Nigerian High Commissioner to Kenya batters wife | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 May 2011

Nigerian High Commissioner to Kenya batters wife

This incident made front page headline in the local newspapers in Kenya but we are only just hearing about it in Nigeria. The High Commissioner to Kenya, Dr. Chijioke Wigwe is being accused of battering his wife and there are pictures to prove it. The photos of a battered Mrs Wigwe was published by a newspaper in Kenya called the Nairobi star.

See the woman's face. What an animal. I hope they relieve him of his post.

47 comments:

Oh gosh! Give us close-up shots of what this 'animal' in human skin did to his wife.

Wow! This is jst ridiculous! This man must be something else

Those pictures do not look real to me. Does it mean she was busy taking pictures while she was bleeding profusely. This sounds more like a scorned woman who is trying to get back at her husband by tarnishing his image. Be careful of what you read or see in the media these days.

-Gbenga

B4 NKO? said...

WHAT??? She couldn't get a hold of something, anything to hit this bastard with? I have always said, if you beat me, make sure I have died because when I get up, anything I touch I am hitting and hitting hard! Sef, sleep with one eye open and don't eat my food because one way or the other, I will get you. I will not go to jail for killing anybody but I will get you. EHHHH! Look at this lady? God Forbid bad ting!

ChiChiLuv said...

You can remove the man from the bush but you can't remove the bush from the man. See this idiot? Who did he bribe to get that job? This is supposed to be an educated man? Na wa!

I hope they recall his stupid ass home.

This is the nonsense that's wrong with some African men...he has beaten the woman shitless and what happens to him?? rubbish, pig...if they were here in america and knew that if they tried that nonsense they will be in jail, will they do it?? its because they know they can do it over and over again in africa and NOTHING will happen to them...nonsense idiots

He is still the ambassador, why?

That's so undiplomatic. Smh.

naso said...

@ anonymous 12: 21..why u wanna see the close up shots though...arent these pics disturbing enough?

I'm sure, the woman found out he is messing around....that is why this SOB beat her.

WHAT? Some people are just animals!!

He is a very Stupid man!

who will relieve him of his post? im sure his bosses are batterers too.

Damisola said...

Wow! This man is brutal. We really need to enlighten men in Nigeria about spousal battering. This is horrible. I can only imagine the amount of pain she was/is in. I hope she gets some compensation for that.

is this really true, i hate jumping into conclusions, until i hear it from the horses mouth....
poor woman tho, i really wonder why some women allow things like this to escalate.....!

Ijeoma said...

Proof that all that glitters is not gold. Who knows how long this woman has had to deal with his fist.

Yet i am sure that despite all the moral outrage that is sure to ensue on this blog. Many of us know women who continue to deal with this kind of physical and psychological abuse with little or no help from their local communities. This is especially so for cases where the man is so economically powerful as this man undoubtedly is.

More must be done to empower all Nigerian women so that we do not feel any shame about leaving marriages that dehumanize and leave us psychologically impoverished.

Wow! This Chijioke guy should be dragged to a law court and thrown into a filthy jail with 40 inmates who hate public officers. Look at what he did to her! smh.

The woman should sue him, 1 Billion Naira damages simple.

Maybe that is how his father beat his mother.

Linda, You can see why this nation is stagnated. How would an imbecile like this brute of a man be an ambassador of a sovereign nation like Nigeria. Its a shame how we are constantly dragged in the mud by same people who are supposed to project our image abroad. We rebrand with slogans and recycle hoodlums in power. Which way Nigeria.
I pray the president recalls this animal with immediate effect and makes sure that his likes do not make his cabinet in the present disposition.

Angel said...

do u know dat we still have ducated illitrates in dis world?, no matter waht, he is not worth to do what he has just done to his own wife, the office does not fit him jare...

Violence against women in any form is unforgivable. this man should be investigated and sent to jail if found guilty. But we are yet to know what prompted this level of violence. Its just one side of the story we are hearing. i think there is more to it. Some men are animals in human skin and some women are animals that can bring out other animals in human skin. We should hear both sides before condenming either the man or his wife

FW said...

This man must go to prison. MUST!! GHAST! What a wicked fool! Linda, please, you need to stand up for women's rights and let's stand together and make a petition or protest for this man to be kicked out of office and imprisoned. This is battery resulting in grievous bodily harm.

This clown goes to another man's country and beats up one of their citizens huh! Wait until those crazy "night runners" in Kenya get a hold of him! They will tear him a new nyash hole!

Annonymous May 27, 2011 12:21 AM - why do u want to see close up shots of this outrage??? these pictures that are disgusting enuf as they are?? are u sort of a sadist?

B4 nko - You are really very funny.

Seriously the man doesnt deserve to breathe the air of freedom for the remainder of his life cos this isnt battery at all - this is attempted murder!!

passerby said...

Olorun awon omo ogun oooooooo,this man's an animal

Maybe he did it in self defense... you never know what the woman too had up her sleeve!

J said...

this is serious
I am speechless
wey dem pikin?
If na my papa I go trash the man shitless
why batter her face like this
oga o SMH

this man shld be careful messing around in Kenya..AIDS is real...
@Gbenga u are heartless u shld know that anyone can take pictures even with a cellphone..and her wounds look like they had been stitched, and she wasnt bleeding profusely..it was pictures from the aftermath, and anyone or the police might have taken them

@anonymous 10.28am 'we are yet to know what prompted this level of violence. Its just one side of the story we are hearing. i think there is more to it. Some men are animals in human skin and some women are animals that can bring out other animals in human skin'. Did u just say this? are u suggesting a woman should not challenge her husband for fear of 'provoking' him?this is the type of mentality that keeps Nigeria backward.
Only cowardly men use your line as excuse. No matter the level of provocation no man has the right to beat his wife.if it were a man would he do the same?shiiiooooorrrrr!
That is were there is something called separation or/and divorce.if u cant stand the woman then go your own way!marriage is not by force!

Abeg, make we hear word o. We all knew what happened when a former monarch (Deji of Akure) battered his wife (Olori Bolanle) last year.

The media supported her and she ran back to him when he was dethroned for beating her up.

I don't trust Nigerian women. I think some of them love to suffer. Since he is an Ambassador this woman may take him back too.

Anonymous @11:56 AM, as you can read Anonymous at 1:06 AM does not think the pictures are real. I have a legal background and would prefer to see evidence. Sadist or realist? Realist!

Ade_Cool said...

Why didn't she break a bottle on that his coconut head..honestly Nigerian women home and especially abroad should use all the tools at their disposal to put this man on blast!!...forcing him to lose his job..start one of those online petitions..I mean how can a man beat a woman like this..
Diplomat and Wife Beater in the same sentence..honestly you can only make that up in Africa!!

Ade_Cool said...

and don't be silly..this pics were probs taken after the attack by the hospital and police..caveman..didn't you see Rhiana's mugshots too..bet they made that up too..

The sad thing is this woman has been enduring the abuse for over thirty years. She prob decided to stay because of her kids.. God will fight her battle n her kids will stand by her

Jay O said...

5 kids aged 20-32
5 grandkids

she left him in 1999 due to infidelity, moved to UK, and stayed there, during which he had 2 trad weddings. He begged her when he was appointed in 2008 and she came back.

Her 20 yr old son and 23 yr old daughter were the ones that rescued her. Who knows how long it was for them to come to her aid.
The 2 of them alone should have been enough to over power their dad and put him in his place.

High Commissioner's residence is considered Nigerian territory so police cant come in, neither can they go to the Offices too.

See the old looking somebody, even that 1951 age is prob fake.
His surname and place of birth makes it easy to see that he is an Ngwa man. Sad that he is now fitting the stereotype too.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs hasnt responded as always and of course GEJ wont say anything, too busy with his inauguration. Though all it'll take is a phone call to the Minister, who should quickly summon him to Abuja to explain what happened. In a normal society, he should be put on a working leave, the Deputy will take over and if found guilty, he should be officially fired, if he doesnt quit before hand. As a career diplomat, unfortunately I doubt if much will happen to him.

@Anon 4:46 GTFOH with your "I have a legal background". ode! You don't think the pictures are real. Wow and are you reading law or something.

I am so irritated at that comment that I have to state again that you need to GTFOH with your "I have a legal background shit.

Maybe if it was your mom that got beaten, you won't be asking for evidence. What kind of evidence...jeezzz you're such a retard for saying that.

I'm suspecting that you're a guy too.
You need evidence....ode oshi. You better get a life.

Gosh that comment is making me rage over here....

Legal back ground my ass!

SirTalk said...

Re-unite Chris Brown with his dad. If guilty he should be severely punished.

@elusive kate : please go and sit down abeg. I agree with anon 10.28 and i am a woman. EVERY story you hear has two sides and for you to jump to any logical conclusion you must hear both sides. Thats wht anon 10.28 was saying and he/she even says violence against women is unacceptable. is one minded women like you that say all men cheat and crap like that. And what has the comments 10.28 made got to do with nigerian men being backward? SMH. some people just talk without thinking. REALK TALK!!

keke said...

@jay-o u gave some serious stats...he shld lose his job asap...it is amazing to me men and women with no moral compass are allowed to be in govt..this will never happen in the US..his children shld have disfigured his face for him..loser, devilish old man...the fine woman doesnt even look like she has a 32 yr old child...olodo man

fiona said...

@ADE COOL WELL SPOKEN...

how can a man ever do this to a woman??not to talk of d mother of his KIDS??? me thinks he's an animal and should be kept with animals!!

Jesus is Lord!!!! What??? Dang, when r they going to start exposing these fools in NIgeria? n jailing them? Tradition my ass

Ade_Cool said...

Thanks @Fiona...u know people are saying the pics were photoshopped..unbelievable..this men always in denial..yes women do drive us mad but that's no way for a man to handle the situation..

Linda, you should read this version

Domestic Violence: Do We Turn the Other Cheek? http://bit.ly/kq96T7

Bradly Jones said...

To think that people won't know about this. He is a commissioner, every single thing he says or does is noted.

--
call Nigeria