John Fashanu reveals how he paid his late brother £75k to stop him from coming out as gay | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 October 2015

John Fashanu reveals how he paid his late brother £75k to stop him from coming out as gay

Ex-England footballer, John Fashanu has revealed the extents he went to prevent his elder brother, Justin Fashanu from coming out as gay. He said he paid him £75K to keep quiet about it.

The former Wimbledon striker made the shock admission a week after it emerged two top footballers – including an England star – plan to come out. In his first in-depth interview about brother Justin since his tragic suicide in 1998, he said: 
“I begged him, I threatened him, I did everything I could possibly do to try and stop him coming out. I gave him the money because I didn’t want the embarrassment for me or my family. Had he come out now, it would be a different ball game. There wouldn’t be an issue, but there was then. Things are different now. Now he’d be hailed a hero.”

Justin Fashanu shot himself into the limelight with a stunning goal against Liverpool in 1980, Nottingham Forest subsequently shelled out a record £1million for him but he failed to hit the heights expected.

In a newspaper interview in 1990, he claimed to have had an affair with a married Tory MP he met in a gay bar. John, 53, said:
“I’ll never forget when Justin first told me. He called me in the evening time and said to me: ‘I’m gay’. Then he said to me: ‘I’m planning to go to a newspaper’. I said to him: ‘Oh heavens forbid... oh my God. We don’t need that. You’re mad’. He promised when I gave him the money he would not go out and say that. Two days later... bang... headlines in a newspaper. I looked like a sucker. For me and my family it was like Hiroshima or Nagasaki on our lives. It knocked us dead, it was a total shock.
“People might not like it, but I was trying to protect my family. You’ve got to remember the public’s perception of homosexuality at that time was that it was an abomination . It was taboo. Street boys were beating up gays in nightclubs. I give him credit for having the courage to come out and say it. But it caused a lot of confusion and animosity towards him, me, and my family.
“During matches, 30, 40, sometimes 45,000 supporters sang at me: ‘You’re big... you’re black... your a*** is up for grabs... Fashanu... Fashanu’. As a result of him saying what he said, my mother died because of the stress. She actually died a year later on the day of his birthday.
"She was already old, very fragile and suffering cancer. Then to be told her second eldest son was a homosexual was too much.”
John condemned Justin, then at Leyton Orient, soon after he came out and infamously said he would “not want to play or even get changed” in the same dressing room.

But last week John said: 
“I’ve never spoken about these things before because I was stamped a homophobe. But things have changed and I make it very clear: I was wrong. It was ignorance on my behalf. I didn’t understand him. I was trying to protect my family and I was worried about the effect on my career. In the process I lost my brother and I am very sad about that.
“He committed suicide because he was so distraught the world would not accept a black man who was homosexual. I couldn’t understand it and I couldn’t accept it and so whatever relationship we had before was killed .
“Previous to that, we had been very close, but it just shattered everything. I didn’t speak to him again. There’s a lot of sadness and regrets.”

Two premier league stars including an England international are about to come out as gay and Fashanu says : 
“If these young men feel it is the right time to come out and announce they are homosexual, please don’t anybody victimise them. Please be careful with words, don’t let it lead to the destruction of two men in their prime. I didn’t have that wisdom 20 years ago and it led to the destruction of my late brother Justin.
“We must accept them. I beg everybody not to make the same mistakes I made. Give them as much understanding as possible.”
John is a practising christian and he believes his brother was not actually gay, he credits his TV presenter daughter, Amal, 27 for helping him change his attitude. 
“My daughter Amal is a very strong activist for gay rights,” said John, who now lives in Nigeria, where homosexuality is still illegal. She has helped me a lot to understand a lot more about another way of life, which homosexuality is. I love her and I am very proud of the way she speaks about her uncle.”

127 comments:

Juliet Iwobi said...

this is shocking

Lesbianism scandal hits Kogi university, sex video goes viral (Download)

Hmmmmm. Now everybody is so cool with it....its no longer an embarrassing thing....

#It WiLL onLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd In PrAisE

Good thing he killed himself then

May his soul RIP.....

seyi crown said...

Support guys.? No way

Seyilicious

Emeka Vertigo said...

OMG so sad

D'bia said...

Hmmmm...

OP:: I cant post comments from your blog's mobile version because the profile field isn't responding... can u fix this?

WOW JOHN FASHANU is a gift that keeps on giving.

Olumide Lawrence said...

Hmmmm. Stories that touch.
As much as we now live in a liberal world, where everyone has a right to do what they want to, we cannot forget to acknowledge the laid down plan of the creator who created the liberal world in the first place.

God created Adam, and when he thought of a help mate for him, he created Eve. He could have created another Adam, if he thought being gay was the way to go.

For those supporting gay rights, they should stop and question why God created women, is it to watch two men having sexual relations or to be the one to fulfil the word of God which says 'Be fruitful and multiply'?

Whether you like it or not, for reproduction to happen, a man and a woman must meet (directly or indirectly). Any sexual pleasure you derive from sleeping with same sex is straight from the pit of hell.

I do not mean to be judgmental, the reality only needs to be stated. There is an article on glowville.net that strongly addresses this gay issue.

Hmmm what a touching story.I understood how he felt then & now,and I'll be the last to condemn him or his late bro.Some things are better understood when tragedy sets in

Hmmmm, na wa o! I still remain indifferent about dem. Linda take note!

I can't judge him but must they anaunce their private life to the world? Do straight come out to say am striaght? Let them keep dat nonsense to themselves and stop poluting d world.

I do not get, why are they try to force gay into the beautiful gay. If they are practising the unnatural act, they should keep it to themselves and spare us that disgusting thought. Fashanu you brother was foolish and stupid, he never grew up, you parent never gave birthday to him because they wanted a gay son, they wanted to raise a normal boy that lives on natural act and laws, you consider your brother pain, what of the pain of your parent, they were not proud of him because he was not what they plan for, parents right should also be respected.

I think dis John is mad ooo...so we shud accept gay abi...u n ur girl shud beta go back 2 Uk where u can practice dis ya non sense...rubbish

This John dey mad oo...so we shud accept gay here of ya broda death en....I knw u re one of them 2 dats y u can't stay wit a woman again ..u n ur so call girl shud beta go back to uk where u blong so u can practise ur nonsensee...Rubbish

Abasha iranu.....Mr fashanu in fact fashanu oriyin ope make I surport gay koni ragbafunyi.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

I won't be surprise if those premier league star is Ivanovich

I think I know who this England international is. it would shock the world.

Being gay is a sin before God....

Baddest Puta said...

This is so sad. I don't even know what to say about it except I'm glad I'm not homophobic, live and let live is my motor. Life is too short for me to worry about what or how anybody decides to do their lives.

Where their is sweet dicks ND sweet pussies outside.

SMURF said...

If he didn't come out to the public, don't help him come out or taint his name.

valushi said...

I hope people will learn from this, let God be the ultimate judge. As long as one is not disturbing you with their sexuality, let him be.

Okay o

Too late to tell all dis story....

cheezy said...

You know queen out of all the avid readers of this blog some people impress me and you are one of them

Venus de milo said...

Shut up. John. You killed your brother stop lying haba.. You think we don't knoe

So why tell us all this now?

Fash... Oh my gushhhhhhh.....if only the dead could talk🐥🐥🐥 you wanted to be more famous that's y u killed your brother

Oh Lord!

Pls help and save those dat r trapped in dis devil act of gay. Pls change them inside out IJN.

Fash... Oh my gushhhhhhh.....if only the dead could talk🐥🐥🐥 you wanted to be more famous that's y u killed your brother

FEMI from LONDON ,
John John John. Go tell it to Justin , I think Nemesis has come,you are now running up and down. I believe your brothers ghost is hunting you now.Get ready to meat him soon. There s nothing we can do to help.Pay time has come.

See this man who lies on the face of it. For him Everything is an instrument of publicity.Just like his brother s gay saga in those days.

Let him go on and deceive those people in Nigeria.Here in London we know how he to toured JUSTIN which led to his death.

Is it not better to be Gay than to be a womanizer with children scattered all over the world and not taking care of them as John Fashanu does.Mshwwwwwwww

John Fashanu CANNOT be a practising Christian and be trying to tolerate homosexuality in any form or isn't there the story of Sodom and Gomorrah in his Bible?

Jimmy Smith London, come off it my brother we all know you contributed to his death but how you did ,we are yet to know. Apparently his spirit is now tormenting you. PAY BACK TIME ! Ha Ha Ha Ha

Israel dear .dont even take that your x wife back..by the time fash is done with her..she will cry out blood..just watch

I saw Israel s wife with fash the other day, just cos Israel is broke you moved to fash .. I laugh in Latin.. Fashanu has over 10 children and miss racheal bakam..you look like one of th.you better go for dan.before you have q child for your dad

Linda Ikeji ur standard or definition of christianity is a weird one. Homosexualism is forbidden by God , and anyone professing to be of God and accepts homosexualism as a way of life is a damn liar, he may be churchy but he's not of God. U cannot accept what God clearly rejects (in His words in scriptures) and still claim to be His..

The world has been trying all means to discredit , blackmail or misinterprete God's position on homosexualism. It has failed and will continue to fail because God's position about this abomination is so clear in the bible that it cannot be mistaken. The best the world can do is to align with God or ostracize itself from God in order to have their craved liberty to accept, promote and live in such abomination.

Well John, sorry about your brother and the tragedy your family faced. But TRUTH be told, homosexuality, no matter who practices it - a priest, a relative, a mentor, a benefactor, a boy/girl, literate or illiterate - is a SIN, an aberration, an abomination. While we may not win them over or convince the culprits by attacking them, we must continually let them know that it is a condemnable, unacceptable, defiled and destructive lifestyle that God can deliver them from.

Hailing them as heroes is wicked because it fosters and promotes the deception and delusion that holds them captive. The article says you are a practising Christian so I expect you know and should hold what the Bible teaches about homosexuality as sacrosanct and final.

Well John, sorry about your brother and the tragedy your family faced. But TRUTH be told, homosexuality, no matter who practices it - a priest, a relative, a mentor, a benefactor, a boy/girl, literate or illiterate - is a SIN, an aberration, an abomination. While we may not win them over or convince the culprits by attacking them, we must continually let them know that it is a condemnable, unacceptable, defiled and destructive lifestyle that God can deliver them from.

Hailing them as heroes is wicked because it fosters and promotes the deception and delusion that holds them captive. The article says you are a practising Christian so I expect you know and should hold what the Bible teaches about homosexuality as sacrosanct and final.

Are you a model or Aspiring model, or you have what it takes to be on Nigerian top musical videos and top events in lagos and outside lagos? if yes Add BB 2BCF882B for more info. Please Rebroadcast. Thanks.

I do not understand you. What kind of gift? Is it demonic gift to lead people astray through his status? For allowing himself be used as an agent of darkness to promote what is sinful before God out of sentiment or what. Because his brother died does not make gay acceptable by God. God is a respected of no persons. So, God can't change HIS words because his brother is gay and committed suicide. It is what he allowed himself into 'evil communication currupt good manners', that made him commit suicide. Blame your parents for not bringing him up well or blame him for associating himself with evil minded people not yourself for having good morals and trying to stop him from offending God by doing evil. You were right as a youth to have stopped him not wrong. You are wrong now as an adult to say publicly that you were wrong over a good move as a youth. Don't be a fool at old age and an agent of darkness. Use your old age to convert 'sinners to Christ' NOT 'Christians to darkness'. Be a wise godly old
man. God will hold you responsible if by this evil message you destroy young Christians faith in Christ. Leviticus 18:22; Leviticus 20:13; 1 Corinthians 6:9-10. Take note

junia said...

@Olumide Lawrence, well said bro

Ola Oyedekan ,

Good Christian NI, KO. No be this man I listened to on Utube mocking Christians .Demonstrating how they speak in tongues. Na wa o.
Oluburuku, Ole, oloshi, Ode, John Fashanu it's more honourable to commit suicide than live this kind of life that you are living. I am a moslem but I felt bad when I listened to that confession on Utube. My Yoruba brother "Iku ya ju esin"

Ola, thank you very much.At least let us his brothers tell him the truth if others have refused to tell him. Mshwwwwwwww. John " Alatenuje, oponu, Omugo,Onirana,Arinde, Omo ale,Alaina nnkan se." Go collect all your Children ,Yoruba people no de born tro we, and stop lying about your brother.We all know what happened.

True. And ultimately let God be the judge. Those shouting biblical standards " let he without sin cast the first stone".

and you have proof of this? Hiding under the cloak of anonymity to tarnish people's image is cowardice.

There is no amount of tragedy that can overuse God's word. GOD is a respected of no persons Acts 10:34. Even the disciples of Jesus were persecuted, stoned to death because of the gospel but it didn't stop those left from spreading the gospel until it got to us. How much more a selfinflicting tragedy out of lust for things of the world. Sorry, God's word is God himself and it is our purpose on this world to live by it and defend it anytime. Being on the neutral is neither here nor there. Declare your stand and be saved. That is why the bible says in Luke 12:8-9, if you acknowledge Jesus before men He will acknowledge you before the Father. Also Read Romans 10:9, you have to confess the Jesus Christ is Lord, not be silent about it out of fear and practise the word of God before you can please God and be saved and be called a child of God. Even our little righteousness is like a filthy rag before God, how much more these demon, called gay. Be worned.

Thank you

Thank you for this comment. Those who sleep with the same sex or with animals have gone out of the perfect plan of God for man. Inspite of this God still loves them even though He hates their sin. They need to repent and turn to God to be saved from the evil forces using homosexuality to destroy humanity.

How bout oral Sex, cunninlingus, anal Sex, threesomes etc. Straight people do these too. Sin or not? Even between married couples.

Wow!

John Peters London
how can John tell such a lie.You earned 5000 pds a month in those days in your Carrier.Where then did you bring 75000 pds for your brother. Or you think we are all fools.Anyway I just listened to your confession and heard you say you worked at CNN.pls grow up and stop telling the kind of lies kids tell.

Vry soon we will say is natural to sleep with animals and there will be human rights activist for it. God protect us

U are a fool

...it's not in them keeping quiet that makes the rest of us safe...*gays are also bisexuals and paedophiles*
***extremely dangerous orientations

Peace nwadire said...

May God forgive you for saying that. For ur brother may his soul rest in peace

Mtchewwww how dis one take concern us now

How pls? By tryin to influence our culture wit dis gay promotion article? I hope u all are aware dat der is a cabal who are agents of darkness n der aim is to fill d world wit des evil practices.

I'm sure its idiots like u 2 dat are troubling nigerian schoold wit dis insane n abnormal practices. D anti-gay law in dis nation is comin for ppl like u.#rubbish

Oo shut up! I'm quite sure ur eida gay or a foreigner.

Gerrarahere mehn!

Its Simple... d idiot has bn paid by LGBT community to promote der evil practices in Naija since we are strongly against it. Stupid father wit a crazy daughter!

May God punish u Fashanu. U n ur crazy daughter shld stay in UK n enjoy ur insane practices. Wen dey start promotin paedophilia n incest, its punks like u dat LGBT will use as front runners.#madman#notourculture

May it neva b well wit u n Fashanu for dis nonsense u ppl are tryin to force down on us.

Fashanu d bastard

hrm paul ojeih said...

@olumide bros u just spoke my mind. D bible says flee from sin who do u fear God or man.despite Obama legality of gay right I will nevr reconise dem. Gay or homo or lesbianism is evil. Its a sin to God no matter how d Americans color it I say fuck it it's an abomination to God.sodom and gomorrah was destroyed bcos of this.

Som1 has bn paid by d LGBT community to promote gay in naija. Its only mad fella like Fashanu dey will pick to do dis for dem.

LGBT has found an Ambassador dat will help dem promote homosexuality in naija...yaaaay! N guess who was selected? D world's failure Fashanu!

Crazy Fash. Lolz

This is the 5th time I ve seen John on this shirt .Owu Abeg beg your gal to buy you one

Ur boda did himsef gud to tk his own life. Anyone dat is gay n comfortable wit it is beta of dead. N u supotin him can go join him bcoz like ur bro, u also are in for a big disappointment coz we will neva accept it.

Awww I don't really comment on ppl but u really impress life is too short there problem is not mine

I wonda y dis nation will establish laws n fail to implement it. Biko our leaders shld start implementin dis anti-gay law so dat gay advocates like Fashanu n his fellow gay people will b put in prison.

Where's our govt in dis country? They should start prosecuting ppl who are tryin to go against d anti-gay law in our land.

Our political leaders should begin to arrest these gay advocates and their fag friends in this country. Its already a law that its unnacceptable here, so why are people like John Fashanu and Dami not being prosecuted for going against the law.

Ode

Thank u my dear! 1000 likes for dis coment

Well said!

When john fashanu was younger he had some sense in him.

so if iam a mad,gay,stupid,foolish, or anythng u can tink of i shuld come out public and say it, even to u does it sound wise? bcos normal pple dont annouce de are normal and de are practicing the natural way of relationship, so wy d public announcement about being a gay, weda is a sin or not is ur life, u will ansa for it someday. but dont come and impose on pple to accept nonsence, in dis country it is still illegal and we pray it will remain like dat. if u feel de way God wants it is not okay den continue wit ur ways. cos i belive if ur parent were gay u wouldnt be alive.

Praiz said...

God have mercy. Free tuition Universities

Mr 47 said...

Seems like people don't care about Gods rule anymore. Still don't know how some men can love their fellow men when there is a soft, warm, fresh, tight, sweet n hot cha cha out there

We don't need your fckin support! You act like we giv a damn bout u. Why worry bout us? Jeeeezzz u pple!

You and your mentally demented daughter should go to hell;ur brother was evil; have u cared to ask where he's now; languishing in hell;n ur demonic possessed daughter will soon join him;if she doesn't repent ;u see why we want Biafra

Good did not create women for you to stick your penis into! So being a misogynistic idiot. It's not all about sex!

We don't all believe in god. Bye

I don't just understand how someone will wake up and decide to be gay! God pls protect, lead and direct my children.

God Save The Queen.
Some of her grand children are being exposed to love and suck the odor of the wrong hole. Don't kiss anyone until you are sure which hole he or she prefers

I once dated a lady that I never knew was a bisexual. Her girl friend moved in with us a took a spare room. I will never forget the odor of her mouth when my lady kissed me st the door when I returned from a trip. It was then I realized what had been going on behind my back. Then one day she moved out and my lady followed. The next time I made love to my lady she was like in a trance and saying something like "I love you do much. I have never loved anyone the way I love you. Not even a man". When I asked het who she was talking to she woke up from her trance and said Oh. I repeated what she had just said and challenged her. Naturally she denied it but I eventually kicked her out of my life when the loyalty shifted from me to her girl friend. Do not trust anyone unless you are truly convinced about them and their loyalty. Before then I had already split with my wife after discovering she had been making it out with my colleague's wife.

Rubbish.
I can let anyone, even my son be gay, as long as he keeps his private life to himself. Who needs all that undue and avoidable publicity? So what did Justin gain from being a publicized homosexual. Who needs to know what I do with my body whether I masturbate or not? Or whether I sleep with goats or men? Keep your sexuality to yourself

Venus, you are even worse than John. How did he kill him? I bet you will be the first to work out on your spouse if you found out he was bisexual.

Cant you read? Are you so daft you cannot comprehend what is the reason for the interview and why John has changed his position? He had lost a brother whom he loved and who had in those days embarrassed everyone that he was gay. Today no one would have blinked an eye and John is pleading for a soon to be announced pair of British footballers who want to do exactly what Johns brother did twenty years earlier and died from suicide after the world and John's family rejected his brother for coming out openly that he was gay. John had no objection to him being gay. All that John pleaded for was that Justin should keep it to himself.

Rubbish. His brother killed himself. John merely said keep your sex life to yourself. Do not go public because the family does not want the adverse publicity. How else would John have handled it when even today no one goes about asking what's your sexual orientation and gets an applause whether gay or straight?

Mehn! I love ur comment

#Fatherndaughter#crazy family#sickpeople

Really? You've met a gay person before, who told you they were a paedophile? Idiots everywhere.

Now d world advocate and celebrate sodomy...end time is here...what God Himself detest...#worisdis???????

Empire. Nigerian version

John fashanu Israel is watching miss bakam the devil you know is better than the bigger devil you call bae..

I do not think so..he's always Bn like this

Gbam!!!!!

chichi said...

You are a horrible human being and the funny thing is because of your insensitive and inhumane heart you are more likely to end up in hell than any gay. Good thing he killed himself...Jesus!!! I'm sure you claim Christianity or Islam. You better be perfect o! Piece of garbage, coward hiding under anonymous...disgusting trash, how dare you rejoice over suicide simply because he was gay? Is that what your belief teaches you?
You are a bigger disgrace to your family and self. And I wish you come for me if you read my reply. Heartless sheep.

There is no amount of tragedy that can overuse God's word. GOD is a respected of no persons Acts 10:34. Even the disciples of Jesus were persecuted, stoned to death because of the gospel but it didn't stop those left from spreading the gospel until it got to us. How much more a selfinflicting tragedy out of lust for things of the world. Sorry, God's word is God himself and it is our purpose on this world to live by it and defend it anytime. Being on the neutral is neither here nor there. Declare your stand and be saved. That is why the bible says in Luke 12:8-9, if you acknowledge Jesus before men He will acknowledge you before the Father. Also Read Romans 10:9, you have to confess the Jesus Christ is Lord, not be silent about it out of fear and practise the word of God before you can please God and be saved and be called a child of God. Even our little righteousness is like a filthy rag before God, how much more these demon, called gay. Be worned.

Then how did you come into the world? Through your mother? And did your mother come into the world? Through grandma? And how did grandma exist? You gave yourself the air you breath, the life you live. Can God cease your breath for 2hrs so you'll know that He exists and is your creator and that you exist for Him and do obey His command in His word, 'The Holy Bible', God's will.

We may all be sinners but as the bible says, 'work out your salvation with fear and trembling' and that we 'should spread the good new', and that 'we should not cause others to sin or fall'. This man is trying to convert souls to darkness and he must be rebuked with the word of God. You were told not to judge, at the same gimme you were told to rebuke the devil and he will flee from you right?

You may not judge because we're told to work out our salvation with fear and trembling. The bible says we 'should spread the good news' not the bad, 'we should cause our neighbour to sin' . The bible also says we
should rebuke the devil and he will flee from us. So, he has to be rebuked to flee from Nigeria to where his practice is acceptable.

You may not judge because we're told to work out our salvation with fear and trembling. The bible says we 'should spread the good news' not the bad, 'we should cause our neighbour to sin' . The bible also says we
should rebuke the devil and he will flee from us. So, he has to be rebuked to flee from Nigeria to where his practice is acceptable.

Exactly! He lacks resources to make more money. Now he and his daughter have accepted to become ambassadors for the abominable things. All for money. No wonder the bible says that 'the love of money is the root of all evil'. Fashanu and his daughter have started manifesting what the bible warned us about. Take heed.

Exactly! They should not just pass a law against it, they should prosecute anyone who dares to mention or promote it in Nigeria.

Exactly!!! He's deceiving himself.

Exactly!!! Afterall, the Jesus said in the bible, 'Not all that call me Lord, Lord will enter into the Kingdom of God'. Shekinah. Let them continue to deceive themselves.

Very good advise. A word is enough for the wise.

Correct talk!!!!! LOL!!!! You voiced out my thought bro. God bless you.

Exactly! Shebi the children he had, including that his Gay-ambassador-daughter, he had them from a fellow man?