Blame Plateau State Government for the attacks – Fulani herdsmen | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 July 2012

Blame Plateau State Government for the attacks – Fulani herdsmen

National Protem Secretary of the Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association, Mallam Sale Bayeri, has blamed the Plateau State Government for the persistent attacks on some villages in Plateau North.

He said the inability of the state government to initiate meaningful dialogue between the warring factions had further strained the fragile relationship in the area.

Bayeri, who spoke to Punch correspondent in an interview in Jos, dissociated his association from the Fulani herdsmen  believed to be behind the spate of   killings in Jos and other parts of the state.

He however traced the  problems to the 2004,  2008 and 2010 crises in the state, when over 150 families of Fulani herdsmen were allegedly killed  and their cows and property estimated at over N3bn stolen.
He claimed that the families of these victims, who took refuge in neighbouring states of Bauchi, Benue, Nasarawa, Taraba and other northern states, had been avenging the death of their kinsmen.
He said  the state government had not risen to the reality of solving the problem as Bauchi, Taraba and Benue states did.

Bayeri  said, “You see the problem is an old one. For a very long time, dating back to living memory, no Berom person or any other tribe on the Plateau would tell you that his parents or grandparents told them that this was the day the Fulani arrived in Plateau. This is because as far as we know, animal husbandry came into existence before farming.

“The  point I am trying to make is that cattle-rearing started before farming. This part of the world has been conducive to  cattle-rearing from the beginning of time.
 “So the Fulani being migratory do not stay for one place for a very long time. So the Fulani man must have been here for a million years  but his stay and movement is still seasonal.

“The Fulaniman has never been a land agitator at all. So the nature of his job does not allow him the luxury of owning any land anywhere.  He is not like the Hausa man who came for tin mining or whatever and are trying to claim ownership of lands or agitating for political rights. 

“So now because of ethnicity and religious difference, the moment there was tension in Jos in 2001, these people forgot that the Fulani have been part and parcel of them from time immemorial and they don’t share the same sentiments as the people residing in Jos that are Muslims.”

According to him, the losses were documented and presented before all commissions of inquiry, stating with the Justice Niki Tobi judicial commission of inquiry.

Beyeri  said, “We lost over 300 people, all the women and children their names are there in the Niki Tobi report.
“Up till date, they give the impression that they have not done anything wrong to the Fulani  and that Fulani are waking up overnight and attacking them.”

But the state government through the Chief of Staff, Mr. Gyang Pwajok, and the Special Adviser Medua, Mr. Pam Ayuba, said Bayeri was only seeking relevance because he was benefitting from the crises.
Pwajok said, “Bayeri is a conflict merchant seeking relevance and knows nothing about meaningful dialogue. His views merely confirm that, if he is properly cross examined, he knows and may have organised these attacks to justify his new-found role as Adviser to the Sultan on crisis and not peace. I am not surprised that his voice is not the voice of reason but the voice of war.

Ayuba said, “Bayeri is a very poor student of history. He has failed to see the havoc his kinsmen have continued to unleash on innocent villagers; rather his insatiable thirst for crisis will never cease since he remains the greatest beneficiary of the onslaught.”

Culled from Punch

20 comments:

Let not shift the blame to the Government, we should all try to learn to live as brothers and sisters irrespective of our religion.
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

incompetent GOVERNOR EVA... THIS MAN IS JUST TOO DULL. JUST A BIG EMPTY HEAD!

wayyy back to 2004 , ur Qur'an doesnt say anytin bout forgiveness and grudges. imagin mi keeping someone in mind for just a week cos he took my cows , killin wont bring back ur dead cows now , cos its d people ur are killing dat u sell d stupid cows too . boko haram r fightin cos deir leader was killed lik deir leader didnt kill innocent people. ive neva seen such barbaric religion dat jus derive pleasure in takin lives. na dem ova holy pass yet na dem get bad mind . dey wud shoot a woman who was raped but not cut d man's prick dat raped her . alll off u Holy Ghost fire burn ur generation for takin lives dat u cant even clone talkless of create. dis matter is jus gettin worse by d sec.

I weep for my country.

Let d govt continue to blame d fulani & refuse dialogue, they will be d ones to suffer. Fulanis now hv d backing of boko haram,two lawmakers are dead,abt 100 innocent pple killed, is it not time for d govt dialogue? Or are they waiting for more mayhem?

This is not about religion.there's no chapter in the Quran that says an human being should take the life of his fellow. Let's just blame the fulanis instead of turning it into another thing. Please. What is written in the Bible is also the same with the Quran.

Dr. Pinch said...

My question is, do we make Ak 47 in this country? NO, do we produce bomb making materials in this country? NO. Where do they get their weapons from? Who buys them for them? Where are the immigration and custom service, are they all sleeping as these weapons pass through our boders?

Coming to jos crisis, we as citizens of this country should learn to love and respect each other, we should learn to forgive and forget. The government on the other hand should find out the root cause of this crisis and deal with it, again the government must not allow any criminal or criminals to go unpunished. The fulanis that did this should be arrested, tried and sentenced along side their leaders. This is a criminal act and should be treated as such.

I tire 4 dat religion sef! Can't wait 4 Christ's return

At anon 6.52 u go w8 die,cos it aint happenin(u thnk say na only u fit insult person religion) moreover dis fulanis are mostly athiest

Dr pinch am so in love with ur comment u said my mind

its really sad to know that people have justified the killings in jos because of something that happened in 2001 or 2004. what a shame. What a pity, it just goes to show what the mind of a man is made up of. The bible says not to be afraid of those who can only kill the body and not kill the soul. So theyve done their worst, then what? As for mallan Saleh Bayeri, i feel sorry for you. A big shame to you and what you stand for. Linda please post this.

Didn't u read d post at all??they said fulani herdsmen are killing d plateau indigenes to aveng d killing of 300 of their kinsmen in 2001..pls hw has this got anything to do with religion???

@Anonymous at July 10, 2012 3:55 PM- harsh words- have you ever been to Plateau??? This man is doing a fabulous job under the present circumstances but there are plenty of people who want to sabotage his governorship. The governor has done a lot of work within the grassroots but instead, too many people are focusing on the surface and ignoring his achievements. Despite the crisis, Jos is booming

@ anon 6:01pm, pls what is written in the Quran is completely different from d bible. May God forbid that.

KC1 said...

I don tire for this country, menh God come and save Nigeria. Education wahala, kidnapping plenty, bombing no 1, armed robbery no 1, everything bad na us get am. Menh i don tire.

I HOPE THIS FOOL IS IN JAIL BY NOW. ONLY IF THE RIGHT PPL WERE ALLOWED TO RULE WE WON'T HAVE IDIOTS LIKE THIS SAYING RUBBISH.

may GOD DELIEVER US IN THIS COUNTRY.BLOOD OF FELLOW HUMANBEING IS NOTHING TO SOME

may GOD have mercy.this is one of the sign of the endtime

the boko harram have claimed responsibility, in yesterdays punch...over the killings in plateau state.

u r as stupid as d governor, in which verse of the bible dat says u shuld kill n burn people house. Since 2001 d christians ar killing fulanis no 1 talk na nw wen them make a single attack every1 is talking abt his rubbish people we de block road n kill innocent souls