How Timothy Iro was killed by a police officer in Kano, Igbo Traders Association demands for justice | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 31 July 2016

How Timothy Iro was killed by a police officer in Kano, Igbo Traders Association demands for justice

The Igbo Traders Association, ITA, in Kano state has demanded for justice over the gruesome murder of Tochukwu  Iro by police officers in Sabon Gari, Kano State on Wednesday, July 27.

Tochukwu Iro, a patent medicine dealer was shot by trigger-happy police officers attached to the Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, of the Kano state Police Command.

According to eyewitness accounts, the 40-year-old married father of two children from from Orumba South Local Government Area of Anambra State was allegedly killed at about 12 noon Wednesday along France Road, opposite First Baptist Church in Sabon Gari area of the state.

One of the eyewitnesses who spoke to International Centre For Investigative Reporting(ICIR)
"On Wednesday afternoon, at about 12 noon, we saw Tochukwu walking along the road, as he tried to negotiate Illaro Road, two armed police men walked up to him. They came with tinted glass car. They stopped the car close to First Baptist Church, crossed the road and ordered Tochukwu to stop. When he stopped, there was a mild argument between him and the two armed men; and one of them who was wearing Kaftan brought out a branded police rifle and shot him. When traders around started shouting, the same man shot into the air and bundled the victim into a waiting tricycle, while his partner crossed the road, dashed into the car and zoomed off."
Speaking during an emergency Press Conference organized by the Igbo Traders Association at the Abubakar  Rimi Market, chairman of the traders, Chief Emmanuel Amadi disclosed that Iro died at Murtala Muhammad Specialist hospital Thursday afternoon after a failed operation.
"On that Wednesday, I was attending a market Board meeting  with General Manager of Abubakar Rimi Market, security chiefs and other stakeholders when I received a call that one of our members was shot by the police along France Road. I immediately told the market management and they asked me to get more details over the incident. We made arrangements to ensure that he was taken to hospital for treatment.  
"Around 9 p.m. on that Wednesday, I put a call across to Murtala Muhammad Hospital and I was told that he was responding to treatment. On Thursday morning, I called the hospital and was told that he was taken to the theatre for operation; but it was so sad that this afternoon (Thursday), we got the news that he could not survive the gun shot. As I am speaking to you now, Tochukwu is dead.  
"I have his file here and I can attest to the fact that he was a peace-loving man. We have never known him as a criminal and that is why we wondered why such an innocent man could be killed in such a gruesome manner. Since the news of his death, we have not rested. 
"The youths were here in our office this afternoon in protest over the killing of their brother. They are demanding for justice. On our own, we have pleaded with them not to take laws into their hands; and all we are saying is that the killers of Tochukwu must be made face justice"  he stated.
The Kano Police Command Public Relations Officer,  DSP Magaji Musa Majia, who confirmed the incident claimed that the deceased was shot because he refused to stop. A statement issued by the command below:
"The Kano State Police Command wishes to inform the public that on  27th July, 2016 at about 1200hrs a team of operatives attached to Special Anti-Robbery
 Squad (SARS) based on tip off along France Road,  stopped one Ogochukwu Augustine `m’ of Odutola Street S/gari but he refused to stop. He was subsequently pursued and while trying to escape, he was shot at the hipbone and immediately rushed to Murtala Specialist Hospital where he gave up the ghost while receiving treatment. The Commissioner of Police Kano State Alhaji Rabiu Yusuf  has directed for immediate arrest and detention of the team leader and his men for interrogation at the State CIID Kano. He also summoned the Elders of Igbo Community in Kano where he sympathizes with them and assured that Justice will be done. The Commissioner of Police also stated that his primary assignment is to protect life and property and will not condone any Police personnel who risk the life of innocent citizens. The outcome of the investigation will be made public as soon as investigation is completed before further action taken"
Source-  ICiR

37 comments:

This is really sad... I pray justice prevails! RIP bro #Justice

Justice for Timothy

May his soul Rip..Nigeria can never be one

North and death are like 5 n 6. I don't know how oda tribes cope deir.

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

Oh oh oh ... Not Again!

Justice huh?justice for Bridget don die like Nigeria economy the same WAY IS HOW THE MAN JUSTICE WE DIE.
I WONDER WHAT U GUYS ARE DOING IN HAUSA STATE OO THESE PEOPLE DON'T NEED UNA WHY NOT GO IF U LIKE SHOUT IT TILL NEXT YEAR U WON'T GET ANY JUSTICE HAVE U FORGOTTING THAT TERRORIST BUHARI GAVE all MUSLIMS AND FLANK IMMUNITY TO KILL ANY BODY THEY WANT AN NOTING WILL HAPPEN? EVEN IF U CALL POLICE NOTING WE HAPPEN.
I AM CALLING U ALL FROM SOUTH SOUTH AND SOUTH EAST TO GO BACK TO UNA STATE BECAUSE THEIR IS NOTING LIKE ONE NIGERIA ONLY A FOOL BELIEVE IN THAT.

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

I so much detest the police force as a whole,i have experienced police brutality personally,so i can relate to this.Just too bad!!.

It is well o

D man is very innocent,there's a low probability dat d man was shot bcus he didn't stop, dats not an excuse to kill someone,u can shoot his leg or in the air to make him stop not anywhere close to his body.Dis is very sad!

HRM Paul said...

No no no d pro iss is distorting the fact this guy was assassinated pure and simple.they stopped him, he stopped and yet dey wasted his life.sars don't go in 2 dey go innumbers of 4 and above so how com it was just 2.They killed dis guy for nothing Ibos in kano should rise up and demand justice

Mr GOLD said...

##barren,,, HIV/AIDS CURE ###100% assurance...
pay after you confirmed it........
adewalegold13@gmail.com.....

Eeeeeeeeeeyah! May his soul RIP. Linda take note!

Does it mean that police have no other means of arresting and detaining this fellow except shooting him dead. Why is human life very simple to this police men. Why should they be heating up the country or is it part of ethnic hatred against Igbos. How many reports of such killings have seen the light of day in the past talkless of prosecuting those that killed the trader.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Hmmmmmmmmm ! It's been an everyday news na,its not strange my people. Wrong set of people in d police force.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Hmmmmmmmmm ! It's been an everyday news na,its not strange my people. Wrong set of people in d police force.

That's a bloody lie Mr police. Justice must be served.

Oh if police stop u now the next tin is to shot u?

Igbo Traders Association what are you guys doing in kano?

Hmmmmmmmm

Na to start #BlackLivesMatter for Naija ooh. Get tomorrow's soccer prediction tips.. visit www.fortunatusblog.com

They that kill by gun,shall die by the gun. They that kill by sword shall die by sword. The law of God says thou shall not kill. What you sow is what you reap. Whatever anyone does in life shall he receive measure for measure and no wickedness shall go unpunished. They Lord shall visit everyone according to their offences. May the killers of Tochukwu not have peace in their lives, for there is no peace says the Lord for the wicked. The killers of Tochukwu and the RCCG member who was killed while preaching in Abuja meet their Waterloo. May they not have rest, may they not sleep because they murdered sleep. May their lives be in shambles and May their nights come in the afternoon. May cold water burn their throats and May God judge them harshly. AMEN.

Justice!!!

Kill every Hausa in Igbo land, if you don't Hausa will not stop killing us.

They killed him the same day they killed Ironsi, 29th of July.

This is Islamic agenda, go and check their tactics, they also launched operation awatse and Hausa word meaning air land and sea killing.

This systematic killing must not go unavenged.

May 29, 1966, First pogrom. July 29, 1966, Ironsi killed. Aug. 29, 1966 Igbo army officers wiped out. Sept 29, 1966, Second pogrom. The dates are no coincidence. Read Quoran 9 vs 29. We were and are still dealing with fundamentalist Islam backed jihad against Ndigbo. The world needs to know that Nigeria has always been a hotbed of Islamic terrorism. That is our struggle. That is our realty. Remember the 29th of every month if you remember nothing about contemporary Igbo history. Ndiigbo, those who ignore history relearn it. RIP Aguiyi.

I know some of us are looking at the dates and are shaking in their shoes and invoking the angels to come and protect us. But if you look at the Quoran and look at the dates, you would realize that war had been declared against us by the time of the May 29th, 1966 pogrom. It is no coincidence that Aguiyi was murdered on the 29th. By that time, decision had been made to control the entire command structure of the Nigerian army. Gowon believed that after wiping out Igbo Officers that subduing Ojukwu would be a cake walk.

The point here is that we are always too busy to mind our history. Right now, the entire Nigerian security apparatus is in their hands and yes, July 29th, 2016, Operation Corocodile tears was launched.

I am not fear mongering. All I am saying is that vigilance is the price of freedom and while we hope for the best, it is a mistake to ignore the worst.

And yes, by the way, the ideological center of Northern Nigeria is Zaria. Those dates and their religious coloration do not just happen without input from Islamic scholars.

You are thoroughly on point!

#IGBOLIVESMATTER

Tiwa and Genevieve won't hear about this one o! If it happens in America or France they will shouting #Blm or #prayforfrance. Hypocrite

Police are now death merchants killing innocent people randomly well your days will come too

Its really sad this madness from the Nigeria police still continued an nothing happened at the end of every investigation,rather they will post him to a different state to continued service RIP

Rip

$£U# C•MB$ said...

Mr man u are d one trying to distort history here, d Igbos carried out d 1st coup in Nig where prominent Hausa and Yoruba leaders were executed but not a single Igbo man died in d coup. D killing of Ironsi and others was a counter coup against d perceived injustice carried out by their loyalists and that's where d problem of this country started. So bro get your facts right and stop spreading hate speeches cos at d end it'll do nobody no good. The police have been killing people of every tribe in Nig, in Nasarawa just because workers are protesting salary cut they were shot at and 2 workers are dead and they are not Igbos!

The supposed protectors of the citizenry have turned against it... senseless police killing becoming too rampant nowadays... but then, the police they say is your friend!

Chuks Bruno said...

This is so sad

The police commissioner has already made his intentions very clear and fact is nothing will come out of the matter. Bt reporting that he fled and was shot in the process he ha foreclosed the matter and at tge same time claiming investigations are going on. Ok what about mentioning the names of the police officers involved which is standard practice??