Brave Police officer in viral Owerri robbery video died in April | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 June 2017

Brave Police officer in viral Owerri robbery video died in April

Earlier this week, the CCTV footage of a robbery attack at a Zenith bank branch in Owerri, Imo state sometime in February this year, surfaced online.

In the video, one police officers who was inside the security room in the bank, put up a good fight with the robbers as he engaged them in a gun battle and was able to kill one of them. After shooting one of the robbers dead, the gallant officer identified as Sergeant Chukwudi Iboko, tried to escape from the security post but was shot several times by another robber. Unfortunately Iboke died in April from injuries he sustained from the gun battle.

According to an Owerri police spokesperson, Iboko sustained serious injuries from the gunshot fired at him by the robbers and was in the intensive care unit at a hospital for two months before he finally died.

Two other mobile policemen who were also inside the security post with him when the robbers stormed the bank, sustained serious injuries and were also in the intensive care unit where Iboko died. They survived.

71 comments:

Oh dear, risky job. May his brave soul rest in perfect peace amen. Period

Davido and two baby mama nice photos

PLUS said...

eeeyhahhhh RIP BRO!

Sad.
Been a fan of this Hero Cop.

I hope their families get well compensated and taken care of by both the bank and the NPF. Rest on.

Long live LIB

Admin said...

R.I.P security jobs are sometime risky

Brave man. May his soul rest in peace.

Admin said...

R.I.P

Rip ... brave and very gallant I must say

I hate this news!!!!!!!!!!!!

Trendyify said...

May his soul rest in peace.

This is so sad, the officer literally gave his life for the bank. His ability to kill one of the robbers forced the others to abandon the robbery and escape in the car. RIP Sergeant Chukwudi Iboko. It is hoped that the bank will not abandon his family to suffer.

Feat Mp3 said...

Unbelievable! You mean this happened in Owerri

Samuel Okon said...

Sad
May his Soul Rest in Peace
Amen

He died a hero!

R.I.P Gallant one, i pray Nigeria appreciates your bravery. Adieu

That's unfortunate... He shouldn't have left the place then since they were 3 policemen altogether. Rest in peace.

Teslim Omipidan said...

So sad. Rest in peace, hero.
How Kudirat Abiola was assassinated in Lagos on June 4, 1996
~ Choose an identity

I am really sad about this

sad
The luckiest still remains the gateman and the lady on a red skirt who tried to enter the banking compound!

He's the true hero

Lukman said...

Rip gallant officer!

Sad to hear this, RIP Sir, You were Gallant. 😢

DULLA said...

May the soul of this gallant and brave officer rest in perfect peace. Zenith bank,you guys should see to the welfare of his family oh!

Beauty Osas said...

Chai so sad. May his soul rest in peace.

tsalz said...

Hope he WS promoted b4 he died

tsalz said...

Hope he WS promoted b4 he died

Hmm.. RIP

He was a very brave nd gallant Mopol,he wuld hav don mch beta nd survived but he was caged.may his soul RIPP Amen! I shed a tear wen I read d news of his death after seeing d Vid,i hoped he survived wen U said he did.

Nawa for this country Nigeria,zenith bank should have flown this guy abroad, rather they kept him here for two months,this just served as a deterrence to other gallant officers like him to run 🏃 for there lives when such incident occurr again.

He was in a position to kill all the bastards but chose to run in the direction of fire.......so sad he lost his life!!! the video should be used by the police as training for other officers.

See how sosoliso plane crash survivor survived. She had 100 surgeries.the guy should have made it abroad. They neglected him in d hospital in owerri. Zenith nor try

He actually saved the lives of the other two officers by leaving that cover & drawing fire away from the guard house.

hrm paul said...

The story is not adding up from d video footage there were no other police men just iboko.there are 4 robbers and if there were 3 police men dey would have engaged d robbers.there were no police men In dat security post just iboko dat was y he fled

hrm paul said...

I hate it when police force lie to us.we saw d video footage iboko was alone on duty.no other police men were in dat security post hence he had to run out.there were 4 robbers if iboko had two police men with him they would av engaged. Mopol training is a Mopol to 3 target. Iboko was alone in dat war.d mistake he maade was two.one he fired too quickly.d robbers did not com for d bank dey trailed a customer.immediately d robbers entered dey started firing.a trained Mopol officer won't fire instead he will asses how many robbers are in action how many guns.iboko did not do this instead he engaged he would av assessed d robbers and wait.wen dey are leaving d bank he would open fire bcos he has vantage.the mistake he made was he drew fire to himself and ran out right in to d gun fire.if u are ever to run into a gun fight run in d fight shooting if as he was run he would av kept firing dis would hinder d robbers acurracy

hrm paul said...

Security ppost should not be sited close to d gate.its a nono.in this robbery the police post is right at d gate if any thing happens no quick response smart robbers will first of all hit d police ppost.iboko would av remain in dat post and continue firing robbers too are scared. If he continues firing d robbers will flee bcos dey wont no d exact number of police men inside instead iboko ram right into d fire while runing he would av kept firing to demoralize d robbers Rip to him

Rip Gallant officer

so 2 other mopol been dey there and only him came battled those robbers. choi naija police can never stand for a brother in arm. had it been the 3 of them faced those robbers they would have gotten them down cos they were in a more better position and those thieves had no shield and were shooting like amateurs. rip to him tho

Linda abeg follow this news for us let's how it ends with these robbers that were caught...whether dis rubbish judiciary will let them go free or what...the robbers have to pay the supreme price for this...really sad,RIP our dear gallant sergeant...

Xeena Boss said...

True.

Yeah,nice analysis....RIP to the gallant officer..!!

Exactly my point, two months is enough to do all the necessary arrangements for proper treatment abroad. RIP gallant officer

What a brave man! Rip

AMIJEZ said...

Exactly.

Hrm Paul, u re 100% right. Nd I struggling believe there was no other police men at that security post there. May Chukwudi Iboko soul rest in peace.

OBA said...

Na wa o..
So the rest of the robbers wouldn't have deciphered where the gunshots were coming from..

I wish he killed them all tho..I sincerely hoped he did..

Rest in Peace Gallant one..
May Heaven not only console but compensate your family..

Where is the video? Linda you couldn't get the video. It is vital every where.

Vital kwa??...oooh ndi oyibo.

Personally I think these banks should position at least one cop on their roofs as lookout and the rest around the premises and maybe just one in the security booth. Those policemen were taken completely unawares. And policemen attached to banks shouldn't be so conspicuous.

Paul Is sooooooooooooooooooo right!

Thank you gallant hero! Rest in peace!

OdofT said...

I don't think there are other police officers in that security post.If there were,they would at least come out during the robbers get-away move n engaged them or even their car on the road.Officer iboko did not make any mistake as someone said but used his discretion during d gun battle.We are only analysing d video while he analysed in the face of death...it is just unfortunate he died.R.I.P

tayo said...

He was my hero. Linda u shouldnt have let me know he died .*tears*

pls what happened to the family of that gallant police officer...

Rip to him.

So sorry bro,u sacrificed for zenith yet they cldnt make a sacrifice for u when it was a matter of life and death. R.I.P My gallant mopol. Heaven and earth celebrates u.

The Police has been lying since this incidence happened until the viral video showed the entire world that only one policeman faced the four thieves. Since the video came out I had been praying that the gallant officer was safe.

Now linda and Sahara reporters are both saying the guy died. Although Linda did not state her source. sahara reporters said it was the police. I sincerely pray they are lying again. That Police man must not die.

koss said...

I totally agree with OdofT, Officer Iboko did not make any mistake at all. All this analysis hrm Paul is giving is an 'ideal' situation scenario. what the gallant officer did was the real situation thing. Ideal situation scenarios only work when all things are equal, but in this case not all things were equal.What the gallant officer did was to him the best option at that moment. He did all he could. Let's duff our caps for this brilliant officer. RIP officer iboko.

I guess it was a policeman that went out to buy card but ran away at the sound of a gun.making that gallant brave iboko the only guy facing the four robbers. Rest in peace gallant cop.

Too bad.RIP BRAVE BROTHER

The police man didn't stand a chance. If the post was fortified or bullet proof it might have helped

Well, if you watch the video very closely, you'll observe that there were 2 noticeable sources of gunshots fired at the robber's car. It's possible that after the robber seated in the car and the one that was eventually killed shot at the security post, they injured the other policemen who then stopped shooting due to injuries sustained.

Exactlyyyyyyyy....

I doubt he was alone on duty. It's a bank's policy to have at least 3/4 policemen or MOPOL on ground before opening its doors to customers. But if you watch the video closely, you'll observe Iboko wasn't​ the only one in that post. There were actually two separate sources of gunshots aimed at the robber's car.

Seems the police officer ran out of ammo that's why he ran instead of being cornered and shot dead especially after killing a gang member.

Common sense, the robber shot the other two mopol through the window and iboko used them as shield . When the robber decides to go in thinking they are all dead iboko fired him. Rip brave iboko

Sharap, don't you know what is called "auto correct"? Which village are you from? It is "viral".

Ogun said...

Police men on duty are fond of clogging up themselves in an area whenever they are on duty....life would have been saved and those robbers appended if d 3 officers were all scattered in different parts of the bank .....they should know that they are in fact securing their own lives before banks money can be secured

Why didn't they fly him out for intensive medical attention abroad? ?? If he was a politician he would have been flown out. This is not fair at all.