Photos: Nigerian businessman,32, gets life sentence for the murder of a woman in Hollywood | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 June 2017

Photos: Nigerian businessman,32, gets life sentence for the murder of a woman in Hollywood

A 32-year-old Nigerian man was on Monday, June 5th, sentenced to life in prison without parole for the 2015 murder of a 30-year-old woman on a Hollywood sidewalk.

Ezeoma Chigozie Obioha received the sentence after tearful statements were read by the victim's relatives in court. He was convicted last December for fatally shooting Carrie Melvin. The two had worked together.
Bernard Melvin, Carrie's father, spoke about how hard it's been on his family to lose Carrie.
"I have held my wife often as she cried herself to sleep. On several occasions, she has yelled herself hoarse, screaming at the individual person who did this," he said. "I feel as though I have lost a limb. I have tried to answer my family's questions, but how do you explain a completely senseless act?" We cry every day"
At one point during the trial, Obioha's sister, Nkechi Howell, told the court, "Judge, you are sending an innocent man to prison" before rushing out of the courtroom, followed by court bailiffs.

On July 5, 2015, 30-year-old Carrie was killed by a man who fired a shotgun blast at her face as she walked with her boyfriend to a Thai restaurant on Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood.

In addition to life without parole, Obioha also received an additional 25 years to life for the special allegation that the murder was committed for financial gain.

Prosecutors won the case based on evidence that Obioha owed Carrie more than $1,600 for social media work she had done to promote his company. They also portrayed him as a man with a crush that Carrie did not reciprocate.

Prosecutors alleged that Obioha acted after Melvin spurned his romantic interest in her and then filed a complaint with state officials alleging that he owed her more than $1,000 for work she had done marketing his clothing line on social media.
"So many people, my family's lives, will never be the same because a weak-minded, cowardly, insecure, spoiled boy can't take rejection," Carrie's brother, Ryan Melvin, said.
Obioha and his family still contend that he is the wrong person going to prison, claiming someone else killed Carrie.

"He's dedicated his life to protecting his community and his family. He's a college graduate and an Army veteran. The jury saw none of those things," Igbo Obioha, the defendant's brother, said.

Bernard had one last message for the convicted killer.
"Accept your guilt and the consequences. You know you did it," he said.
Obioha's attorney said they plan to appeal the sentencing, and they have 60 days to do so.
Read full story here: http://www.latimes.com

28 comments:

igbos doing whaT THEY DO BEST. yall had better shut up when other people are chastising yorubas because you are NO better

igbo man as usual.

igbo ofcourse. issa normal stuvs

Prisca said...

Nawa o. Good for him

Stop wasting money on high data. Get free browsing cheat on all networks

American is known to send innocent people to prison, but I don't know the full story. Sad on both sides

"a weak-minded, cowardly, insecure, spoiled boy that can't take rejection," Carrie's brother, Ryan Melvin, said.

Eya Ryan you are so right, take heart dear. that is how most Nigerian men are. cowardly insecure, entitled, VIOLENT and spoiled. especially the igbo ones. they feel entitled to a woman's body whether she says yes or no. ANIMALS!\

they need to start training naija boys like they train their girls or these savage fools will continue to embarrass us everywhere. imagine the other igbo doctor in the US sexually harassing his pateient! these are men that sleep with their housemates, they will sleep with any thing with a hole!disgusting randy things!

IGBO PEOPLE! nA the work them dey do

igbos, na the work them sabi,. mschewww animals

YORUBA and AGBERO things... Tueh for una

Asampokoto said...

Yet you people are coming to an Igbo woman's blog to stay updated on current events. Lol! The irony

Asampokoto said...

Lol this is a bloody lie from the pit of hell
Yoruba men are the ones who have no control over their urges and would rape or solicit sex from a woman as blackmail.
Keep trying to make your tribe feel better Inugo?

Wise Son said...

Mr Anonymous, u be fool & coward!!! Like sey u no read about igbo boy who invented an online game wey dey pay players income with 10million downloads. When bad news gas lik dis, then the animals & tribalist go use am as license to abuse igbos. If the guy commit crime & found guilty then good for him. Leave igbos out of it or better still, keep ur hatred for igbos for ur house as subject of discussion for u & ur brainless family. IDIOT!!!

Beautiful photos of John Legend and his family

Christie said...

they need to start training naija boys like they train their girls or these savage fools will continue to embarrass us everywhere. imagine the other igbo doctor in the US sexually harassing his patient!

want to get a bigger penis? click here now

Actually every unsavory characteristic listed above marks most Nigerian men irrespective of tribe. Think about it for a moment and the truth will set you free. NMTA

The act is a very wicked one.

I just don't think it is a tribal issue.

@ wise son. Change your name. Cus you're a fucking idiot! The truth is clear. Igbo's are foolish low IQ stupid violent people. Go do what u do best fuck your mom for rituals then kill yourself. Fucking retard

@ Wise son. Kill yourself you stupid piece of dog shit. Better yet do what u do best and sacrifice your family for blood money. Fucking hungry greedy IDIOTIC BASTARD. Son of an igbo whore, that is you wise son. You and your family are moronic idiotic shit eaters.

@ wise son. Na your envy for Yoruba people go KILL you. bloody FOOL! Don't u have a wife to sacrifice for blood money? Retarded shit head!

Bloggers stop giving our country a bad name. They never mentioned he was Nigerian on the articles. Just because he has a nigerian name doesn't make him a Nigerian.

Fortaller said...

Wooow,
My good blog is inspired by your story

@Anon 11:43, at least Linda is neutral in giving news, your tribe will not blog bad news about your tribe, but will always blog bad news about other tribes.

Igbo better pass Yoruba anyday, any time. This one story is one out of a million Yoruba bad tales.

hmm
REPP'N YOUR IGBO FAMILY SHAMEFULLY!

Nigerians are bad...oops humans are bad, irrespective of race, tribe, gender, religion etc. That's why God regretted after he created man. He did not regret after he created animals etc. But man the last of his creations broke his heart. Unfortunately, a woman caused it.

are you serious? how did you guys turn this potential case of false imprisonment into a tussle of ethnicities? can we please get our heads out of the dirt and see the broader view here

WE NEED A IGBO BAN!

God bless u my dear,we're so clouded by hate for each other in d name of tribalism dat we can't even sense d injustice done to d young man. I sense some very false punishments here most probably cos he's black and for them, d black race is always guilty #Not so#