Youth Lunch with President Goodluck Jonathan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 24 May 2011

Youth Lunch with President Goodluck Jonathan

A select group of Nigerian youths, myself included, were invited to have lunch with president Jonathan this afternoon to talk about issues that concerns the young people of this country and how we can all work together to move the nation forward. The event held 1pm today at Eko Hotel, Lagos. I went there mostly out of curiosity, 'cos I've been invited before and I didn't go, I wanted to know what exactly happens at all 'dem gatherings with the president. Nothing out of the ordinary, just a lot of passionate youths who had a lot to say. Hopefully the president listened to all we had to say. Got some pictures, will bring it to you tomorrow.

22 comments:

steezz.com said...

Linda pls what do u mean nothing out of the ordinary? What were u really xpecting 2 c?

Aunty Linda,U dey find make Bros GEJ appoint u for something ehnn?
Abi you too wan chop Naija money like Dbanj.Its not too early for you to start campaigning for him for the 2015 presidential election.
Abeg Na chop make I chop!

How much dey inside the envelope you collect, aunty?

This is great. I hope it doesn't end up as all talk as usual sha

Adiya

didi said...

Linda hope the issue of NYSC was addressed and the president made concrete promises?

Linda is slightly corny. I knew she's is an undisclosed supporter of GEJ from when she quotes his says off facebook before the election. Like GEJ don't know what Nigeria problem is. smh.

I just wonder why anybody showed up for the event after their future have been mortgaged by Nigerian politicians. Any meeting between the youth and politicians aka pseudo-leaders in Nigeria should be a confrontational one. Why would the youth continue to "suffer and smiling" in the land of plenty?

mtshewww! Next time please tell
Mr. president that his security detail need to stop harrassing people. A group of people (myself) included have been attending a workshop in Eko Hotel since monday; nobody told us Mr. president was going to be there yesterday. imagine our surprise when we left to have lunch downstairs and then we were refused entry back to our classes cos Mr. prsident was around and we did not have our ID cards on us! oh well you can imagine the ruckus that erupted cos we just could not comprhend why the idiots refused to understand that we were not aware we had to be walking about with identification tags! we told the guys to follow us to class where we had our ID's but of course how do you reason with such people! finally they said we should get the managment of Eko hotel to identify us cos they did not see us in the morning when they arrived! well duh that's cos we were there before they arrived! Anyways it was annoying and if they knew they were going to use that area, then it should have been cordoned off. simple! I really do not understand why the Nigerian security take pride in harrassing the populace

come linda, why can't you appreciate GEJ for one day?

ANON 3.09, YOU FOR KUKUMA BEAT LINDA NA,WHAT'S HER OWN,THAN TO GET JUICY JIST FOR HER BLOG, IF GEJ REALLY WANTED TO HAVE A DECENT DINNER AND CONVERSATION WITH THE YOUTHS,HE WUDDA GOTTEN REPS,RATHER THAN THIS SHIT HE DID. IMAGINE,M SURE THE PLACE WAS FULL OF AGBEROES AND RAZZ PPLE.. O WELL, MAY HE ADDRESS THE ISSUES REAL SOON.

Chilling said...

I heard some smart youths stayed behind and got some money. 50K for those from lagos, 100K for those from PH and 150K for those from ABJ.
Did you get? Lol! It's good he's sharing the National Cake with Youths. But he should have upped the money!!!!!

Did you collect the 50k t-fare allegedly given to Lagos participants and 150k for outside Lagos. Your share of the national cake I guess. Why not you, if Dbanj...

Linda Ikeji said...

@chilling...are u serious? I'm just hearing the figures now. I didn't get anything o, we left before any of that happened...if it really happened. Not that i wouldn't have collected...lol

@didi, yes Chude Jideonwo raised the issue of the NYSC and yes the president promised to work on it..

Chilling said...

Linda, yes oh. Well, I guess they felt it was their chance to get some pocket money from the Chief Treasurer of the Federation. LOL!

People are abusing these youths on FB for taking the money. Who doesn't like freebies? That amount is nothing compared to what these PoliTRICKians are stealing. If i was there, i would have asked for more or even handed out my CV to the President himself!!

Yes, he said he won't scrap the NYSC but he will look into reforming it. I really hope so.

Allegra said...

Interesting article. Firstly, in order to find a solution to any problem, there must be dialogue and so this is good. If the participants were indeed paid, I do not know what for and that clearly wass in-appropriate if it indeed happened. (Taxi fare - u attend such functions to get your voices heard in the hope of bringing about changes).

As for Anon 7.53a.m, complaining about being harrassed. You were lucky. When attending a training or such function, you should know better than to walk around without said ID as you could be stopped by staff of the hotel or any other official person regardless of what was happening at the hotel and to expect them to go with you to the training room etc.........lacks professionalism. You are lucky it is in Nigeria as anywhere else you would have been ejected from the premises with or without your personal belongings. On this occasion I do not see it as harrassment.

Adebola said...

I totally agree with all you have said Allegra. You spoke my mind. Change wont come unless we change. Lets move Nigeria Forward, enough of our old ways, time to move with time. God bless Nigeria

Hotels In Nigeria said...

Aunty Lynda, You are due for minist. appointment for GEJ.

The same people who threw stones at Dbanj and Nollywood stars are the ones who attended and collected moneys. Hiss hisss. Said it from beginning, they were only angry it wasnt them. No they got their piece of cake, hope peace shall reign.

SadNaija said...

@^ abi? GEJ can now say that the 'YOOT' have eat part of the national cake so dia for they cannot complain about non performance oh.

Paltry 50/100/150K...is that what the conscience of the Nigerian youth is worth?? Nigeria deserves the leaders she gets!! Tufiakwa

linda u and your country...if una like make una move forward or not ...dat one concern una

yourself included?

You would count yourself as a youth?

This is quite silly Linda..you said were invited before and you didn't go? How then do we expect to uplift our nation and change the mindset of politicians if you guys who are the youth do not raise your voices and share your thoughts when invited to do so??