This exit has plunged the pound against the dollar to its lowest level since 1985 as Britain lurched towards Brexit. Sterling has crashed nearly 10% to $1.34, and by more than 6% against the euro. Gold is up nearly by 6% this morning.
US markets were expected to open down 550 points on Friday morning. Trading in Tokyo was halted after stocks plunged nearly 7 per cent, while South Korea's Kospi tumbled about 4 per cent.
Crude oil prices also took a hit. As results poured in, a picture emerged of a sharply divided nation: Strong pro-EU votes in the economic and cultural powerhouse of London and semi-autonomous Scotland were countered by sweeping anti-Establishment sentiment for an exit across the rest of England, from southern seaside towns to rust-belt former industrial powerhouses in the north.
Nigel Farage, leader of the UK Independence Party, has declared June 23 Britain's 'Independence Day'.
One expert forecast the UK, will plunge back into recession.
Kathleen Brooks, of City Index, predicted shares in big banks would tumble at least 10% when markets open. She said:
“This is bad news for the country, the economy and the UK’s position in the world order. “In other words, for now at least we should batten down the hatches.”
Meanwhile, in Europe, far-right leader Geert Wilders has reportedly called for a Dutch EU Referendum “as soon as possible.”
The Party said: “The United Kingdom is leading the way to the future and liberation. The time is now for a new start, trusting in its own strength and sovereignty. Also in the Netherlands”
Prime Minister David Cameron, who called the referendum and led the 'remain' campaign, faces an uncertain future with this result.
Former London Mayor Boris Johnson. If 'leave' wins, he may have no choice but to resign.
'If the prime minister loses this I don't see how he can survive as prime minister,' said Scottish National Party lawmaker Alex Salmond.
Source: Daily Mail/UK Mirror/Sky News
35 comments:
Foolishness!this is exactly the same mistake Nigerians made with Buhari now fish bones have stuck in their throats
I hope the value of pound will reduce!!!
Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB
Yes! Woke up to the fantastic news. We don't want the Syrians in the UK , they are radicals, Muslim Radicals we don't want them to radicalise our children!
Linda amma watch the home office relax their rules on student entry visa *am hegzirred*
As a democratic Nation, peoples will must be respected. Yes it is true that the world is a global village, it is equally true that the Britain will benefit more economically by remaining in the EU but it is equally true that the security and maintaining the way of life of the people of British is far more important that economic gains especially with the recent upsurge of insecurity in the EU.
Dr.Dennis
Phew! Linda take note!
Hr might as well resign. I don't think leaving makes any sense
Hmmmmm!
You are very conrent with new.... well done Linda.
mum Cee
A democracy that truly respect and accept the people's choice...#onMYway...
Wow
GOOD TO SEE
AUNTY LINDA....
Biko na them sabi
Gud move, next is Nigeria to follow suit. Nigeria should break up, we are tied of PMB, APC and northerns agenda.
Nooooooooo!!!!!!
We also need a referendum in this country, Nigeria but who SAI, aboki no go gree cos of oil wealth. Black man with black and backward brain. Where one region doesn't want the other region to grow. SMH.
When are nigerians voting for our own seperation? As we can see..no condition is permanent.
Can nigeria respect democracy this way? @least we deserve a fair vote to knw if d country should remain one or part ways. Even our colonial masters know this. They have parted ways wit EU peacefully
Signed
#LibBadBoy
If you don't have anytin useful to say just shut it and stop wasting data. Fool
The people have voted. I voted to remain in the EU. This is a new start.
I dont even understand what they are saying self...
Hopefully the rules on a british citizen taking their spouse to the UK, won't be a tight and difficult as it is now.
Btw, @anon 6.44., Syrians have no business with Britain leaving the EU, so I don't know what you are on about. If Britain as a country decides to allow more Syrian refugees into their country (which they will), there is nothing you can do about it.
At this age and time, no people or state should be forced by another to be part of ablager union that pays no good to them, My Niger Delta people we have the right to stand on our own and vote to leave the rest of Nigeria to find their way, no one should be forced to be under any Governing body he doesn't want to, when David Cameron triggers the Article 50 this morning it wouldn't mean it would be an immediate exit, it would take up to two years to totally leave, Same as the Niger Delta please our Yoruba and Hausa brothers we know you have no major source of funding except the Oil we have. Let's us give you a time frame in which we can leave peacefully, God bless Nigeria and God bless The Niger Delta.
Some regulars here opposing the Igbo's being independent would form "unlooking" on the post, Cheeky but very true. They know themselves.
What recent upsurge of insecurity in the EU are you talking about? The economic/unemploymentproblem is only affecting greece (majorly) and Spain. It didn't affect Britain at all. The only argument that made sense for their leaving was immigration issues..and it wasn't really such a biggie to me. Same way other EU citizens visit Britain freely is the way Britons equally visits other EU countries freely. I hope britain has plans because her economy doesn't look too good.
All d best to them and may their wish not b their stumbling block.
And they are celebrating... Smh
Incase u dn't understand why they voted to leave. I like dat cos they dn't want the Syria refugees to enter UK for security purpose, as u can see 2day UE is now havin a security problem. Yestaday was in German an attack at a cinema
Please NIGER DELTA people the oil in your region is NIGERIAs oil not NIGER DELTAs oil . it isn't a resource you produced with ur hands just happens to be there. So except God put it in your birth certificate that it is your birth right you better get that way of thinking out of your heads. That is the problem with Nigeria , we don't see ourselves as one. Big joke. You think if you leave you people will enjoy ? your so called militant rulers will steal basically everything and your region will still suffer no development. Im not against your demand for development but the way you people are going about it is damn foolish. think of it!!
As for the UK please leave biko so that you people will relax your immigration laws/rules. I'm entitled to my 2 years post University visa. I need to leave this Nigeria with backward thinking people.
Nigeria should also follow suit cos it's obvious we r not happy being together
Abi o..I had to read twice..the Syrians are not even from the EU,so,.....
Igbos are no part of the Niger Delta pls! Funny how they keep attaching themselves to the Niger Delta due to greed. Kindly face ur Biafra. Though, I pray for an indivisible Nigeria, a better Nigeria.