Ekiti State University undergrad kills wife during brawl | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 July 2012

Ekiti State University undergrad kills wife during brawl

A 400 level student of the Department of Public Administration at the Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti, Mr. Danusa Jimoh, has allegedly killed his wife, Mopelola, during a brawl.

The couple, whose relationship is blessed with a child, were said to have got married in 2008 and they had consistently been at each other’s throat for various reasons.

Danusa was said to have engaged Mopelola, who hailed from Ipoti-Ekiti, in a fisticuff on July 3, over an argument which arose as a result of preparations toward the burial of the deceased’s parent.

The deceased, who was obviously overpowered by her husband, was said to have fallen and hit her head against a stone and became unconscious. Efforts to revive her failed and she later died at a hospital.

The Commissioner of Police in Ekiti State, Mr. Sotonye Wakama, who briefed journalists about the case, said the couple lived at 1, Idemo Street, Are-Ekiti in Irepodun/Ifelodun Local Government Area. He said, “the command has arrested Danusa Jimoh aged 34 years, a native of Okeyi, Okene, Kogi State, who allegedly murdered his wife, Mope Ojuade, on July 3, 2012.”

The commissioner said the command was awaiting the autopsy report on the deceased from the Ekiti State University Teaching Hospital, where the corpse was deposited.

Source: Punch

20 comments:

Gloria said...

Never ever act in anger. Anger is one letter short of Danger.

Ha! Ekiti men and fight

simja said...

I'm nt surprised judgin from d fact dat his an okene man. 1 place I doubt I'll eva get married from is Kogi, nt only dia indigenes bt also dose dat grew up dere tend to hav vry wicked hrts. I'm speakin frm xperience wid one of ma family frnds nd frnds dat I knw dat hail frm dere. Although iv also met few xtra-ordinary ppl dat originate frm dere. May her soul rest in peace.

not surprised said...

So very typical. 89% of domestic violence that leads to death is ONDO men. I have treated so many women that have been battered and number one is igbo dudes then men from Ondo. Sad bunch. Its in their blood

Kogi pple taaaaaaaaaah wit dia wickedness

Hmmmm..y did he have τ̲̅☺ do dat...he doesnt know that any kind of violence can lead τ̲̅☺ death..poor woman..rest in peace

Chrisilicious said...

What's dat got to do wiv the price of the bread, seriously where a man comes from doesn't determine if he's going to be a wife beater or not, stop bringing up issues that will cause an uproar

True tuk,my grand mum is from okene, dey are very milked-faced people,buh der heart is very bad

He's from Kogi...read the 5th paragraph again.
Please?
-warriboi

Mariaah said...

Please don't insult everyone from Kogi State. This man is Egbira Okene for goodness sake.. There are other tribes in Kogi state (Igala, Egbira 'Okene, Kabba' even Yoruba, Igede and Idoma). Therefore, you can not even generalise at all thanks..

But damn Igbira people blood dey hot no be small.. Lol..

Kogi ehhhhhhHhh wicked people

Ure very stupid wit dat comment

SAA said...

I am from Kogi and do not condone such an act so why must a monkey like Simja generalize the whole of Kogi people because of the fault of no more than 20 people? This kind of stereotyping is foolhardy. If a man kills in the north, they say na Hausa Muslim, if people kidnap in South East they say na Igbo, if woman like too much sex they say na Calabar, if woman too dirty they say na Yoruba. This kind of foolish categorizing of people is flawed and has no place. Even if I know many Ebira people from Okene are violent, that doesn't mean they are all violent. I object to my fellow Igala, Bassa or Okun people who see the whole of Ebira people like that.

Hey Simja, u shldnt conclude based on the few people u've met. The truth is dat no part of the country, and the world, is totally free of people like dis..... And dis doesn't mean dat there are no nice people from Kogi. Wot I can tell u about kogites is dat we are strong-willed...... But it nau depends on which direction u want to channel d strong will: to gud or bad. Pls, Simja...... Dnt judge based on few......

I guess they are from kogi abi? No diff smh..............

I hear Ebira people are very violent. I had a friend back in school who,when trouble arose,wld say "I'm an Ebira girl o,dnt try me". Well,I'm Igala but we all knw not all eggs are bad. Bad ppl are everywhere. On a lighter note, Ane Ebira!!! Only the Ebiras wld understand. *winks*

dis man. I think is bad..

Antluv said...

Its a lesson for evry one, many atime we get angry, forgetting dat we cud destroy in a minute wot wud cost us years to build..., d young man may not av preempted dis...,
so sad...

This is very bad and not mannered at all.

Kogi people are very wicked people