Omotola Wins West African Actress of the Year at Screen Nation Film and Television Award | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 October 2011

Omotola Wins West African Actress of the Year at Screen Nation Film and Television Award

The actress, who recently completed a tour of four countries on a project she is still keeping under wraps, was on Sunday announced as favorite West African actress of the year at the reputable Screen Nation Film and Television Award, which held in indigo O2 Arena in the UK. The award ceremony was hosted by Angelica Bell and Michael Underwood.

In winning this year’s award, Omotola beats other nominees such as Jackie Appiah, Mercy Johnson, Genevieve Nnaji , Ama K Abebrese and others. The award further confirms the international brand following of the actress who is also an ambassador of the United Nations and Amnesty International. Omotola, who has been adjudged as the West African actress with the highest number of following on the internet, has been doing so much on the international scene of late.

Her international expedition has taken her to countries like Liberia and Sierra Leone on charitable ventures. Her charitable ventures earned her the United Nations and Amnesty International ambassador and an honorary citizen of Liberia; she took to the runway to help draw attention to hunger in some African countries.
The Screen Nation film and TV Awards is a televised event, which takes place in October during Black History Month and combines the glamour of international movie stars alongside British talent. The awards ceremony – dubbed by the media as the ‘’Black BAFTAs’’ – brings together actors, actresses, directors and filmmakers from the UK and international film and TV industry.

55 comments:

leggy said...

how exactly did she win this award when she has barely been in any film at all this year? okay oh. seen.

LOL LOL said...

none of the ppl behind her are lookging at her LOL LOL LOL

Soronko Style (A Lifestyle and Home Decor Blog) said...

all these useless awards. every fool is creating award these days

maureen said...

total rubbish lin!!!,,OMG!! WERE IS JENNY? call it november or december its jenny all d way!.go check Mirror boy and IJE. etc..

Sum pple are trying to help her international social status since she has nt been to Oprah,CNN connector of d day or adjudged to be one of d most influential personalities in d world featuring d likes of Wole Soyinka Chinua Achebe,taken pictures with supermodels etc.Don't blame them wats good 4 d goose is equally good 4 d gander.wish her well.

@leggy, my exact thoughts... anyway sha congrats to her. up 9ja

AfricaQueen said...

Wow...thats nice! Congrats to her!
All I'm waiting for is for this "WEAVER" Comedy Sitcom I saw on http://www.yatotainment.com/product/info/213/WEAVERS.php

to come out as soon as possible!

@Cedarthe said...

@leggy, exactly!!
And um, why isn't anyone looking at her?

ok good for her. The weave is a no no.

waoooo....looking hot.loving d outfit....on point girl.....u rock.....love u omosexy....u r my best actress 4 life.

congratulation, u always d best and u will forever remain.

at leggy thatz cos she doesnt feature in all movie,she chooses decent ones,she was nominated for her play in private storm,nd we all saw d movie,we saw her actn powess.she deserves it

omotola is a very mediocre actresses..she is not comfortable saying her lines and they always come out forced and contrived...i have not seen what the hype of her is all about..she is just a case of someone manufactured by the media and the public..ppl just started rooting for her bcos she had 4 kids and was so young...please give me patienec ozokwor, genevieve, funke akindele, even Oge Okoye any day...omotola is way way way too overrated period!!!

babe said...

looking good gal...congrats

kiz said...

abegii.bad bele pple.they not lookn @ her cuz they dont know her.so?big deal?do they know genevieve??i dont even know what the fuss is about genevieve self..they are both talented in their own way.

Sorry to say,and i do not care what others have to say or write about it,on a more serious note omotola is better than Genevieve or what ever she is call,been by oprah or cnn do not say one is a good actress,i watch inside African every sat and sun with different people been interviewed so what is so special about she been on cnn,nigerians need to growup. she is just been overrated.watched omotola private storm and others of her filmes compare to Genevieve`s acting,omotola is better.genevieve should focus on her acting,or since when has taking photo with cindy,or this star person or the other is now a career,this is what school children does.

which play has your overrated-overexposed Genevieve been this year except turning to 23* years old paris hilton at 32* yrs old goin' to every pointless occassion mscheww

Omotola has done two major movies this year alone, the ghanaian movie with kimberly elise and the one in London with a UK famous actor. We know the actress and we know the party animal there's a big difference!

Nobody watched that movie she was in, anyway congrats to her. she is lookin good and in shape. people shuld stop comparing her and genny, let her do her. she has kids, she not suppose to be doin all these travel and a lot of movies.

Wow i am just trying to realise that in this life there is nothing that can please every one. Will genevieve be the one collecting all the awards in the world?? Come on lets stop trying to creat enemity between she and her

Idiots! Genevieve is hanging around red carpets instead of getting work done. In the end everyone will see through nonsense PR hype. Omotola is working

Nobody is checking for her!

Kay said...

LOL LOL, you cracked me up big time, exactly what I checked in to write. @Anon.9.05, you sound like Genevieve, and she's the only Omotola's rival I can think of now.

'private storm?'...abeg, there was nothing exceptional there considering the crop of movies that's been out since then...

leggy ppl musnt be in films every yr> Omotola has been in over 100 films and Tom Cruise hasnt been in up 50 and he has been acting for the longest time

Gbemisola said...

Oya all you haters go and hug transformer. If it was Genny all you people will be like congrats Genny, even when she does not deserve it.
Fall back haters, Omotola won this and she defo deserves the recognition. OmoT so proud of you, we the Yoruba's are even more proud u brought this home. Omo Yoruba ni mi oh....Swagger!

whiles Omotola is making movies and rubbing professional shoulders with Kimberly Elise and Academy Award winning Directors, Genny is going around with Vanessa because she think taking photos with Rosario Dawson will get her a movie role. Christian and Rosario take photos all the time, that doesn't mean you will get to act alongside Angelina Jolie. If you even meet Hollywood Producers, they will ask for your demo reel. Nne Genny, what is on your demo reel? My Idol? Bursting out? Ije? or is it Mirror Boy and Ije that have no head or tail?
go and work Genny. Go to auditions and work. you are good.

lmao haters! abeg u guys should go and siddon for gutter! yes i said it! omotola ride on oo u deserve this award and more Continue to work hard!kisses u r nollywood's best :) so y'all think she has to be a party animal first to be considered a good actress? biko u guys should stop the hate already!

omotola deserves it ooo to me she is a better actress than genevive! and why they are not looking @ her is prolly cos they don't know her im sure if twas genevive it would be the same thing :P nawa for badbelle peeps oo! kia

grace said...

lol linda its like ur blog is badbelle headquarters oo! Abeg omotola if they don't appreciate you i do and you are the best, never liked genevive anyways no matter how hard i tried to prolly its cos her fans irritate me with the way they idolize and worship her!

Victor Adeyemi said...

keep do good job going..Omotola

Chidiebere said...

I am just soooo proud of this woman. I feel like I personally know her. It is really good some of our naija actors and actresess have started crossing over a bit. I wish them the best ever! Go Omotola... Genevieve and co I beg change direction of what you consider important...Even mgbeke Funke Jenifa is looking waaayy ahead of naija movie industry only.... we expect the same from them Genevieve, Monalisa, Rita dominic, Steph Okereke, Bimbo Akintola and co, not just to take pictures and be at every party there is...Good luck to all...

Omo toh sexy. Nigeria beyonce! Confirm!!!

why can't Omotola win an award without Genevieve popping up? Am I missing something? There are other actresses in Nollywood, so why do we have to beat Genevieve each time Omotola comes up or vice versa? Genevieve is having the time of her life and enjoying it; haters like it or lump it she is good at what she does and will always be. If it is so easy to be where she is then all of us would and what makes you think that Omotola and the other actresses would not want to be seen at such high profile events like the Raisa Gorbachev ball in London? Don't tell me they get invited and turn it down? Gee will act when she wants but the girl is sure going places. This Omotola hype about 4 children and early marriage is past its sell-by date. Find something else!!!!!! And for haters, don't hate and if you do go jump into potopoto. Omo, congrats sha, you try but you are not the best (for me at least!).
Eh, and rubbing shoulders with Kimberly Elise and academy award directors . . . ha ha!

even as genny went to cnn,did they put her name as accent representative in nigeria pls,they knw omotola besides it was with the help of gennys PR she went to cnn

we all knw wat all the other actresses are doin now omotola done did it,she is married nd doesnt have to accept evry role all in the name of fame nd money,she is a classy actress,check out her challengn films,go check out ije,see actn,luk atthe tears she is a bad actress,even as genny goes to london,she hasnt acted there,omotola finished a work woth a uk director

methinks said...

anon 12:30am, God bless you!!! you couldn't have put it better; you simply spoke my mind or at least what i have been talking about for years minus the Oge Okoye mention though. once again, God bless you.

why iz zhe tryin har' to tuck in her tommy in the firzt picture..the poze iz zomehow funny .

Afam said...

Tribalism at the highest level.

Pls let's also support Omo T. She may not be as famous as Genevieve but she's equally good.

Thinkingoutloud said...

Wow! very impressive...u crawl before you walk...next she will be at the Sundance festival and then the golden globes or oscars...sooo sooo proud of you omosexy...keep aiming for what you believe in. You are definitely a STANDARD setter for the rest of the underachievers in REAL ACTING...I mention no names!

Well congrats to her...But i have a problem with this picture....One the people are not looking at her; 2) then that is Photoshop to the highest level...that's not her body...

Look at the first picture from her arms and then her hands....it looks like the color was changed to suit her skin tone. from neck down it's someone else's body...

another award show

Kryssol said...

Most of you Nigerians are very myopic and sentimental.
Learn to hide your feelings and comments, especially in a case of the peculiarity of Nigeria.
These girls are good in their own classes.
Remember, everyone has an accent, including you; just that because you don't hear yourself, you think you sound better. Have heard a Welsh, Scot or Northern Irish speak? If you hear them speak, you will say the Hausa's accent are the best.
ONE NIGERIA!

Stop being the ring player of hater!.
It doesn't help,how could you think it might help you?she is already a success,what's you problem with that?you don't like her,then like her be!
After all,remember that if you hate success,you might never get a tip of it in your whole life time.go on to more success OmoSEXY.SHE'S A QUEEN,admit it,because one day,i'll be more popular than her and i should appreciate her first!
Nigeria open university news @
http://nigeriaopenuniversity.blogspot.com.
Get your latest school news there!love and ki$$.

the crowd dont seem too notice there is anybody on the red carpet.buh all d same congrats to her

the crowd dont seem to notice there is anybody on the red carpet.buh all d same congrats to her

I have never been an Omotola fan but if she wins an award make she enjoy am by herself wetin concern Genevieve inside. I dont know why going abroad to snap picture with oyibo still they shack these our so called stars. Funny enough nobody was looking at her. Besides, all these people that turn everything here into yoruba is this, Igbo is that na wa for una sef.

omotola was not at the event,she was in ghana,so i dunno whr this picture is frm

ChiChiLuv said...

People should leave this woman to enjoy her own successes even if they are smaller than Genevieve or bigger or whatever! She has worked hard for her little area under the spot light, na wetin? Na only Genevieve go represent Nigeria? What is with all this fabricated, unnecessary rivalry? If the sky is big enough for all the birds to fly without fighting over air space or bumping into each other in mid air, I am sure Nollywood is big enough for these two beautiful, talented women to share and represent the diverse nation that is Nigeria!

@ Anonymous October 22, 2011 10:24 AM - Did I read you well? So because Omotola has four children, she shouldn't travel or do movies anymore? Na wa for that statement o so because a woman is a mother, she should just pack up her life and passion. I guess it might not have occurred to you that her children are at boarding school which frees her to be able to travel for work? Or that she has live in help that ensure that everything is running...does Angelina Jolie not have 6 children? What about the actress Mia Farrow who had 8 children? If many other woman in non-acting industries can run their households in addition to being a doctor, lawyer, journalist etc, so can Omotola.

chinwe said...

Pls u pple shd stop all these ur comparisons btw Omo T and Genny,they both have their ddifferrent traits and the way they want to live their lives,OmoT,congrats girl,keep doing ur thing,as for those talking abt tribalism,u pple shd just stop that rubbish,proudly Igbo,but Omo T and Stella are my best and favourite,love them to bits,and those telling others to hug transfomer or fall into potopoto,soooo outdated abeg just say ur mind and move,una no dey fight wit anyone,some pple na wa 4 them,they muslt insult others to say their own mind.SMH.

This lady is going places, she is really representing us well. Love her total package in this pic.
ME

Aw c'mon omotola....she's not being photographed and nobody is looking her way.
How can you be appreciated in a clime where you are not known?
Get it, you can't feature in any serious movie over there as your face will not sell except you fund the production.
Come back home and achieve then the photoshoots will come.
A classic case of inferiority complex

She's a super actress here in Nigeria......please focus and make a name here and the rewards will come instead of fakery.
waka pass in the us will not sell u my dear.

sleekreek said...

@Annon Oct 22 12:30am........am so surprised with ur comment....how do u mean Omotola dont say her lines well and they come out forced???she interprets her roles well and she can act any role conveniently.....u should be a sick head for trying to compare Omotola with Funke Akindele,Oge Okoye and even Genny.........Omotola is unique in her own way so also others.....if u feel bad about her,,go chew gravel abeg!!