Lagos House of Assembly members ask Fashola to rename IDH after Adadevoh | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 25 September 2014

Lagos House of Assembly members ask Fashola to rename IDH after Adadevoh

Members of the Lagos State House of Assembly moved a motion yesterday September 24th asking the state Governor, Babatunde Fashola to rename the Infectious Disease Hospital, IDH, where Ebola disease patients were recently treated, after Doctor Stella Adadevoh.

The motion for her to be immortalized was moved by Hon Adefunmilayo Tejuoso and seconded by Hon Muyiwa Jimoh. The lawmakers said Dr. Adadevoh's act of stopping Sawyer from leaving the First Consultant hospital after she found out he was infected with the deadly virus, saved many lives

The Speaker of the House of Assembly, Adeyemi Ikuforiji directed the clerk of the House, Segun Abiru to communicate the decision to the state Governor. If approved by the Governor, the hospital will be known as the Stella Adadevoh Infectious Disease Hospital. Hope he approves...

58 comments:

Eugenia Ekeji said...

That will be a well deserved honour. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritawards.com/vote.php

Hope so too

Nice one....he should better Approve it....sleep on ma

I also hope he does

Gbam. Seconded.

I trust our able governor Fashola, to do the right thing by granting this request. I know most Nigerians dont appreciate such rare breeds in our society these days.... but this womans courage to speak out and act right has saved millions of lives.... renaming IDH after her is the right thing to do.

KING B

Angeliqué said...

Why can't they just name it after her,must they put Infectious Disease Hospital(IDH) SMH

She worth it

Its a welcomed suggestion by the House members.

ukbliss said...

Ok nice she deserves it, Wat a name may her soul continue to rest in peace

abeg enough of all this self ,its sad that she lost her life but she wasnt the only one that died and they should also name somewhere after the others naaaa

Peter said...

Yeah that wont be a bad idea..but trust me Mr. Fahsola would approve.... becos she did the country good

This woman deserves more than that sef!

hmmmmmm dats okay

They should build more schools and hospitals instead of naming a dead hospital build new standardized one on her name

ELIZABETH O said...

I AM HAPPY THIS HAS HAPPENED. AN AMENDMENT PLEASE

DR STELLA ADADEVOH MEMORIAL INFECTIOUS DISEASES HOSPITAL

Supported

Joey said...

At least if this will make the federal government to do something that honours her.

am in support and i believe the gorvornor will give his approval...this lady did a good thing which we all must remeber and honour her.

Yea, hope so

Must they put infectious disease?

CoolDiva speaks!

Yea..good idea

bunmi said...

Nice move

Seems a nice gesture please they shud listen.

Nice move,cos she sacrifices her life to millions of naija

Annie said...

The name sounds somehow jhoor, kinda awkward tho'.

He must approve it, Linda.

That's a noble thing to do,since the FG isn't up to it.

Gentletee said...

It is very mich in order.

That's good. At least she died serving others. *good one*. >>>>>>QUEENMAYA<<<<<<<

ochechemila said...

infectious diesease hospital? who does that? who will attend a hospital with that kind of a name? national assembl members for that matter

Yes, supported.

I agree... Continue to rest in peace Madam.

Also name Onitsha main market after Dora Akunyili.

she deserves it for what she did for Nigeria............

Wonderful motion by the lawmakers
I hope my Governor approve it

I concur totally

beter. Badguy.com

Jessica law said...

Nice move by the house of Assembly I pray Fashola approves it.

shine said...

enough already. alot of people have died of this disease too

Same thought dear,her name is okay.dat infectious doesn't go well

Good development! Is she from Lagos? Bless her soul

win said...

She deserves it biko. The woman is a heroine and should be acknowledged as such.

In as much as it seem that the suggestion was done in good faith, it is apparently not thought through at all. If that facility is named after late Dr. Adadevoh, what other facilities will be named after the nurses and other innocent victims of Ebola virus who were going about thier honest duties before that maniac man came in with that deadly disease? What about the dead nurse, her unborn baby etc. Please let the governemnt honor them all by paying tributes to them but not naming any hospital after them. They are all victims and heroes as far as i am concerned

sleeky said...

What about Nurse Justina? Is it because she is a Nurse? She too should be remembered

I hope so bcos she deserve it,may her soul rest in perfect peace

Uche Emma said...

Sounds good.
But there are so many other doctors too who have lost their life on the line of duty

KWEEN said...

Exactly what crossed my mind.

llike seriously wow makn sense

Very apt

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Amam n' imaro ife.

mummy3 said...

Yes others died but they dint prevent the index from travelling she did and she saved a lot of people's like including u too shine

may her soul rest in peace ,but she is not the only one that died is it cause she is a doctor other pple died too including nurses .why honouring her alone.

"Infectious diseases" has to be there because it is primarily built for infectious diseases! It is not your regular hospital. *anya_o2003@yahoo.com*

Good one.

Victoria Chinenye said...

Rightly said