Russia bans Jehovah's Witnesses, calls it an 'Extremist Group' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 21 April 2017

Russia bans Jehovah's Witnesses, calls it an 'Extremist Group'

Russia's Supreme Court on Thursday declared Jehovah's Witness as an extremist organization and ordered the state to seize its property in Russia. The court, after six days of hearings, ordered the closing of the group’s Russia headquarters and its 395 local chapters.

The Interfax news agency quoted Justice Ministry attorney Svetlana Borisova in court as saying the Jehovah’s Witnesses pose a threat to Russians.

'They pose a threat to the rights of the citizens, public order and public security,' she told the court.
Confirming the ruling, the religious group said:
'We are greatly disappointed by this development and deeply concerned about how this will affect our religious activity,”
Yaroslav Sivulskiy, a spokesman for Jehovah's Witnesses in Russia, said in emailed comments.
'We will appeal this decision, and we hope that our legal rights and protections as a peaceful religious group will be fully restored as soon as possible, the statement added. Interfax news agency quoted Sergei Cherepanov, a Jehovah's Witnesses representative, as saying that the group will appeal to the European Court of Human Rights. 'We will do everything possible,' he said.
The ban would directly affect around 175,000 Jehovah’s Witnesses followers, a group which was legally registered as a religious group in Russia in 1991 and re-registered in 1999.

Source: Reuters

19 comments:

Hmm.
Bt Putin, why na?

Queen Esther said...

mmmm...The end has truly come

Y nau? Persecution Don dey start o.... Jehovah's witnesses are gentle people except if they say for reasons of not saying National anthem and all but that's insignificant since they've been recognised in the country since the 90's. Heck what do I know, I'm neither a Jehovah's witness nor a Russian

Uju . O said...

The Putin led government in Russia should avoid starting a fight they will never win both here and beyond. The Jehovah's Christian Witness Organisation is the most peaceful religious organisation on earth, they preach and abhor violence, their members don't join armed forces because they believe in absolute peace. They don't seek political office but are in total obedience to constituted authority except when it clashes with the laws of Jehovah God. This is satanic judgment and as usual the mighty authority of the true God will prevail against this persecution of Jehovah's Witnesses.

Princess Avie - Onyema said...

Russia's should note that no one can stop the spreading of the Goodnews and of God Kingdom which Jehovah through Jesus Christ Order his Disciple(s) to do here on earth till the conclusion of this system of things. this is not just the JW work but rather the work the JW do is directed by Jehovah God who create both the Russia's and He will take action on his own time.......... Proudly JW

Russia is doomed!!!!!

proudly jw,at the right Jehovah God will fight fir his people.

Jehovah will set matters right in his due time

hmm

Jehovah stopped the Russian court from interfering with the commemoration of Jesus' death and the Special Talk. He will act on His people's behalf again.He is allowing this injustice for a reason. Just wait on Jehovah...We know the final outcome of this whole scenario. Keep praying for our Brothers in Russia friends. Those enemies of Jehovah are rejoicing over their "small" victory today; but, they don't know Jehovah. He is putting the "hook" in their noses and when he starts pulling....Jehovah will make his name known !!! All you need to know about the Witnesses is openly exposed here: jw.org

Putin himself extremist.
Who are they going to ban next. Lol
Trump's father in Crime.

In a nation of violent, war mongerers, the peaceful are enemies of their agenda.

You want to militarise your nation and prepare for war, and people are preaching peace. Lol.

Meantime, he hasn't banned Islam. Yet not a single jehovah witness has committed a terrorist attack.

Gullible Nigerians supporting Putin, and his war against common sense, hope you all now see the devil you supported.

bukola said...

To Jehovah belongs the battle, he is a Manly person of war, he will rise up for his people.

AJIKE UCHENNA said...

Clear sign of the tail end of the last days,HMMM the end is very near,for Politics to intefer in religion? hehehhehe hmm and ds good news of God s kingdom has been preached in all the earth oo chai hahahha i laugh the world, mathew 224:1 to 14, eyaa i laugh the world,i really do

AJIKE UCHENNA said...

mathew 24:1 to 14

Emeka said...

All over the world 🌍 Jehovahs witnesses have been known for their conduct. And since they follow strictly high moral standards set out in the Bible. They are most peaceful people they are law abiding and they are good citizens. Today they have been banned in Russia. Now a battle line has been drawn in Russia they are fighting the one who allow them to be there we know who will win......... JEHOVAH
This is my first time ⌚ of commenting on LiB
I am a silent LIBER

Ponmen said...

The first time people are oppressed without a justifiable reason. They will finally attract define retribution to that country. Witness among the most peace loving people on earth.

Emeka said...

All over the world 🌍 Jehovahs witnesses have been known for their conduct. And since they follow strictly high moral standards set out in the Bible. They are most peaceful people they are law abiding and they are good citizens. Today they have been banned in Russia. Now a battle line has been drawn in Russia they are fighting the one who allow them to be there we know who will win......... JEHOVAH
This is my first time ⌚ of commenting on LiB
I am a silent LIBER