Looks like Bloomberg likes to analyze and criticize our government and president. Found this new posted on their site today. Please read the article below
President Buhari took office as Nigeria’s president a year ago on a wave of optimism that the ex-military ruler could revive a nation battered by falling oil prices and decades of corruption. Now, Africa’s biggest economy is on its knees and Buhari has been forced to throw in the towel on a central pillar of his economic policy -- a currency peg.
“It
was difficult to imagine a scenario in which things got worse,” said
Malte Liewerscheidt, a Nigeria analyst at Bath, U.K.-based consultant
Verisk Maplecroft. “But it’s been a lost year. What’s missing is sound
macroeconomic policies.”
Nigeria will soon enter a recession,
according to the central bank, and an upsurge of militant attacks since
February has sent crude production, which usually accounts for 70
percent of government revenue, plummeting to an almost 30-year low. Delays in approving a budget and a cabinet as
well as Buhari’s refusal to weaken an overvalued currency -- until he
relented this week -- have caused foreign investors to flee.
Foreign
investors, fearing a devaluation, are staying away. Foreign direct
investment was the lowest last year since the 2007-08 global financial
crisis, and Citigroup Inc. said deals have ground to a halt. Capital controls prompted JPMorgan Chase & Co. in September to kick Nigeria out of its local-currency emerging-market bond indexes, tracked by more than $200 billion of funds.
Bond Losses
This
year, Nigeria’s local-bond yields have climbed 276 basis points to
13.46 percent, leaving them as the only such securities among 31
emerging markets tracked by Bloomberg to make losses. Electricity output
has plunged to
about a 30th of that of South Africa, Africa’s second-biggest economy,
as attacks on pipelines cut supplies of natural gas to power plants.
When
Buhari beat then-President Goodluck Jonathan in the first election
victory by an opposition candidate, U.S. President Barack Obama’s
administration called it an “historic step for Nigeria and Africa.” A
73-year-old retired major-general who ruled from 1983 to 1985, Buhari
campaigned to end the corruption he said was “killing” his country. He
and his All Progressives Congress party promised to crush Boko Haram,
whose Islamist insurgency has led to thousands of deaths in the
northeast since 2009, and foster economic growth of as much as 10
percent.
Naira Peg
Now
recession looms. The economy contracted in the first quarter by 0.4
percent, the first decline since 2004. If Buhari doesn’t alter his
stance on the naira and loosen the restrictions used to defend its peg
to the dollar, output will probably sink further, according to Mark
Bohlund, an Africa economist with Bloomberg Intelligence in London.
“The
Nigerian economy is at high risk of experiencing its first full-year
recession since 1987,” Bohlund said. An improvement next year depends on
security being restored in the oil-rich Niger River delta region and “a
shift toward more market-based economic policy.”
Buhari
was dealt a tough hand. He inherited a virtually empty treasury and
Jonathan’s administration did little to diversify the economy, leaving
it vulnerable to the crash in oil prices since 2014. A rainy-day fund
known as the Excess Crude Account was whittled down to barely $2 billion
when Buhari took office, from $21 billion in 2008.
Boko Haram
The president has won plaudits from investors for beating back Boko
Haram and trying to overhaul graft-ridden institutions, including the
Nigerian National Petroleum Corp., the management of which he sacked.
Yet they have been left bemused by his economic policies.
He
opted to keep gasoline prices capped at 87 naira ($0.44) a liter ($1.76
a gallon) until months of shortages and unrest over long fuel lines
forced him to increase them by 67 percent in mid-May. He has also clung
to the naira peg even as evidence showed a dollar shortage was
strangling the economy. Buhari continues to oppose devaluation, though
he has given the central bank leeway to implement a more flexible currency regime, his spokesman, Garba Shehu, said on Monday.
Under
Governor Godwin Emefiele, the central bank began to fix the naira at
197-199 against the dollar in late February 2015, even as other oil
exporters from Russia to Colombia and Kazakhstan let their currencies
drop. Buhari has backed that stance since coming to power.
Businesses
are struggling to operate as the central bank, whose reserves have
fallen to a more than 10-year low, runs out of the dollars they need to
import raw materials and equipment. Many are forced to turn to the black
market, where the naira value has plunged to around 350 per dollar.
That’s pushed the inflation rate to 13.7 percent, the highest in almost
six years.
Currency Squeeze
U.S. carrier United Airlines said would it stop flying to
Nigeria next month, in part because of the hard-currency squeeze.
Foreign airlines have the naira-equivalent of $575 million trapped in
the country that they can’t repatriate, according to the International
Air Traffic Association. The Africa president of Unilever, whose
Nigerian unit has seen its shares drop 29 percent since Buhari became
president, called the currency policy “very insane.”
The
central bank’s Monetary Policy Committee voted on May 24 to allow
“greater flexibility” in the foreign-exchange market, which investors
hoped meant that banks would be allowed to trade the naira more freely.
Yet, while Emefiele said a new system would be unveiled “in the coming
days,” no changes have been made.
Policy Failure
It
was an “admission of the inevitable failure of the policy, which
created a black market economy,” said Kingsley Moghalu, a former deputy
governor at the central bank who now teaches at Tufts University in
Boston. “The exchange-rate policy contributed quite significantly to
creating a recessionary situation. It hit manufacturers, who could not
access forex. It has created unemployment.”
The economy is so weak that Finance Minister Kemi Adeosun says officials probably won’t be able to collect enough taxes to
meet the revenue target in this year’s record 6.1 trillion naira
budget, which was only passed this month after senators said Buhari’s
team made mistakes in the first version sent to them.
Nigeria’s 36 states, most of which depend on monthly handouts from
the federal government, are on average three to four months late with
salary payments to teachers, doctors and other civil servants, according
to the oil minister.
“There’s
a sense of exasperation among investors,” Ronak Gopaldas, a
Johannesburg-based analyst at Rand Merchant Bank, said. “There’s still a
level of goodwill toward Buhari and his government but it’s
dissipating. The man on the street is really struggling.”
47 comments:
When next Nigerians hear #Chain they will think right! #EvilGovt
Nonsense
Meenah_wakil on Instagram
Nonsense
Meenah_wakil on Instagram
These people are sick. We know buhari has failed us buh he gave them the right to write this?
Linda behave ur self . Buhari is a fool
MAY GOD BLESS BLOOMBERG MAGAZINE. This is the difference between a non sentimental magazine and a biased one (SAHARA REPORTERS). Sahara reporters will never say the truth concerning this failed administration.
EVERY SECTOR OF NIGERIA HAS GONE WEAK AND FALLEN ALL BECAUSE OF A FAILED MAN. When will blind stupid people notice this? This man has no good plan whatsoever for Nigeria.
I reserve my comment...Next Pls???
Long live Linda
Long live Francis
We all are aware of our clueless government no need for themployees to remind us..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY
IT IS WELL
WHEN OTHERS ARE CAST DOWN YOU WILL SAY THERE IS A LIFTING UP
COW BRAIN PRESIDENT
Hehehehe dey shld leave us alone,if dey dn't have any solution for us.
It is well! Linda take note!
Not only on her knees but killed and buried
Heavenly people speak up.
There is noting like criticise here afterall they are doing it for the good of every nigerians.
TERRORIST IS UNEDUCATED TO RULE A BIG COUNTRY LIKE NIGERIA HE THINGS THAT NIGERIA WE ARE WAS THE ONE IN 1983.
BLOOmberg are always right this man ONE YEAR GOVERNMENT HAS PARALYZE EVERY THING THAT NIGERIA IS NOW A JOKE.
BEFORE JONATHAN LEFT NIGERIA WAS SECOND OIL PRODUCING COUNTRY IN AFRICA WHAT ARE WE SEEING NOW? NIGERIA IS AFRICAN LARGEST ECONOMY WHAT ARE WE SEEING NOW? WE DONT NEED BLOOMBERG TO TELL US WHAT THIS IGNORANT EMPTY BRAIN MAN HAS DONE TO ECONOMY IN THE NAME OF FIGHTING HIS OPPOSITIONS CLAIMING HIS FIGHTING CORRUPTION.
BUHARI IF IT WERE U U WILL NOT CALL JONATHAN INSTEAD BLOOD WILL FLOW JONATHAN WILL CONTINUE TO BE HERO TILL THE END OF THE WORLD.
FOOLS AND ANIMALS WILL CRITICIZE BLOOMBERG BUT CURSE BE UPON U.
Nigeria will soon be a refuse.
Hmmmmm let APC keep on blaming Gej. why Blomberg will keep on saying the truth.
*NWA 042*
Heavenly people speak up.
There is noting like criticise here afterall they are doing it for the good of every nigerians.
FOOLS WILL CALL THEM WAILERS OR SAY THAT PDP SPONSOR THEM BUT SHAME THAT THE WORLD KNOW BUHARI MORE THAN U ALL.
TERRORIST IS UNEDUCATED TO RULE A BIG COUNTRY LIKE NIGERIA HE THINGS THAT NIGERIA WE ARE WAS THE ONE IN 1983.
BLOOmberg are always right this man ONE YEAR GOVERNMENT HAS PARALYZE EVERY THING THAT NIGERIA IS NOW A JOKE.
BEFORE JONATHAN LEFT NIGERIA WAS SECOND OIL PRODUCING COUNTRY IN AFRICA WHAT ARE WE SEEING NOW? NIGERIA IS AFRICAN LARGEST ECONOMY WHAT ARE WE SEEING NOW? WE DONT NEED BLOOMBERG TO TELL US WHAT THIS IGNORANT EMPTY BRAIN MAN HAS DONE TO ECONOMY IN THE NAME OF FIGHTING HIS OPPOSITIONS CLAIMING HIS FIGHTING CORRUPTION.
BUHARI IF IT WERE U U WILL NOT CALL JONATHAN INSTEAD BLOOD WILL FLOW JONATHAN WILL CONTINUE TO BE HERO TILL THE END OF THE WORLD.
FOOLS AND ANIMALS WILL CRITICIZE BLOOMBERG BUT CURSE BE UPON U.
It's well with Naija mbok
Confused GMB
Hahahahaha.... keep writing guys
Hmmmmmmmmm
He is an illiterate president surrounded wit illiterate friends advising him. Instead of appointing brilliant minds from all over d country he appointed his fellow herdsmen n untrustworthy Yorubas who want him to fail deep down so their kinsman will take over. U need more ibos in ur cabinet, u can't do without ibos evn if they steal eventually atleast d economy won't be bad
well, we should keep being hopeful
Their own views doesn't amounts dat it's 101% true.
Help us tell am Nigerians are suffering and this is increasing crime rate
It's well Nigeria is already in recession
Not interested#Lindangwanu#
Very good analysis. I hope this will not be politicised as usual
that is the truth of the matter. saw this on news now
see reason why Nigerian army attacked and killed biafran supporters
see what nadia buari posted on instagram
Sai BUhari. Change cometh.
Bloomberg likes to criticize your president and analyse your economy. Shutup on this one lInda. Shut up. You are just a copy and paste blogger. You cannot use your blog to expose the nonsense going on in this country. Just keep copying and posting. @amfestus
Illiterate president feeling like he knows it all
So true! Next time Nigerians hears Change they Will ask if it's for Good or Bad. Ntoorr unu for electing an illiterate as a president... am glad I didn't vote for this Monumental Cow
Who them help
Even outsiders can see from afar.
Buhari ananukwanu ife.
Linda knows what she's gaining naa, it's only celebs she can attack,where are all those blind ass buhari supporters dat act like they can't see what's going on in this country, 1 year in office and he is still blaming pdp for his misfortunes, Oya step down let pdp take over since they are to blame for all the problems, let them come and clean up deir mess since u obviously cannot. What pisses me off is the constant blame putting when u are the one in power. Take responsibility.
We just dey start. Buhari have failed
Let dem continue enjoying d change. I remembered wen Bishop Oyedepo prayed @d dying minute forGEJ DAT he will command d gates of hell to rain on all those opposing him d first to talk and mk jest was Obasanjo,now is dis nt more Dan hell BT d good tin is na d Hausa d hear am pass and corny yorubas
APC knew PDP and GEJ has messed up the economy. Yet they fought hard to take it from them even with PDP still fighting to keep it.they should have allowed PDP clean up the mass instead of promising us yet going up there to start pointing fingers.
We have many learned Nigerians that can revive this country;than allow clueless and illiterate touts rule.
Buhari should please appoint people who know what he doesn't know ; give them chance to function than doing this aboki over sabi. It won't help us
Ride on bloomberg
My angle of this simple
""" Does it make sense"""
As far as my little layman's mind suggests, it makes a whole lot of sense. Now can they take it and try to look at it for the sole purpose of using it to improve on what they are offering, fine.
But the question is this ""will they"""
Won't the likes of Bona Fool & Aboki speak again?
Well i still believe in PMB, all he needed to work with right people. Baba you can do it, don't give up all you need now to get the right people to work with and give us the change you promised.
Its really a shame, May God help us.
Wetin make i wrote wey Linda go publish.
If i write truth wey no favor Oyibo, she no go publish am.
So, make i do dis instead:
Linda is a lovely girl, eya, eya o!
Oyinbos r the devils n k iars they love to discredit any anything that they dont benefit from or when they dont have their way. Its only those that live in america or europe that understands these demons...the backstabbers n traitors in nigeria r helping these europeans to loot and fabricate lies about people who wants the best for this country. Nigerians open your eyes...oyinbos hate you black people and their purpose from slavery is to divide and conquer and thats y africa is what it is today. Read about slavery you will understand what whites agenda was...they are jealous of what you have but u pple r illiterate n carry them as gods when they r defenseless without guns. Let other africans tell u who they r then u will b surprise that most africans r keeping quiet until the day of reckoning. Drops mic