Pistorius sent for psychiatric tests over claims he is 'hyper vigilant' – meaning he could escape murder charge | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 May 2014

Pistorius sent for psychiatric tests over claims he is 'hyper vigilant' – meaning he could escape murder charge

The judge at the Oscar Pistorius trial has ruled that the double-amputee will be sent for psychiatric evaluation after an expert said that he suffered from an anxiety disorder that gave him 'hyper-vigilance'.

Psychiatrist Dr Merryll Vorster, for the defence, said that Pistorius' condition is linked to his disability and meant that he was prone to fight, rather than take flight, in the presence of perceived danger.

If Pistorius' condition is found to have played a role in the fatal shooting of Reeva Steenkamp in his home on February 14, 2013, then he may escape a murder charge. Continue...

It means that the trial - already on its 32nd day - will be delayed.

Judge Thokozile Masipa said the court would hand down the details of the assessment on Tuesday, adding it would be preferable for him to undergo the evaluation as an outpatient.

The decision on Wednesday by Masipa followed a request for a psychiatric evaluation by the chief prosecutor, Gerrie Nel. 

Nel questioned why the defense decided to ask Dr Vorster to testify on behalf of the Olympic runner.

He has suggested that the trial is not going well for Pistorius and that his lawyers are floating the idea that a disorder contributed to Steenkamp's shooting and that therefore Pistorius bears less responsibility for her death.

Culled from UK Daily Mail

50 comments:

Na wa o!

YOOPS
AM FIRST
AND ITS MA BIRTHDAY

PredLY said...

Dear LIB Reader must read: Popular Nigerian Singer Calls President Jonathan ‘Animal’...Hit my Name to see

bobo wan claim madness

Photos: The End Result Of Butt Implant (MUST SEE)

Chude said...

na michael scofield?!!!....

damn! dese guy is abt to gt away with murder ooo

I was excited to marry my Fiancée until she played this joke on me.... ( MUST READ FOR EVEY GUY)

Davido wants you to see his amazing view [Photo]

haaaaaaaa. anoda story

oilandgasdissertation said...

I hope he doesn't, #Goddey

Eyah poor guy

Mental instability has gotten a lot of culpable people out of trouble!

There is nothing wrong with this pistorious of a guy.If he escapes this sentence,then every murderer should be let loose on the basis of mental illness.Every killer must be mad to take a life!

Like play like play this guy will go scott free

Enuf bribe nd under-ground work has gone on......wat a mess fr d gals family coz dey wil come back nd say he is sick inda head,na dia normal xcuse. Rubbish law

I see pistorius coming out free.
Talk about about when judgment is based on facts and not emotions.
I wish him,the very best.

I knew it

They just looking for an excuse to let him go...not fair,what the poor girl he killed...

I hope this is an tricks not to jail him

Etsako Pearl said...

Good 4 him.feeling so sowi 4 him....e no easy!

ZeeZee said...

Yup once they discover psychiatric situations he will be let off and sent to the crazy pit but you know theres non on Africa so therefore he will be sent home, all he has to do is act crazy now when being tested

Hmmmmmmmm

It goes to show that its not only in Nigeria that justice can be subverted. Pistorius murdered Reeva intentionally. Its a clear fact.

I thought this case is long dead and gone.

@Osilama24 said...

thats probably his best defence at any rate....

So, that's how this guy will escape!?

Biasedness!

WSS said...

So from the psychiatric tests carried out on him, 'He's prone to fight, rather than take flight in the face of danger'.

Now, Psychiatric evaluations are administered to Potential gun owners before the licence is issued.

Was there no psychiatric tests before issuing him a gun licence in the first place?

As he's losing the case, he tries to play the psycho game....lol.
It's game on!...

* My R1.50c comment *

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

So he has escaped murder...or so it seems? Well time will tell. Oscar really messed up.

dis oscar is a son of bitch who which if granted bail wil do claim another victim.dont u tink so linda?*am d guy next door*

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

They have got it all planned. Finally where he is back from there, the ruling will be that he has suffered from anxiety disorder and case closed. He bought one of the best lawyers for this case..

Nope Linda, he's not getting off easy. Why? 1. If he's proven to be loony, then his gun carrying license is going to be drawn into questioning. He's not supposed to have that license if he's crazy. Meaning HE LIED IN THE APPLICATION. That's additional charges to the illegal weapons charge.
2. If he's proven to be crazy, his career is going into the sewers, as he will be sent to a psych ward for a looooong time. If you have studied Oscar, he's not one who would like to be seen as a mad man.
3. If he's proven to be crazy, he's going to be seen as a danger to society and no one will want to be around that.
4. If he's proven to be well, then his defence is ruined for sure. It's not like they need any help doing that, as his initial defence was not insanity.
Either way, Oscar is toast. Nel made sure there was no escape.

What a brilliant escape... As I alwys say, d dead is d loser

One lucky dude.

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm. Pristo Pristo

This is murder we are talking about.

well, you both are whites so whatever. RIP Reeva

I knew they will come up with something, Hmmmm disorder my foot. Let God be the judge

Hmmmmm! i can imagine what the case would have been if he was a black man.

THIS OYIBO PPLE SEF. GUD FOR HIM SHAA

via official intercom

Opelicious Morgann said...

Hmmm nawa oooo. I just hope the Reeva family can get the justice they truly deserve. How can one person say they were hypervigilant....? That's bull crap.

Chidimma said...

I know they will come up with such story. Reeva is dead, am sure they will be like the living has to move on. But this is totally unfair to Reeva. She didn't deserve to die. He fired the gun 4times.

Truth doesn't remain uncovered for long,it eventually finds its way out in the open @ some point

exciting lifestyle consult blog said...

What! They shdnt try dat o! Dis guy is as guilty as hell! It jst breaks my heart dat she has to die dis way, such a beauty.

mummy 3 said...

Sum pple jst talk sha! If u know a disable person den you should know their traits, they are always hyper cos dey don't have what an able body have. To them it's always like sum1 wants to cheat dem or mess dem up always @ d edge nd don't 4get dat SA has a high rate wen it cums to crime. Rivers RIP, pistoria sorry.......

Anonymous May 14, 2014 at 12:51 PM; best comment.

It will backfire on the Defence and this will help the Prosecution.

No, right now Oscar is in the middle of Kak Street. His defence team didn't think that Nel would request the evaluation, which will obviously find him sane and they he'll get thrown in jail. Gerrie Nel has taken lots of powerful people into the slammer, he will succeed in this one too.

How will u knw it's still on wen u are in Jupiter

Hmmmmmn dey want to change the case now abi hmmmmmn dieris God o