Breaking! David Cameron steps down as UK's Prime Minister following UK vote to leave the EU | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 24 June 2016

Breaking! David Cameron steps down as UK's Prime Minister following UK vote to leave the EU

UK Prime Minister David Cameron resigned today after his devastating defeat in the EU referendum. He had fought strongly for Britain to remain in the EU but lost. He said he will stay in post till about October this year when a new Prime Minister is chosen. He said the country requires fresh leadership.

Cameron's voice broke as he spoke outside Downing Street this morning with his wife Samantha in tears next to him. “We should aim to have a new prime minister in place by the start of the Conservative Party conference in October," he told the media after the country voted to leave the European Union.

The Brexit campaign officially passed the winning post in the EU referendum at around 6am today, triggering a political earthquake and panic in the markets. Nigel Farage earlier declared it to be 'independence day' and a 'victory for real people' as the Leave campaign racked up votes across England and Wales - defying the verdict of London, Scotland and most of the big cities.

The Pound - which soared in value earlier after Nigel Farage admitted he thought Brexit had lost - has nose-dived against US dollar to its lowest level for 31 years. And more than £100billion was wiped off the FTSE 100 within minutes as markets opened on Friday as Britain's decision caused turmoil across global exchanges.

Source: UK Daily Mail

54 comments:

After calling Nigeria and Afghanistan the most corrupt countries in the world. I no blame am..na BUHARI THE CLUELESS cause am

Why do I have a weird feeling about this whole situation. Why are Britons so eager to leave the EU if it devalues their currency like this. I hope UK aptly tackles this situation. It's quite chaotic.

NOTED

AUNTY LINDA....

All hail the spirit of biafra!!!!!

UK will eventually split... Scotland will call for a second referendum to stay in the uk.

wowu

U know best

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

Okay...Let him Gerarrahere

A nation and a man dat believes dat it is not by force to rule. I wish our african leaders esp in nigeria can emulate from this. Can u imagine amaechi or saraki coming out to resign?
Signed
#LibBadBoy

Oh well...

Goodbye Cameron!!! Step down Already Oct is too far.... hian

Resigning honourably,fayose do the needful

It finally cost him his job. I saw it coming and the pressure to resign was so much

OMG... He has an integrity!

Make I hear say dis happen for africa

This will affect english football greatly .. especially in transfers

Can dis type of tin ever happen in Nigeria? NEVER!

Nigeria leaders wil want to b in position and if possible die there too.

All d best to dis big mouth PM dat called Nigeria fantastically corrupt country.

Voice of the NigerDelta said...

At this age and time, no people or state should be forced by another to be part of ablager union that pays no good to them, My Niger Delta people we have the right to stand on our own and vote to leave the rest of Nigeria to find their way, no one should be forced to be under any Governing body he doesn't want to, when David Cameron triggers the Article 50 this morning it wouldn't mean it would be an immediate exit, it would take up to two years to totally leave, Same as the Niger Delta please our Yoruba and Hausa brothers we know you have no major source of funding except the Oil we have. Let's us give you a time frame in which we can leave peacefully, God bless Nigeria and God bless The Niger Delta.

I think this might affect the country negatively.

The first of many shake ups that will follow Brexit. 1 down, many to come

Oh can our Baba take a cue. That's an honorable and honest thing a leader can give to his subject when he no longer make positive impact in their lives. Baba please do us this one last favour resign honorably, we will love you more for that, we're no longer feeling the good things of life you promised us, rather the reverse is the case.

Good! He already said he would resign so na imm sabi

Tom said...

Our leaders know not of such an honorable path. They are born to rule with ruthless avarice. Politics should be made less attractive.

'A sad day for Europe', said Donald Tusk of the European commission. So historic a vote. The right wing politicians like Nigel Farage, Boris Johnson and other 'Leave Camp' members had succeeded at the long last. EU will have to renegotiate its treaties and ties with UK. Brexit, a new dawn in modern history and politics!

Am sure the niger delta and biafra (even though they dont have valid claim) will want a referendum too. And the result is obvious, very obvious. And truth is Nigeria will break one day if we continue like this and we dont do proper reform because nigeria right now is like a forced marriage where the husband beats the wife and you still want her to stay in the marriage. When 90% of oil block belongs to hausa and the people that own the oil are neglected. The federal govt are not the only one to be blamed for this wickedness. Even the past and present leaders of Niger delta are guilty
Best solution is states should control her resources just like before. But if we continue like this, one day it will break. It may just take time but it will eventually happen. I just pray it will not be bloody. Its not enough to pray for one nigeria, We have to do the right thing that will keep us together, if we must stay together.
In fact some part of me want #southwestexit and every one go there way so we have peace.

known annonymous

I think buhari shld his footstep and resign honorably too

Okk seen

UK just want to be on it own just like USA and the do 😊have the capability both intellectually,economically and human resources wise.

Mr. David Cameron was fantastically defeated. This led to his fantastically resignation. That was fantastically good for BREXIT. Now, we need to learn from this in Africa and resolve to go this route when we have divergent opinions. Let's start with this on cases like true federalism and Biafra, Niger Delta and other issues that needs to be resolved.

Dhayor said...

I am not sure you understand what is happening, seems to me that you are the clueless one. But you look educated but vomit trash. Get Educated stupid one.

Our leaders should him. When you know can't offer anything to the masses resign honorably.

His gamble failed.

To stay in the EU*

He has done his part. Linda take note!

Hi linda shoutout 4rm UK a fan. @gentle don't mind this d British people they hate immigration,dey hate immigrants and are willing to reck their economy to get immigrants out of their way especially EU countries,Africans,Asians,etc. Thats d amount of hate dat lives within dem. The funniest situation of this whole issue is that immigration adds more to their country n economy. The immigrants don't get much from them and their economy,immigrants are there just to get a better life. Now that dey av made this decision their pounds in stock market now would drop like nonsense. Infact their economy is going to suffer a down pour, the country wld divide, n let dem pray that Scotland doesn't break away from d uk cause it would bring UK to rubbish cause Scotland is their oil well,so if Scotland leaves they would become nobody in the world. They are just stupid

Zico said...

Come to think of it oooo
Can something like this ever happen in Nigeria?

I just love you so much David Cameron.
This is really a sad day for Britain especially the illiterates who have been brainwashed.
What a sad day.

Melkstan said...

This can only happen when u have ppls interest at heart than money,BUT STILL Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful,BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL..

The man, David Cameron is fantastically Weak! Imagine, he lost Woefully in his own backyard..

And he fantastically failed!

OBA'S BLOG said...

Seen. Bk was here!!

dofag said...

our people go wan die there ni oh...shebi na deir money maker..God bless the Uk. God bless Nigeria!

Cesar said...

All about freedom! Is not by force... Nigeria allow the Risen Sun to go.

Big mouth PM? But he was right about Nigerian leaders after all

DEAR POOR CAMERON YOU AND YOUR BUHARI FRIEND TRAMPLED ON BIAFRA REFERENDUM BUT GAVE YOUR OWN COUNTRY CHANCE TO DECIDE THEIR FUTURE,NNAMDI KANU EVEN PREDICTED UK FUTURE IF THEY DON'T TAKE DRASTIC DECISION, BIAFRA WILL COME YOU ALL WATCH AND SEE.

iya kekere said...

Nice move

GERMANY AND UK FOUGHT BITTER WARS IN THE PAST, JOINED TOGETHER LATER UNDER EUROPEAN UNION, DEMOCRATICALLY UK HAS LEFT, RESPECT THE WILL OF THE BIAFRANS OR ELSE THE ENTIRE NORTHERN NIGERIA WILL FOREVER BLAME YOUR GENERATION FOR THERE PREDICAMENT,YOU CAN'T DEFEAT THIS WILL

If you are smart you should ask for buhari #no WAEC certificate to resign instead of Fayose who was blackmailed but Fayose prevails against buhari

I am sorry to say this, YOU ARE A MONUMENTAL FOOL!!!!

Noted.....#Lindatakenote

ARTitude said...

This stern guy are you an offspring of rape? Why always so bitter? You spew hate at the slightest opportunity. Buhari isn't Nigeria's problem, shallow minded urchins like you are actually the problem. Change your stupid self before demanding change from the government.

Our leaders has a lot to learn...#onMYway...

Infact u r very stupid