Sudanese woman gets death sentence for marrying a Christian man | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 May 2014

Sudanese woman gets death sentence for marrying a Christian man

Pregnant 27 year old Sudanese woman, Mariam Yahia Ibrahim Ishag has been sentenced to death by hanging by a Sudanese court for apostasy, (that is, renouncing ones faith or religion) after marrying a Christian man
Mariam, whose father is Muslim but raised orthodox Christian by her mother, was earlier sentenced to death by hanging on Sunday May 11th but was given till today May 15th to have a rethink and convert back to Islam before the verdict would be enforced. However during a court appearance today, Mariam maintained that she's a Christian and there's no going back. 
"We gave you three days to recant but you insist on not returning to Islam. I sentence you to be hanged to death." Judge Abbas Mohammed Al-Khalifa told the woman in court today, AFP reports  Continue...

Khalifa also sentenced Ishag to 100 lashes for "adultery".
“I am a Christian and I never committed apostasy,” she said in court.
Defending the judgement of the Sudanese judge, Ahmed Bilal Osman, Sudan's information Minister, said such judgement is not only delivered in Sudan but also in other Islamic countries
"It's not only Sudan. In Saudi Arabia, in all the Muslim countries, it is not allowed at all for a Muslim to change his/her religion." he told AFP
The death sentence will reportedly be carried out after Ibrahim gives birth.

295 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 295 of 295

Why are Muslims under unnecessary pressure? If you know your religion is the best then calm down and allow people to choose/worship freely.*JIGGA*

MUSLIMS? I DONT LIKE THEM ATAL

Your being is ironic. With these pointless statements of your you have the audacity to call someone "ignorant".I see your stupidity shining through like sunset...Idiotism is a curse and you are clearly diagnosed. How does sudan relate with Nigerian's? If u like stop campaigning. It is God's intervention we need not yours. Aint like u are Obama ..take several seats

D name said it all . IMOLE..Imolile

GOOD, help us pass that news to your brothers*JIGGA*

Why are Muslims under unnecessary pressure? If you know your religion is the best then calm down and allow people to choose/worship freely.*JIGGA*

The Quran does not enslave anyone not even to practice the religion. This it says categorically in Quran10:19-"if it had been your Lord's will, all the people on earth would have believed in one religion" here is my understanding of freedom of worship. All these people giving Islam the name it is not....I leave you to the wrath of the Almighty.

May God deliver u n ur generation from Ignorance.

Mab said...

And Christians that are gullible wkd switch to dis barbaric religion called Islam

all these
are signs of end time prophecy. watch out the end is near.

Mab said...

And u open a blog owned by a Nigerian daily, big fool

So why are we abusing book haram, it's still the same thing, they just do theirs on a larger scale. It's things like dis dat make u really wonder if Islam isn't really the problem of the world. You just can't help but wonder how peaceful the world would be without Islam.

Mind u 90% of the kidnapped girls are Christians so better continue campaigning. We need our girls back

Linda na wa ooo u no the read people comment and publish the one wey make sense? Because I can see here that u publish one wey e no make sense n leave the those that make sense

Am Happy for. U _#But it dosent end there pal_U should get "BORN AGAIN" if u aren't yet _#xo u cld be A beneficiary of God's promises of Enternal Life! _#Congrats !

I have neva heard, that some body was Healed in the name of Mohammed, ....Lord pls save her from these cannibals...Amen.

In all HONESTY I just want to know why 70% of the World's problems originate from Islam or Islamic related activities??!!!

No be small "nonsense" that religion is sick... What ever happened to "letting God be the judge"?

«LIB addict»

adebayo oluwatobi said...

U fool.. u naw see what it means when ur g.e.j says 10yrs or so for gays .. give dem deir liberty.. nd stop condeming oda country decision ...

My dear, help me ask o
It is ok for a christian to convert to islam, but not ok for a muslim to change his/her mind????
What evil!

adebayo oluwatobi said...

U fool.. u naw see what it means when ur g.e.j says 10yrs or so for gays .. give dem deir liberty.. nd stop condeming oda country decision ...

Word!!!

Indeed!

«LIB addict»

I don't get Islam at all! Why are they so intolerant of other religions? Muslims with their barbaric mentality.

That is why i call them the cancer of the world.

is there still freedom of choice,worship and if yes the world powers should do something to stop this mad people even if they control the oil,they need to act fast b4 they begin blames on CCN

Idaresit Idu said...

okay now it good for those stupid Pastor's daughter that deamed it right to maarry a muslim lawyer, the day she'll get back her sences and decided to come back to her faith the same thing the muslims will do to her, wicked religion.
I hope the WORLD will get up and fight for this woman.

Can any good muslim let me know if its enshrined in the quaran that whoever changes religion from Islam shall be sentenced to death by hanging or could this be part of the constitution of Sudan.

The problem with Islam today is it has not been modernized to fit the 21st century and countries like Sudan are are governed by rulings like that.
It is true that this is an islamic ruling but it is very rare in practice I have relatives who have converted and are living free. This lady's brother ratted her out to the authorities in the first place I really feel bad for her and I hope she has a plan for fleeing the country.

Now let's not pretend that there are no violent verses like this in the bible, wanna argue? Oya read

Ezekiel 9:6 "Slay utterly old and young, both maids, and little children, and women . . . "

Isaiah 13:16 "Their children also shall be dashed to pieces before their eyes; their houses shall be spoiled, and their wives ravished."

Deuteronomy 13:15 "Thou shalt surely smite the inhabitants of that city with the edge of the sword, destroying it utterly . . . "

Leviticus 20:9 "For every one that curseth his father or his mother shall be surely put to death . . . "

Exodus 32:27 ". . . Thus saith the LORD God of Israel, Put every man his sword by his side, and go in and out from gate to gate throughout the camp, and slay every man his brother, and every man his companion, and every man his neighbour."

Deut 21:10-12 "When thou goest forth to war against thine enemies, and the LORD thy God hath delivered them into thine hands, and thou hast taken them captive, And seest among the captives a beautiful woman, and hast a desire unto her, that thou wouldest have her to thy wife; Then thou shalt bring her home to thine house, and she shall shave her head, and pare her nails; "

Exodus 31:15 " . . . whosoever doeth any work in the sabbath day, he shall surely be put to death."

Deut 21:21 "And all the men of his city shall stone him with stones, that he die . . . "

Now it's not even about islam or Christianity but it's Nigerians and Africans generally. Most Africans are still barbaric or have barbaric tendencies and Nigerians are even being hypocritical about it which Is very irritating. Most of you were praising the federal govt for anti-gay laws yet you speak about human rights and freedom of faith when you are not in support of freedom of love. Most of you are talking about all human beings equality yet 99% of Nigerian men believe women belong in the kitchen and women are beneath men. Most of you men don't even want female kids.
And to this day it still disturbs me that somebody who knows how to use the internet and a mobile phone stood by and did nothing when a mob( of supposedly educated and civilized people) burned four young boys to death.
Villagers killing each other over land or cattle and South Africans killing Nigerians because we are taking their jobs.
Now South Sudan that got its independence from Sudan after suffering is now having civil wars these are people that fought together against Sudan now killing each other because of tribal differences and politics.
Let's stop deceiving ourselves abeg most of you here are barbaric too and we still have a loooooong way to go and pretense is not going to help us.

m a muslim, and in islam u dont force som1 to convert to your religion its totally unacceptable. they jst do wateva dey want nd say its Allahs will bt its not. I think its beta to stop focusing on this people cos dey r giving we muslims a bad name, all dos terrorist do not understand d Quran cos if they do dey ll not b causing pain n destruction. Please dont see islam or muslims as a brutal religion bcos of dese foolish people dat dont knw wat dey are doin

Red Neck said...

Insignificant fucktard

McBay said...

Linda and all readers, just the way we all created a world wide awareness about the missing chibok girls, let's us stand for this woman; not because she is a Christian, but because she is human and has the fundamental right to life and freedom of association .#SheMustNotDie

Any religion that forces a person to remain a follower is fake and not worth it's salt. Following any religious sect, worship or renouncing it should be at personal choice or discretion. That's freedom which God gave man at creation. If your religion is a semblance of the fore-stated, find yourself another religion where you can worship without being forced to believe in their way.

McBay said...

Linda and all readers, just the way we all created a world wide awareness about the missing chibok girls, let's us stand for this woman; not because she is a Christian, but because she is human and has the fundamental right to life and freedom of association .#SheMustNotDie

I don't think the Muslim community can any more ever claim humanity in them, sanity or compassion. it is a portray of brutality, selflessness, barbarism, backward and perversion. No wonder the are commonly considered associates of terrorism. this is terrorism. I am telling you, this battle is long overdue against inhumanity and the blood of the fallen shall seek revenge

I thought same thing they have kept quiet automatically

special 1 said...

We have comment but linda refuse to post it...bcos there is some iota of truth in my comment that can enlight u christians. Islam we always be a peaceful religion, no matter how u view it.

Islam is terrorism.jihad is mandated for every muslem,meaning killing of christians is mandated for every muslem.Boko haram commander shekau said that all that he is doing is in the koran.islamic school means school of myths or study of mystics.Every true muslem must involve in jihad either directly or indirectly meaning you can be a fighter just like shekau or you give money or any form of asistance to those that are fighting jihad.This is just what the Goc 7 battalion maiduguri did to his men that resulted in the of 20 soldiers

the is very very un islamic

there is no compulsion in Islam

I can confidently tell u all that is unislamic to take somebody life just because he or she change his religion, is a great sin but is just that a lot of people are using the religion for their wicked n evil purpose. Am a muslim n I understand what everybody feel but pls not all muslim will be this evil

All of una wey no get respect for islam dey crase. U want tell me say u no get relative wey be muslim abi. Ode gbogbo

They kill, maim and make war, yet, I have seen more Islam converts than christainity converts here in the UK...there must be something drawing people to Islam.

Please let's start preaching the gospel of Christ and His love. These abuses will make us worse than any killer out there.

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Read this some hours ago on this blog but just heard it on the news in US. What is this world turning into? Must you shed blood cos someone decided to be a Xtian. Thank God I am not a Moslem if I had been one this would have been the right time to cling to the religion that bring everlasting peace, that preaches love and forgiveness and that is Christianity.

All those boko haram sponsors are jihadist.jihad simply means to kill non muslems and those that perform the killing are called jihadist or soldiers of Allah.

ADULT JOKES said...

Haba naa! This doesn't potray a peaceful image of a religion. It's ok if people are forced to convert to yours...it's death for those of yours who renounce...am saddened by this ideology and actions. It's tearing down the world.

Shutup u pig....what re u talking abt..what do u know....islam in itself is ignorance

Wow. ..repent give your life to christ for the Kingdom of God is at hand

Just tired of these people. That's the highest level of wickedness. Don't know how their fellow muslims will defend this.

Shut up jor.ritual killings ko ...we dont wake up and kill 300 or bomb 70 people...mind u...useless religion dat kills d innocent..force people to convert to muslim..nonsense

Linda I can see you moved my comment to the back because I tried to defend islam small. Derizzz God oooo! Let me tell you something I have Christian and muslim parents and I know a lot about both religions inside and out I have lived in the extreme north south and east and both religions have their good and bad sides and the truth is human beings are bad just as we have bad muslims killing people in the name of God we also have bad Christians killing people in the name of God. Stop increasing the tension. And post my comment where I posted it.

My dear,my advice for u is,for u to kindly go back to islam.in other to safe ur lyf from ungodly death,christianity does nt need populatns but rather need dedications!u can hv ur BIBLE fully downloaded on ur phone,study it n live in accordance to God's will in NT n some part of OT n d lord will see us through...but rmber,dont be number second or fourth in a man's house if u truly want to obey GOD through JEsus christ.This is real cos i read it from Dr Zakir Neik's wall,that when one leaves islam n speaks bad of her?would be beheaded!so tell me how on earth u wil leave what u like?sis dont allow them kill u,just openly obey them,n secretly obey ur fada in heaven.shalom.

Anonymous 6:49, I can see your ignorance, illiteracy and stupidity have completely blinded your eyes. If you don't know the story of Mary and Angel Gabriel, please do the whole world a favor of shutting your smelling gutter. Thank you.

There is no justification in what you just said. Just accept the fact d religion is babaric and does not promote peace in anyway. May Almighty God help us all not to perish in ignorance Bcos the bible says "my people perish because of lack of knowledge.

Hmm... Islam! the religion of peace indeed.

Growing up, I have learnt, that "GOD (The Almighty Creator of the universe) never forces the will of man, but Satan's constant weapon against those whom he cannot otherwise convince or deceive is COMPULSION BY CRUELTY... that's been Islam's modus operandy. Let him/her who is wise, THINK, and escape from the deception called Islam.

This is not fable. It is written in their "book of law" - to renounce the faith (Islam) is to DIE!!!

Sucking u mean..

This is not ISLAM as THERE IS NO COMPULSION IN RELIGION

Monkey Face said...

Wow!
I love ur comment

She reminds me of Stephen the apostle........

Dear Heaven, pls welcome this brave citizen of yours if truly tz her time. If not set her free In Jesus name.

Jst shut up dere mumu.islam is a horrible and barbaric religion.jst look any country wit predominantly muslim population n see weda dere's peace dere.iraq,iran,syria,egypt,nigeria to mention but a few.all muslims re definitely going to hell

Pls when are they taking over? I can't wait....at least all dis political hustle go less. Islam, una too like sharing blood, d woman has seen d light,is it by force to remain in d dark?
Jennipukka

@edDREAM,me i don tire for this ur nonsense grammar oo. If you want to write impeccable English,go take your time and learn.

THE REAL APOSTATE ARE THE SUDANESE JUDGE AND THE JUDICIAL SYSTEM THAT SEEKS TO PUNISH A YOUNG WOMAN FOR FOLLOWING HER HEART. AN EVIL SYSTEM THAT CRIMINALIZES LOVE, WHO TO LOVE AND GIVES CONDITION FOR LOVE. LETS ASH-TAG THE EVIL SYSTEM TO HIGH HEAVEN UNTIL IT IS DISMANTLED AND THE SUDANESE JULIET IS FREED #FREE THE SUDANESE JULIET NOW

Ishola said...

A world of ignorance where people know nothing apart from what they hear and see without facts. Read to know more about facts before talking.
I am a Muslim and i am proud to be.
Sad to see that people are using religion as a means of justifying their stupid, inexcusable deeds. What a world we live in..
Also, people learn your religion better and stop condemning other religion when you know nothing regarding it.

God what a wicked world Muslims are so wicked people God

muslim said...

At anon 9.43am why bring hate here. You are no better than an extremist who decides to follow a fanatic leader without doing his research. I am sure you have muslim neighbours you can talk to who will tell you more about there religion. If she was solely sentence to death for converting then the judge is obviously misguided. If this was a normal court and she was sentenced to death would we blame the judge or the judge's religion.

...Osas Memory... said...

......How many more can we go?

xoxotop said...

I just wonder what goes through the minds of some moslems. This is barbaric and not fair at all. To think one can be condemned for renouncing the islamic religion and forgetting that so many christian females around the world have renounced their religion to islam because of love and other reasons.

xoxotop said...

I just wonder what goes through the minds of some moslems. This is barbaric and not fair at all. To think one can be condemned for renouncing the islamic religion and forgetting that so many christian females around the world have renounced their religion to islam because of love and other reasons.

I am sorry was hilter a muslim? Bringing it back to Nigeria. Is corruption, only practiced by people of one religion? Abeg take a back sit.

Mimi said...

Reading a lot of this comment is disheartening. I will give one comparison. Remember a couple of years ago( still happens now) the word Nigerian was almost synonymous to 419 and fraudulent arts. Does that mean all Nigerian are fraudulent? or believe committing fraud is the only way to get ahead? Some of the comments here are guilt of the same thinking. By deciding that the loudest noise is and most be the truth and the only truth. Think about it.

If u rily respect islam den u mst respect its ideologies. Dts d punishment 4 a muslim 2 Christian convert

islam does not permit killing,what boko haram are doing is against islam,it's a great sin to kill in islam and islam does not permit u to force someone into d religion,it is very bad,so pls stop saying bad about islam coz wat u all are hearing is false.Islam means peace.

Rumestikal618 said...

This is d absurdity of islam that av bin telling my muslim "brothers" yet they wont succumb.
~Rumestikal Yarns ~

Ur statement cannot justify dat u Muslims are violent

My advice for the poster don't come on lib and talk trash about blacks, this is our territory you will be finished, like you have been finished

It is most people not must people okay

What kind of religion tells you to kill people for whatever reason? It's stupidity and backwardness.they should be eradicated..that kinda religion should be eradicated, the world should stand up to them and eradicate them completely..and the so- called peaceful muslims can't stand up to these stupid acts by their fellow islam brothers, they're to scared to do anything, maybe they're scared they will be killed, by their own stupid religion...so tell me what kind of religion are you practising?, you peaceful islams you are just living in slavery anyway you look at it.. see how their women are treated..no equality with the men..tell yourselves the truth..

They are in bondage

U see ur life stupid idiot,wat has ritual killlings got to do wit hanging sumone to death all bcos she convert,I swear am tot not to talk abt other religion nd I dnt discuss religion leaders, but all I see is Islam is nt a religion of peace at all,bloody stupid religion wher dey pretend 2 be wat dey are not.Islam is d end of d world,terrorist pple nd der country. Advice denounce ur stupid islam...Linda pls post my comment... #Scampy#

arewa said...

Rather than come here to show case your ignorance, why don't y'all go and read about what Islam says on religion and compulsion. The christains on this blog are so dull! No wonder naija is stagnant and we go dey shout our leaders our leaders when the youths are shallow mtcheeeeew.

How much of this went on before the internet made it easier to report and are the people of Sudan proud of their laws? If they had a referendum would they disagree with this sentence ?? What will they tell the child when it grows up?? Will google receive requests for this news story to be removed or will this child be accessing it on his first new iphone in 12 years time and wonder about his own country's morals and about his mother ?? Will the Sudan of the future one day access this story and feel shame???

mimi, my nigerian colleague tells me that most nigerians are fraudulent!!

You and everyone like you just sharapppp! D religion of islam is perfect and is the solution for the problems we r facing today! U do not judge the truth by the actions of men but rather you judge the actions of men by the truth! Read! Learn ! Know! And mayb you will eventually comprehend or else if death overtakes you in your ignorance..then you have none but your self to blame. Yes there is d law of apostasy in islam as it is considered high treason against the state! Point to a true islamic state today and I will show u a liar..there is none! But inshaAllah soon..Allah will shine his BRIGHT light on this dark world and all you ignoramuses will eat your tongues! you call us common servants! We are Proud to be servants of Allah! As Jesus was proud to be a Slave and Messenger of Allah..and on the day of judgement, he will disown you because you didnt follow in his footsteps! You and everyother creature, mankind, jins, angels and all that exist are all Slaves of Allah whether you like it or not! Allah's curse is on the disbelievers!!

Its not a sin..and may God almighty guide you. The world now has been turned upside down and the devil is rejoicing..the night is always darkest before the dawn..All the bad news associated with Islam was prophecised by our beloved prophet, peace be upon him..but..the truth will always come forth..Islam will be victorious eventually..it is a guarantee from the Lord of the heavens and the earth..my Lord and your Lord..eventhough it is hard today there are resources available to educate urself and save yourself from the fire. You will not be questioned about the actions of boko haram or sudan or suicide bombers etc..they will face their judgment..you however will be asked about your life and what you did..if you did an atoms weight of good you will see it..and if you did an atoms weight of evil you will see it..ask God for guidance and He will surely guide you if indeed you are truthful..As the quran says..Hasten to good deeds and save yourself from a fire whose fuel is men and stones...it gives no respite and you cannot get used to it..death will approach its dwellers from all sides but they will not die..their garments and beds will be of flames..May Allah save us from Jahannam...

Islamic religion is so a cruel religion. I don't why they call it a religion of peace. The major world problem is this Islam - the religion of destruction.

Precious said...

@alloy the thing tire me oh, Islams is just one religion I don't understand, killing people any how, and na dem pray pass praying 5 times a day. Tufiakwa any of my brothers dat converts to Islam will be killed by me. Confused people.

Precious said...

For real dou, I see a sense in what you're saying. Cause I really don't understand this religion.

Here is how it all started.
95% of these Islamic countries were countries where the Gospel of Jesus thrived. They were majorly christians while some were idol worshipers. The early church Christians took the Gospel to (Asia) Turkey, Syria, Persia (Iran), Iraq, Lud (Libya), Saudi Arabia just to mention a few.
People were believing in Jesus until Mohammed showed up.

Now, here is Mohammed rising.
Mohammed was truly called by God having seen, heard and made contact with the Christians in his days. He (Mohammed) quested for knowledge of the Way (Christian Faith) and embarked on his journey to Jerusalem to know about the Way. He was at least very sincere on his quest. On his way to Jerusalem he met a man called Waraka. Waraka was a Roman Catholic dissent. Waraka, being a dissent himself and someone who didn't know the Way succeeded in washbraining Mohammed. Waraka gave him the false knowledge about God and Jesus and also gave him a Rosary which is now the type the Muslims hold during prayer. Mohammed didn't continue his journey to Jerusalem but came back home with his own ideology of God. He started propagating this religion ideology so peacefully but got no response from people then he went violent. Islam was truly a religion of peace because Mohammed came preaching his ideology with peace but violence became the major means of propagating Islam because he met firewalls from the people at the onset. Islam not matter how good or bad it was was a religion of peace but violence replaced the peace when the founder discovered his religion wasn't welcomed. How the violence in Islam has a very strong prophetic revelation dated back to Abraham's time. God didn't make Islam violent but God saw that it would be violent so He said it before hand that it would be violent and Mohammed allowed himself to be the harbinger, founder and chief crusader on the prophecy. Mohammed was a well-meaning person but he got it wrong from the start because Ashitani was looking for someone through own who he'd fulfill what God saw and said ahead of time.
He was truly called of God, set out for the right thing but got it wrong along the way. He was a fulfillment of doom and destruction.

We told a highly educated and respected Islamic cleric from the Western part of Nigeria this truth some years back. He said, taking his leave, " Where did you get these facts because that's exactly what it is. But we are in it already and we can't change".

May God bless the all Muslims that are still living.

cheta said...

you are so ignorant of what is happening,God Almighty gave us the freedom to choose,its your fundamental right to choose wheather to worship God or not,be a christian or a muslim,its not by force to be a muslim or face death,you people should revisit your quoran for ammendment

cheta said...

gbam,you are right.

Menh..........these guys are vampires. Yet ziks refuse to split Nigeria when he has d power. Say no to islam!

if i were to be a MUSLIM, with all this BOKO HARAM and terrorism SHIT, killing innocent woman just becos she got married to a CHRISTIAN , i would have long converted to been a Christian. USELESS ISLAMIC RELIGION............

This just goes to show that there are holes in the religion as it is always associated with violence. Muhammad was a man of war and killed people.He also married a 9yr old,things the Lord in his Holy behaviour would neva do or think of.Jesus went around healing th sick/blind 'stark difference'. Even the Shiite Muslims strongly believe in a messiah that is violent because he wars against Israel and obviously take Jerusalem by force.This is why 98% of Muslims are born into the religion or forced into it. The Christian girl that converted the other day belonging to the remaining 2%. Its all happening like the bible says it would happen,nothing can stop wats coming till the Lord comes back Selah!

Honestly, I am SO deeply touched by this story. It's so heart crushing to hearing what happens around the world. Sometimes, I wish I had the power to stop every evil act. It's so sad that they would want Ibrahim's child to grow up and know this story; instead of giving Ibrahim the freedom of choice. We should not feel discouraged by this event because God says: "And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul; but rather fear Him that is able to destroy both soul and body in hell." No I am not saying that we shouldn't feel sad. I am saying that we should all be like Ibrahim, and stand firm for what we believe no matter what comes our way.

God bless her, her family, and the judges. Hope I see you (Ibrahim) in heaven.

God bless America

ISLAM=SARIA. You cannot have one without the other! There is a global call in all western nations by the islamic community,wherever muslims work or live, to allow sharia to be their governing law and NOT the countries' current legislature. Muslim politicians are yelling for and are bearing much weight on their offficial protests for saria islamic law to be adopted by these countries for the muslim community who live there. A well known country which protests for the adoption of saria in western European countries is...who else...Turkey!!! One does not need to say more...

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 295 of 295   Newer› Newest»