LASU Students Prepare For Show Down Over Hike In School Fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 October 2011

LASU Students Prepare For Show Down Over Hike In School Fees

Students of Lagos State University are preparing a show down with their school authority over the recent increase in school fees.

The students were paying between N25, 000 to N35, 000 before now but the fees has been increased by over 500%.
Medical students now pay N348, 750
Arts and Education N193, 750
Social Sciences N223, 750
Law Faculty N258, 750
Engineering Faculty N258, 750

The students are angry and have said they will resist the hike with every means necessary.

16 comments:

ONYEDIKING said...

Na wah for this country รถ

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

the price rise is for the new intakes not for existing students.

Sam Meera said...

A 500% increase in the fees is a really cruel thing for the LASU authorities to do. How do they expect those who were already struggling to pay the original fees to pay this new one.
What are their reasons for this price hike?
What do they plan to do with the extra cash?
Do they have plans for students who have started reading courses and are in the middle of their study but may not be able to afford the new fees?
These are questions that should be answered by the school officials.
Well hopefully this increase in fees will also come with an overall increase in the quality of education that would be provided.
But knowing Naija, it wont happen.

na wa o,how much will private universities now pay,afta paying such huge amounts,jobs are not even guaranteed.crap

*ajalahtravel* said...

Hundreds of thousands of naira for poor education? Badluck dey train armed robbers wey go rob and im klepto buddies after they are through with stealing from naija

*ajalahtravel*

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i hope this is some kinda joke.. Nigerian govt are implenting new ways to steal in broad daylight from its people..
1st Fuel subsidy thing now this??

Plz we shouldnt let this happen. Nigeria is diminishing every bloody day.. How do they expect people to pay for this?

crime/robbery/prostitution will be @ an all time high.
F***ing thieves.

is so that when they declare the actual figure they want you to pay, which is lower, you wont argue.

25000 to 35000 ke? dat was a long time ago ooo..misinfo*

Dang! i graduated from that school 6 years ago and i don't think i ever paid more than N500.00!

This is really crazy. What happened to the state allocation for LASU by Lagos State govt? What about the yearly ETF allocation by federal govt? The school used be prospective students last hope but now it's "all hope dashed"

All i feel is pain for common people cos even when the school was dirt cheap i know a lot of people who still struggle financially to meet up with textbooks, field trips, accommodation,etc

chibaby said...

i tot d govt is trying to transform nigeria and alleviate poverty. Is ds d way is being done, to impoverish d poeple d more. Its nt dat they evn teach well, d standard of education is so poor especially for the so called science students who do not even practice anything.Even we graduates needs to be trained b4 we can b offered jobs. Nawa oh! is this hw 2alleviate porverty? Where r we heading to. Y can't God come and burn all these so called leaders with fire beginning from jonathan?

How comes education cost so much everywhere? We got the same problem in the UK too, plus unemployment is real high! Not be pessimistic, I only think things will get worse. TBH people who do not even go to uni, make it bigger than those who do, sometimes you just think 'what is the point?'

princess said...

500% increase is not reasonable at all. even if dey were paying #1.00 d increase is suposed 2 cum gradually not shoot up dat fast like a rocket from #1.00 to #500.00
dis is wierd, cruel n mere wikednes.

Tycoon! said...

ki lo de ke, when it is not a private institution? Owo yen ti poju now, 500percent?

SOLA said...

say whattttttttt???!
Is it now a private uni or kini?
Lailai, we shant gree mehnnn...

chibyke said...

I urge the students and Nigerians at large to resist this senseless increament by any means possible, I wonder why the masses allow all these stupid politicians to enjoy their stolen wealth, we need to attack them in public, at their homes, they don't give a shit about us.
if 80% population of each state in Nigerian can shut down their states for one month, things will start happening.