tinubu,obj,saraki at all are protected and given higher offices re celebrated and protected and d ones that try to hustle their lives are jailed.for the so called change to happen,every1 must be prosecuted according to his crime.

Wow.!man,like you realy know how this things be going down

You're deluded, so they should let go of them cos of Boko haram abi?

Kourtney said...

My goodness, judge you might as well say 'life'
The main thieves are out there go get them

Some people are jst naturally dull or what? It's 12yrs for each guy and they are seven in number. na why some people dey shout 84yrs like say na one guy na him I no come understand o!

They should be profiled and tracked from the court to the prison......serious tracking everyday for the next 12 years.
Money can do anything in Nigeria

Do you guys ever read through! Jesus. 12years each x7 people that gives you 84. Nigerians are so daft.just rushing to comment.

Madueke & co. Nko?

Wow 84yrs ke, that one is till death do them part

lutoeig said...

You have a point, but is only an evidence that can proof their arrest.

nigerian politicians-governors, senators, house of rep members, ministers,presidents should rather be jailed because they are the real thieves.

Rubbish judgement in animal kingdom, what happen to the people that ruin the country through the payment of subsidies on fuel importation that doesn't exist. What happen to the people in authority that looted the common wealth resources allocated to the masses on monthly basis Linda watch what you post, always verify your information before posting.

Good

olise Marvin said...

Lwkmd..it's just 12 years..

olise Marvin said...

My dear u can say that again.. Why not arrest the owner of the company they are busy arresting workers that they know they don't have the resources to fight back.. Useless system.. People like ameachi and co are being recognized as ministers with all the public funds they stole...

They work for the company, and they were held responsible. And not the owner..that's not fair judgement. Guess the owner has paid the Judge some millions.....corrupt