East Africa's best comedian, Basketmouth, others stun Owerri at Glo Laffta Fest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 November 2013

East Africa's best comedian, Basketmouth, others stun Owerri at Glo Laffta Fest

Owerri, Imo State capital, was last Sunday treated to a long night of fun and excitement as Globacom staged Africa’s biggest comedy show, Glo Laffta Fest, in the city.
Government officials, businessmen, civil servants, workers and students filled the Rochas Convention Centre, venue of the show to the brim to savour the amazing evening of rib-cracking jokes‎ and delightful music. The  expectations of the guests at the shows were met as the 12 comedians who were on call sent them laughing‎ heartily non-stop with hilarious jokes complemented by hit tunes from three of Nigeria’s leading musicians. Continue...

Popular comedian Basketmouth led the likes of the hilarious Okey Bakassi, Senator, Julius Agwu, the Ugandan sensational standup comedian, Salvador, Gordons, Buchi, Akpororo, Funny Bone, Emeka Smith, 2CanTalk and Osama to entertain the audience with exceptionally funny and spontaneous jokes. Mr. Incredible, MI, ended his performance with his hit track, Africa rapper Number 1, which had virtually everybody in the hall chorusing with him.
Naeto C, an indigene of Owerri was super thrilled to perform in his home town for the first time and he wowed the crowd with a brilliant performance gingered by two  female dancers. The energetic Omawumi also caame to the party, crowning her performance with her hit song, Who I go tell‎.‎
The Ugandan master of comedy, Salvador, was one of the major highlights of the evening
as the audience connected superbly with his demonstrative jokes. He got a standing ovation for his session. His Nigerian counterparts drew their jokes largely from contemporary developments in the Nigerian social scene to entertain the people.‎ Buchi recalled a lyric from a popular music where an artiste mentioned a banana line 15 times in quick succession. Everybody in the hall was astonished when he played the track and asked them to count with him.
Basketmouth who anchored the show, asked the crowd to show some love to Globacom for organising the event and the crowd responded with a deafening ovation.
By the time the curtain was drawn on the event aptly tagged Invasion LOL, the audience, among whom were Hon. Chike Orjiako, Director-General, Youth Development and Empowerment, Imo State, Mr. Alfred Ononugbo, Chief Protocol Officer, Governor's Office, Mr. Chimezie Duru, Senior Special Assistant to Governor Roachas Okorocha on ICT, Bar. Olutoye Durosimi, Assistant Commissioner of Police, Operations, Imo State Police Command, and a host of others, agreed that the show was the very first of its kind in the Heartland City of Owerri.
Specifically, Engineer John Chiemeze, who attended the event with his wife,  said, "this is the first time ever that any company or organization will bring a foreign comedian to come and perform in a show in Owerri. The most interesting thing about that Ugandan man (Salvador) was that his jokes were so homely and one will think he is a Nigerian. It was a great show, the best ever, and I had fun all through."
Meanwhile, it will be the turn of Port Harcourt to host the show this weekend. The Port Harcourt edition of Laffta Fest, according to Globacom, will be held at the beautiful Aztech Arcum Event Centre, Stadium Road area of the city at 6.00 p.m. on Sunday.

19 comments:

Make una do come my state.pls post my comment

Are u economically inclined,then why wait.Take this online bloomberg test now and stand a chance for an international employment. Hurry,limited slots available.
https://talentsearch.bloomberginstitute.com/test_sessions/available?ober_reference_id=ab0f3298a3559c45217f1bd6eb8fff3f6644c463

Yah..first to comment.I must b d first .I ve to b d first.I know I am d first cos I dnt c any oda comment before commenting.,its nt latr I wl c my comment afta oda ppl's comment.I was here first oooo.hmmmm..frm chikky

adorable jewel said...

Linda,,,dey STUN owerri??? Eiyaaaa

is it not the same joke over and over again,
lin.

zoranx said...

basketmouth you are the best please no fall our hand oooooooohhhh

we they watch ooooooh

Hmmmmm asuu ooo call of strike nau all dis groove jux d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ pass ma back. Stewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww*nothappydotcom*

That luvly state of mıne!,ı wısh ı was there dou'..am sure my O'town pıps had madt fun! Tanx 2 Glo'. #Mz_NenyeH

CAN YOU PLEASE STOP USING THE WORD 'STUN' ALL THE TIME? YOU'VE COMPLETELY ABUSED THAT WORD AND IT'S BECOMING IRRITATING. GOODNESS!

east Africa kwa...linda when dem give am dat award...anyway Goodluck to am

whitefalcon said...

This people don lambast m with so much text messages about this their Glo Laffta Fest. It's beginning to be a nuisance to me.

Admin said...

Nice one there...my man

more interesting stories

I can't wait for Ibadan turn o...

udoh emmanuela said...

Aunty linda pls we nid beta gist

Pls where is prince charming,really missed his comments here. bonario and bloglord u guys should better go look 4 him oh

ABA nko?...good roads no go allow them shaa...I understand

ojai said...

PH is tomorro!! Cant wait for it

Abeg I gats ask ...shey prize dey for first to comment ni? Cos some people wan turn am to personal matter.Na wa o.as u no come b first, u don die?

kinbs ace said...

ph city tz 9ice

Helen Evans said...

A female stripper really helps to develop the refreshment by presenting their sexiest entertainment that could bring up for something hidden exposure. So you can visit at female stripper birmingham.