EFCC arraigns fishermen for fishing in unauthorized waters | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 September 2014

EFCC arraigns fishermen for fishing in unauthorized waters

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) yesterday September 24th arraigned six fishermen Adekunle Oshingbosi; Momodu Ibrahim; Idowu Tuesday; Togbosi Christian; Benjamin Eyinle; Anthony Medoho,  and their company, Oshine Resources Ventures Limited before a Federal High Court sitting in Lagos for allegedly fishing in unauthorized waters.
According to the EFCC, the men were arrested on March 27th by officers of the Nigerian Navy for fishing in Nigerian territorial waters without getting authorized approval thereby violating Sections 1(1)(2) of the Seas Fishery Act Cap S4, 2004. 
When the 2 count charge of conspiracy and stealing was read to the men, they pleaded not guilty and applied for bail through their counsel.
The presiding Judge, Justice Ibrahim Buba granted them bail in the sum of N10 million each with one surety in like sum each, who is to produce two recent passport photographs. They were remanded at the Ikoyi prisons pending when they meet their bail conditions.

214 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 214 of 214

Oh my God. I don't just dislike this country, I hate this country, I hate Mr president, I have everyone in power, the government, the police, the nigerian army, this country is messed up. Even the Americas cannot assist. Cos we are corrupt. Sometimes I wonder why we gained independent. It's of no use. We are worse than the whites.will I blame nigerians going abroad or giving birth abroad? Even the religious people are messed up. When u go to a church u hear the pastor praying, telling the congregation that when things go wrong in the nation, it will not affect them. Very self centred people, who think of only themselves. Benin republic who are not even as developed as us have good power supply. 24/7 electricity
Mr president what have u done. Just focus on one thing
We not asking for too much. I can go on and on
As for EFCC and it's crew. Ur life is messed up all for money. U will root in hell

Nawa oo,but why una no go let poor man rest,I bet they don't even know which is authorised or unauthorised water,catch the real thievies and leave these men alone....dis is STUPIDITY I must confess

see EFCC don turn to marine oo. wetin concern EFCC with fishermen and d water wey dem choose to fish 4rm. chai!! God help dis country oo.

oga judge u sef harsh oo. if these men had 10million naira will they b fishing? indeed the judicial arm of this country has become a comedy zone

Zenith Network said...

This is unfair, its pure wickedness.only in this country will you see these sort of things. Quite a pity.

Hahahahahhaha eeww!

EFCC are now a joke. keep on messing themselves up.

nija......... Imaging d charges on fishermen, when will they ever b granted dat bail or d Judge jst wants to fustrate d life of those men. When our politicins d make money get leg waka comot from central bank go abroad. There is GOD ooo, let em knw dat GOD always listens to d cry of d poor o

imagine... and they go around in their big cars and their kids throwing money around. and they a arrest a common fisherman. Theres God

Will dis EFCC guys ever knw peace in their life? smh

What s country we live in! EFCC now arresting for illegal fishing! See as una don bring down una self reach EFCC! This country is in a mess. All these wicked judges wey we get for this country. Una better release those men before u incur the wrath of God upon u! Poor me , 10m my ass. Oloshi!

Kenturky said...

Nonsense!

Osinachi IBIAM-URO said...

Wetin concern EFCC with fishermen bikokwanu! This guys have clearly missed the point. EFCC please go for the real corrupt people #dazull

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 214 of 214   Newer› Newest»