Ogun police confirms arrest of blogger over publication against Amosun's wife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 September 2015

Ogun police confirms arrest of blogger over publication against Amosun's wife

The Ogun state police command has confirmed the arrest of Emmanuel Ojo, a blogger, for allegedly publishing a Facebook post where he accused the first lady of Ogun state, Oufunsho Amosun of allegedly laundering $300,000 in London. Ojo did a story a while back, alleging that the wife of the Ogun State governor was quizzed in London for money laundering, a story the state government has described as false. Mrs Amosun also denied the allegations.

The police public relations officer in the state, Muyiwa Adejobi, while confirming Emmanuel's arrest, said the police command received a complaint from the state government over what they termed a false publication.

He said Emmanuel is currently being detained at the command’s headquarters, Eleweran, Abeokuta, for questioning.
“We received a complaint from the state government on the suspect, and he was arrested. Presently he is with us at Eleweran, we are still conducting our investigations. If he is found wanting he will be charged to court accordingly.” he told Vanguard.
Meanwhile the Secretary to the State government, Taiwo Adeoluwa, confirmed that the state government indeed lodged a complaint to the police against the blogger but however claimed the governor was not involved.

73 comments:

Ehennnn.

Ehennnn.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Na wa

Thats good for him

Let them release the poor guy na

Baddest Puta said...

Just look at...

they should free the guy for us olaniyidavid71@yahoo.com

Very good, estherpearl96@gmail.com

That's Nigeria 4 you!!! Valentinechisom7@gmail.com

Juliet Iwobi said...

This is blatant abuse of power. It has to stop. Shocking Video/Pix: Abuja runs girl allegedly slept with a politician for N300k & found worms in her private part after [Very Graphic]

Liars!
They should release the blogger Asap.
Bunch of conspirators.

It really pains me much I couldn't win today's Monday give away. I really waited all day for it because have got a really pressing need but my network couldn't allow me post on time,my eyes are so heavy, having body pains for stressing myself since morning upon all hissss. please anyone with a good heart, I beg u all in God's name that can help me out financially with the give away I wouldn't mind. I really really need money so badly. Things are so rough with me. Janenana252@gmail.com

Wat! I think they are overreacting. Now,this is absurd and ridiculous

Ok I have heard!! Let dem chop d guy. Valentinechisom7@gmail.com

Everybody wants to enter blogging by force. Linda ban any body who advertises their blogs here. I'm so not in the mood right now.

Ok I didn't see this one coming

They should stop detaining him and charge him, that's the right thing to do. He should get a lawyer and defend himself.

Bcus he's a bloody Guvnor huz jst der to loot billions that's Y d mofos hu call demslvs Police r still keeping dis yung man?! Isn't it supos to b 24hrs unless odawise by a competent court of Law pending investigation nd prosecution if there's any @ all? Amosun or woteva pls free dis yung man!!!!

Amosun and his wife are corrupt, y can't dey tell d world all while dat d guy is with dem, no one talk abt d guy where abt, nt until wen pdp gives dem headache by telling d world d blogger has been kidnap and dey need d police to tell dem abt d whereabt... wat is ogun governor feeling like? King? Leader? .... make dem free d poor boy jooor..... na who d wife help?

Go to school and learn to spell.

That shows how corrupt d governor nd his wife is.....

because he is a poor blogger abi? who hasnt insulted people in government before? hasnt ffk done it, obj, tinubu, amaechi. e.t.c. why didnt someone arrest them? bloody nigerian government.

abeg let them release the guy jor

There is an element of truth in every rumour ,

Good for him. All these fake bloggers now go cool ur head in d cell. Nxt tym u mind what u post

edo juju said...

Irresponsible journalism and freedom of expression. Fine line betwixt the two. In carrying out your duties, dear police, do not treat the young man poorly, as you are wont to do. It is well ...

I'm confused

In that case keep him in there indefinitely! That should teach these fake journalists a lesson about junk journalism. Nigerian blogger, and journalists like to just write whatever is in there head without checking credibility, or the source. See his head.

Prince David said...

His claim should be properly investigated and if found to be true, he should be set free and compensated. http://jobrize.com/index.php?ref=369425

anonymous said...

This is a democracy, it is not military rule. This poor man should be released immediately, otherwise the Presidency should intervene in this ILLEGAL detention. Let them take him to court if they believe they were falsely accused.

Thieves and lairs!! The governor isn't involved. Ndi asi! !

HE HS TYM FOR A BLOGGER??LAZY MAN.....TOMJERRYSWIT

valushi said...

I am not a party to someone spreading falsehood, it can cause a lot bad blood, if you guys calling for his release don't know. Let them investigate, if he telling the truth, he should be set free.

ChincoBee said...

Na today people don dey write false stories? But really bloggers should also be wary of things they post.Be sure you have the right info.

Chincobee.blogspot.com

Kosiso said...

Of course he's a blogger and it would be easy to arrest him, I don't know if the allegation is true but if it was false publication he would have just been advised to take the post down, the guy isn't right either to write a something false just to get attention

The government complained buh d state govt is not involved. Awon weere pple... dee

The guy should prove his story is true

Why is he being detained, he should be charged accordinglly
Meanwhile no smoke without fire!

They should charge him to court na. Why is he being detained. Did he steal or kill someone? What is his offfence. A good lawyer can very well investigate this so called allegations. What about the politicians accusing themselves, has anyone of them being detained by the other?

lol,what goes around comes around

This is pure abuse of power. The guy should be rather be sued for libel. But must be released immediately

oje said...

clear conscience knows no accusation.its so obvious dat dey re guilty dats y dey detained d poor boy.uncivilised meacrants wen sm1 publishes a false report abt u aint u suppose 2 sue him 2 court y detain him lyk he has no rite bcos u re a bloody governor dat rigged ur way into power.i weep 4 my country.

Correct me if I am wrong but this is abuse of the law. You do not arrest someone for deformation of character. You head to court to settle it. The guy should get himself a good lawyer and then make some money suing the police force afterwards. He should also contact the IG of police as this is clearly against the law.

Bad news for the blogger jare

APC change..obandavid@gmail.com

No you need to go out more and learn abbreviations

Tender justice with mercy

Dey should have been done with the questioning by now. Haba, how long will dey keep him. Linda take note!

9ja Parrot said...

If there is any false publication by him, he should be charge to court and let him hire a competent lawyer to defend his action. Detaining him is very very wrong!!!

D governor is not involve or aware is blatant lies frm d pit of hell. Who r they trying to fool other than themsef.

Let watch and see how tins turn out as development concerning dis story unfolds.

yetunde owosanya said...

it is well o

Vino said...

Freedom of Speech

If he does not have an evidence to back up his story then he is in for one hell of a ride! People look at Linda Ikeji and think blogging is an easy ride, if her ordeal with Google didn't teach anything, it taught the need for propriety and due diligence! Linda has learnt, e is about to too!

Yetunde Mary said...

It is well o. God will deliever us in this nation from d powerful ones using their power. yetundeowosanya@yahoo.com

I don't know why Nigerian bloggers didn't carry the outrageously expensive wedding of their daughter in Lebanon. The governor and his wife have robbed the state blind and they want to punish this poor guy. They should release him fast. Wicked people

Nigerian journalists and the accused should ask the British Police if Olufunso Amosun was arrested or detained for money laundering like her Oyo State counterpart or not otherwise make we hear word ooo!!! Simple!!!

@Vera, my point exactly. Y didn't they arrest other politicians insulting d govt. To hell with Nigerian govt. I think PMB should step in immediately. The days of Intimidating poor Nigerians are gone. May God b with this guy...Amen

Which kind tin be all this... make dem free the guy joor...
Home of Latest news And Gists

olusamjide said...

Charge him to court asap, everybody wants to become blogger. They peddle unsubstantiated rumors here and there. This will teach others

Folorunso said...

Linda I think you need to do more than just posting it here. A blog is not an official newspaper. An assault on a blogger is an assault on all the bloggers. This is more like saying there is no more freedom of expression. Amosun has become a ghoul and should be dealt with with the power of the masses.

Welcome to Bookybam's Blog said...

The agony of a blogger part 1

Ehen Linda ure next

Me Moi Internet said...

Madam Governor's wife what you are doing is called power show. You are not the first and you will not be the last to do it. You will also not be exempted from the repercussions of it. You forgrt that God has a way of humiliating EVERY power-showing bully in Nigeria.

By all means keep him in custody, have your attack dogs beat amd abuse him, debase him and have him crawl and beg for your mercy. If you like, release him after, otherwise keep him there to show others a lesson. However remember that you have just planted humiliation and you MUST reap a bountiful harvest of it. Then the journalists who will report it will be more than a hundred and you go hide yourself for inside house well well but internet and TV will still not give you respite. Keep going.

The Silent Observer said...

lol

Lol. He should

Reptyle said...

Leaders should rule with a human face...

Bloggers should blog with common sense...

Been in power does not give you the right to arrest and lock up anybody that offends you. There are laws and there is a legal process to follow in seeking redress.

In the same vein, owning a blog does not give you the right to publish damaging and unverified speculative reports about anyone. One of the time tested tenets of journalism is that if you are not sure, leave it out. If you choose to publish for whatever reason, make sure your story can stand the verification test or be ready to face the music.

The police have no right to hold the blogger beyond 24 hours without charging him. if they want to hold him beyond that time, they need to drag him before a judge and convince the judge why they need to hold him without bail.

I hope the recent travails of this blogger and others like Chris Kehinde Nwandu will serve as a wake up call that there is nothing like absolute freedom anywhere in the world. The same law that guarantees your freedom of expression also guarantees a fellow citizen's protection from slander and libel.

In as much as brutality is condemnable, it must also be understood that democracy is not a license for indiscipline, nor does it confer anyone right to infringe upon other person's right through character assasination under the guise of freedom of speech or expression. Otherwise democracy becomes a recipe for disaster.

I thought the freedom of information bill has been passed into law. You see that our problem lies within our veryselves..

In as much as brutality is condemnable, it must also be understood that democracy is not a license for indiscipline, nor does it confer anyone right to infringe upon other person's right through character assasination under the guise of freedom of speech or expression. Otherwise democracy becomes a recipe for disaster.

I guess you mofos didn't learn shorthand in the schools you were taught or the streets you live in. English teachers

If his publication is false, the right thing to do will be to sue him for defamation of character et al not detain and torture him. To think people are in support of this kangaroo court treatment is appalling. Until Nigerians spend time to read their constitution and understand their right as citizens of this country, they will continue to be handled like puppets by those that think they are above the law.