Pastor loses wife and four children in fire outbreak in Warri | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 26 September 2014

Pastor loses wife and four children in fire outbreak in Warri

The Parish Pastor of the Christ Apotolic Church in Otumara in Warri Delta state, Pastor J.O. Kayoda, yesterday September 25th lost his wife and four children, two boys and two girls, in a fire outbreak at their home. According to reports, all five family members were burnt beyond recognition after an electric fault in the area caused a fire outbreak in the missionary building of the church where the pastor and his wife stayed. The Pastor was said to be away in Osun state to attend a Pastoral conference when the fire killed his entire family.

According to a neighbor, the fire started at about 11pm and rescue operation to save the woman and her children was very difficult due to the iron protectors the house had.

"Last night at about 11pm, some men in the area were going around, it was like they noticed there was a problem with the light. They were like trying to trace where the fault could have come from. In the long run, they came like three times and since they couldn't get where the fault was coming from, they left. At midnight, I heard the woman screaming for help so we came out. When I got there, I saw the pastor’s last daughter standing very close to the windows, banging on it. There was no way I could help her. I tried scooping water to put out the fire but it raged on. Later on, I saw the pastor’s wife, struggling with the door, she was shouting for help while trying to open it. The three other children were not seen struggling at all. It was like they died of smoke inhalation because we found them right where they were sleeping. The windows and the doors were all guarded with protectors, it was difficult to go through, if not we would have broken through to rescue them.” Bright December, a neighbor said

Spekiang on the incident, the church secretary, Emmanuel Ogoigbe said the bodies of the deceased have been deposited at the mortuary
"
We have not been able to ascertain the cause of the fire, the people who would have been able to tell us are no more; that’s the wife and the four children–two boys and two girls. The pastors had gone for a conference in Ikeji-Arakeji in Osun State, so they quickly alerted our zonal chairman, Pastor Orode. They are on their way, they should soon be in Warri. This is a tragedy, the kind we have never seen before. Our pain is that if the wife and the children had survived, we wouldn’t have bothered even if the building was burnt, at least the church would have still been able to raise money to rebuild.” he said

Source: The Nation

145 comments:

What's a tragedy
Heartbreaking
Painful & unbearable

FIRST TO COMMENT***(GURU) What a bad news..Take heart pastor.R.I.P

COLLIN said...

Linda U̶̲̥̅̊ dint put " §Ø SAD" here....its in jason åη∂ jodins breakup ü® putting " §Ø SAD"......jù§ț saying......RIP ț¤ them

www.glowyshoes.com said...

So sd...may God give him the grace to bear these loss..r.i.p

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

So sad may dere soul rest in peace

confessor said...

God dis is disheartening...

JESUS what a tragedy, for his whole family to be wiped out in one incident! Events like this makes a man's faith quake and quiver. God help him bear his loses and show him a meaning to this tragedy

What a tragedy! May their souls rest in peace.

Awwwww this is so painful, what a great loss 'tears' May their souls rest in peace Amen! Take heart Pastor, God knows best #onelovefromSnow#

Damn what a terrible news ..... How will this man cope , this is why some people commit suicide, I pray he finds happiness again

Can this be the sign of End time really?

Jesus Christ! Wat a painful lose,God hve mercy on ur children,may deir soul RIP Amen.

BLAZER said...

SO SAD....BT THE HELPERS SHOULD HAVE BROKEN THE WALL INSTEAD....MAY GOD CONSOLE THE PASTOR

Bibby Palace said...

Haa Jesus christ.....dis painful

Angeliqué said...

How sad! May their souls rest In peace. Amen

OMG.

The Nigerian Defence will not connect the dots now. Why is it happening to only churches and church related people... Are they the only careless people in Nigeria? First TB Joshua, Next Lord's Chosen, then Adventist at Ekiti, now in Warri. Since no explosions,nobody is thinking it maybe a well planned strategy... Thorough investigation is what I suggest... These people did not all plan to be careless all within this period.. #Just thinking sha

How sad. May God grant their souls eternal peace and comfort the family and the husband in particular during this extremely difficult time. Insecurity in our land makes us build houses with all sorts of burglary proof. God help us always.

So so sad. What a world. Pastor may God comfort you.

HMMMMMMMM. THATS ALL I CAN SAY

Dadulcie said...

.May their soul rest in peace:.. What a tragedy..my condolence.. pastor

Uche Emma said...

May God have mercy on their soul

Neks said...

this is a terrible time for men of God in Nigeria; i must say.

emi2la said...

Wow!!!so sad..mto think a whole family of 1 person wiped out in a single day and he is not evn aware yet,herz d man coming home with so much excitment and joy to c his family after a while,full of smiles and hope,maybe evn stoping by sumwhere to by sumthing nice for d kids and possibly the wife only to get home and find his home all burnt down...ok fine d home is burnt down,hmmm dats fair,so were is my family?...who den will answer that question?and if the ?n is answered what next?....my GODd!!!!!...

Very sad, may their souls rest in peace.

Too bad..

. The Guy who Pretends to be Uti Nwachukwu to Dump his fans has been Exposed! Read Chats .. Click www.JaybeesBlog.com to Read

emi2la said...

Too sad....i wish it is just 1 of those rumors

Gentletee said...

What a tragedy! This is way too much. Really sorry for the pastor.

Very tragic incident. May their gentle souls rest in peace.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

miss janny said...

So sad. One can only imagine wat d pastor is going 2ru rite now. May God console him

Chaii, so painful

'TiS well wit their soul. D body of Christ need 2 wake up from their slumber nd pray, bcos it's under attack by d common enemy. May their souls indeed find rest in d bossom of d Lord, amen!

Ooooooh noooooo!!!!! Nononono!!!!!! :-V

Eya...i pitty d pastor

What a painful way yo die. May their souls rest in peace

Baby95 said...

indeed a tragedy i am move to tears..RIP to the deceased..kai!may almighty God give the pastor strength.

paul said...

may their soul rest in perfect peace and may God give pastor J.O Kayoda internal rest of mind in Jesus name Amen

Peter said...

God You know best than we do...I pray you give the man the grace to carry on

This is too much to bear o.

Ds s so so tragic...God grant d pastor d fortitude 2 bear d loss...God help nd comfort him 2

REXOVIC said...

tragic indeed!....RIP to the dead

LORD have mercy, let this not be the hands of the evil people against the Christians

Janelicious said...

Awwwwww
So sad

This is temptation. I pray this temptation doesn't set him away 4rm God. May the lord that allow this 2 happen , give him the heart 2 bear his lost. *saddened* «««««QU££NMA¥A»»»»»»

Very sad news. May God give the pastor the fortitude to bear the loss. Amen

OmG what a sad news. #Glophil

OMG what a tragedy.God pls console the Pastor.
Faceoflib

Oh no this is very sad, God is testing your faith pastor is well,may there soul rest in peace.

hmm what a pity. we give God d glory cos He knows best. taking d whole family just in a moment Lord give strength to your servant

tosin said...

I pray God gives him d fortitude 2 bear d loss

too bad

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Oh my God!! This is too much..may their souls rest in peace and may god give d man d fortitude to bear d loss#so sad

Dis is tragedy,may their souls rest in peace.

tosin said...

I pray God gives him d fortitude 2 bear d loss

My God,wife and four kids.
That's a tragedy.May God console him.

OH MY GOD WHAT A SAD NEWS.

Joyful Joy said...

Ehya! So pathetic. May they RIP

BELLA'S @cakes_by_bellas said...

Kai, this is very painful. God knows best. May their souls rest in peace. Since the conference was in arakeji, maybe it's a CAC pastor. It is well

Tragedy.... May their souls rest in peace..

abebeluv1 said...

what a horrible way to die. RIP

ukbliss said...

Oh my God, this is just too much
I can only say RIP to the dead.

Oh Lord where is thy face. Pls save your children

You need to read this though Stop! In The Name Of Love: see armed Nigerian police officers in uniform helping a man to chase his woman instead of chasing crime (photos)

It is well

http://monthlyyouth.com/?ref=522410

Esther said...

Wow dis is so sad, Sad only... Dats ɑ̤̥̈̊
τ̣̣̥
we ά̲̣̥
ŗε̲̣̣̣̥
telling our pple stop using protectors for house, dis wnt save anytin.... Atleast they believe, there is no grt guardian dan God itself.... We should allow God guide us

#king said...

Tragedy..R.I.P to d dead..........................#KingOfKings

AMIJEZ said...

Too bad of a news. What's really happening in the body of Christ. May God save his people.

Innalillahi wa innaillahi rajihuna
May Allah comfort him and reward him for his patience, it's a difficult period for him.

The young elite said...

Aaaaa jesus christ, What is this! It's so painful....May God give his servant the fortitude to bear this unbearable and unrepairable loss and provide for the departed souls a place in his everlasting kingdom in jesus name.

Am short of words wat a tragic lost,may their soul RIP

nicki said...

Oh, very painful. may dia soul rest in peace

very unfortunate

May God comfort d families oooo n RIP to d dead once.

Lord have mercy oooo!

win said...

Such a tragedy. May God strengthen the bereaved and grant the dead eternal rest.

Too bad! Why attack on Churches? Devil is at work...Christians need to pray for Divine, mercy, help and restoration..May their souls rest in Peace.

May their rest in peace.this is really tragedy

I Hold my side said...

If na armed robbers den go fit break the protector enta to tif o...........wat a tragedy, may their souls rest in peace . God please grant this pastor the strength to bear this great loss. AMEN***

kunbi said...

it is well in Jesus name. there is nothing anyone can say at this point but to preach to oneself and take comfort and solace in the Lord. Ha pastor it is well oo(Heartbreaking)

Wat a great loss...... wat a pain...d type one can neva come out from........

May God give d man d Grace to live on....

May the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace. Amen....

Tragedy. May their souls rest in peace.

Oh Jesus,this is terrible.May God comfort the pastor.

Hmm this pastor's faith is really being tested.More like Job in the bible.May God comfort him.

ADMIRE said...

Omg.. Wat a great loss may their souls RIP

Heard this stuff on the news
Cudnt help bt thank God for my life
Terrible accident along ijeshatedo road too this morning
Baba thanks for ur grace

haters-slayer said...

omg,what a tragic incident,5 gone hust like that,may their souls rest in peace.

prestige said...

What a tragedy! May God give the pastor and the loved ones the fortitude to bear this loss and RIP to the deceased.

Tragic, God have mercy
Afolabi Tosyne's blog

Lady J said...

what is spekiang again linda? get an editor Asap. the witness name though 'December'

Oh!.... Oh!.... Oh! . I was moved to tears by this story. It is really disturbing to say the least. Oh!.That is why I washed my hands off christianity a long time ago. Where was their God when they needed him the most?. Where was he when that little girl choked to death, banging on those windows, trying to call for help? what Kind of father would sit by and watch as his children roasted to death before his eyes, beyond recognition!!! ??. . Oh my goodness ! That God either doesn't exist or is not deserving of worship. He is a wicked God... May their souls R.I.P

And this is why developed countries do not allow iron bars in homes. Sadly, iron bars are a necessity otherwise burglars would be breaking into our homes pretty much every day. This is really sad though. atmynaughtiest@yahoo.com

God have mercy.... Am so speechless.

Annie said...

*speechless* God please console the pastor..

So sad. R I P to d dead

comfort said...

So sad...God all we need in nigeria is ur intervention cos we don't even understand why all dis is happening both in ado ekiti.

so sorry god know d best

Dis is rilly a sad news,Oo God pls give d a pastor a. Strong hrt to bear dis grt lost! May there. Soul rest in d peace of our lord!

God av mercy

jerry said...

Jeeeeeeeesus christ! Lord have mercy..... Comfort that man of God. Chai!

My God this is sad,my heart goes to the husband God will give him the grace to bear is lost.the lord knows best

KWEEN said...

:( :( I'm lost for words. May their souls rest in peace.

So sad,rip to d deceased.

very pathetic. God knows best...

where was the pastor?

Glory Udofia said...

very pathetic. God knows best...

very pathetic...

Aawwww!tragic.a whole generation wiped off?

hmmm...too sad, may the lord console u sir

PHINITE said...

Nawa oooo... Hear stories lyk dis n u forget ur problem. Lord hv mercy n protect us frm dis kind of death.

OMG. :( Dis is so sad...May thier soul rest in peace

So so sad. What a tragedy. May their souls rest in peace.

My goodness...what a loss

Jessica law said...

So sad were will he start from again! The shock and pain alone will be too much for him to bear but I trust God to see him through.

Hmmmm...Der z sumtin behind diz

Oh my God! Such a tragedy. Imagining d pains, d screams... Wat a pity. May thr souls RIP

beauty said...

Satan is wicked oh God console ur children........wat a tragedy

Horrific scene

Na near my house here na. The thing let everybody dey think iron door and protector matter. But thief nor let person rest, you fit dey sleep, until dem go remove all your property you nor go know. I tire o.

Too bad. What a loss! Rip to d deceased. May God give the Husband the heart to bear the Loss.

This is very sad news

ChincoBee said...

Awww what a painful death...I can't just imagine the scenario

may there rest in perfect peace. AMEN

Amicable said...

So sad may their soul rest in peace

Annette nwachukwu said...

Ohhhhh sad indeed!

Easy-E said...

May almighty God console u....

Chop Chop said...

Very painful, may their souls rest in peace.

Very pathetic story.

Ijay said...

Oh! No, dis is so sad. May their souls rest in peace.

Choiii..RIP.may God qiv u d hrt 2 bear d lose sir

The devil is a liar. That's how pastor of living spring lost his twins years ago, but it made him stronger. I will keep you in my prayers pastor .

Eyaaaaaa! Mat their soul rest in peace. And may God comfort and console the pastor.

#QUEEN OF LIB#

oh my God this is to sad.

Very touching story, so sad,

Abraham Ndu said...

The blood of Jesus!!
My hrt is broken...this is a serious trial.
Soldier on Man of God and may the God of all flesh grant you the hrt to bear this loss!!! It is well wit u and ur ministry!!!

Nah wao!!! Very strange. R.I.P to the dead.

God only U̶̲̥̅̊ UndastoOd all,dis is a big tragedy....RIp 2. D lost soUls....

What a painful story! But Linda u made a mistake u wrote spekiang instead of speaking.... I knw I its typo-error sha

Na wa ooooo

So sad. May God give him a heart to bear the loss. #treasure#

It's well wit u and may their gentle souls rest in perfect peace...

What a pity, a man of God's family...father you are great...you knows all

I wonder what it takes to brake a protector these days...it takes a Benin thief only 3 minutes to brake throu a protector....how terrible are you neighbors!!!....God have mercy

It's a pity Pastor, this is back to square one. May God console you!

miss pink said...

God pls have mercy...what a terrible experience, may God uphold dis pastor(amen)

lynzzz said...

Amen