Photos: Caleb University students riot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 May 2014

Photos: Caleb University students riot

There was serious riot at Caleb University, Imota Lagos this evening. Unconfirmed reports say the riot started when a Muslim student who was saying his prayers was disrupted by one of the porters in the male hostel ... plus other irregular enforced school rules and security misunderstandings. The students went on a rampage destroying school property. The school according to its website is a Christian University. See more photos after the cut...

207 comments:

1 – 200 of 207   Newer›   Newest»

Nawa oooo.Must religion always be involved. If you claim to be religiously inclined, why cause higgledy piggledy? PFFT.

What is a Muslim student looking for in a Christian school? Not that I support the school authority imposing their own beliefs on students, it would have made more sense if the riot dash caused my a Christian.

folorunso @folorunjay said...

Y'all will now see why Bishop Oyedepo insists on not admitting muslim students. It just can't work.

All diz stupid universities that we 've in this country,u knw that he s a muslim yet u went ahead to collect his money nw u dn't want him to pray.... rubish

Ghen ghen

if u knw u r a muslim and hold fast to ur beliefs, why enrol in a private christian university? Its absurd.. Look at the extent of damage caused.if this is someone whose prayers were interrupted then i dont knw hw someone who wasnt praying would react. Smh.. Some muslims never understand anything

Shows how many un serious student are in that school ...becos dey saw the rules before they accepted the admission why causing shit around school now!!!u all better face ur books cos graduate are looking for job not to talk of u if u get expelled from that school...accops

It would amount to suicide if i went Ansa-ur-deen University to hold a church sermon. if you register in a "Christian" school you should abide by the rules.

Just Saying

We fuckiin makin headlines....pple really nid tu knw wah we facing here.....serves dem rite.

God,wat is dis country turning into?Boko haram den student again,we need ur intervention God...

The issue of religion is so sensitive that a little misunderstanding could be blown out of proportion by violent hungry lots.For example in Kebbi where am presently serving fixing a redcross training on a Sunday morning is totally unacceptable for the Christians but officials and a whole lot more agreed for it to hold just because we are in the minority. That I think is completely disrespectful which I know the Muslims will never condone if you try coming against their jumai prayers. My take is doing what is right, when is right and where is right by showing equal respect to different religions. That's one of the so many ways Nigeria can move forward.

What is wrong in a muslim attendidng a christain school,yea the student should know what he or she is in for but that does not mean a porter should disrupt the student while praying,that was wrong

Well,, i dont tink dey r really protesting bcos of d muslim guy ish... Caleb uni s a mixed school... Dey actually protested bcos of the school rules...

Please shut up and stop yarning balls ! I am a student of the school and wat ur saying doesn't make sense

No one shld fuckin come here and sayin shiit they dnt knw abt....the reasn for the riot was nt becus f religion, so I would suggest that before anyone post shiit here they should try and find out wah realli happend.....

dis is not even d full story, dat same man also punched a student on d breast. Dis is a sch dat still admitted pple afta matriculation. Wat of a woman who is at the helm of academic affairs, and she has been pending a lot of students since last semester. There were so many reasons g d riot.

abeg who's dat one saying face your books abeg shut up jare...so they hv rules yes does dat mean they shld mistreat them cos they hv rules..abeg if u no get anything talk shut up...wat abt a CSO punching a gal cos she was sitting next to a boy...for what nw sigh they must hv been pushed to this level..so stp typing rubbish biko

Yur a 2digit IQ dumbass, yu jes go abt sayin shit yu dnt knw abt......ow do yu knw they are unserious, m sure yur nt a stdnt f caleb so that y yu sayin shiit lyk dis

Get ur facts rights and think welk before you comment
I am a student of the school.
the riot wasnt caused by any religious dispute.
It was due to the maltreatment of students on various issues.
The student affairs officer mr osunbo, the acting registrar and most of the females porters all behave like fools!
Bringing rules that dont make sense .
People like mrs alabi and miss priscillia insulting students and deir parents for no just cause
am glad the riot took place.
I believe the school authorities should ask themselves why they pushed the students to that extent.
caleb University students are very calm and gentle
The people in authority caused it

Oh pls shut ur mouth...talking abt how unserious the students are wen u don't kw exactly what happened nd if it was a puplic skul dat riot now nobody won't av any problem wit it P.S the muslim guy issues was nt d main cause

Confirm brother n tell then to stop lying.. Its not the potters but the students affair officer that assault the student

nw sum1 is making sense, sum1 here nid tu sink it down tu dr fuckin brain dah its jes wsnt d muslim guy ish.....dy shld knw wah exactly causd it b4 they come here and say shiit dy dnt knw abt.

LooooL you will see why covenant university will always rate the best..the devil that will bring this thought to your mind has not be born

now calebites are talking, evry1 reali nid tu knw the full story before writing shiit they dnt knw abt here.....the school is very much confusd and I gues they are stil tryna rediscover themselves, they dnt knw wah they wnt cuz I dnt see how a skuk cn jes wake up one mawnin nd bring up rules which does nt affect one academically, they value church more than anything and dnt try to look into the reasn y their is massive academic failure......there re lots more stupid finz they do, but cut out for long story, so I stil suggest one try nd find out wah exactly happend b4 they wrt shiit dy dnt knw bt up ere.thanks.

make una dey form voltron inside dey destroy properties cos of juvenile deliquencies.....how many of una fit stand when askari show......mmschewww

P:S uche face your studies o

Dats just wrong mehn u don't say such crap bout religion. Yes his prayers were intrupted but why still slap him plus d riot is nt only based on dat but other factors too. Get your facts right nd don't jump into conclusions.

The riot isn't because of the religious ish,it's cos of the rules that they didn't tell us about before collecting our money and after paying 505 they treat us like shit...Enough is enough abeg

I love the fact that we calabites are coming here to clear the fact that it wznt d muslim ish dah causd d riot....nd yea pple sayin shiit here nid tu get their facts right, we calebites have bin taking shiit from the authorities for a while, so its tyme we stnd up for our rights....how would ones parents pay a fucking 505 nd stil get trtd lyk shiit, its d onli way d skul would learn.

many students never think deeply before rioting. Who are they trying to fight?? People that already graduated from universities and are working? The students will be at loss eventually and they will definitely pay for damages. If they don't like the rules there's a choice of leaving.

I'm sure u r also a student of dat skool. N d same one dat hs been commenting.... Do u knw other words to use to drive home ur point other than SHIT? U r a future leader....i hope u intend to expand ur vocabulary....we cnt hv a president telling d world hw "shit" works (or dsnt work) in his country.

I love dis action abeg ... Caleb university is not a secondary school ....

yinka omo caleb said...

the way you portray ur school is the way people will put it for you, no caleb student shud vex that his or her schools name is been dragged in the mud, you urself caused it, cutting the head is not the cure for headache meaning destroying the school property isnt the ideal solution, the students have just suceeded in making caleb finer cos they are gonna pay for the damages

For so long the students of Caleb university have been enduring bull shits from admin persone like Mrs rabiu, Mr osumbi, the Kings guide security "john Emmanuel" in particular, busar department and other departments of the school, who finds pleasure in frustrating the life of the students on the campus, and in case you don't know it was the school representative of the students "student affairs officer" that assault the boys and not the potters..... So for those of you that blab rubbish I can blame you because you don't know, but now you know

Please before u start saying shit nd crap get ur facts right. Yea dey have rules nd regulations bt dere is a limit u can push someone. Wat u saying doesn't make any sense nd sorry to say Its Stupid nd your use of English is poor.

Just hearing about caleb uni for the first time.

Tell dem!! They just open their mouth nd say shii they have no idea about...

Thank God for the rain, the riot was gonna happen sooner or later. Caleb is a peaceful school, with students of different background. The school authority caused it by laying rules that can't be enforced. We all are not happy with the riot but the school won't listen to the students plea

Dat 1 is just one retard who's got no understanding bout the issue on ground. Its better to ignore such a person Abeg.

Pls my fellow libers, yes it is true that this happened but it is not the total reason for the riot in caleb. Students are protesting bcos of d rules generally. It's Christian and Muslim students against d skul authorities. Dy treat students lyk very disrespectfully and nau evn hit sum students. This z totally unacceptable 4 a skul that pays 505k as skul fees. D rules get worse daily. Everyday a new rule z brought. Students are looking over their shoulders because they are not sho wut the new rule is nd wut rule dy r breaking. Wen 400L students try to complain they will be threatened with graduating. Nd den 2 worsen it dy suspended sum boiz bcos of beards. It's funny and senseless.

Who told u that Bishop Oyadepo does not admit Muslims? For ur info Covenant University has a handful of Muslims but they abide by d skool rules that said all d students must go to church while in school. So all d Muslims there do their prayers and also attend church services.

Lol pele...

Please just shut d f up. U just shii u av no idea bout. U saying shii hw u gonna prove dat dey unserious. Cos u sound preety dumb saying such.

All diz stupid universities that we 've in this country,u knw that he s a muslim yet u went ahead to collect his money nw u dn't want him to pray.... rubish CLICK HERE FOR MORE [url=http://happynigeria.com][color=red][b]>>> READ HOT CRAZY NEWS IN NIGERIA<<<[/b][/color][/url]

Baby girl ur on point, ur making 2much sense, Nigeria is not a place 2 be, am taking first flight 2moro mrning and am out of dis country.

Ery very wrong cus if u disrespect mine amma break ur head! Once let's face d truth, that was so wrong and by d way imma christian and anti annonymous! Buhahahahahaha

3 useless annonymous! Pls fight! Am so enjoying u fools ranting.

Did u say find out? Are we linda ikeji?

3 useless annonymous! Pls fight! Am so enjoying u fools ranting.

I rili feel ur pain. That u'r calling their names out (though as an anonymous) shows how pained u r. I feel for u guys mehn

Wendy M said...

Caleb University !!!!!!!Una Rulez Small ......Try Madonna nd Caritas....den u go knw say u dey Advanced/Glorified Secondary Skul!I feel ur pain jawe.....tz well.....

Yea u are gr8, but d comment was on story bn fed, Its nt dt pple aren't tinkn well. Don't u guys have any SUG 4 a beta step to be takn? nw u will b charge 4 damages. Na wa oo

Smh 4 u iswr, be that as it may, the fact dat he is a Muslim doesn't mean dat a porter whom I guess is a christen should go n disturb his prayers na Aba if it wr d oda way round pple would say y should he disturb a christian praying. Finally, education doesn't give a rat's ass abt religion so pls dnt ask headless question on y a Muslim would b in a christian skool pls.

Anon 12.42 please write in English.
Anon 12.35 Were you not aware of the rules and regulations before you applied? Is it because this is Nigeria? Try it in another Country.

Muslim again?!

Muslim Again?!

ejoec said...

@ Folorunsho Joseph, one of my senior colleague is a strong muslim and his kids attend Covenant university. What are u talking about Oyedepo not admitting muslim students? Kindly get ur facts right.

Look at children with NO home training.....blaming something and anything for their own lack of control and discipline.

Hmm, I laugh at all of u. With all the issues going on in the country, U kids feel it's wise to riot at this time? Happy holidays. Awon rascals.

Abi. A peaceful home remains peaceful because the bastard in the family hasn't grown up.

Chai! See how our students are writing, no wonder you all have gone berserk! Bastards!

You are mad and your life is in ruins if u write like this and have the effrontery to revolt to authority. I'm sure it's all for your own good. Discipline for 4 years won't kill you, you know!

I finished from covenant & I know a lot of Muslims who attended, you just have to pray in your room on the down low.

Why segregation? If you can't study together, how are you going to work together? Or is there a seperate jobs for christians & muslims?

FOR ALL THOSE WHO WOULD LIKE TO HEAR CALEB UNIVERSITY IS A RELIGIOUS PROPAGANDA TO CONVERT MUSLIMS KNOWING THEY ARE MUSLIMS,WHEN I WAS IN THE SCHOOL I HEARD THE V.C THEN SAYING IF YOU DON'T COME TO CHURCH IT WILL SURELY AFFECT YOUR GRADES AND THEY MIGHT NOT GRADUATE YOU.I WAS SUSPENDED FOR TWO WEEKS FOR HOLDING A MEETING FOR THE MUSLIMS ENCOURAGING THEM TO PRAY IN THEIR HOSTELS...AND THEY HAVE VERY CRAZY LAWS E.G INFORM THE SCHOOL AUTHORITY 3 DAYS PRIOR BEFORE YOU CAN GO OUT OF THE SCHOOL,YOU CAN'T COOK IN THE HOSTEL YOU MUST BUY FOOD.ENOUGH IS ENOUGH

Dats one thing abt private universities.. always givin out rules like u r still in secondary skol. I hope these dem all lessons. . D best university still remains federal. .

Anywhere there is a fight, riot or terrorism look very well a muslim must be the cause of it since its in there blood. Wonder why the school admitted them in the first instance.

Exactly my brother, if you choose to go to Rome. You behave like Romans. The school specifically says it's a Christian school. D Muslim should have made his prayers in his room (privacy) to respect the sch regulation. He wasn't compelled to enroll.

Please we don't need all dis again oo bokoharam is dere and now dis devil is a liar

This is why I love CU. We don't breed touts. Haha!

SouthEastern said...

Prayer is a private and personal thing. The fellow should not use her prayers to disturb others especially at a Christian School. You dare not try this in any of the Muslim setups. All boils down to when you are in Rome do like the Romans

Please go back to primary. You are a disgrace to Caleb Uni

always get ur facts right, u always say negative things about Islam. im sure u wont post it but as long as u read ds, i really dont care

Anywayz all i av 2 say is dat caleb students did well.der is ano extent 2 which some1 can be puShed so d skool shud correct itz wayz.....2 private unis av protested,wen is madonna university goin on itz own protest kos i dont tink any private uni in nigeria faces wat we face in madonna.

If only private school students will learn the art of staging peaceful protests from federal schools.... S(-_- ) M(-_-) H( -_-) they will only be expelled.

Muslims causing wahala everywhere! Can't they go to a muslim university? Expel them all! SHM

Why you all talking without any brain, this students don't no anything when they were coming into Caleb, so all what we saying is arrant rubbish

If we shld read d report very wel,we'l discorver dat it was'nt d case of dat muslim brother dat realy caused d riot bt triggered it out.d students has been havn prob wt d school securities bfr d porter's action on dat muslim bro.nd if u cn take a look of d pix verywel,u'l see dat muslim students population cn never b much as dat in caleb university which i strongly blv dat d riot was led by the students on aluta spirit nt relegion.for dat says dat a muslim student shd'nt av attended xtin skul,go 2 ALHIKMA nd NASFAT university,u'l see d population of xtain students dere.@list dey ar more dan 40persent of d whole students.this is an academic area,relegion shd'nt b a prob on camp.

calebite!!!..I love ur post ...u guys had beta shut up and n understand d situation @ hand ..as a calebite I belive we aren't @ fault ...we r really caring ...CSO + osunbo...u Guys had beta sit up .. U beta state d rules before we enter

So a guy no fit chat with a girl again? No doubt gays go full there, boys shagging boys and girls sticking it out. I h8 wen adults are treated like kids... Well na una buyam with una money. U knew about the rules and u went right ahead and purchased d form.

Mr anyonymus wats ur own if a muslim student goes to a private university.

Wow. So guys believe that Muslims and Christians should not be admitted in the same schools. Your level of cynicism has gotten out of hand.

Dat sch nids it once in a while. Because dia own is too much. Always imposing things dat dont worth it. At least dia body will come down.

Bt why can't a Muslim student attend a christain school? This is nonsense......and pple would say boko haram everywhere when it all started frm us ..... Mtcheeeeew!

Shut d fuck up who evr has postd dis nonsense if u dnt knw something nva put ur mouth shame less idiot.

Dia head will come down. Dy shuld av broken mrs alabi,s head sef. Stupid witch.

Chioma N said...

These Caleb students on this blog are just a bunch on non entities. You r saying we shld shut up and find out the reason for the fight but you are not saying wat caused it cos d reason you are giving just shows that y'all are bored and just want to cause mayham and be in the news instead of facing your studies. Bunch of spoilt misguided idiots you all are. So does that mean when you graduate and the company you work for sets up policies you do not like then you will destroy the company's properties. SMH at these bunch of idiots. God knows that i see any cv from a graduate of caleb uni, it will instantly be thrown in the shredder. Still acting like junior sec school kids. Y'all need to GROW up and if any of you idiots try to insult me, same u say to me will go back to your parents and siblings a thousand fold. Nonsense.

It's a xtian school, Muslims there should abide by the rules. So also xtians in Muslim schools as well. Use ur head. #verysimple

People come on blogs to post shit bout what they don't knw about. It's just crazy. I'm a student too. Tell me how a student is to be suspended for not shaving or barbing his hair. Or how our hostels will be in poor conditions while they live in nice quarters and offices.
Pls don't say shit u don't knw. We are tired of the unfair treatment. We didn't pay half a million for this.
So shut ur smelling mouth.

E remain Madonna

Ivan said...

If the school is a Christan school. They should have told them before the admission process na. If it is a mixed school. Then they might be protesting against the school rules

In all of this, I can't get past the obvious fact that the students of this school (going by their comments), can't speak or write a correct sentence in English. Please, now that you are all out of school (I reckon the school authorities would suspend activities for a while) kindly join the team at Sambisa trying to #BringBackOurGirls. Nadia

If any fool shld comment rubbish here, thunder will strike the person to death i swr! Evn d fvvckn owner of ds goddamn blog shld nt post wah she dunno. Hw stupid can u b? were u in our sch wn d riot started? U wanna knw d reason y we rioted? Eetz bcz dy'v pushed us 2 d wall. D rules r fvvckn mch! Upn our sch fees, dy stl treat us lyk kids! Wtf!!! Fvvck Caleb rules!!!!!!!!!

What's a muslim doing in a christian sch?odiegwu

It is well

i use to no this same caleb univesity as one of the best private university that we hav gotten so far, well where soever the issue might be coming frm they should try and fix it befor futher damages could occur, while they also say a stich in time saves nine.

Can you all stop swearing...@ all caleb uni. students here, you kids are so rude leaders of tomorrow indeed. I believe you can have a peaceful protest without damaging properties? Don't forget that your parents are going to pay to repair them so what's the point?

Dialogue next time it's better than rioting

Caleb this caleb that. U all aint serious here, don't you knw how them so called private schools are b4 you went there? The only private school in Nigeria dope n sound you attend and feel like you are a university student and not some glorified boarding house secondary school in nigeria still remains Igbenedion university.....! Na una carry una self go dia so enjoy it n you must keep to d rules after all u saw it b4 u signed!

I tink d rules and regulations in all dis private unis are 2 much.am a member of one of d private sch.dey push student 2 do wat dey dont want 2 do.

Ya'Ll shld stop saying this b.s caleb is not a muslim school. I am a student of caleb wen I was coming into the skul. I was told I can pray just to get to the skul nd we get suspended. Fuck wateva u guys r saying. Get ur facts straight

Please I am a student of Caleb University and the riot has nothing to do with religion.

Nasoo up caleb university student, abeg see if u no knw anything abeg just shut and go and brush coz I wonder y u will jst decide to post shits. Is it until wen dey start beating us up and punching us while we chat at d corridor of d sch before u fight against it. Moreover d riot came up bcos we nid to put a stop to shits, nd also stop d fucking rules of gathered skirts where by breeze blow up our skirts while walking, expulsion jst bcos of slipper, cso punch girls, registrar insult parents, hall adims yap parents, security men beat up girls and boy over minor issues. Wat d fuck!! Caleb is a both muslims and christain uni, so d riot is nt abt religion, bt to put a stop to fucking rules.

Linda said, it is what prompted and aggravated the riot not what caused the riot... If you know more about it then tell us... So we won't misjudge

Excuse me abeg!! No muslim caused d riot, d whole unversity is involved, we re all figthing for the rights nd management should come back to their senses nd stop acting selfish, self centered, coz caleb is both a christain and muslim sch!! No religious discrimination, managements caused it!!!

It is a christain sch fine! Bt y admitting muslims wen u knw u won't let them pray!!! Y granting them admissin!!! Y would u beat up students!! Why would a cso pucng a girl with slaps alongside!! Y irregular rukes dat dey don't include on their websites and newspaper pages inother to bring to students awareness wat the consists!! Had it been those rules were included dat no muslim is allowed to pray, no straight skirt, no sandals, no lip gloss, aam very student would have either gone to another sch or still decide to b a student. Bt y d enforcement of laws after admission. Total rubbish.

Adplus said...

Are you looking for Job opportunity? Are you Hardworking, Focused and looking for what will earn you additional income? Do you reside in Lagos or Abuja? Then express your interest via www.adplus.ng/adpreneur

This is really funny, people who are sent to school to be literate are behaving like illiterate..... may God have mercy...

When a skul is termed a xtian skul, a muslim going to d skul shuld b ready to adapt wit thr laws. Thr ar hundreds of muslim universities in Nigeria, and I hav neva hrd of any1 of dem havin a church in it, or allowin xtians do tinz in d xtian way. I guess he was very much aware of d religious stand of d skul b4 goin thr. I dnt knw why dis religion of a thing is cusin so much headache in dis country

Am hoping the next thing nw is strike..??

2B189440 my pin (females only) said...

#DOROBUCCI... HAHAHAHAHAHAA

U no get brain at all. Ode.

Una dey read?! All of una wey dey abuse muslims.

meet Faith Ojo said...

Its a private sch! evry1 has a right to the way they want their org run if u cnt abide u leave! muslims with their violence, if som1 asked u not to pray to ur God do u help ur God to fight? It seems this islam god has no hand and has no power at all looking at the way it worshipers alwys help it fiight. Jesus is the way

CHAI!! Most of the people commenting here are students from the school and they can barely get their spellings right!!! CHAI! CHAI!! Which way Nigeria???

Thank u dear

Yes o please don't pass the wrong information. It was not based on religion and the rules we had in the school. It was based on the new rules and the disregard for students

A lot of people have made valid points but then again do not blame the muslims for wanting to go to school when the real problem is our Nigerian government who do nothing about our degrading state/federal/poly universities. If our government funded universities were up to standard things like this would not happen. Why would someone say why should a muslim go to a christian uni? that is a bad statement. Nigerians fly to malasia, germany russia turkey (none english speaking countries/muslim countries) for better education . Would you tell them not to go? UK USA Canada are getting to expensive and difficult to enter same goes for our own federal universities with WAEC NECO- JAMB - Post Jamb which in most cases (70% of pupils) most students have to runs it just to be able to enter school. This is getting tooooooo long.

The Royal 1..Self made Royalnaire

danbasy Effiwatt said...

Aluta just arrived in the naija private universities. This is the second after Bowen. Madonna and Covenant will be the next. This is only the beginning. Aluta continua...victoria acerta. Solidarity my comrades. We must fight for freedom of the Nigerian students.

I don't think Caleb University has done a good job of educating people. Judging from the language of some of the students' comments, it's obvious they haven't learnt much in school. The University should be shut down. You are a reflection of where you're coming from. The Federal Government needs to do something about the standard of education in Nigeria.

Dis is a useless riot, the students knew they were going to a Christian university so they should have gone prepared after all there is a Muslim university...like the saying, if u are in Rome act like a roman, it's as easy as that

I grad from dat skul,seriously caleb is shiiity,if u dnt knw anyfin bout d skul,kindly STFU, caleb even discriminates oda christian brothers,cos of dia blinded deeperlife lifestyle. The skul is a lie and scam itself

dey r following tthe foot steps of Bowen university... Great Bowenite!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lol ....my sch oo.

How come all the students that have commented so far did so in incomprehensible English? The admission standards must be really low.

Lol..u think u facing any injustice there in caleb ur joking i swear come to MADONNA university u will just die .madonna is worst than boko haram infact they are the dictators of our time.at least u can riot in caleb try it in madonna nd ur admission is gone.mtschew

I now knw that sme people just spend their whole day on this blog like fools waiting to comment on everi post made like illiterates.linda will be making more money while ul b here wasting ur life.if u dnt knw anitin a bout what is posted.SHUt tHE FUCK uP!!!!!!!

Wahala don de

pricelessprincess said...

linda how much did close up pay u to inconvenience libers like this???????
over to the riot,cant some1 wakeup in this damn country witout hearing any form of bad news
if u like no post my comment.....

Dis is little compared to Madonna University. U can't even do riot bc u don't knw who is nxt to u to vamp u after d riot. Thnk God I graduated for good there.

great calebite!!!!! ahoooo!!!! we had a peaceful protest during my time there when they were twisting the rules around but this, this is extreme guys..heard porter p ran away..she should have waited!!!but seriously y'all went too far. baba caleb is coming for you!!!

Covenant University admits Muslims okay... Be sure of what u say

please the media should get the story right the riot is not based on religion

"Won tun de o" A beg make na no extend Boko Haram wahala come our side o. i blame the school authority when they know it is mixed school while not build mosque for the Muslim instead be praying in the room and disturb fellow student. A beg make na stop this non-sense religion wahala o, we are still on chibok student you start your own again. what I just see is that this country need a total revolution, so God will deliver us from BADLUCK, we want Ijoba Alaafia ni 9ja.

I am not so surprised that this happened. Its been a long time coming. I was a student of the school for a while and the rules are so messed up. Its like u r going to church and not school. Plus some of the porters are so frustratingly annoying.
Its sad but not unexpected. These students aren't kids for Christ's sake

What do u mean that was wrong?didn't d student read about d school b4 applying 4 admission der.It is a CHRISTIAN school not a government school where you are free to practice whatever religion you feel lyk.r der no muslim universities?what wil a christian b doing in a muslim university?I 1da!

It will amount to stupidity against the spirit of fairplay attempting to adjust the goal post in the middle of the match by necessary or direct implication some bad eggs must have been scooped with the good ones and they are now producing the foul smell that is causing choas and ripples however any student that goes against the school rules must adequately and severly penalised not minding how dumb such Rules are it must be strictly observed for the students ranting on this page you are all cowards and Dumbass if you are not ready for studies you go to the street and join your likes

Lol omg well I don't blame them...private universities just come up with stupid rules making the students uncomfortable..

I hope ur rich parents have reserved d moni 2 pay 4 ur damages cos d r abt 2 get d bill.hahaha

Lecturer's daughter said...

Perhaps, they're tired of still being treated like secondary school students... DO U FEEL EMBARRASSED BUYING CONDOMS, SPANISH FLY (SEX STIMULANT), DELAY SPRAY, POSTINOR-2, ERECTION ENHANCERS (VEGA), SEX LUBRICANTS IN PUBLIC? WWW.MYSPNIGERIA.COM SELLS AND DELIVERS THEM IN A DISCREET WAY TO UR DOOR STEP FOR FREE IN LAGOS. VISIT DER SITE FOR MORE DETAILS!!!!

What do u mean that was wrong?didn't d student read about d school b4 applying 4 admission der.It is a CHRISTIAN school not a government school where you are free to practice whatever religion you feel lyk.r der no muslim universities?what wil a christian b doing in a muslim university?I 1da!

That is exactly what happens when parents think that the excesses of their children can be checked in a private school or their safety is assured or their won't be strike actions to cause delay in graduation and of course 'NO CULTISM'.. This private 'safe' universities hardly treat students rights! My cousin went to a private university and he is a (thick cultist) and I ask myself, how in the world did he enter? He visited me once and displayed an act that made people avoid me till I graduated! And even threatened me not to say a word! And when he comes home he goes to church b4 everyone. And whenever the mother says 'Thank God I sent my son to a catholic university, he graduated clean'.. So many of them jump school fence to club and do all sort of vices... Linda you need to see the condition of their hostels.. They charge so much money and give less. And to crown it all, the students end up doing worse.. Ehen Li nwa I missed u o! .. SOMY

What Anonymous2 saying, why on earth will u say what Muslim looking 4 in a christian school, that means u just part of people destroying this country, am a Muslim, I attended Babcock university, which is a christian school, a missionary school, infact 7days Adventise school, I do pray in my room as a Muslim, which the school authority did not dis allow. Pls don't say that again. Islam is a religion of peace, those pple causing harm in Nigeria are not true Muslims, they are demon, evil. We love peace in Nigeria. God bless Nigeria.

I am still waiting for the day this will happen in Covenant University

Temitope OJO said...

Parent should endeavour to properly consider the school rules in line with their religion or belief before throwing their wards into schools. And most of the issue erupting from our society most especially tertiary institutions emanate from HOME FRONT FAILURE or PARENTAL FAILURE. Revisiting the family system in various homes coupled with exemplary parental living will settle a lots in our worlds. Mother Teresa " To begin finding solutions to societal troubles, let everyone return to family and make it right " Thanks Linda

Na wa 4 Naija o. Religion intolerance even in our universities? This is disgusting. Muslim universities are not discriminating Christians in their various schools. you can ask any student from Al hikman university or crescent.

If you all know wats happening in this priv-univ's,d fucked up rules, do's & dont's,we are tired of all dis. We nid freedom.Its not a religion ish

O boy, forget that story, its like you going to King Fiasal Uni in Saudi and you start shouting hallelujah! Na trouble you dey find

Mehn... i having bin waiting for dis shii to happn... can u imagine giving security power to maltreat d student... a security tellin a student he would not graduate... fuckn tell them ..'osunbor must go, c.s.o(black fool) must go, prof owens must go. If they want more war they shld pls suspend or expel any students.... proudly calebite

What's the issue with private school students complaining about school rules and regulations,for christ sakes you agreed to all their rules when you accepted the admission.

You are very stupid for saying that are we not one nigeria if that's the case let's analyse it when you go to the market who do u prefer to buy things from let me answer muslims and I can go on and on now so many christians living and schooling in the north and who has told them to go? Fools just writing rubish

Nife said...

Nah Nah Nah, ds is not apnin.... am sure is not Mr Collins ds tym around

Why enrol in a christian schl wen u don't share their belief. And why shld the schl accept non christians wen dey knw dey wount be allowed †o practice their religion. Both parties are guilty.

I'm not in support of what the porter did but how would they know if the individual was a muslim? Is it by the look or by name? We should shun religious discrimination instead.

Let them sort themselves out chikina. Next!!!

Celebr8Naija said...

Judging from the comments I read from the students of our dear Caleb University,i hereby say they either don't know good English or they lack manners plus maybe they don't know their school!

Ezenwa via Samsung c3222

This Caleb students coming here to defend their act can not even write simple correct english. I see the sort of students that are in that school...#calebuniversitywasteofmoneyandtime#

Agbo's Blog said...

na wa ooooh

let them know... we jus gettin started

the lectr should have their student respect at least a little.

phemmy da bright lag Bar! said...

So after the riot what next? Let me guess .... The sch ll be shut down, students will go home and spend some months at home, on resumption the school passes the financial burden of destroyed items back on the students and so on. So on the long run who looses? Enjoy your pyhrric victory I dare say but frankly it aint worth it at all. Read your books, graduate n give back to your parents n society. Life isn't fair, it never has n never wil, its what you make of it!
From my nokia lumia

Opelicious Morgann said...

The rules are blown out of proportion. Lights out, dress code, no closeness to opposite sex etc such are enough to drive anyone crazy.

I am a Muslim, and I passed through Covenant University, during my stay in the School I aligned my self totally with the school rules, that is why I don't have issue with the school Authority, whoever think he/she cannot comply with the school rules should leave the school, there are many Muslim school around, it's a free world. (Ibee)

Well, since u re glad about d riots, get ready to pay charges due to damage, and some time, too, out of school.

U fools fighting urselves here "anonyfools" 4 una mind una be student! Deceive be nu onwe unu, kwuyariba nu na school premises!

Keep commenting, na u e de pain...if nt u no go de click on evry reply writing shit. Come take award! Mbara di ka gi.

U fools fighting urselves here "anonyfools" 4 una mind una be student! Deceive be nu onwe unu, kwuyariba nu na school premises!

Umm pple d whole. Incident wasnt because of any religious crisis.. the students of caleb uni have tried pleading with the school authorities to reasonable with d rules... but we are still bin treated like kids.... the student affairs officer(mr osunbor) actually slapped d student dat was praying.. that was d height of it. We couldnt take it anymore we had to revolt... and yh wen u r coming into caleb and u tell them u are a muslim they tell u church aint the problemm... fox as we student call it is on fire..lol

Esteem said...

Pls ¢αη Y̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̝̇̇̇υ̲̣̥ tell us ђã†̥ this rule and shits re S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ we ¢αη be able †☺ speck on Ɣ☺ΰя̲̣̣̥ b/half.

Madonna allows both protestants catholics and muslims alike to practice their religion

Madonna university allows both protestants catholics nd muslims alike to practice their religion

you cant try this in covenant university. before you even start nursing the idea of rioting, you will be expelled straight up. please if you are muslim and you so desire to pray and not get disturbed and you want to attend a private school kindly go to the muslim private school, no one will disturb your prayers. But when you are in a christian private university, my dear you have to play by the christian rules. you don't have a choice. so my brother if you are tired of being disturbed when you pray kindly pack your bag and relocate to where ur fellow muslims are. Thank you....#Anonymous Kay#

anonymous said...

Yea it was also peaceful in my regime. It's clearly stated Dat CU is a christian university Dat doesn't mean other religions won't be admitted, if u knew u wouldn't abide by their rules u cld av as well gone to crescent university. According to Mr. Collinz u guys shd have a dialogue wit d school authority to discuss the way forward. Violence ain't the answer

Nah wa o. Tank God 4 my sch. Alhikmah uni, d best uni. So far.

nella said...

Plus they all sound like bunch of bored spoilt kids who needed an adventure badly.

That is serious!

Jawey said...

They said its a christian school so what point does the muslim guy have for his actions?

My point exactly

I attended a private uni. I can imagine wat they are going thru. Private Universities in 9ja have stupid and unbearable laws. E remain Caritas and Madonna uni which is owned 1 man, Cuz the rules in these 2 unis r inhuman.

Why destroy something you gonna end up paying for anyway? When will we learn that violence often does not justify the end?

C. U students r too disciplined for dat

It still beats me why you so called Caleb university students can't write good English. No wonder the school rules are so strict. Not one of you has given LIB readers a clear picture of what happened instead you are all there causing and swearing like your lives depends on it. This school's license should be revoked because if the students cannot express themselves properly it is a very big issue and to think that some of you will still open that your dirty stinking mouth to abuse Patience Jonathan like you are any better. Quit complaining about the school fees, if your parents cannot afford the school go and join your mates in federal universities that are even way better than yours. Bunch of rascals mtcheeeeeeeew

anonymous
from what i see,calebites have been pushed to the wall. The case of the muslim praying was just a triggering factor.

It is a pity that you guys are saying all this. Are you really the leaders of tomorrow? if you are, then our tomorrow is finished. Discrimination is what got our nation to its current state and if it continues, it will destroy us. What is wrong with having a Muslim student attend a Christian school? You all claim you hate boko haram but what makes you different from them? They say they don't want education, you say , we can have education but as long as each religion knows its place.They fight with bombs, you fight with words. If a Pen is truly greater that a weapon then your words do even more damage than the bombs. How many of you have tried to understand the other instead of plainly criticizing them. Muslims have their faults and so do christians. Why not put aside your differences and try to work something out for the betterment of both parties. Our Education Sector is bad enough without discrimination. There are too many people desperate for an education out there for schools to admit students based on their religion instead of their potential. My secondary school was a christain school, a catholic school to boot but muslims were allowed to pray in the hostel, they were allowed to fast and even have the mandatory congregational prayers during fasting. They were not perfect, but they made an effort not to cause a problem. Why don't we want unity?

Nife said...

To dose dat ar saying rubbish about ds ish can u just shut up nd take a walk. If u dunt understand wats going on den allow d sensible ones comment...........

LMAO....that's d truth tho @Anon9:36am

If u re not sure of something don't jump into conclusion, wen we were admitted into the school they did not include those rules in the hand book, we re not babies they can't deprive us of our rights. And d riot is not religious students re fed up of being maltreated. The head of security once punched a girl on her chest for sitting next to a guy, another slapped because she did not pack her hair. This is totally unfair we re sick of being ignored. Caleb guys made me proud.

The riot was not about religion,but about the school rules and the way students are being treated. Most of the rules were not there when we applied for admission,like the pleated and flared skirt. Although i dont support the vandalism of school property because it's coming out of our parents paycheck but caleb students were pushed to the wall with the beating a girl got just because she was seen talking to a boy,not that they were intimate or anything,the students affairs officer saw the girl take a ring from the boy's finger and assumed they were making an oath,and started hitting the girl for no reason at all. There is no rule in the school that say's girls and guys should not interact,just not to be intimate. So please the riot was not about religion,muslims are allowed to practice their religion in school as long as it's in private.

It's rilli annoying wen pple talk without thinking,I'm a student of caleb nd we've had enuf.d tin is dat b4 u get admitted 2 d skul,dey wud neva tell u their rules and regulations,they allow u pay then wen u resume it's d opposite do wot they tell u,u wud see.every admin officers nd porters cum up wit rules based on their own believes,we re paying # 505,000, nd we av only 6 buildings in a university, nd d #505,000 is jst 4 skul fees alone,nt 2 talk of departmental fees e.g mass comm dept always extorting ,ony 4rm students in d name of publication,we only av 1 food canteen wit a fetish woman managing it in a Christian skul,d porters making life miserable 4 students nd disrespecting our folks who pay their salaries,.....only if u pple knw hw many times we've had meeting wit those managing d skul,telling them our plights nd pleading 4 dem 2 do sumtin bt dey neva do anytin only 2 embezzle funds,d VC once said they can neva be a SUG in caleb,bt even without SUG I'm happy that caleb student had their say.wen u push pple 2 d wall dis is exactly wot u get,d riot is long over due, shout out 2 d boys of caleb uni even wen d riot was on nd all d security ran away,they were they 2 protect their gals by watching over gals hostel nd not only dat ,they also provided dinner nd breakfast 4 dem.thank u all nd God bless nd thank u 4 tearing dat demerit form nd saving me 4rm suspension.

Muslims their own is just to riot and jihad. ahhhh abeg i don tire for them jare, after they would come out and be preaching ''Islam is a religion of peace''.the day Muslims leave Nigeria, that's the day our problems would end!if you like abuse and insult me, the curse is upon your generation.useless people

Modele : My View said...

Most of you don't know anything about the uni obviously cuz u didn't or don't attend so pls stfu nd do something meaningful with ur life

You must be an idiot for this get a life stop running that tap you call a mouth

Don't be an idiot written English is different from spoken English.

It's so obvious you don't have common sense and home training she what you are posting you better train yourself well and stop saying nonsense insulting people you don't know for fighting for their rights

I'm sure you don't even have a job and you are talking about seeing vc you better get your life right first. Idiot

Redeemer's University Students where are you oooooo #anticipating

My God, my heart trembles that some of these people that have left some comments here actually live amongst us and are still considered 'normal'

I am a Muslim but with what I have seen here, some of you Muslims and Christians here are truly Godless. I do not know why you deceive yourselves by praying. Is it the ceiling you are praying to? Some of y'all have definitely got stones for hearts from some comments I am seeing here!

Wow. Despite the Caleb students explaining this had nothing to do with religion, some of you have already turned it into a religious thing using the perfect opportunity to showcase your prejudice.

Even atheists show more compassion because truly, they have put we religious people to shame. They do not believe in God and therefore have no time to be sensitive towards anybody who has a religion. You people ought to be ashamed of yourselves!

Linda, I also blame you for this. You should be MATURE enough to get your facts straight before posting. You should understand by now that Nigerians are already sensitive to religious issues, and when you just mention 'a muslim praying' without giving proper information, you have carelessly spread hate. Do not encourage it. At this point you should not even show comments that show prejudice towards other religions. It is wrong!

Wow. Just WOW.

calebites pls stop posting stupid comments including staffs name. am also a calebite and i know that some students are only abusing this opportunity, what happend yesterday was a disaster even and i can assure u people that 400level student hat some people mentioned didn't even take part in the riot.
1). caleb staff admit students that are rusticated from other universities and because this students are already used to a kind of life style they find it difficult to adapt to school rules. pls help judge this: imagine a normal student drinking or smoking before going to church, pls people in ur right sense of judgement does that make sense? 90% of the newly admitted students of caleb uni are hooligans.
2). student will not read for exam and they expect to pass though am not support the staffs because most of the rules are not for human beings.
3)imagine a student passing through the bush to go out of school, imagine student bringing alcohol, weed, cocaine etc... to school and u expect them not to deal with them.
pls help ask calebites that when they were coming to the school did they not read the school handbook?
pls calebites and outsiders pls stop posting rubbish and just calm done at least the school has been destroyed already including system containing results and the ones at the bursary let just wait for our own faith...and this is painful because if we are not called back in two weeks it will really affect the 400level students.. this riot shouldn't have gone this far, it just because those guys were DRUNK and u think God will not punish u all because i heard those guys stopped the church service yesterday. if u are in ur right sense u will have noticed that yesterday's rain was directly and purposely poured by GOD...
CALEBITES, STAFFS AND ANONYMOUS pls be careful we still have the problem of BOKO HARAM it's not a religious crisis ooooooooo..

calebites go and rest and stop disgracing ur self's.. hooligans.

Ur papa.na tout

These Muslim folks and their wahala. They too carry this religion for head and use it to cause trouble. Expel all of them. If your prayer interrupted, start another one, abi God dom go away? By the time you people ruin the world and destroy humanity because of your religion fanaticism. Before you religion fanatics reply me, saying Christian versus Muslim shits, I am neither Christian nor Muslim. So read and shut up.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 207   Newer› Newest»