Trending story of a 1996 incident where a Gorilla carried a 3-year-old boy to safety after he fell into its enclosure | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 31 May 2016

Trending story of a 1996 incident where a Gorilla carried a 3-year-old boy to safety after he fell into its enclosure

An 8-year-old female gorilla at an Illinois zoo named Binti Jua, made worldwide headlines when she carried a boy to safety after he slipped away from his mother, climbed through a barrier and fell nearly 20 feet into the Western Lowland Gorilla Pit, located at the Brookfield Zoo, on Aug. 19, 1996.

The boy who suffered a broken hand and cuts to his face was lying on the ground of the pen where six other gorillas were present, before Binti Jua picked him up around the waist, carried him safely to a door where rescuers waited as a crowd looked on.

The gorilla was reportedly following her maternal instincts considering she carried her own 17-month baby on her back throughout her encounter with the boy. The rescued boy and his mother were also never identified and the now 28-year-old gorilla is still living in the Brookfield Zoo gorilla exhibit.

47 comments:

LEGEND GORILLA.

Meaning they shouldn't have killed that gorilla

Waooow!

This super story is so touching

Waooow!

This super story is so touching

Poor thing

BLISS said...

They really shouldn't have killed that gorilla. It was not like it was being aggressive at that moment. The sedative would have been better. #lindaobserve!!!

so why did they shoot dead the chimpanzee the other day?

Hmmmmmmm how are we sure dat one won't harm the boy.

Loi,all reasoning is not thinking,
This one many have a good heart but the one that was killed may not,if they did not kill him only GOD knows what would have happened to the four years old boy and 'would l known will be the talk.

So,this story is to say the boy might have been saved too? Abeg,don't take chances with life..the gorilla is dead,the boy is alive, everybody move on.nobody did anything wrong

Ehen! So? Abeg that was a different Gorilla

So wetn them de try imply....the killed gorilla was draging the boy around not trying to carry him to safety

Awww... How nice! Something about #Motherhood

wao, that was God in action

That's was a female gorilla, following her maternal instincts..
We say same for a male Gorilla, almost ten years later.

<< LIB Addict >>

Gud morning linda. i never knew it was real life story..

Waw swt of de Gorilla

Gud morning linda. I never knew it was a real life story...

Awwww! What a lovely sight.
Maybe that shot Gorilla would have done same.

Old world humans... That was very kind of it..

Beloved Linda,

I praise ur getting dis story to get it across ur readers. Nice one from u.

When I heard abt dis story via CNN for d first time, I was shocked and d difference btw d other gorilla is their SEX.

the problem in this recent incident is that it was a male gorilla that was toiling with the boy and would have potentially harmed him but if it was a female that case would be similar to the past one (hopefully )

MamaNigeria said...

Really nice

optimisticlady said...

Shading the shooters ni?

The neva gave the gorilla time to realy know his intentions cuz the baby's life was in danger

nneka said...

This is a risk I am not willing to take, both as a parent and as a Zoo official. I fully support the killing of the Gorilla in your previous story. You should never equate the life of a human to the life of an animal, no matter how endangered the animal specie is. Human life remains top priority. All those animal life activists should kindly take several seats.

Dis is history in making...

It's really nice reading dis though hv heard via CNN. D difference btw dis gorilla and d other gorilla is their SEX.

Nice one to our beloved Linda bringing dis to her blog for us.

Hmmmmmmm eyahhhh

So! Abeg make we hear word joor should we have taken chances and let d gorrila kill d poor boy then say had I know I would have killed d gorrila!

Eyiozi4real said...

Bt we can't compare ds one wt d killed one bcos Evn if it doesn't intend to oil d boy,he might hv gotten drown wt d way it was going about wt him

Dnt be ridiculous, so they should hv watched the gorilla devour the littl boy befor they cn tak an action. It might interest u to kn that the sedative u mentioned would not calm the gorilla down because of the fact that it has renforced its' aggressiveness for attack accordin to the management of the zoo. Oga ur not wiser than the rescue team who wrk in that zoo.

Gorilla Not chimpanzee...

silver backs are very territorial.. can't he easily sedated just a slap and his skull will give way.

We can all see how this one was dragging the boy no sign of any safety..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

Amazing! Linda take note!

Loooooool this one is not paying attention

Thank you. Sensible comment

Amazing

Or maybe not.

Difference in sex.difference in. Sex..apparently bin a long time parents hv bin carefree with dia kinds in a zoo....C'mon...a zoo....wat will make anionee let dia children roam freely in a ZOO...

The difference was that Binti jua, in 1996 used her maternal instincts to save d lil boy. But Harambe, was aggressively flinging the lil boy round, and that didn't show safety at all. For me, d zoo officials took a better option to eliminate the gorilla, that for the gorilla to eliminate the lil boy. After all, the zoo officials, saved the Gorilla's sperm for future use.

Pls all females have maternal instinct,this one saved the boy,the one that was shot was male and most males are territorial,he could have easily killed the boy.

Wow

Abegi!!!!!!! How can they compare the life of a boy with that of a gorilla???? If they want to mourn they should mourn the life's been wasted by all these terrorist

Linda post my comment oooo

Felicia says so via BlackBerry Passport

So touchy