As the 2016 Olympic Games opens in Rio De Janeiro, President
Buhari has expressed optimism that the country's team will put up an
impressive showing to delight fellow countrymen.
In a message to
the Nigerian Olympic contingent on Friday, President Buhari said he
hoped that the victory of Nigeria’s Under 23 football team, the "Dream
Team Six" over their Japanese opponents in the early hours of this day will serve as an inspiration to the entire contingent of the grand show Nigerians expect from our athletes.
"On behalf of the government and people of our great country, I wish to
express my support to our athletes who have arrived in Rio for the 2016
Olympic Games. I am particularly delighted by the outcome of the
football match early this morning in which our football team defeated
their Japanese counterparts. The sweetness of the victory comes
from the fact that it came against all odds. Our team overcame several
challenges to put up a sterling performance. This is a good beginning."
President Buhari also praised the resilience, hardwork and patriotism that the athletes have put into their preparations;
"I am already aware that you have made personal sacrifices in your
journey to the Olympic Games. The motivation comes from strong
discipline and the love of the nation. As you embark on the
search for honours for the nation, I seize this opportunity to assure
our Olympians that you have my support and those of all Nigerians. Go!
Win and return with laurels, I wish you the best," the President added.
20 comments:
Is all good
Well said! Linda take note!
Dats d spirit
You don't really need to cause them you know? Save ur best wishes to urself, Buhaha. Good luck guys!
After all the maltreatment meted out to them? Well, I Wish them luck.
Long Live LIB
Not with Solomon Dalung's antics they won't
Okkk
Mtcheeew.. Abeg no give them ur ill luck o
GOOD TO SEE
Mr. Clueless ...
What does he know about Olympics?
Stupid worst president, trying to copy Gej,mtchewww
Nice one!wish them well....
Nonsense! Wen u left them stranded in Atlanta..
Amen! All the best to them!
Wish them all the best.
Story!
Abege go sit 👇
Shameless man. They made personal efforts to go represent a country you're heading. Oya clap for yourself. Mr lover of nation.
Succes for Nigeria... with love from Indonesia...
If only d president considered them a little bit, like he considers muslim pilgrims. His statement is coming rather late or was it bcos dey made sense in their first outing?#watching#