Dear LIB readers; Can a man be jealous of his woman's success? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 24 July 2016

Dear LIB readers; Can a man be jealous of his woman's success?

From a female LIB reader...Read below and advice
I've been with my man for 4 years now but I am thinking of ending the relationship I was hoping will lead to marriage. My partner and I are both lawyers and up until 11 months ago, our earnings was almost same, his was just slightly higher. But late last year, I hit a jackpot after passing an exam with flying colours and got employed at a huge company where I head the legal department.My earning has more than tripled but instead of being happy for me, my man seems upset by it. His attitude towards me has changed.
These days he constantly tries to dampen my spirit, he's not as supportive as he used to be and sometimes suggests I didn't get the job by merit, that I may have done something (like sleep with the bosses) to get the job. We fight constantly now and he doesn't try to see me as often as he used to. He talks down on me and tries to belittle my job which I worked so hard to get. I don't know what to do, should I leave him? I am still the same girl, he's the one who changed. Will he ever get over it? Please advice

154 comments:

It is possible but not right

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

If what u said is all true, he is fucking jealous. And if u marry him you are gonna be facing serious problem and trouble in future. I know their type. Ex the bastard...

HMMMMMMMMMMMM!!! Some Men sef! I can't deal abeg

Most men are too jealous! Why? Ndi obi akpor! Na only u wan shine? Kitikpa there! Abeg kick his balls already ka ifu umu nwoke nwee isi.

Talk with him first, try to find out if something is bothering him, ending the relationship without doing the above may not be the best solution.

Ladun Liadi said...

Jealousy is normal even among tight siblings or best of friends. What matters is how u manage it, be bitter about it or use it as motivation and be thankful to associate with someone so successful. It's normal if your man had sulked a bit however trying to belittle you should raise a huge red flag. Maybe he just needs some time to come around but don't dim your star one bit in order to make him appear brighter.

Honestly this is the kind of relationship that will lead to domestic violence/abuse when eventually you both get married.. Some people can take it well when the other earns more than them it's just terrible a sign of jealousy and nothing can change him.. It's right within.. For some they are always happy for others success regardless where they are.: that's the kind of world we live in now everyone celebrates u AND happy for you when u both on the same level but once you upgrade they start hating and all. Just follow ur heart can't tell u leave. U wear the shoe and u know exactly where it pains u.. Good luck

Run Baby, RUN

My dear YES with capital letter.
Shame to that man that is jealous of his bitch success.
Very soon now he will accuse u of having sex with the people that get the job for u.he think that bringing money for the house is like wasting th money he don't have when u have more than him.
BETTER THE MARRIAGE AN SAVE UR LIFE OOOOO,LEAVING WITH A JEALOUS HUSBAND IS LIKE LIVING WITH AN UNKNOWN STRANGER YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT IS IN HEART.I AM A REAL GUY BUT I DON'T SUPPORT RUBBISH.
MANY GUYS ARE GOOD IN THAT,INSTEAD OF FIGHTING WITH HIM BETTER LEAVE AN SAVE UR LIFE MAKE HE NO KILL U ONE DAY OR POISON U.AM SURE U ARE IN NIGERIA HEARING ABOUT DOMESTIC VIOLENT?SO FOR U NOT TO BE A VICTIM BETTER LEAVE THE DUDE OOO many of yoruba husbands are night snake

bibi said...

Babe run as fast as u can,he wil not change wen u both marry,his d type dat loves women being under dem

OMIDAN ABBY said...

He can never get over it!
He's a jealous son of a bitch! Men like that deteriorate more and more..
Kindly surprise him by leaving b4 he leaves u...

My dear YES with capital letter.
Shame to that man that is jealous of his bitch success.
Very soon now he will accuse u of having sex with the people that get the job for u.he think that bringing money for the house is like wasting th money he don't have when u have more than him.
BETTER THE MARRIAGE AN SAVE UR LIFE OOOOO,LEAVING WITH A JEALOUS HUSBAND IS LIKE LIVING WITH AN UNKNOWN STRANGER YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT IS IN HEART.I AM A REAL GUY BUT I DON'T SUPPORT RUBBISH.
MANY GUYS ARE GOOD IN THAT,INSTEAD OF FIGHTING WITH HIM BETTER LEAVE AN SAVE UR LIFE MAKE HE NO KILL U ONE DAY OR POISON U.AM SURE U ARE IN NIGERIA HEARING ABOUT DOMESTIC VIOLENT?SO FOR U NOT TO BE A VICTIM BETTER LEAVE THE DUDE OOO many of yoruba husbands are night snake

I need a job o in Benin, I know God can use someone help me out in getting a job. I can be reached via this email searchjob777@yahoo.com

See the case of Tiwa and her hubby. If he has started accusing u of sleeping with people to get a job, then I think it's best u take a break from the relationship. Trust is all that matters in a relationship

Well, it will continue like this. He will see every breakthrough of yours as giving your body in exchange so please make up your mind. Don't say they told me when you know what is good for you.

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

First things first,before calling the relationship quits,sit him down & iron things out,if his opinion about you is still the same,then,only you can decide if to quit or not.This is the major set back in most relationship-"Jealousy".He shouldn't be jealous,but be proud of you.

Walk away please.

LOL WELL THE TRUTH IS THAT IT'S DEPENDING THOU! MAYBE WHEN YOU INTIMIDATE HIM WITH YOUR WORK!

Girl pack your stuff and go. Dem no dey tell person o. Thank your lucky stars this happened before marriage. You have a clear exit. A word is enough for the wise. He's not for you biko. God will give you your own man o. Amen.

And 're u see u ain't trying to b arrogant n disobedient before himm cos most of u gurls 're full of ego wen u start earning than ur partner ,only the few among u apply wisdom..N if all this stated ain't the issue then take ur time to call him in an humble manner to ask why he change all Of a suddenly stating why u still want him n wanna keep the relationship.. be prudent in ur speech n don't interrogate him...and if it work out as stated come back to me with owo idupe#wink#.

Femiluv said...

You know the answer to this. Idk Y you're asking us. Anyways, since you want to play dumb: leave him cos Y waste your time with someone who can't be happy for you.

Fa fa fa fowl! Run for Ya Life! Begin to thank God that he exposed this to you before u guys got married. He will not change his attitude four years or not,it will only get worse because you are now a threat to him especially his ego. He has already started to avoid u.call him for a dialogue,tell him what you what you have noticed since you got your new job.suggest you guys take a chill(break) and he should try and evaluate himself and decide if he wants to go further with the relationship.then u take it from there.there is fire on the mountain Run! Run! Run! A big big fire......

Leave him. You love him. But as it is now the two of you will not find happiness with each other. So pls leave him and move on.

Haa madam this na serious wahala o. A jealous man! Hmm na so e dey start small small very soon e go just no vex for no better reason before u knw e slap u, before u knw again him go punch u, madam I dey fear for u. A jealous man is like a ticking time bomb, I dnt see him getting over it o the thing go soon worse if u fit leave am, I mean run for ur life #ajealousman? Hmm #danger.

Anderson FOX said...

You have seen the had on the whole walls and you are still second guessing. I couldn't even finish reading your note.
Pls your man is a jealous individual who doesn't trust his own abilities and the fact that you may one day try to control him or disobey him.
It's time to move on dear. Leave.

I can relate with your story cause have been in such relationship before. Why tell him ur income? Give him some time he will get over it.

Babe girl search yourself very well maybe your gradually becoming rude in some ways, because prior to your success if your man were to be the jealous type you would have known and it wouldn't have been a surprise to you if he chooses to extend same to you.look inwardly okay.

You should be happy you ain't married yet so it's best to let him go. Trust me he won't get over it

Leave his sorry ass ASAP. Linda take note!

Let him go, I can sense danger ahead.

Hummm this is a case of trust, he doesn't trust you anymore and how can you have a happy home with a man who doesn't trust you? Just think about this and be wise...

Haa madam this na serious wahala o. A jealous man! Hmm na so e dey start small small very soon e go just dey vex for no better reason before u knw e slap u, before u knw again him go punch u, madam I dey fear for u. A jealous man is like a ticking time bomb, I dnt see him getting over it o the thing go soon worse if u fit leave am, I mean run for ur life #ajealousman? Hmm #danger.

He is not worth it. Leave now or suffer later

Sweety men have a problem with this they don't understand that they are the one destroying their relationship am not going to blame him for his character but the environment he grew up in his mentality is based on that my suggestion is to have a sit down with him and tell him off u have to make him understand you're a person of ur own and not under him the only reason he bahaves this way is simply because he doesn't respect women and that's just the truth if he still looks down and hurt your feelings cus of this I think it's high time you leave him. He can't keep bursting your balls cus of this. It's a four year relationship not two years so give him a chance and explain if still he doesn't get it move on never let yourself be controlled by a man it doesn't end well trust me. You earned it and he disrespected that

My sister God as shown you the type of man you want to settle with from start,you've seen his character, why troubling yourself,he will do worse if you continue, God as a plan for everyone, the destiny of twins are different,not all men, both some never wish their wives should prosper than them,my own advice is to move on

Swash said...

You better walk away now that you still have breath in you ....

Run!!! Or suffer later

Lawyer pls.
Look inside u with ur mind eyes and objectively assess yourself to be 'Cock'sure that u r not the one developing some changing attitude(s).
Research(es) has shown that Female Lawyers have controlling attitude/issues.
Humble urself if u want the relationship 2 'Werk', bt if ur Dude proves 2 be an asshole, Dump his jealous ass with immediate alacrity .

Mmmh, it's normal to feeling jealous but I hate d fact that he talks doen on u and say craps. Personally those words will kill me emotionally. Talk to him abt hw his thoughts abt u and words he says to u affect u emotionally. Dnt be too busy for him even if u are working. Strike dates and outing(u don't have to pay most times) but a treat would make some mega sense. Check his actions for 2months and if no improvement! RUN...dnt fight it or else

Lawyer pls.
Look inside u with ur mind eyes and objectively assess yourself to be 'Cock'sure that u r not the one developing some changing attitude(s).
Research(es) has shown that Female Lawyers have controlling attitude/issues.
Humble urself if u want the relationship 2 'Werk', bt if ur Dude proves 2 be an asshole, Dump his jealous ass with immediate alacrity .

If a man gets jealous of his wife success, then the man has a mental problem.,

Is obvious he is jealous of ur success some men are like that bcos of their Ego,my advice is u talk to him about it and also pray about it.

Well some do!!

I think you should move on with your life now before things gets out of hand jealousy is dangerous

My dear, any man that can't support your success isn't worth it. I'm sorry about the 4years. It isn't a waste tho it was a learning experience. Success in your career. And ignore hateful comments. Yiur deserve the best.

Very much so! Have experienced this first hand. Most time it's ego that seem to make these men feel threatened by a woman's success. I advise u let him go pls. A man who truly loves you will be happy seeing u progressing in ur career!

Jealousy can be deadly. He might not get over it

He will not get over it. He's got inferiority complex. You need a man who encourages you to grow. If he isn't happy that you are growing then you have two options. Either move on coz he will never be okay with you being better than him or you stay with him and have a miserable life because he would only be happy when he has better opportunities than you. I tell you this because I have seen this happen to women close to me. Your choice to make.

I believe you are a full grown matured woman who knows what she wants in life and a legal practioner at that, you know your ideal guy when you see him. If you are fed up with your boy friend's stupidity take a walk and don't disturb us in this blog biko. Already we have too many troubles in nigeria to take care of...

I will advise you drop the relationship,is not your own,heis only pretending.pray to God almighty,he will bring your own to you.if you try and close your eyes to the, you will regret it.i will have rather prefer to you on one to one if you care

Leave his ass.. Instead of him to be motivated by your success, he is hating.. Before you leave him get someone else..

I wld advice u quit. Uve got potentials and finding another outstanding man won't be a task. Wish u all the best.

Girl pls leave him, he is jealous and no matter what you do he won't be happy for you. Congrats on your job and keep working hard. What if you keep getting promoted and your salary keeps getting bigger? Don't let anyone hold you back.

If ure sure.very sure. Dat ur altitude didnt change towards him.as for me,leave him if u wish.

Pls run sister........to be honest, because of the male ego and the provider character that men have its sometimes hard but then a good man should be able to support as far as u don't rub the fact that u earn more on his face. So if you truly haven't changed then like I said run that man won't change.

Hmmmmmm.... I think he will get over it when he starts earning more than you again... smh😎

Talk to him about it....

Hmmmmmm.... I think he will get over it when he starts earning more than you again... smh😎

See don't conclud he is not happy for ur success try to examine ur self if u re no longer d angel u used to be check ur self may be u re unaware u have change that is why am asking u to check ur self 4yrs is not a for day so pls don't think of leaving him always find a way for solution you re a lawyer u counsel people now this is ur own job counsel ur self bcos if u leave him no guarantee u will find a man better like the one u ve known for good 4yrs pls my dear think twice in every relationship there re trying times don't bcos u re getting ur fair share u now say he is jealous u want to leave him pls don't try something u will end up regretting a word is enough for d wise thanks.

He wouldn't get over it. Taking to him is a waste of time. And if he can think you did other things to get the job, then you certainly don't need that kind of negativity in your life.

Yes of course!!and such man is an evil husband

He wouldn't get over it. Taking to him is a waste of time. And if he can think you did other things to get the job, then you certainly don't need that kind of negativity in your life.

Swty, Pls dump him because this attitude will never change and it will bring up so much sadness if u end up getting married to him. There are only a FEW men out there who have got a reasonable earning and would still love, appreciate and be proud of their woman even if she earns more or is the star in their relationship. I pray you find one like that. While searching be weary of pretentious gold diggers. Pls listen to their words and what it implies when they discuss about other subject matters not you (concerning money or progress in life). That way no matter how they pretend towards you, you will still be able to tell from their sense of judgement and attitude towards other things because it is going to be in matters mostly concerning you that they will be able to pretend very well. Bless u

kemi said...

From what you're saying it does seem like his jealous of your achievement. You should be with someone who sees you as a partner and supports you 100% and vice versa. Sit him down and be honest with him about how his making you feel. A four year relationship is no joke; see if he can realize what his doing and give him an opportunity to change. He could just be insecure and needs assurances from you. If he doesn't change I wouldn't advice you to marry him. It may only get worse

Anointed said...

He is just a jealouse guy,I won't advise you to leave him ,but put it in prayers,maybe God might change him,apart from him your bf,people are like that,they are not happy about ones success,they Wang to be top and you been beneath begging them.

These are real live issues that we face sometimes. Jealousy could be so real and natural sometimes that you never think it indeed caught up with you. People should stop being too emotionally attached to other people's success. My advise is for you to leave him. You cannot change a natural jealousy. Natural jealousy is when a person is allergic to other people's rise and the worst is they don't even know it. It's not just you, ask his friends or family, they will confirm he is like that. Leave him now and live long.

Offside: To ask a question is to learn from wisdom. The 'why not me' syndrome is an incurable sicknes, except God delivers the person.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Hmmmmmmmmmm,its saddens me wen I com across issues like dis,its an ego ting,as a man writing dis,we always want to be incharge,d truth is that ur man can't change, at all,but I suggest u discuss dis. Wit God first of all,den u can talk to him onne on one,make him see n realise dat u haven't changed from d honest n faithful woman u have always been,bicos in ur writing, u haven't said anything about having or if u hav had a discussion with him on dis,so after having dis honest one on one discussion with him,if u still observed him acting funny, report him to one or two of his relatives, he respects alot,or a pastor of his,if all dis doesn't work, my dear run as fast as ur legs can Carry u,so he doesn't kill u.God bless u.

Anon said...

Pls leave him ASAP...grown men don't change...u'll meet someone more befitting mbok

chinedu said...

Get rid of him; he's not for you.

SIT HIM DOWN FOR A SINCERE TALK.ASK HIM IF HE NOTICED ANY NEGATIVE CHANGE IN YOUR ATTITUDE SINCE YOUR PROMOTION.WAS HE A REALLY NICE GUY BEFORE YOUR PROMOTION? REFLECT ON SOME OF YOUR CONDUCT AND UTTERANCES SINCE YOU GOT THE JOB TO SEE IF YOU HAD KNOWINGLY OR UNKNOWINGLY DISRESPECTED HIM .HE MAY SEE SUCH DISRESPECT AS A CONSEQUENCE OF YOUR PROMOTION.
MANY NIGERIAN WOMEN CLAIM THAT NIGERIAN MEN CAN NOT HANDLE SUCCESSFUL WOMEN.FOR A BALANCE, NIGERIAN WOMEN SHOULD ALSO CONSIDER THE POSSIBILITY THAT SUCCESS SOMETIMES GET INTO THEIR HEADS.
IF YOU REALLY LOVE HIM,BE PATIENT WITH HIM.LIMIT THE EXTENT TO WHICH YOU REPORT HIM TO THIRD PARTIES.HAVE YOU CHANGED YOUR FRIENDS SINCE YOU GOT THE JOB?HAVE YOUR TASTES SUDDENLY CHANGED? IF YOU HASTILY DUMP HIM,THERE IS NO GUARANTEE OF GETTING A BETTER MAN OUTSIDE.THERE IS POSSIBILITY THAT YOUR CURRENT STATUS WOULD ATTRACT MANY MEN TO YOU,A LOT OF THEM WITH FAKE INTENTION.
.I WISH YOU ALL THAT MONEY CAN NOT BUY-HAPPINESS,GOOD HEALTH,LONG LIFE.
GOOD LUCK.
ANDY.

Sutorf said...

If u ask me na who I go ask.. Get your today and tomorrow's unique soccer prediction tips.. visit www.fortunatusblog.com

Madam please leave him and go ur way he will end up killing you one day.

It's possible he is intimidated,most times they are like that...but the onus is on you to make him realize it doesn't change anything, don't brag with your new profile and continue to give him attention but if he continues then you may well leave now that you are not married.

Run my dear! Run!!!

Victor Kachi said...

He supposed not. but its normal to envy someone who is doing better than you

Get free and cheap browsing plans on all network @ Entclass.com

My dear ,I think u know what to do.don't compromise it.QUIT.He ll NEVER change.God 'll give a man dat ll love u n wish 2 c u get to d peak of ur career.

Abeg o, simple advice, if ur success Z irritating him, kindly walk away. He's not meant for you. Please. Love Z just not like dat. Dis Z even d period his meant to love you more, instead his getting jealous. Leave him now ts early. U will definitely find someone dat will love you sincerely. 'dint know guys can be dis jealous, tot ts jes d ladies '

If he can't stand your success, he is not worth being with you, please work away before you develop inferiority complex that's what he is trying to inflict. You and your partner are suppose to compliment each other not tear each other. I know what it feels like to live with such person. It won't end well just walk.

Honeybee said...

Pls take a walk. Hes never going to change.

If he can't stand your success, he is not worth being with you, please work away before you develop inferiority complex that's what he is trying to inflict. You and your partner are suppose to compliment each other not tear each other. I know what it feels like to live with such person. It won't end well just walk.

Is that even a question?? Tell ur hubby to deal with his own insecurities.

In plain words.. "yah, men sometimes let ego cloud their rational reasoning"
You have been with him for 4 years,so alot of emotional investment has taken place. I would suggest you sit him down and talk this with him. How you are feeling unhappy with the current state of your affair,and how he should be thesame person you have always known,
Truth is,if he loves you,he would retrace his steps,if not,he spins he whole thing around you and make himself the victim..
We can only wait out for so long,be patient with him,but don't exhaust Al your energy, cos often times,this may be a way of looking for a way to end things with you,especially when he makes issues out of nothing

When am egocentric man feels less of himself,or feel his essence is threatened,he usually avoids the situation entirely

Yes, same with my ex fiance, he could not stand my success. He started talking down on me, belittling me and dropping hints that i should quit the job and be focus on the home we were about to start. He could not stand that he was older started working first but i have more degrees, a car and earning well. I tried assuring him that i was still the same and God's blessings was not going to make me any less respectful but he intimidated by my success. His friends told him that i was above his level and he wouldn't be able to control me after wedding. He gave in to pressure and complex, we broke up (sad sigh) but now I am so happy. I met a very successful and focused businessman who loves me like never before, encourages and pushes me to greater levels. One man's meat is another's poison. We are engaged and getting married soonest. So my dear move on, that your bf will kill off your esteem and dim the light in you which God has put. You need a man that brings out the best in you. God bless you

Tomisyn said...

Ds z a tough one

David Uche said...

if deep within yourself you are still the same person, dump his unsupportive ass..

Talk to him about it and if doesn't budge, let him go. You deserve a secure man. He is supposed to be happy for you.

David Uche said...

I really mean if you haven't changed your attitude towards him cos of more money and he's acting all stupid cos his ego has been hurt now his woman earns more than he does; dump his silly ass...

Baby his till ur man.just take him out to a loveable place Nd talk tinz out.mayb he feel u no longer have time as before or u no longer repect him,u know men want to always b d head.four years z not four months. Z way to far for diz fight.

Yes a man can be,,but at this point,, u HV ur decision to make🙅🙅🙅🙅🙅🙅🙅🙅🙅🙅

Leave his sorry ass...a woman has money n her husband doesn't... The money is still for him.....

he should go to hell,if his not happy with your achievement i dont think you should continue the relationship,na bad bella him be o,he might start planning evil against you,people are mean and wicked o,i have been in this kind of situation before,i left him for good,cos he was trying to discourage me and making me feel low

No need to kill your self my dear, it's very much obvious that the love is no more there. I advice you to find a God fearing man like "me" who will love you for 'who you were, what you are, who you are & who you are to become'.

Since u are both not yet married pls leave him,some men are like that,they don't want the woman to be richer than them,he is just suffering from envyoo,

Eyes of the gods said...

His ego is hurt, he feel like he's less of a man now but dear you worked hard to get to where you are and you didn't commit any crime. He should rather work harder to be better than you or support you otherwise quit. U don't need bad blood

My dear, pray about him and your relationship. Most importantly pray that he does not have any of your personal items...some men use if for ojuju after you break up. On a serious note, don't wait for him to acknowledge your success. You worked hard and deserve the job. Congratulations, the sky is your limit. Work smarter and you will soon own the company. At that time you can hire him and give him a pay raise 🤗

You have not spoken with him about this...do this and if the change still does not come use the dooor

Lydia said...

Trust me, don't ever pity a guy to be with him. A mans heart is deep and can be very cruel. U can imagine his accusations. If u dont leave his selfish, immature, and untimely abusive behaviour, he will leave u when u least expect it. Trust me that can be more painful, hold on to God and find peace.

Nice comment

Its nt ur fault u earn more dan he does.if hes reasonable he shud kno u wil definately assist him in some ways n as for him sayin u didnt get d job on merit dts he fuckin biz dnt let it boda u.u ve a gud job dts wat matas.men always want women to be beneath dem it doesnt work like dt.leave him hes an enemy of progress.

Assure him you re still the same girl he met. Give him time, if he doesn't change, leave him. No time!

Wow wow wow this is very interesting my sister u don't need adivce is too transparent the hand writing is in capital. If am to break it down stage by stage you will see no reason to come close to such man. Is not ur husband u don't need pastor to tell u. He will not appreciate anything that will come from u in future even the children. FORGET HIM AND MOVE FORWARD.

Dump him Before your sorry ass be on TV .

Ur such a darling.

Segun Adegoke said...

That is where Some men are guilty. They cannot handle a successful Woman. It takes grace and humility to do it. Ask Pastor Taiwo Odukoya of what he did to his late wife Bimbo Odukoya of blessed memory.

Hi dearie, just calm down okay. His problem is just (Ego and pride). Pray and talk to God over it,h e knows the beginningand the end already... and if he is truely yours, he will come back to his senses , give him sometime...but if he is still adamant. It means you are not meant for him,y you guys are not compatible. You need to move on with your life...with someone else that will value your love and care okay. You can add me on whatsapp 07036301301 if u care to seek more advice from me. Take care. God bless you.

even if you spend your whole life pleasing him, he won't change . So,save yourself from being a depressed wife in future... all because of love.

Aunty janeti, omo run for your precious skin,a relationship is you shine your shine,I shine my shine..madam thank your stars is not yet for better for worst if not he would have told you to quit the job...coded tins babe...shine ur eyes make you wise up.
Lib baddoo.

Those advising her to leave her man, is that how to be a good judge. Why not try to use your brain. Hearing from one side is not enough to decide the winner of a case. You people didn't bother to think if there is anything that bothers the man. You never asked what role he has played in the life of the woman and the woman's character after realizing she earns more than the man. In the first place, why would a girlfriend be interested in what his boyfriend earns, whether less or more than her own. How did she know it is her earnings that makes the man change. I am not good at abusing people online, but most people who talks on this platform never use their brain before commenting jaggs. Madam huge earner, please try to talk thing out with your man. Even if u earn more than Bill Gate, u are still her woman and mother to be. Please act like a real mother. Do make ur relationship a celebrity show. Solve your problems at home.Only God capable of resolution. I rest my case.

Search your heart very well,cross check what has really changed,are u rude to him,do u keep late night with ur new coligues,do u often out than before do u easily get angry at him over little issues nowadays,search ur heart well,do u have this male coligue that always want to b arround you of which guy is jealous of,or a particular guy who calls,chat you often,forget people saying you should leav,u know him better than any one of us commenting,d devil u know is better Dan dat angel oh,better still sit him down and iron out things,he might have been their for you when u needed him most,sit,think and pray t God nothing is impossible....

Run for ur dear life or dance to the music later

Jamb questions, small girl like get boyfriend, na wao ooo. It's well.

Well if you really love the guy you have to make some changes, unfortunately many African men have this ego issue n think the only was they can exert their machonistic nature in contemporary times is through money. Well unfortunately as this is the case you have to be tactful, work on his ego, make him feel like he is super, before you make decisions consult him n make him feel he is on top the world that his decisions are always right if they aren't, give him subtle hints on the right way. Call him more, spoil him more, cook more for him, if you can't you can always order for him. Trust me he get back to his senses and of course give him books n tapes of the role of a man. Pray for him. Well if all these don't work pls sister move on with ur life he can't handle success lol

Dear Sister, Kindly take a walk out,Bcs u ll end up been miserable & unhappy person all the days of ur Life,I in Abj is going thru hell in my marriage bcs l saw it all & now miserable in my marriage always in tears bcs of the kids he even wants me dead,bcs a Man who does not support ur success will bully & make ur Life hell on earth, as ur not married a broken courtship is better than a broken Marriage.tk u

Asshole.

I think you should communicate your concerns with him. Isn't that why you're in a relationship in the first place? Talk through issues with an open mind, give it time...if no improvement, Nne...waka!

DOPE!!

Majority of you pple commening here are being highly irrational... Theres always two sides to every story. There is a tendency this lady finetued the story to get a bit of sympathy.. I dnt expect her(dts if she was) to mention the fact that she might have been disrespectful or also changed towards the guy.:: just saying

Free the guy shaperly!!

And u re still asking?

Madam pls look inward and convince him you are still the same lady with ur attitude not just words bcos most ladies change,become rude, arrogant and more materialistic when more money comes and if he doesnt change after this,pls walk away...

No you are not the "same girl" trust me. Your attitudes has changed too, unconsciously!! If he can't take it to have a woman who has a higher salary than him, just know this relationship is going nowhere!!! You have changed and he is reacting to the change in you!! Your self-confidence has raised because of the job. His self-confidence has got a blow off and he is suffering. Men wants to be providers for their women and here is the basic problem. And we women become ignorant if we earn more than our men, we can hardly humble ourselves, because we want appreciation and recognition at all levels and men aren't likely to do that!! Good luck even though!!

Nne find ur square root. You don't need that negative vibe at all, you're hot so men would frolick around u.

Those ncouraging u to leave ur marriage ar being used by devil,talk to him,dialogue,talk less abt ur salary n job(ie Fluntin it),assure him u stil respect n double d rate @wic u respect him,e wil certainly com around

Pls don't mind those telling u to quit a 4-yr relationship. U know yur man deep inside out. One thing dat botherd me abt relationship is d refusal to place issues to a 3rd party exactly as it happened. Very common among d female partner. Say it or place it exactly as it happend so dat d 3rd party can objectively advice. In other words d public has just heard from u wtout yur man. Whatever u're advised on dis social media wl not help u. Don't be deceived by these comments. 1st thing 1st. Sit yur man down and present yur humble self to d true picture of thing. He wl then open up for u. It is possible he has info abt u and yur new cherish job. Was he in d picture when applying and b4 d interview? What has been yur attitude to him after getting d job? If it has been positive he would have been very happy wt u. If not then I'm afraid advice frm social wl compound yur situatn. My candid advice if d 1st one faild, see yur God-father or yur pastor who wl invite both of u for serious talk. Ensure u present yur case as it happened wtout colouratn. It is clear dat u still love him. Wishing best of lucK

Oponu ayirada okunrin ati ainitelorun okunrin. Some men no just dey think deeply before they react to issues. My wife earned triple more than me here in the US and that one no mean say make I dey jealous of her I am even rejoicing with her more and more and we are living happily and I still do my responsibility as a man to support her career. Talk to him to know why over jealous dey worried him. I swear if you leave, he will regret it for his rest of his life not only that also a big lesson for him and to people like him. Eni awifun Oba je o gbo. Eni ti o gbo se ra e. Owe Yoruba.

I hav to chook mouth in this lol. Some men can be jealous of their wife's success. It's very heartbreaking and there's nothing u can do about it. If u like collect ur salary give him every tin, the day u stop he will continue they are like that. My simple advice is since ur not married to him yet save your self the stress and move on. B4 you know it the family members go say you dey use his star not knowing that it's his own negativity that's giving him setback 🏃🏃🏃

lovedoc said...

These kind of stories are better when you hear the story from both side but as the lady, Ask your self these 3 questions....since you got this new job 1. Do you still seek his opinion when you want to do stuff, buy new stuff or even make your hair? 2 do u still make out enough time for him....(I wouldn't know if he is the outgoing type or the indoor person) 3. Do you still do those little things he fell in love with? (I am pretty sure there r those things u do that makes him tell you how much he love you and can't do without you)... If the answer to any of these questions is No....then you should get back down to the basics....Most men including me don't mind ourour WOMAN making good money because it leaves extra in my pocket...example....my wive takes care of her family and siblings and herself....Doesn't mean I don't buy her dresses and jewelry as gift...but then the bulk is taken care of while I take care of my own folks and everything concerning my household and kids....assuming she weren't earning....imagine her parents and siblings, her make up, dress, jewelry, etc all oon me...that'll be a big deal. What I am saying is most men won't min IF you do what you should in the house as a woman and not give excuses because you have a new job....I'm not a fan of breaking up a relationship especially the one you have built for 4years. You need to bring yourself down and talk to him. No matter how much you earn he is still the man and if you want him you have to be loyal and respectful....that's just the truth of the matter. But like I said there are 3 sides to this story...your side, his side and the truth...and we have only heard one side....please go and fix your relationship....Don't leave what you have built overtime....and don't mind the internet....most of these females telling u dump him dump him....cry on their pillows daily asking God for 'any Kind of man'.....

Hello lady stay calm and encourage your man he is intimidated and unsecured he need your encouragement believe and support be more humble at this time and give in your best don't leave ask your self what if this happens after marriage how will I handle and solve it forget people saying leave him your may leave him and latter have martial problems getting the right man I strongly sense he is still the right man for you most people talking here are not married I know if after clearing your concerns and no avail then you can leave

Abeg leave him joor,he's not a man

Ama Max said...

For us MEN,we should accept d way our relationships are. instead of being jealous,work harder.Presently my wife is earning more but d job am pursuing now with prayers will make me overthrow her 2morow. She is humble and submissive with her big pay now So what am I looking for?

Thank u, that's a clear case of men that don't want their wives to earn more than them.

The earlier you leave thearly guy, the better for you.

My dear run for ur life oo, before d man kill u, thats exactly wat happen to me some years bck,

I need your email address, I want to send an email seeking LIBer's opinon

Hottest Chic said...

Dear poster you don't need a soothsayer to tell you to move on. Biko dump his jealous ads and move on.I know a friend who said that he can never marry a woman that earns more than him. Your man is an enemy of progress and he will never change.

Tpy said...

Has your new job made you too busy for him? Has your new job taken you away from your man more than before? Have you been unknowingly rubbing your money in his face? Ask yourself these questions first. If the answer is no then truly he is jealous and you have to leave him

Leave him. He won't change.Go and enjoy ur money until a man who knows ur worth comes along

My dear pls dont srart what you cannot Finnish, thank God he has shown you his true colours. He is actuall not jealous but feels inferior. Dont go into the marriage or you will live to regret it all your life cos once you marry him, he will stop you from working and make you depend on him for everything all your life. I'm married and i'm talking fron experience dear. JUST LET HIM GO. God bless

sholetoga said...

He has ego problem, and when imagine that their ego is being bruised, they are dangerous. So dear, don't consider the four years you've wasted with him. Dumb his jealous ass

I have missed ur comments

Swthrt...God loves us so much that he gives us gud or bad signs.its a sign u should not neglect.talk to ur man, tell him how u feel,know if ur faulty also and if tins don't change after dat...u hv to walk out....but if u really luv him den prepare ur self well to handle issues like dis wen ur both married....Nd pray to God to guide u.best wishes

Suzzy said...

Wonderful advice...I'd follow this if I were her

When you drive a sleek car,you enjoy it.
That car dosn't just break down in one day,it gives series of signs and warnings.

If you continue to use it of travel with it,it will maim or kill you.

This man is like a faulty car and you have seen the signs.

This is the beginning of the downfall of your relationship. At this stage it can never work. Waka and nor look back.

aisha said...

I don't understand why women are supposed to be apologetic about their success. Men never had to apologise for earning more, usually wives were happy and even prayed for their husbands to reach their goals

aisha said...

I don't understand why women need to be apologetic about their success. Men never had to apologise about being successful, usually wives prayed for their husbands to achieve their goals.