Photo: Mark Zuckerberg meets with Nigerian founder of FIN, Lola Omolola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 7 June 2017

Photo: Mark Zuckerberg meets with Nigerian founder of FIN, Lola Omolola

Facebook founder, Mark Zuckerberg received Lola Omolola, Chicago-based Nigerian founder of Facebook group, Females In Nigeria (FIN) at Facebook Headquarters on Tuesday, June 6th.

Taking to his page, Zuckerberg wrote that he will be meeting with Omolola and some administrators of top Facebook groups in Chicago later this month for the first ever Facebook Communities Summit.

His full post below:
"I'm heading to Chicago later this month for our first ever Facebook Communities Summit with a few hundred of our top Facebook group admins.

For the past decade, Facebook has been focused on making the world more open and connected -- and we're always going to keep doing that. But now it's clear we have to do more. We also need to bring people closer together and build common understanding. One of the best ways to do that is by helping people build community, both in the physical world and online.

I've written and talked about these themes throughout this year -- especially in my community letter in February and at Harvard Commencement last month. This summit will be the next chapter and we'll discuss more of what we're building to empower community leaders to bring the world closer together.

Over the past few weeks I've been meeting group admins across the country who are building meaningful communities on Facebook and will be at the summit.

This photo is with Lola, who lives in Chicago and is originally from Nigeria.
Two years ago, she founded a secret Facebook group called Female IN, or FIN. It's a no-judgment space where more than a million women come to talk about everything from marriage and sex to health issues and work problems -- and it's helping end the culture of silence that exists for women in some parts of the world.

I'm looking forward to meeting more admins like Lola and talking about how we can help them do even more to build community. I'll share more info on the summit as we get closer, and I'll stream the event live from my profile later this month.

59 comments:

uniquechic said...

waow nice one...FIN is such a supportive group

Evil group from d pit of hell,I was a member,one thing they r gud at teaching is how not to take nonsense from ur Hubby,they see nothing wrong with dating married men, causing d Woman at home pain..and when u disagree with their opinion, they remove u from d group.

Enter your comment...FIN LUV,

wow,fin rocks

This is really nice!

rimes said...

Wow.. A million Facebook. Group members.. That's good work..

But ion thinks its only her group that has such amount of members.. So why did Mark chose to see only her..

Meanwhile u can chk out Nobleprimes.com for your Music Videos etc.. One love

Good

Yesoooo. Go FIN, Go Fin all the way

nICE

ifeoma's verdict said...

I see you sis.

lizzy said...

Up Fin,nice one Lola.Fin rocks

Yorrick said...

females in nigeria is a group? lol. that means approximately half of the nigerian facebook population should be in her group. lol. this people self, another feminism movement.

want to get a bigger penis? click here now

I see you sis lola.
FIN rocks!!!!

FIN. FIN. FIN THUMBS UP

I agree with you. It's witchcraft. I had to quickly exit myself after a friend invited me and I realized you cannot mention God or Jesus in the forum. God forbid

Bree said...

Our Admin... I see u sis#FIN rocks

fin rocks fin cares,i see u sis lola

I see you sis. I hear you sis. Fin rocks, fin hugs.

I see you sis lola
Proud FIN member🙌🙌🙌

Mo said...

I see u sis...FIN CARES.

Fin rock.. I see u Sis Lola.. Love the Group...

U are a big liar,God is mentioned severally there,u are told not to judge,if u can't comment nicely u are advised to waka pass,who give u right to pass judgement on a person,are u God,u act holier than thou,remove d big rock in Ur eyes b4 removing someone's sand from hers, hypocrite.

Yes u are right, women bring there problems and d next thing u see d group blasting hubby without hearing from d other side.and wen u speak d truth they will remove u. One story bout Sumone dat bought fake cream and my friend commented and said igbo pple and fake cream. She wuz den blasted and removed from d group. Am a member of d group,i go there to read stupid stories and stupid comments. Dey can never advice u well. Finfire

Imagine a married woman will write to Lola dat she feels honry or she just smoked weed and d stupid Lola will approve it and post. Oloshi finfire.breaking pples home and even helping dem travel abroad.

Shampepe said...

Yes, exactly my problem with that group, once you tell a woman to pray about marital issues or some kind of problems you get removed/banned from the page. When a poster post her story in the page, you can't correct her or tell her what she's wrong even when it's glaring, if you do they'll say you are judgemental and ban you.
, but they are good in few areas tho'

I see you, Fin sis! FIN all the way!!!

Emeka Izuogu said...

Lol make I go creat MIN(males in Nigeria) to teach guys how to cheat and not get caught,side chick dram,being a good father ethics etc

See her black ugly face, am very sure she's not married cos her own is to just be approving rubbish and posting.the story of havila gold made me hate dat group finally.

junia said...

Lies 4rm d pit of hell. Anon 11:19 & 12:12

All those anon that are lying and critising Fin are just better bcos they blocked them from Fin! Una sorry oh we feel ur pains but try to be less judgmental! Fin cares!

Una wey dey say d group no good are all liars. How can one advise a woman going through domestic violence in her relationship to turn to God for help? Thats just plain foolishness. Bcuz such advise naim i dey see from some stupid gullible women and yes dem deserve to be blocked. I am a proud finster, yes i said it. Now die

#Finloves#

Doll$r baby said...

That's abig fat lie!you are one of those spreading falsehood about the group.if you were removed you probably came judging or cursing a sister. FIN cares

Doll$r baby said...

That's abig fat lie!you are one of those spreading falsehood about the group.if you were removed you probably came judging or cursing a sister. FIN cares

She's happily married and helping women, sit down there and be judging and being bitter..

Yeye group...I exited myself like seven times. Friends be adding me when I never said I want to join. I see some of my friends commenting and I just laugh. Silly stories every time. Some even come to show case

u guys are just foolish saying that & its sad its sad its coming from females too...its a group that is there to support each other & giv a shoulder to lean on & learn many things there.. ...best group ever & all females had better join...I see you sis..#finhugs

sorry to disappoint you anon 13:58 she is happily married with children too so take your hate somewhere else. #finrocks

I see u sis, Fin hugs,
#Finrocks

Adenike Bamigboye said...

I see you sis,fin rocks,fin love

LIB it has since been renamed Female In(FEMALE IN) its no longer Female in Nigeria

I see you sis.#Fin going places...

I don't like the group. Not a good one for a real woman who cares for her home.

BOLAJI said...

HEY MRS OR MISS ANONYMOUS TALKING TRASH IT'S A NON JUDGEMENTAL GROUP THAT SUPPORTS WOMEN AND YOU ARE TO GIVE A PRACTICAL ADVISE ON THE GROUPNO ONE SAID YOU SHOULD NOT CALL GOD SO STOP SAYING WRONG THINGS ABOUT THE FOUNDER PLEASE

I don't know why Nigerian Women will continue to be this way. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, it's a forum that caters for different women from different background and religion. If you have something to say outside the rule, the contact is there and if you are not fine with it, waka pass or move on.

Am sure y'all would love to work with multinationals which gives similar rule, You can as well resign just because you are advised to keep your personal opinion to yourself.

Busybody everywhere, can't even appreciate success without spewing negativity.

Free Leaks said...

OMG! WATCH THE JUST LEAKED KYLIE JENNER SEX PICTURES! KYLIE CAN MOAN FOR AFRICA THO!

PS: YOU MUST BE 18+

bukki said...

Nah "Magun" traditional medicine from Kenya we go use for una.😀😀

uniquechic said...

Fine rocks...y all d hate? Not by force to view d group or join..
Ppl can be judgemental..if God have us power to judge ppl many will be 6 feet under now

Proudly a finster.....fin rocks...fin cares...
I see u sis

Proudly a finister.....y all d hate...

Fin hugs...

I See you sis! #finlove #finlove

Why are women like this? FIN is a supportive group! Stop spreading false lies about the group. FIN loves all the way

LAMI AUDU said...

WAHOO, FIN ROCKS

LAMI AUDU said...

WAHOO, LOLA WITH ZUCKERBERG. FIN ROCKS

FIn Rocks

U all notice how she open leg 4 Mark

I see you sis,I hear you sis....FIN all the way. Haters please waka pass