Animal rights activists have questioned the Zoo management's security techniques and the child's parents over the incident but those affected by gorilla’s death may take comfort in the zoo’s admission that sperm from Harambe had been frozen after his death, which means his ‘gene pool’ will likely continue.
More than 290,000 have now signed a petition calling for 'Justice for Harambe' which lays blame squarely with the child's parents.
But Mr Maynard - who defended the zoo's decision to shoot the gorilla - has insisted 'there is a future' for Harambe because 'it's not the end of his gene pool'.
Harambe’s breed is critically endangered in the wild. Their numbers have delinced more than 60% to about 175,000 in the last quarter-century and though Harambe was not yet mature enough to breed, his sperm was collected after the shooting for possible reproductive use and for research purposes.
Source : DailyMail
38 comments:
Better, Poor thang
Good to know
Okay that's good news
That's the first thing I thought about when they shot that gorilla dead.
Smart move
Funny..
Dis is wht I call future after death.
LWKM Very funny
E don die, e don die.
Good...
Na wa this is a serious matter .gorrilla lives matter
But why on earth will a parent leave a chil to roam freely in a zoo, A ZOO...dey shud be questioned..dats d height of carelessness..why bring him to a zoo if u cnt look after him....and worst ddey put an endangered specie to death..although I feel for d family on wat ever criticism dey may be going through now but ey deserve it...
Dis oyinbo people self. Than God d boy is ok...
Okay dat solve the problem nah
Eyahhhh!!!! Thats nice
That's cool... Btw he's not yet mature enough to breed at 17? These gorillas share many biological similarities with man..
Abeg when Harambe dey alive...who hin help? mtchew....RIP bruv!
Sigh..this drama is soooooo unnecessary.
Okay oo....atleast that's some solace for the so called animal right activist
Dats better! Linda take note!
Oh wow. They will ask what happen to their daddy.
17 years old and he's not matured enough to breed? Na when him reach 50years him go begin breed ni?
All dese na on top of animal abi
Animal wildlife, always an interesting one
Odiegwu o!
Phew! Good news.
At least a reason to cheer up.
Ohk seen.pls someone should help me out with this "recaptcha"I can't comment if is there.
says,Genevieve.
It's well
good news as it was, but i pray that who so ever took the decision to kill the gorilla should as well face with the same fate that, he be killed and his sperm removed for future degeneration; what's good for goose is also good for gander
Na wa o. This story do tire me
All this animal activist sef
taking about gorilla. when boko haram and herdsmen don almost finish Nigerians.. na whom gorilla help sef?
Animal activists and their wahala. Gud d boy was rescued.
this gorilla look so much like former president OBJ
Oyinbo don mad
Linda e be like say you like this gorilla because the wey you dey follow the story tire me biko
Ok so them wan put the sperm inside another gorilla pussy.
So u are going to force a female gorilla to carry the sperm and give birth. As an animal activist, why force another gorilla to carry the sperm? What if she doesnt want to get pregnant? Is it by force? Is it because she cant talk? Stmcheew