British journalist alleges Islamic countries are offering financial inducements to Christians in Nigeria to convert them to Islam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 6 June 2017

British journalist alleges Islamic countries are offering financial inducements to Christians in Nigeria to convert them to Islam

In the most significant piece of news to come out of the middle east on Monday, Saudi Arabia and a coalition of Islamic countries including UAE, Egypt, Bahrain, Libya and Yemen severed all diplomatic ties with Qatar ostensibly, because the Qataris are allegedly state sponsors of terrorism.
Somehow, Nigeria has found itself in the mix. In an article examining the unfolding diplomatic chaos, Paul Mason, a journalist for international news house, Guardian, alleged that Islamic countries are in the practice of paying Christians in  Nigeria to convert to Islam.
This is how he put it:
"Saudi Arabia, Qatar and the other Gulf monarchies, organised in the so called Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), have a long history of backing the spread of Sunni Islamist ideology outside the region. Not just in Britain, but, for example, even in places such as rural Nigeria, where I’ve seen Gulf oil money used to incentivise Christians to convert, fuelling the religious conflict there."
You can read the full article here:
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/jun/05/qatar-spat-exposes-britains-game-of-thrones-gulf-paul-mason

27 comments:

This man doesn't sound convincing although you can put it past anything. This is also a detrimental statement against Nigeria and the travel ban imposed by the current U.S administration. If the man in power hears this,just pray he doesn't put Nigeria on the list of his travel ban. Those Hausas' though.

Blatant lie, we don't bribe people to embrace Islam, our Religion is not a business venture like Christianity where pastors have turn gullible Christians into a milking cow. Just recently a Corper who embraced Islam during 2015 presidential election renounced it, no one bribed or induced him financially to accept Islam. Faith is something that has to do with mind not materialism.

This is not true.what are uour evidences ;you can't just seat down some where and talk shit about Nigeria. How many Christians has been converted. Pls this is false.

He is saying the truth....i just glad those idiots are realizing their mistakes..what will profit a man to gain the whole world and loose his soul? Thrust tried that with me.I blast the hell out of those islamic goats.rubbish

Na today. In some states I have seen many Christians been promised millions for business just to convert to islam. The man is saying the truth

Our people shaaaa. Anything for MONEY. Imagine converting to that religion where they kill people in the name of their god. #shame#

Please did he say Rural Nigeria????? My Internet Brethren where hath thru?????

Some don't even know what to say, he is saying this just to get attention in fact, islam is not a religion that is in competition with any religion islam is unique

hrm paul said...

U just had to go there abi u just had to say pastors have monitize Christianity abi wat about wat u people do in d middle east.as far as we are concerned Muslims are terrorist simple as dat.D agenda of islamizing nigeria and d world won't happen.u guys are killers ur religion is a religion of blood and violence simple as dat.and if u feel offended commit harakiri

femo said...

Who be dis uncircumcised idiot boko haram dawood u are a big retarded ass wipe.wat is ur religion about. No b to slaughter people bomb children kill pregnant women rape girls marry 6 year old girls.the muslim religion is a force satanic religion.its a religion of d slaves haggai was a slave to Sarah ishmail is a slave son.was mohamed not a rapist abegi wetin dis almajiri killers wan tell us dem go bend down dey wash their dick smelling dirty people

femo said...

Every muislim should be killed dey are nothing but terrorist who are d ones bombing borno attacking d western world is it not Muslims useless animals bring d Koran I will shit and use it to wipe my ass

Very true don't mind those ones up saying it's a lie... and it's their fasting month o, and they are still lying. This has been in practice for lonnng. The Middle East is even sitting on a keg of gun powder cos if the Shia Sunni divide. A house divided against itself!!!! Thank God for Jesus

That is Buhar's mission na, to put Nigerians in a situation (recession), where they can be easily lured into Islam for money. But our God will surely prove to him that He is more than him.

Not true sir! If mosques didn't get money from rich Muslim Middle East you will do worse than the pastors. And guess what, the major critic of Christian pastors are Christians themselves. I personally know a few people who were induced financially and for need of connections in high places to convert to Islam. Even talk about young Christian girls married off to Muslims under sharia courts when their parents say no. See polygamy was ok in the Middle Ages but not practical today as the community no longer raises a child but it is key to a father and mother to provide nurturing spiritual, emotional, financial support to the child not to breed like rats and expect the society to feed those children. When a man has 20 children, 1 or 2 can be suicide bombers and he still has plenty left. If that man had 2 or 3, he will be there for them and will not raise them to detonate bombs on innocent people. And you may say some Christians engage in polygamy and extra marital affairs but at least they know they are going against the will of their God and the church. Fix this religion please.

This guy said it all! Go to the rural communities and confirm his claims. I was once promised incentives by our neighbour one Alhaji...if only i convert to Islam but i declined. The Alhaji didn't tell me about salvation and eternal life oooh, but that he'll open shop for me, marry two girls and build a house for me to enjoy myself. Nothing like convert to Islam and enjoy peace and eternal life. I think you guys should rewrite the way and manner Islam will be in this generation.

Ladun Liadi said...

Every religion believes it is unique

It is no secret, just that our govt (idle participants to the crime) always turn deaf ear. Nothing is more important to a muslim than the spread of Islam. It doesn't matter if you live a holy life or not. Theirs is about body count.

Ladun Liadi said...

Christians are the biggest critics of their own religion, I suggest Muslims do the same.

It may or may not be true..but I just need the muslims to do something for me..."MIND YOUR OWN RELIGION AND STOP INTERFERING"...dats all

pls enlighten me on how islam get dere converts asides luring dem wit money and threatening ppl's lives

Which religion are you talking about Dawood Ahmad is it the same religion we know? some guy gave testimony in my church how a Muslim man gave him food and money and promised him shelter but on the ground that he becomes a Muslim and when he refused the man collected the money and food stuffs back. Your religion is a religion of benefit

Ronsky babe said...

Muslim is a devilish religion to worship shongo oya ifa better pass there religion

Hahaha... Of what benefit is it going to be to bribe Christians to Islam? Islam, a religion that says there is no compulsion in religion will then forcefully convert xtians. Pls if it is true then from now on I become a xtian so pls whoever is bribing xtians should come bribe me back to Islam... Every convert I know did so on their volition. People will believe anything shaa so far it is anti-islam

I have seen Philipinos in Saudi get paid, with a promise of citizenship when they convert. You know nothing Jon Snow. Or maybe you do know but this is you being disingenious.

All those small xtian girls wey una dey kidnap and take to emir's palace. Na God save ESE oruru

YOU NO WELL! IS THAT SUPPOSED TO BE A SLIP OF TONGUE OR HE MEANT IT? IF HE SAYS THEY'RE LURING MUSLIM YOUTHS IN NIGERIA, I WILL UNDERSTAND; BUT NOT CHRISTIANS PLEASE.
EVERYTHING WHEN NO GOOD FOR AFRICA NA NIGERIA. BRITISH, MAKE UNA LEAVE US ALONE! NA UNA KEEP US FOR THIS CONDITION WHEN WE DEY SO. AMALGAMATING TWO PARALLEL LINES THAT HAVE NO BEARING OR SIMILARITY IN EVERY RAMIFICATION YOU LOOK AT IT! MAKE UNA GO READ, "HOW EUROPE UNDER DEVELOPED AFRICA".THE ONES WHEN THEY BOMB UNA NOW, NA NIGERIANS? NA SO UNA DEY SET CONFUSION.

KAI and he's not far from the truth!