Homeless man's life transformed by a good samaritan in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 10 February 2017

Homeless man's life transformed by a good samaritan in Lagos

This is a story shared by a Facebook user, Ifeanyi Odiaka who completely transformed a homeless man's life in Lagos. Below is Ifeanyi's post on his facebook.
"Guys, meet my new friend, Ola. I saw him sleeping on a bridge earlier this week on my way to work. The next day,  as I drove past, I stopped and parked beside him to have an interaction with him. He told me his name and said he has been living that way for quite some time as things have been hard. I told him I would be in touch and hurried for work. The following day, I stopped by again to have a chat and also gave him something for lunch.
This morning, I woke up very tired due to a very stressful week. But one thing remained on my mind.... Ola!. And so, I got dressed and dashed out to see him again. This time around, I knew it was not just going to be about giving money for lunch. I was determined to allow God use me to turn his life around and place him on a path to a destiny designed by God.
I got to where he was, and with a smile he greeted me. I told him, "Ola, come into my car let me go clean you up". With a mixture of fear and excitement, he hopped in.
And so the journey to Ola's destiny began. He had a good bath, got him new clothes, he ate and took him to the hospital for a complete and comprehensive  medical checkup. One of the most moving moment was after he had his bath and looked all fresh and clean like wizkid 😊,  I asked him what he was going to do with his old and dirty clothes, he responded "ha!, I will throw them away sir". Jesus, I almost wept.
I am sharing this story not to get facebook likes or brag, but to as I have always done in the past, inspire someone and challenge us.... To challenge the Christians and non-Christians....to challenge the young and the old, to challenge the rich and the poor... To challenge politicians.... To challenge the pastors and church goers to get out of their comfort zones and reach out. People are suffering out there. A little time and effort from us can make a whole lot of difference. A lot of us turn our eyes the other way when we see those struggling. You don't loose anything helping people around, instead you gain something quite unexplainable and heavenly. Once again, I challenge us.
So, certainly Ola is not going back to that bridge he called home. A new and wonderful beginning has begun for him. 
God bless as you reach out."
An accommodation was gotten for Ola by Ifeanyi and he is doing very well now.

This is a truly inspirational story, hopefully we all get inspired too.

52 comments:

Show a little kindness. God bless you Sir!

Purity said...

I am inspired, God bless you Ifeanyi.

God bless and reward you and may God direct Ola's path

Wahooo. What a pathetic story. God bless you my bro. I have learnt too. Nice one

SLIMFIT said...

Truely you are an amazing good Samaritan... God bless u richly for touching lives...but be watchful he dosnt return to his old ways.

God bless his heart. I just pray he's smart enough not to abuse the privilege.

Long live LIB

I almost cried! God bless you Ifeanyi

God must use someone to rememb u

chenynwa said...

Chai! Oga u try i swear,but as we are trying to help out which is good,we should excercise caution oo cause some have serious criminal tendency,so we dont bring dem into our homes and they will end up poisoning the owner and carting away with life and valuable items or even raping the owners children or madam.
lETS ALL REMEMBER TO BE CAUTIOUS A SA SERPENT AND TO BE INNOCENT AS A DOVE!
Linda morning.

May God make you bigger Ifeanyi. It's indeed inspiring. It's high time we sheath our swords or in this case the tribal mentality, unite and help one another find our true selves and destinies. And when you happen to fall into the category of the ones receiving the aid or transformation, always bear it in mind to make the helper proud someday and not turning around to bite the finger that fed you.

Mo said...

God bless the good samaritan. But what I wanted to read about is what Ola is up to now. Did the good samaritan setup a biz for him? Is he a personal P.A to him. What exactly is Ola doing now that he's been moved from the bridge?

Wow! What a beautiful soul

Ifeanyi,may the Almighty God bless you and bless you. You indeed, hear God's word.

Good to hear

SongsOfSUSSAN said...

Wow! Good, very good but rent a house some where else for him, you cannot trust 100% and let him be busy doing something.

God bless you Ifeanyi, your heart is in the right place - please let it stay there, come what may.

Freeborn u dey see wetin your mates dey do? No be to dey run your gutter mouth all the time, God bless you ifeanyi

Mr bluestone @least he started somewhere by taking him off the streets! u can continue the process by providing him a job otherwise just be quite n applaud those who started the rehabilitation!!!! #humanbeingsef!

Rita .D.Aivoji said...

May God bless you my brother

JAO said...

Bless up bro.

Now tell me how Ifeanyi's life is not gonna see good things? I'm truly inspired. thanks

UKAA said...

MAY D GOOD LORD BLESS U SIR.

IFEANYI BECAREFUL O!

Gilbert said...

Things like this makes me cry.such good heart.why?because, it is my calling.I will get to that level.while heading there, will do the little I can around. Brother, thank u for such good

Gilbert said...

I love such good works. It makes me cry

Enter your comment...Dalu Nwannem

Donate N1,500, Get N6,000 in 7 days time.
Join Claritta, Nigeria's Member-to-Member Donation and Referral Platform.
Visit my Claritta.net page at:

Claritta.net/eberooking to learn more

NAIJA said...

THANK YOU BRO...MAY GOD CONTINUE TO BLESS YOU....Please others should emulate this and help the less privilege,the homeless etc

Guineacar said...

He is cute o.

Poverty can make people ugly.

******************Beautiful******dax nice of him

Ayekooto said...

What you did was fantastic. However, you did not need to sound the alarm bell and proclaim it over rooftop. According to the bible, you have already earn your reward which is the praise of men that you have received. (Mathew 6:1-4)

Shabalalah said...

I hv noting to gave for now bt praying ND hoping to God for his blessings ND favour in my life, so I cn also touch others lives. God bless u sir u did well.

Trusted e-Currency Exchanger in Lagos, Nigeria

Buy Neteller from us at N520 per USD
Buy Bitcoin from us at N520 per USD
Buy Perfect Money from us at N520 per USD

Call 08144333114 Or visit
www.forextrading23.com

Muobs said...

God bless you real good and hope to take a cue from this

God bless you bro, I am moved.

BROS, GOD BLESS YOU. BUT BECAREFUL PLS, DON`T COMPLETELY LEAVE HIM WITH YOUR CHILDREN AND WIFE, PROPERTY INCLUDED PLS. JUST KEEP PRAYING FOR HIM SO HE WILL CONTINUE TO BE GOOD AND NOT POSSESSED WITH EVIL SPIRIT. WATCH HIM CLOSELY TO CHECK IF HIS CHARACTER IS QUESTIONABLE, IF IT IS, BROS ABEG DETACH YOURSELF SPEEDILY BEFORE HE LANDS YOU AND YOUR HOUSEHOLD IN TROUBLE. I HOPE IS NOT GAY, AND HE DOES NOT STEAL, BEFORE HE UNTRODUCES YOUR CHILDREN TO RUBBISH. DON`T FORGET YOUR CHILDREN WILL ONLY SEE HIM AS THEIR ELDER NOW, WHATEVER HE DOES, THEY ALSO COPY AND PASTE. SO BE ON THE ALERT SIR. GOD BLESS YOU AND REWARD YOU FOR YOUR KINDNESS. IT WILL NOT TURN TO AN OMEN FOR YOU. WISDOM IS NEEDED.

God Bless bro

God bless you

Sam spiritual said...

Nice one ifeanyi.

Oscar said...

Ifeanyi really exhibited life of a true Christian. He didn't mind ethnicity. He is of Ibo extraction. While Ola a different tribe. God bless u bros.

May God bless ur u ijn.

Hi all. This is not a bid to beg for money although it may be a strange request. I'm a young expat looking to begin dance/fitness classes on the island axis. I've been searching all over for a few months for a mirrored studio but the only great place I've seen is to cost me about 20k for an hour which is a lot to ask for someone starting up. All I want is an affordable space. I have really great ideas and the talent to push it and make it work. If anyone knows somebody that knows somebody please reach out to me! I'm desperate!!!!!!!!! Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!

I can be contacted on: dancewithinlovewithin@gmail.com

YEMI OKEOWO said...

Wow! this is inspiring and a touching one. May God bless you richly and the divine favor from above shall over take you Ifeanyi. you have come out of your comfort zone to reach out to the needy, God of Abraham, Jacob and Isaac will reach out to u in every area that you are lacking,through this year it will be fill with surprises of Blessing, Success, Favor, and all glory shall be unto you O Lord for opening this your son eyes to see and deliver your message.Peace & Grace.

God bless you beyond measures in Jesus name Amen.

Good One Ifeanyi. God Bless you in Jesus name. Amen

God bless you beyond measures in Jesus name Amen.

Dave onos said...

Is this the same guy that tried to use one woman beggar to get cheap publicity a few weeks ago???

Moved to tears . God bless u Ifeanyi. Dis is what life is really about - caring for others especially the poor and needy. Dat is d heart beat of God. I pray this touches d hearts of everyone and inspire us to lend a helping hand whenever we get d opportunity. May God heal and restore Nigeria from d devastating damage done to her by the people entrusted with power to govern her

kind

Ay sax said...

@dave Ono's even if its to get cheap publicity...or expensive popularity.... REACH OUT FIRST....no con dey run ya shallow minded heart for here....the guy don't reach out to 2 pole now...which one have you?

Dave onos said...

Stinker abi yinka shut the fuck up fool.