Building Collapse: Lagos halts Lekki Gardens' Construction | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 9 March 2016

Building Collapse: Lagos halts Lekki Gardens' Construction

Read the press statement below...
The Lagos State Government has expressed its condolences over the death of construction site workers who lost their lives on Tuesday as a result of the collapse of a five-storey building under construction on Kushenla Road, Ikate Elegushi, Lekki. In a press release issued on Wednesday and signed by the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Steve Ayorinde, the Lagos State Government also announced that 
 Based on preliminary reports and investigation, it was discovered that the collapsed building was served contravention notice for exceeding the approved floors and thereafter sealed by the Lagos State Building Control Agency.

It added that it has also been discovered that in a brazen act of defiance and impunity, the owners of the building, Messrs Lekki Worldwide Estate Limited, the promoters of Lekki Gardens, criminally unsealed the property and continued building beyond the approved floors until the unfortunate incident of Tuesday which has led to loss of lives.

The statement added that arising from the Lagos State Executive Council meeting decision on Wednesday, the State Government will no longer tolerate the action of unscrupulous owners and builders who challenge its supervisory control thereby endangering the lives of Lagosians.

The State Government has consequently directed the suspension of work at the site and ordered the Lagos State Police Command to cordon it off as it is now a crime scene.

The government also directed further integrity tests be carried out on every other construction project which has or is currently being handled by Messrs Lekki Worldwide Estate Limited in the interest of public safety.

Furthermore, the release quoted the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode as saying that all directors of Lekki Worldwide Estate Limited are strongly advised to submit themselves to the Lagos State Commissioner of Police within the next twenty four hours in their own interest or face immediate arrest.

The statement also commended the timely response and remarkable intervention by the combined men of the Lagos State Emergency Authority (LASEMA), the Lagos State Fire Service, Lagos State Ambulance Service (LASAMBUS), Red Cross, National Emergency Agency (NEMA), Lagos State Building Control Agency and the Rapid Response Squad (RRS).

The Lagos State Government also warned that it will no longer be business as usual stating that any developer either on existing or new building projects who fails to comply with building and construction regulations or attempts to subvert the law will henceforth face criminal prosecution.

SIGNED
STEVE AYORINDE

COMMISSIONER, INFORMATION AND STRATEGY

LAGOS STATE

MARCH 9, 2016

47 comments:

The ceo should be arrested too

Better,they need to probe it!

Yes way to go.
And those behind that act of irregularity that resulted to this tragedy must be brought to book.

God have mercy on us.. We're no longer save anywhere.. You enter bus, accident, enter market, bomb, you enter house, house will collapse on u, etc It is well🙏

Those folks would lose money eh

Ok oooo

the criminal prosecution should start with the managers of the Lekki Gardens project. This should be used to watch with caution the actions of many estate developers. Are there quality standards carried out by the authorities on their buildings? A word is enough for the wise

May their souls rest in peace

Noted

Sylvia said...

Wickedness and greediness of man...u want a 5 storey??? Put up a foundation dats befitting.... People go wan use 2storey foundation take build 5storey...... Note... Every building Lekki gardens has constructed has a question mark above it... Dis is definitely not d first time dey are playing dis ojoro..... I feel sad for d poor workers who just died while on duty...idiaaaat..

Watch Maheeda fingers herself till she cums in the bathroom

Issokay

This news has been lingering for over 2days now .na now madam de post am.

ATOM said...

So, is he going to arrest TB Joshua for his own building collapse too ???

God help them and to the departed, may their families find fortitude to bear d lost

Hmmmmm

Chop Chop said...

It's the contractor's responsibility to protect workers from danger

I tell you. Linda take note!

Na wa o. God help us

.Haters Just Leaked Nude videos of Blac Chyna's Mum, (please be 18+)

IF YOU LOVE YOUR LIVES, FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT,OPEN THE MARKET SO THAT PEOPLE WHO CAN AFFORD QUALITY PRODUCTS CAN IMPORT IT.

The greed, ....and sinking, sinking, sinking..........RIP.

Na wa ooo

Lekki gardens buildings all look very substandard. Really sorry for those who subscribed to their properties.

Didi 3000 said...

Medicine one after death.
The contractors must have bribed someone in the govt to look the other way and allow them keep working. That was probably why nothing was done to them until this tragedy.
Mr Governor, No need to probe only one half of the equation. Investigate your own house and see who was greased to allow the reopening for people to work. And die.

Dis is serious ooo.
God will help us.

What has happened to TB Joshua? I bet you they will also bury this one under concretes.

Its just another ploy by Govt to wash their hands off the situation.

The company actually stopped work on the said building not Govt that sealed it.
@ATOM, well done, they should arrest TB JOshua too.

God saves us from greediness!!!!

Vela said...

Pple are dying everyday. God please save ur pple. May the dead rest in peace.

What about the people that lost their lives? You are talking about losing money!!

chommy said...

May der souls rest in peace. Linda observe!

Lekki Gardens........hmmmm. Kalo kalo developers . Their estates are substandard. A lot of discoveries will be made when their projects are subjected to integrity tests. Good move by LASG

Its really sad...

As you don reader before, na wetin make reader am still come comment again? I swear you be cow.

Damn shame,sighhh.

Catch dem all

Rosamaria Mclouis said...

Nnenne ooo heaven is blissful. Jst reminding you

Bad market

"Save" ko, "safe" ni. It is well.

Directors of Messr. Lekki Gardens to report themselves within 24hrs? Aren't they one of you guys at the top? Isn't money somehow been laundered through that company?

The company name should be "cutting corners Nigeria Plc"

All the QS, Mechs, Architects,Development Mgrs (if they have any that is!)should be brought to book!!! I hope this will not be swept under the rug as every other thing in Nigeria is....If people do not pay for their actions, how do we expect this ludicrous act to stop?!

tony said...

God give and takes..anyhow it pleases him..in the days of job when his lost his everything including his family and servants,if there was LIB then most people would have posted funny comments.every man/business has their trying times.Mr Richard has been a good man.lekki gardens as an organisation has helped and empowered many young and old people..we all know how people go about sleeping in uncompleted buildings in lagos. .if Richard na ur papa..brother..husband..brother or uncle na this same things you for dey talk..why do we always like adding salt to wounds???

TEEGEE said...

when Good people face trials many take advantage of that and write as many crazy comments as they want..we all know that 90 percent of these comments are inspired by beef..lekki gardens has completed over 6000 unites across the country and has many occupants who are enjoying the properties and facilities. we have never heard any of them complaining. na people wey never even visit people for any lakki gardens estate dey here dey talk wetin dem no know...must everybody post a comment? Mr.Richard and lekki Gardens has been supporting and helping many young and old Nigerians..he is a focused and God fearing man..all his staff are leaving working happily, none is complaining...so lets end this noise...RIP to the dead...may God give their families the heart to be strong.

tony said...

the way everybody is pushing against Mr.Richards and lekki gardens shaaa...that means if say we be Americans we for don take God to court after the hurricane...lets take it easy.. except the Lord watches over a city,the watchmen watch in vain.this can happen to anyone.i sympathize with the families of the dead..

david said...

remember that the same way you celebrate another mans misfortune so shall other men celebrate yours..

@Richard &Teepee,from a LG 2 property owner, let me tell you this:
The standard of execution of job from LG is not commensurate with cost of project to subscribers and in all fairness to Richard, he had a good dream of providing affordable housing but his contractors and team members are people of questionable characters.