Nigerians act like saints in the eyes of those who still pretend to be saints - I Go Dye defends AY over BBNaija rape joke | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 20 April 2017

Nigerians act like saints in the eyes of those who still pretend to be saints - I Go Dye defends AY over BBNaija rape joke

Comedian, I Go Dye has defended his colleague AY over his delivery of BBNaija rape joke which caused a controversy on social media, where many Nigerians came out to blast him for joking about a sensitive issue.
During his AY Live show last Sunday, AY created a banter about the sexual assault controversy between ex- big brother housemates, Kemen and TBoss.

The comedian has since tendered an apology where he also explained the message he was sending out through the joke.

Coming to his defense, I Go Die took to his IG page defend him saying, the effect of any joke is to evoke laughter which is a practice embraced worldwide. 

According to him, our problem in this country is that we act like saints in the eyes of those who still pretend to be saints.

Read his full below..

The effect of any joke is to evoke laughter which is a practice embraced worldwide. The idea of comedy is to create humour out of tragedy. Our problem in this country is that we act like saints in the eyes of those who still pretend to be saints, I am not saints and not trying to be, the truth is that the only Saints I know is St. Moritz which you can still get the fake.

The jokes on BBNaija Housemates by @aycomedian was just to entertain without any form of malice. So I wonder why we go out to make issues out of none issues when we are bedeviled with various challenges that need attention.

44 comments:

Well, coming from an illiterate like I go dye, I understand.

Long live LIB

THIS ONE DEY TALK RUBBISH...
SOMEONE WILL RAPE YOUR DAUGHTER ONE DAY LIKE KEMEN DID

@You go dye.where is your brain? You are part of the problems that we have in this country. How dare you think it is Okay to bring out humour out of someone's Shame and pain. There is always a boundary to everything some naive pure souls could have watched the show and feel it is okay to be touched by a man when you are asleep. If I use the word assault some Ofus would say but he no rape her. Touching a woman without consent is sexual assault period! And why that is romanced in anyway by nigerians is beyond me.

And justifying sexual assault because of "konji" is not an issue?

Thank you!!! I also like what Carole Danjuma wrote and I hope Tboss sees it.

I go die even get sense pass all these fake People, that came to make issues were there is nor, all to aid the fake tboss family that has a son that hits woman, which is worst woman beater, or two adult Who neck each other and one later claim, assault , what moral ground dose tboss have to make that claim, i guess its only that She is a woman. What an insult to the actual victims of rape and sexual assult.

They should kill the matter already

Can someone tell him to stay a quiet . Smh.

You r a stupid man, may it happen 2 ur mother ur sisters n ur children u fool see monkey dey talk

EXACTLY MY POINT .... TANK U I GO DYE.............

Somebody should help me please I need help of 18,500naira to complete my rent. My salary has not be paid for 3months and my landlord has given me 2weeks to pay or pack out I've been owing for over 5months. Please I need help. Nnenne.nnenne@yahoo.com

I get your point though, however, sometimes you have to know when to draw the line. If you joke about sexual harassment like it's okay, I guarantee you that some sickos will be enabled, and would use it as excuse to justify their actions. As a man, I am more worried if I had a daughter in tboss' situation, how will I feel? As for kemen, I think he apologized and he should be given a chance to redeem himself.

Who is i go dye?

True talk bros cus i wonder y nigerian will make smtin out of notin i was der live wen ay called out kemen and i still repeat myslf if any bdy is to get angry dat persn need to be kemen cus tboss alrdy said she was on her period wen kemen touched her so hw cm kemen fingered her wen der was no blood stain on d bed to show as an evidence and tboss knew all along wat she was doin cus she only drank a cocktail drink mixed wit faroze on dat day so i wonder whr d drunk came from cus i didnt see tboss getting drunk 2 parties bfor d eviction day cus she drank alot of snapp or wat is d drink called kemen has d right to sue tboss cus she alrdy contradited herslf in d huz and if we r busy making tboss popular wat abt debie rise dat kissed bassy wen he was fast asleep is dat nt out of consent too, abeg lets leave ay or is ay d girl dat put rings on her nipple to make it stand all d time yet she cant sing d anthem abeg u guys shud free tboss so she can look for whr n how to pay her debt

This is true talk we Nigerias are always taking things serious while we have serious problems around us

I don't blame I go dye,I blame the ekpa that helped him compose this trash. Not until his sister,daughter or wife get molested and he cracks joke with it,then I might get the point he's trying to make,but for now all this is balderdash!

*Hence we are bedeviled with lots of challenges that need attention either comically or with prayers, why picking sensitive matters like sexual assault out of many to make jokes on, mostly in the presence of the victim? U’RE TRULY A BONAFIDE MEMBER OF ILLITERATE BILLIONAIRES’ ASSOCIATION!!!

Have u ever heard Eddie Murphy, Chris Rock, Kelvin Hart, Conan O’brien, Steve Harvey or Jim Carrey joke about sexual assault,let-alone saying “Support the culprit’s career hence he or she didn’t kill someone”. I didn’t say he shouldn’t plead for a support in Kemen’s career, but why must he talk/joke about KONJI in a matter of sexual assault? Please when you & ur colleagues copy from the oyinbos as always, emulate the good (don’t promote sexual harassment) and not the bad (Marijuana & Weed smoking).

You dey craze, idiot

Wow the name TBoss, is a gold mine, just call the name and your dead career begins to resurrect, people begin to remember you wow!

I go die must have taken a bigger weed cos his going gaga with this trash he posted

Everyone is running their mouths as if they havent done anything bad in their lives, crying more than the bereaved. The way you lot are judging this guy God will judge you all for every wrong things you have all done hidden and unhidden, from the day you were born till this point. The guy has apologised, was disqualified for fucks sake, until he commits sucide, bunches of hypocrites. How many of your generations have you murdered via masturbation, how many people's spirit have you destroyed with your vile words, how many things have you taken that is not yours, if God should reveal to the world what you do in secret, would you still stand upright? You think because there are no cameras, no one sees??what is wrong with you lots? The lady is not underaged for fucks sake, if she is vexed by it then she can go to court or meet him one on one to talk things out like adult. She is not even all that vexed by it matter of fact shes embarrased by it making headlines and every tom dick and harry now has an opinion aboit what compounds to assualt and is not. Fuck you all.

Ina said...

Linda or who ever put up this post SHUT THE HELL UP and stop taking sides... why the word rape? She wasn't raped. Gosh! Just blog without taking sides. A good blogger is always neutral, you are not supposed to influence the thoughts or opinion of your readers.

The Sickly stupid I Go Die..
When They molest ur Daughters and sister U can mk Jokes abt that or if AY should mk Jokes abt It ..How will U Feel.?
Idiota
Sabinus with his Bottle Neck..
Ay is not a Comedian cause his Jokes are very dry..
Some1 that called Toke Bleached and ur Wife they patronize PELA & Bobrisky..
Una dey craze sef

Literate Cheryl

Bloody hypocrites everywhere, most of have done numerous abortions, sleep with ur friends husbands, sleep with pastors, many slept their way thru university nt to mention the ones that steal money in their offices or rob d widows and orphans.
Suddenly, we all want to talk...by the way was dat nt part of the show they all signed up to? U want to crucify Kemen bt commend TTT n Bisola for having sexual affair...which is worse?
What if she had won d chicken change am sure d story would be different...

I De die or whatever your name is, it appears You've not been in the news for sometime and now wish to. Thanks for coming.Be more creative brov..

Rubbish...

Rubbish...

E don do, this issue had been overfloged. Move on.

Thank you o, the matter don tire person.e don do,enuf is enuf.

olorogun of the whole world said...

na so them take dey rape for una village? Tboss no even dey sleep sef, n just normal babe formin nt knowing until d guy go plug . Una know as e dey b na.....stop stop stop, oooo, dont stop

Bomb dey ur head..stop that tin u are taken. U are going astray

And you are d idiot not saying rubbish. Did kemen raped Tboss? Goat.

I go dye is an illiterate but he's making money,u dat went to school Wat have you achieved in ur entire life? He said the truth n nothing but the truth.

God bless u...linda has always been like that, no be now.wen u tell her she will swallow the comment like Fufu.

Aliona, ask Google

2 adult sleep 2geda, dem no be close relation, wetin u expect go happen on top bed? Tbored wia semen touch no bin even shout sef and una dey hear d tok say dem rape am. Abegi make I hear word

Who did kemen rape?

God bless you o!

Lol. Ó literate gaaan ni.

Did Kemen rape T boss?

Some of these comedians are beginning to take themselves too seriously. Maybe because we laugh at their humorless jokes, they are believe they can also shape opinions. No wonder they are so below average.

azn