LG introduces new mosquito-combating air conditioner in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 November 2013

LG introduces new mosquito-combating air conditioner in Nigeria

LG Electronics (LG) recently announced that its latest residential air conditioner model, the Mosquito Away, will be released in Nigeria. Specifically designed and built for the local market, the new product incorporates an impressive function that uses ultrasonic waves to combat mosquitoes. Like its predecessor, the successful Anti Mosquito, the Mosquito Away comes with all the advantages of LG’s advanced air conditioning technologies, such as powerful cooling and dependable operation in extreme temperatures. Continue...

LG’s new Mosquito Away Air Conditioner delivers true comfort to Nigerian consumers,” said Mr. Junhwa Jeong, General Manager, Air-conditioning and Energy Solutions, LG Electronics West Africa Operations. “It comes with powerful cooling and extreme durability, this product is more than a match for the country’s challenging weather conditions. Better still, it incorporates ultrasonic wave technology, which effectively repels mosquitoes. We are confident that the Mosquito Away air conditioner will meet the needs of consumers in this important African market.”

Immediately apparent from its name, the Mosquito Away is designed to aid in the fight against mosquitoes. In Peety Grady Chamber tests, the Mosquito Away proved its effectiveness by knocking down 64 percent of female Anopheles mosquitoes within 24 hours, and repelling 82 percent overall. The air conditioner emits ultrasonic waves that disrupt the mosquito’s sensory cells and cause paralysis, confusion and often death. This technology is completely harmless to humans as it has been recognized to be clean and safe. The effectiveness of LG’s product has been certificated by the University of Ibadan’s College of Medicine, and the Standards Organization of Nigeria (SON).

Also speaking in the same vein, Managing Director, Fouani Nigeria Limited, Mr. Mohammed Fouani said: “For us at LG Electronics, we are committed to making available to our customers inventive and innovative products that enable them enjoy everyday life. This, we have once more demonstrated through the launch of the LG Mosquito Away Air Conditioner.
“LG is committed to helping Africa achieve a better future. We hope to accomplish this by investing more in research and development as well as supporting initiatives that will put smiles on the faces of the African populace.”

Conveniently, the Mosquito Away function can be turned on independently of cooling; helping to prevent unnecessary energy usage. When strong cooling is needed, the Jet Cool function and the product’s large, efficient fan deliver an increased volume of airflow. Due to the unstable nature of the Nigerian power grid, LG has implemented the Low Voltage Starter (LVS). This practical feature enables the affordably priced Mosquito Away to operate continuously, even at lower voltage.

The LG Mosquito Away air conditioner is specifically built for the Africa market with
Comprehensive Auto Cleaning function which prevents bacteria and mold from forming inside the heat exchanger. This helps to create hygienic and odor-free atmosphere.   

With the introduction of this, LG Electronics has once more demonstrated that it is dedicated to churning out ground-breaking products that addresses the peculiar needs of its teeming consumers.

80 comments:

Good idea. The pblem is can an average nigerian dat is most affected afford it? The rich and poor struggle.........

Hian!..Technology. I do hope it's really affordable, coz if it's not. I'll stick to my otapiapia

Hope it works on this warri mosquitoes in my house Ooooo,

DoubleV said...

That's gud but wait a minute did we tell Korea pple that we have mosquitoes in 9ja.

Ernest. said...

Wonderful innovation! but I hope it will be affordable.?

So how much?

Good and innovative product

Hope the air conditioner will be able to kill Lagos mosquito sha btw if it work,it will really help

GREAT love said...

Great. I love LG products, please we need afordable price for it. Cheers

How did they test it. And how ill this have effect on the price? Packaging!
KT

Good and innovative product

Cool!! Sub-rural needs it, M'haze

Good innovation!!

Good innovation

I got one some weeks bak frm bodethomas surulere na. So why d advert now?

I commend LG the way the fashion their products around the Naija enviroment. If i buy this one and i no come get light nko?
Waliki

ejikebiggerdick said...

Linda what re u even feeling like? I type dis with heart full of anger, I dnt expect u to post dis as long as u'll see it....I'll soon leave ur blog for u d moment d strike is called off.
Why will u always post Rough Diamond Dunce's abusive comments while u refused to approve mine? Is dat how u do urs? Even if I use vulgarity, Rough fool uses d worst, so wats d point screening my own out..
I personally knw Rough Diamond so whatever I write abt her is d fact....u never can tell if she's my Ex....the earlier u stopped ur bias screening of comments, d better!
Rough mumu Diamond! Disgrace to womanhood!

Mosquitoes in ma house get 6packs nd muscles oh, I don't if dis so called condition can fight dem. Say yes 2 our locall made otapiapa, let's appreciate wat we hav

adorable jewel said...

Dat is great!!! Tenx LG

demoworld said...

But mosquitoes dnt fly when the AC is on.....how izit gonna kill them then????? hmmmm

But dey are already in d market 4 a while now.its just 6k diff from d price of the normal ones

I believe it's for peeps that have good gen-sets,cos most nights here PHCN are ever ready to make u sleep without light. Best deal-mosquito net wit ur rechargeable fan! Oz

David Iyke said...

Naija, good on importation of junks but can't produce anything of their own .So we are just a dumping ground and a test running site for all CHINCOS produce.GOD bless us.

This doesn't solve the problem. How about eradicating mosquitoes as has been done in some other countries?
I think I get it. Refuse to attack the root cause of a problem and instead do something else to profit from it. Generator instead of national power, importation of crude oil instead of refinery etc

Cutest Sealord said...

Can it work on those mosquitoes pulls off my duvee when i'm sleepin?

Thomas said...

Can patient with Pacemaker implant use this device .I will like to know how save the patient are

Good product, great technology and innovative idea.
LG is really doing more with technology this days, love their products.

Definitely getting this.

U r right anon 1.if d average pple can't afford it abeg make dem no bring am come 9ja bcos dem don turn 9ja to dumpin ground where dey dump wateva nonsense dey produce.now dey will say its thousands we cannot afford and d rich wey no knw say nepa dey off light and don't feel mosquito will buy it conveniently.Olohun a dajo afeyin pin eran o

Lovely. I need to get myself one asap. Life is good.

Money making thins. Good though.

Yeeeey Dancing... i Just bought One Today

In this naija where there is hardly lite, how person wan dey use am?

Obviously it must run on batteries for them to market it in Nigeria .... Or someone has run mad in LG!

I have dis in my house alrdy. Quite affordable though

DoubleV you are a complete numbskull, do we have to tell Koreans we have mosquitoes? Abi you no dey see dem? Are people not dying of malaria everyday in this country? Stop the stupidity please!

PLEASE before anyone rush ahead to buy this stuff, do a little research from credible and reliable sites and scientific journals to know if what they claim is true. hmmm.. hmm.. dats all.

Good innovation please work on Rat repeller AC too, we have lot of them and Cockroach here too, make it a complete package.

Can the common man afford it? If not, a waste of technological innovation.

Tomi said...

Good one

Dats goodooooo atlist one can run away from mosquitoes. Pls they should provide d one dt wl kill rat

So you all took time to read this long story. me i don't have that patience cos na person wey get light for house they use A/C. if you want to impress me, please design an A/C that runs on sea water.

Don Peror Francis said...

Lol, guy d ota somtin is not gud 4 ur health...almost d same effect if not greater than d mosquito effect

More chemical in our system, more cancer

ella said...

where is the electricity to use the AC na or will it kill d mosquito wen its not on? pls continue to use ur otapiapia oo

no difference when there is no light
@ midnight..and gen no dey carry AC

Kudos LG..

bravo said...

Send me 10 of those for every room in my house please! That is awesome. Naija and mosquitoes are like flies to shit and something needs to be done about it! this is great

That's nice even if it works..how long is it going to last ? Let it not just be for one month and all the mosquito we come back

how expensive is it? And hope it works cos dis lagos mosquitoes are so unpredictable

The most important question is what are the side effects on human beings?side effects on children and health generally?in this era of cancer etc we need to know that this will not also add to this sudden death syndrom that is on the increase!

Where's the electricity to power it?

We need light to enjoy it.

LG always give us the best....

LG is always affordable cos there products are far from durable.

Welcome development. Buh on a second thought, how many of those poor people who share their houses with mosquitoes can afford to buy this? ***Anyukov***

Uhmmmmmm, this pple sha inventing things that suits our country. Abeg make dem do corruption detective AC to poison and kill corrupt leaders. lol

Certified ok by Uni of Ibadan college of Medicine, is it by those old profs or d students that are not properly trained cos of strike and all. Abeg I no go use am, thank u. I'm happy with my net.

Thank u jare,who them wan deceive

Rough Diamond said...

Heaven forbid I know someone like u! I have taste n class! U can never in ur life date a girl of my standard! I jst personally hate u without knowing u or haven't seen u b4. U disgust me! If to say I know u, I for don poison u tey tey! So stop yarning Opata for here! Church rat @ejikenobrain. I spite on u bitch!

Rough Diamond said...

@ejikenobrain We no be mate o! I be ur Aunty o!

The question is....Are we going to on the AC overnight or what?

If it runs on electricity,pls go sell it in your own country first

So all d village people suffering from the effects of malaria can afford the AC and buy a gen too? Una try o

Two of una dey crazes! Two stupid big dummy and broke ass "Blogger"

Gbam, I № de form big boy,I stick tѲ my net, even my grlfriend come na inside net we go sleep do d remaining

Tourpe said...

All na packaging jere!!! my android fone dey pursue mosquitoes with just a single App!!! #Lobatan

†Ñ’ξ problem is not just killing only mosquito.... How are we sure that it won't have side effect on human health???.... Becos †Ñ’ξ normAl air conDition dey cos pneumonia so if that one when no dey kill mosquito fit cause pneumonia na be say d 1 wen dey kill mosquito go cause ****** don't have a name for it yet. A̶̲̥̅♏ still doing my research..... Smh for people that will use their own money to buy their own death.... =))•´¨)
¸.•´ ¸.â„“oâ„“ •*¨) ¸.•*¨)
=)) ¸¸.•´=D(¸.•´(¸.• =))

ejikebiggerdick said...

Rough Diamond Ashawo geh!
Because dat small boy fucks now u think u've grown?
I left u bcus of ur crude nd stupid mentality.
Dnt start already, let me not tell d world ur dirty past life.
Keep jumping from one prick to another, u'll soon find dat which u re looking for

No be when person see light person go use am? Post my comment

it is a welcome development....

Its a Welcome Development. I Appreciahis this work. LG rocks.

Iam glad his was useful Heating & cooling Toronto

This is great news for all.
Air conditioning maintenance central coast

Arnold said...

Awesome sharing.Hamilton Heating and Cooling

Arnold said...

Awesome sharing post.Hamilton Heating and Cooling

The good thing about the LG Mosquito Away Air Conditioner is that, it can work even when the cooling is off(for those bothered about the size of their generator). This means that the Ultrasonic function that repels mosquitoes can work even on the 'i pass my neighbour generator' as long as the coling function is off.

To those bothered about 'chemicals' the repelling function is powered by Ultrasonic sound. (No refill, no use of chemicals..its just sound).

This product was tested by the foremost University of Ibadan.

Thanks

Wow this is great news specially for nigerian people...is it effective?
Air Conditioner Denver