In a post shared on her blog, Twelve and Six, Katie, from Atlanta, Georgia, explained that her daughter Charlie Kate was born with a 'strawberry birthmark' known as a capillary hemangioma on her face that is about two inches wide and two inches long. However, she stresses that her daughter is more than just a birthmark - and there is no reason to 'pity' her.
'We don’t need to talk about it every time you look at her,' Katie wrote. 'We see past the color of her face. Charlie is Charlie and it’s part of who she is. It doesn’t need to be constantly commented on, critiqued, or questioned.'
Katie said that she doesn't 'mind educating curious minds', but some people tend to overstep their bounds by offering their opinions on the mark or the affect it might have on Charlie in the future.
'It’s a part of her unique beauty. It may never disappear, and guess what? It doesn’t have to,' Katie said. 'I would much rather chat about her latest milestone achievement, her amazing smile, or how gorgeous her eyes are.
'She isn’t in pain or ill. She simply has an unusual quality about her appearance.'
There is no known cause or prevention for hemangiomas, which are an abnormal build-up of blood vessels in the skin or internal organs, and while they often go away on their own as the child gets older, physicians recommend that they are monitored to ensure that the nodule doesn't interfere with vision or breathing.
Katie told Daily Mail Online that Charlie has seen specialists and is under the care of doctors to make sure her daughter's capillary hemangioma, which has been deemed cosmetic, doesn't cause any problems.
The mother-of-two, who also has a son named Grayson, noted in her essay that people will commonly say things like, 'I'm praying that it goes away' or 'Bless, her poor little heart', and she is constantly being asked, 'When will that go away?'
'I’ve even heard things as harsh as “turn her to her good side” or “Too bad, she’s so pretty otherwise”,' she added.

Katie
went on to encourage people to pray that Charlie grows up to confident
and filled with self-love 'no matter what she looks like' instead of
wishing that her birth mark will disappear.
'Hold
the pity. She’s a healthy baby girl and we are blessed,' she explained.
'Her hemangioma is just as insignificant to who she is as a freckle on
her arm. You don’t need to mention it, and you don’t need to wish it
away.'
Katie
told Daily Mail Online said she doesn't feel like she is doing Charlie
an 'injustice by not having it cosmetically removed' because she was
bullied as a child even though there was nothing visibly wrong with
her.
'I think to protect our children from bullies we should instill confidence and values in who they are, the way they were made,' she said. 'No one wants their child to be picked on, but children can be ruthless. They will pick on kids for their name, their brand of shoes, or the way they talk. It's just something that may or may not happen.'
Katie
said she has received dozens of supportive emails from parents of
children with hemangiomas, as well as adults who had large birthmarks as
children, many of which said they didn't have a difficult time with
bullies 'because of the positive way their primary caregivers and family
handed it'

Culled from UK Daily Mail

55 comments:
Na wa o,too much talk, abeg I can only see a beautiful baby,bye!
Hmm. OK oo
Very unique....nuel
This is ludicrous...they should cut it off nah..that girl will grow up to hate herself
And here I'm complaining bout being too skinny! Thank you lord!
In the world of today, it's going to be really hard on the little girl growing up with the birthmark. It is well with her she. Linda take note!
Such a beautiful baby
I love the eyes though...
She need to deal with that fact that people will always talk about it just as we always comment on Linda Ikejis's blog. How many people will she be able to reprimand? I beg make she pack well joo!
Pretty girl... Her mom they eat too much strawberry wen she was pregnant ? Lol
Pretty girl...was she eat too much strawberry wen she was pregnant ? Lol
Eyea,poor innocent child,xo
Pretty girl...was she eating too much strawberry wen she was pregnant ? Lol
Nice nd sweet gal, good mom
Woman please go remove that from the baby...
"She jus has an unusual quality appearance"this statement nailed it!#goodmama
#lindaikejiAndOthers!
and the pikin fine oh.
Shout out to dear ; u be better Mother let them know that you never ask for their opinion .
Damolia.DEW
Bullies will always come. All that matters is how strong you are.
Funny...
Aww poor kid. that birth mark may be so painful
Such gorgeous baby!its well wit her
Bad people.
Noticed.
She is beautiful tho.
Cute baby
She should get that birthmark of the girl's face plz. Some parents though. All this epistle about bullying is just about you, not the baby. I dnt think it's the child's choice to grow up disfigured. The girl will grow up to hate you if you leave her disfigured like that.
Lovely mum
Beautiful kid with such a great smile.
Just like that,Abi linda!
Beautiful baby.as she grows it will fade
This is not a birthmark at all. No way!! The child's face is already being disfigured. On a closer look at the baby, you will see that the eye is smaller to the right eye, also, the chin is bigger. I think this baby should be taken to a specialist for thorough examination.
It s always good to defend your own
Eyahhhh....it doesn't look good though but the baby is cute!
But its quite swollen naw...I don't blame her though..I'd do the same if I were in her shoes
Success is sexy
It was a birthmark at birth.it no longer is. Leave strangers comments and Check up your baby ma'am
Pretty little princess
The mother is a bitch looking for her five minutes of fame.
Why not remove the thing from the poor girl and let her have normal life.
Oh wait, if she does that she won't be in the media.
The mother is a bitch looking for her five minutes of fame.
Why not remove the thing from the poor girl and let her have normal life.
Oh wait, if she does that she won't be in the media.
She's a beautiful baby. I love her smile.
Please she should remove this thing from her face oo
Am pretty sure the girl will not see it as unique beauty when she grows
Its supposed to reduce as she grows up but its doing exactly the opposite. If it wasnt swollen like the one she had at birth then I see nothing wrong with it.
Guys visit my blog for fashion tips and more
Candidnaijaa.blogspot.com
Enter your comment... Its obvious u didn't see d place where she said she is in care of doctors, u jus don't tamper with anything u see like dat! Wat if it has a tendency to grow bigger after surgery or have u forgotten she is jus 7months old! Still too small.u don't love her more dan her mom and it behoves u to call her a witch, wen u have u own u will know better
Fine baby
Onyx abeg you need to complain dear, cos your own skinnism no be here oo!
Instead of wasting your time on the Internet scolding people that probably ain't going to listen.. I suggest you go to another hospital and get that shit checked out..
STAT
Nawa
This is not an ordinary birthmark....her nose is shifted to one side cos of the growth
The mark Is good because he cause less attraction. It's well baby in case of next life.
Sturge Weber syndrome or hemangioma. Going with hemangioma seeing that laser treatment has been given. Could still be Sturge Weber though. Pray d child doesn't come down with seizures
Why is the baby's nose and eye bag on the side of the birthmark loopsided and swollen
Pple will talk
Very beautiful
The baby is still cute