'I was a bus conductor in Ilorin' - Ex-Sports minister, Bolaji Abdullahi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 May 2014

'I was a bus conductor in Ilorin' - Ex-Sports minister, Bolaji Abdullahi

Former Sports Minister, Bolaji Abdullahi said he was once a bus conductor as he struggled to make ends meet. Alhaji Abdullahi revealed this while delivering a paper at the annual public lecture of the Association of Business and Social Science Students, University of Ilorin on May 8th.
"I was a bus conductor in Ilorin because I didn’t have money to go to school and I know what poverty means because I grew up with it. We must stop pretending about our problems,” he said.
He urged students to see themselves as economic changers and advised that they become skillfull in any craft that they desire as this would go a long way in solving the high rate of unemployment in Nigeria. "I want to call on our youths to be skilful because you are winners,” he said.

37 comments:

Na y una wan finish our moni ba?

FUNMINISTA said...

He still looks like one anyway...

Quite uplifting and inspirational.
He was one minister I admired in GEJ govt

I have a drim dat 1dai a conductor wil b our president..... Oga hw many pple ve u hlpd or hw many changes ve u brot? Rubbish pple,if u look well mayb em wan b senator

Tessy said...

Ok. Good u said d truth, plz also do something d help d skillful 1s

Tracy said...

I better start something doing,I am tired of sleeping around to make money.the funny part you can't use the money to do something reasonable.God bless you sir and linda for motivating me.I am really touched..

SEX AND INTIMACY said...

Yeah. We need young people to have a mindset shift that will make thembecome self-reliant and productive.

Yea, so true.....if u search 4 job n u dnt get any! Pls go do sum handwork or do business, everybody must not work in d office...

We don hear.

Another inspirational story... Yea... Only laziness causes poverty!!

Hmmm... surprise surprise

Talking about being elevated from grass to grace, a tale of inspiration

There is nothing wrong with that job, you were not an armed robber or a kidnapper.

Ok.... Good for you!
I hope you don't forget that.

*My R1.50c comment *

Bolaji dia is God oo

Hmm... Suru realy lere for u man

DOBY DOBY said...

Thank u sir.. wel spoken..

Dee Tee said...

Nice biography!!

Don't ever underestimate a man , no one knows tomorrow . Friends will abandon u because u don't have money , your gf will jump ship when u don't have money . The truth is every rich man faced challenges at a point in their life . Ladies stick with your man thru thick and thin so as guys , stay up with ur guys when his down because only God in his infinite wisdom knows y . Be good to people and stand by those that love you , remember that Jonathan was an ordinary lecturer 20yrs ago when abacha was in power . Don't ever judge a mans achievements till he hits 50yrs

Lady kim kim said...

A former minister didn't go to sch?dat's sumhow...locate me lord

Wish i was there,would have asked if Nigerian investors are genuinely interested in financing the many skillful youths.

Oskirin said...

true talk oga.i once sold okro,tomatoes n pepper.it's jus d naija factor.some of us wld av 2 go 2ru ds path in other 2 succeed in life.up man u..

Lovely talk i must say and i hope it changes some stupid views of we youth...

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Alright. Youths take note.. !!

Nigeria is no home for young entrepreneurs, it kills your dreams! The old men up there just smother dreams, this is no home for young men. That's why our pioneer leaders are still here, while the so called leaders of tomorrow have become errand boys!

It's a super story *in essence voice*

And so...you re even lucky to be Bus conductor.

Mcheww nonsence talk, if they are not once a conductor, they will be a shoemaker...plz must u all make the point u re once in poverty before u establish ur irritating point???

Ozed said...

You are lucky,many were labourers while in school hoping to be somebody after schooling only for them to become scavengers.So,you have no stories to tell us.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Pally, I begged that woman billionaire Fulorunsho Akalija to come and adopt you. If you know how well to pray don't waste time. Hope she replies me..!!

He did go to school

Ofcos u r a bloody liar. Tell us hw many youths u'v helped wen u hav d chance, even ur own blood brother stil works as a roadside vulcanizer of d street of ur hometown. Do u know hw many times u've been stoned by ilorin youth for not being of assistance 2 them at their point of need. And yet u r quick 2 say u were a bus conductor. U re d most selfish being we'v ever seen in dis generation. We knw things u did as a commissioner for eight years b4 u were appointed minister 4 over 2yrs..irresponsible rascal

*talk about*

He is a liar bcos dia is no such as bus conductor in ilorin

Don't be insensitive and rude because someone shares their own truth. You sound very mean in your comment. He was merely trying to be relatable as he expressed some of his own true experiences. Respect his story instead of mocking it. #justsaying #nobeef

this is a clear liar u go around ilorin in cab mostly and even if u have to take bus there's no conductor this people should be real for once

I know dat very soon it will end in praise thank u for sharing dis