1-year-old Gavel is a
German Shepherd who is just too friendly and rolls around with
everyone. He would rather roll around and have his belly robbed than
stand at attention and look menacing.
Because
of these attributes, Gavel failed to make the final cut for Queensland
Police Service in Australia, despite having a prestigious family
bloodline which saw him related to five current working QPS dogs.
However, he is not totally out of a job as he was offered a new role
welcoming visitors to Brisbane's Government House as Governor Paul de
Jersey's official Vice-Regal Dog – a job suitable for his personality.
Gavel
has reportedly struck up quite the bond with Governor de Jersey and the
many Australians he greets every day and this has now made him is now a
social media star.
A spokesman for Queensland
Government House said:
"Gavel arrived at Government House in April last year as a six-week-old puppy. It was intended that he would undergo a training and socialisation programme preparing to become a Queensland Police Service Dog. But like many aspiring QPS Dogs, Gavel did not display the necessary aptitude for a life on the front line. Not all dogs display this, and Gavel proved himself to be quite sociable."
He
added:
"He is better suited to life as a ceremonial dog and will instead now spend his working days at Fernberg, where he has become a much-loved part of Government House life."
When
the dog's service at Queensland Police Service ended earlier this year,
staff at Government House couldn't let him go. They created a brand new
state position – Vice-Regal Dog – especially for Gavel and gave him the
official title Gavel VRD.
Now his official
state duties include welcoming the building's thousands of callers,
attending functions and formal ceremonies with the governor and even
sitting in on briefings.
33 comments:
He was not sacked rather he was demoted for being too friendly. Lol
Hahaha, lol...i don't know why this cracks me up this much.Hehe
Gavel VRD is a cool guy, I hope he enjoy the new post.. what a sociable GPS dog
lol this is really funny but every disappointment is a blessing now the dog has a better job naija hope una dey see am dog dey get job for yankee whereby human beings youths for that matter dont even have job unemployment won kills for here
Hahhahahahahhahahahhahahahhaha,this people are not serious.
Better dog...
Chai! Even dogs have place for employment
Loolz!!! This dog's God got his back.
Yeye dog.
Who wan do police work b4?
e don get wetin e want na. See sense.
Aaawww!!!Too cute.💖 😀
Lol ndi ocha sef
Hahaha laugh wan finish me. Hard luck dear. You may want to try apply elsewhere. But before then visit www.seweni.com for job updates
Lesson from Gavel, "don't force urself to fit in where u don't belong. There's always a suitable place for everyone somewhere".
Imagine such a preferential treatment being given to an ordinary dog. Anywhere the dog still better pass buhari.
Orishirishi
Imagine that! Nice going Gavel!
Odikwa egwu o!
Lol... just negodu nkita
Promoted I mean
Lovely. Happy he found his calling.
One door closes, another one opens... Good doggie, good doggie 😀😀😀
i love that dog jhoorrrrr!
😂😂😂😂😂 don't know why I laughed. A dog has a job and my boyfriend doesn't smh.
lmao!!! don't I just love this dog? he found his calling and did not allow societal expectation drift him into a calling not innate to his nature. when your destiny is not the "barking and bullet-taking destiny"
Just watch out for this dog.I believe he is specially intelligent.
Don't pretend to be what u are not
lol...leave the poor dog alone.
Aww!💜
AWWWW POOR DOG!
E clear! Hehehehe..lol
The dog no want risk and violence encountered in police job.
lmaooooooo