Corps members made to kneel down as punishnment at Abia state NYSC orientation camp | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 December 2016

Corps members made to kneel down as punishnment at Abia state NYSC orientation camp

A LIB reader sent in this photo of corps members on their knees at their NYSC orientation camp just because they 'annoyed' their Platoon Inspector. Read what he wrote:
"Hello Linda, Am a corp member currently undergoing orientation course at the NYSC orientation camp, Umunna, Bende, Abia state. This morning, during parade rehearsals, some corp members in 9 Platoon got the platoon inspector annoyed and he punished them by kneeling them down for some time before releasing them. #Even graduates still get kindergarten punishments #
Can you imagine!

122 comments:

Ada bekee said...

I don't know what to think of this.

WhT nonsense?

If one of them passes away now they will say its an infection.. awon oloshi soldier

Meenah_wakil on Instagram

WhT nonsense?

If one of them passes away now they will say its an infection.. awon oloshi soldier

Meenah_wakil on Instagram

This is not news abeg. Most of us went through the same experience and it is part of the programme. Pple shd get a life and stop looking for every opportunity to complain. Madam blogger sef, is it that you did not pass thru NYSC or you sef just wan complain needlessly this morning.

Please don't be ridiculous. The orientation camp is not your father's house. It's all in a bid to instill discipline. The soldiers are only under strict instruction not to touch you. They just asked you to kneel down and you're publicizing it. Shame on you!

Nna na wa o! Linda take note!

code009 said...

Nothing bad.

Na wa o. This is not fair! Nysc is rubbish

I remember in Ikot Itie Udong orientation camp, Nsit Atai LGA of AKS when we were brought out to the parade ground (from the male hostel) by 2am in the rain cos someone was looking for her necklace in the female hostel. Wetin concern male hostel and lost necklace in the female hostel? These soldiers too dey form. The worst is that we were there for 2 hours without being told what happened #BatchB2009Stream2

9ja Parrot said...

Linda! It's not disturbing. The indisciplined in the land is too high. If you probe further, you will discover that those Corp members deserve the light punishment they got. Orientation camp is a place to purge excessive bad attitude.

Not cool

Part of the military drills. sorry "otondos"

Neptune said...

When they behave like kids that's what they get graduate no be for mouth only but character

folaseye said...

NYSC is a paramilitary training. You get punished when you err...even the fully certified soldiers do. We all passed thru it. So it's no big deal.

obiora said...

What's the name of the primary school? Lol. Seriously this ain't funny!

yes ofcourse, army doesn't want to know whether u re graduate or not,, if u misbehave, they will punish wella,, i know wetin i take my eyes see for Bayelsa.. Yaxxxx

OMG!! See the kind of ignorant, gullible, lily livered kind of people we are churning out from our higher institutions. What a pity!!! Obviously, they don't know their rights

kunta said...

This is absolutely normal at the NYSC camp, those soldiers turn to mini god when corpers arrive camp, they do whatever they want to corpers..

They will had been beating corpers if not that they were warned not to touch anyone no matter what happens.
This is really ridiculous!

Linda this is not new now, give us proper content. Discipline is part of the scheme, moreover that's a light punishment.

Bawcee said...

When I served, at the orientation camp in Nasarawa State, we did punishments worse than this one. This is no big deal. I knelt down on three different occasions. We were laid on the bare floor once. And some others were told to frog jump.

They are called paramilitary, they signed up for it when they enrolled for NYSC program.
So it is not out of place.

Hehehehe.. Celebrate Xmas in a big way! Get superb soccer prediction tips for Saturday & Sunday10th & 11th December 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

Deres nothing dere biko. It's a regimented camp and we undergo paramilitary training

Bree said...

Na Secondary school ni?

Nelly Udoh said...

What a dirty complaint. U insulted ur platoon inspector and what did u expect. If u feel u are not in a kindergarten class the behave as such..anyways am a serving corp member in Abia state as well and I rep platoon 7..

Nelly Udoh said...

What a dirty complaint. U insulted ur platoon inspector and what did u expect. If u feel u are not in a kindergarten class then behave as such..anyways am a serving corp member in Abia state as well and I rep platoon 7..

My opinion is subject to critics anyway. ...don't just worth it...tho I don't really know what transpired. ..but does bn a graduate a license to indisplining

Chop Chop said...

Good for them. Next time they should behave like an adult.

Jefferson said...

ogbeni shut up and take the punishment...it's normal in the nysc orientation camps, these are part of the things that makes camp life interesting...You know how many punishment I receive for iseyin camp?

Nigerians and authority. It's a way for them to feel powerful and important! Nonsense!

Your stupid ass sees that as normal! Do I blame you? No I don't, I'm just sad that I'm called Nigerian just like you are called Nigerian.

And so? What is there? It's part of the training. ReportING things that don't matter.

Is part of d drilling naaa..we al passed tru same thin 7yrs ago nd is fun..

Gechy Inspire said...

Punishments in camp such as this in NYSC orientation camps is not a news. We went through worse punishments during our days in Keffi camp. So just shut up and get your punishment. It's part of the NYSC experience.

There is nothing wrong with what is going on here...This is military training and such things happen.....Graduates that intend to pursue a career in the military or Nigerian police even go through tougher training...Take Note

I did several frog jumps and other forms of punishment while in camp 14yrs ago, so why u complaining? It's d system, consider a training ground for the future. We never had the opportunity of mobile phones or social media during our time. Kids of these days sef....

Abeg dis is normal na, we ve all bin there.. Who kneeling down kill? Linda nawa for u sef. Wats disturbing about dis photo. Atleast dis was under d sun,mine was in d rain, we were asked to sleep on d floor in d field at 2am while it was raining heavily..madam poster pls enjoy camp n stop whinning.

Kayode Odusanya said...

Punishment during my time was frog jump sha...I guess it is all part of the training.

Cure for Quick Ejaculation

ifeoma's verdict said...

Its a normal thing nah. My planoon was punished like dis for coming last in marching competition. Nigerians can complain sha.

Normal thing since 1800

I served in ebonyi stat during which the punishment i received was worse to that you just pictured.is part of the fun feel my dear.

kaylaychee said...

Its called discipline..Ewu.

prepre said...

So what's the big deal about kneeling down. Mtceeeew. Am sure d person that took that picture is not from that platoon.

People seem to forget that the 3weeks at the camp involves paramilitary training. So u get treated like a soldier. What of the endurance trek and morning drills, are those punishments. Too? Abeg kneel down joor.

Come on otondo. This is normal in all NYSC orientation camps. If you don't want to be punished then please seek for an exemption certificate

Na camp nah. If u don tire go house. Everything no be issue nah

It's a very normal thing. I received far worse punishments while in camp. It's part of wat makes camp life interesting. Besides, it's a drip, not a punishment. Cadets also receive far worse. And pls Linda, the photos aren't disturbing.

Afonja boy said...

This generation of brats graduating from universities and just rubbish. If you can serve the punishment then get out of the camp. Adult kids. Thank God you confess annoying your platoon leader. That useless paper you called degree will soon be your bane.

so what the beauty of the camp then

inno said...

Look at this one you want to be pampered get out

Thus is absolutely normal and trust me the corners enjoyed every bit of it! It's all fun for those who served! Please don't sensationalize things.

Mtecwwwwww

Go sidon! Wetin you sabi

Mumu who sent you to camp! Didn't they tell u what camp is all about.that's 1 of dose tins u definitely meet in camp so stop complaining

I sell ass hole sanitary pads incase ur ass hole has started menstruating

What wr u expecting in a paramilitary Camp? Can you just shut up already!!!!!!
So we're you expecting them to serve you brkfst on Bed?
Are you the first graduate in Nigeria.

Abeg, keep quiet jorr! So because people are complaining about NYSC's handling of d dead corps members u feel u can just come here n talk rubbish. U can't expect to go to a camp where is manned by trained soldiers n just enjoy urself and take selfies,no its not done! I left camp last May and we frog jumped numerous times, knelt down and even walked on our knees. So it's a normal part of d camping experience so far it's not taken to the extreme

There is nofin normal or interesting about this rubbish, it doesn't make any sense to me, the whole nysc is a total waste of time, I hope it can be scrapped out for good

Their isn't anything wrong with this.its a bootcamp for crying out loud.

Normal level. Come to Obubra camp in cross river and see how the camp commandant (Omotade) will punish and drill corpers from about 8pm till 3 am . Don't worry, just ask a cross river corper and they will confirm to you. He even punish people for looking too neat...implying they have not be doing any activity and then he will further instruct them to seat on the floor and in some cases roll. He also punish corpers for looking too dirty. As far as I am concerned , I think he is mentally disturbed. These things excites him. In addition, NYSC and it's policies needs to be reviewed on a regular basis and be evaluated based on the experience and recommendations of corpers. Otherwise, it should be scrapped.

It's a normal thing if you are engaged in any kind of military, police or para military training. Punishments usually come in form of exercise, could be pushing ups, sit ups, kneel down, etc

Don't make a big deal out of it. They were not forced to sign up for it..NYSC is optional, no one will stop you if you don't want to do NYSC.

Your head is there.. Lol

It's just a matter of time

Araromi Emmanuel said...

I believe It's very normal and it happens when soldiers are involved

adults oo

This is the negative aspect of social media though, everyone wants to say something whether relevant or not. This is very normal in NYSC training, its part of the training as a matter of fact and it makes it fun and memorable. There is no wrong here! Please face your training and leave unnecessary gossips!

Very good of that soilder, if I am that soilder man I will even asked you to do front jump. If you are a graduate those that tell you not to be discipline and respect your self. Let him even asked you to catch your ears. And you want to be a leader and you did not want to be punished if you did a wrong thing. I salute that soilder man you platoon officer he did very well.

hay said...

Over normal sef. Some pple can act so abnormal..onpe

Yup, it's a normal thing nah.

It's normal thing na, folks are beginning to whin like puppies now, i don't get. Hope the day they're asked to jug as well, they Wldnt come here whining like distressed puppies, mtew!

kennymac said...

This girl just displayed her ignorance big time!!! She needs some extra education about the NYSC Camp

The lady that send this must be very stupid. What is o special about the drilling given to you ? . If actually is a punishment , the inspector will not be watching some of you squatting instead of pot your kneel down. Please shut up, if you dont want to serve, just pack your load jeje to your village Oshi...

deenity sealord said...

Clowns must feel it

Dats wat makes d camp fun! pple do worse evn roll on the floor. know u prayed earnestly to wear d khaki. well, dere u hv it nd evrytin dat comes wt it! y wld u get ur inspector angry. Ds is no news joor

It's not NORMAL. They didn't join the army. Why should they be treated like animals just because of NYSC? they're not cadets.

Dats wat makes d camp fun! pple do worse evn roll on the floor. know u prayed earnestly to wear d khaki. well, dere u hv it nd evrytin dat comes wt it! y wld u get ur inspector angry. Ds is no news joor

We should scrap this things. Set up silicon valley kind of camps. Nothing has been achieved with this nonsense. This is why the graduate cannot be industrious in any field.

Mr Gandes said...

God Bless you Jefferson!!!!

They all should please shut up! Why is it called a Paramilitary orientation camp??? Are they supposed to pamper you under a military setting?

Kneeling down, frog jump, planting are all part of military drills and in the long run most Corp members relish the memory of having gone through such drills. Believe me.......enjoy this phase while it lasts, in a short while to come you'd miss it!!!

Even most graduates are so dump a soldier that did not even go through university stress is punishing a graduate, u are here justifying it as normal,what a country..suffering have become the way of life.

This NYSC batch self carry too much wahala. How would they control you white fowls(otondos). what if your are being flogged then CNN will hear it. Its normal joor. What about we DT was called out at night during light out to kneel down. Abeg! make una allow person rest.

Jefferson, its a lot abnormal to treat people like animals, Ok. I advise you also endeavor to use kind works when reacting to a post

This NYSC batch self carry too much wahala. How would they control you white fowls(otondos). what if your are being flogged then CNN will hear it. Its normal joor. What about we DT was called out at night during light out to kneel down. Abeg! make una allow person rest.

It's part of the orientation stop nagging pls.

Linda I seem not to get wat u mean by the "can u imagine" ? Wats so wrong about camp punishment? Like u didn't pass thru d system, or else u didn't graduate and had d opportunity of the nysc programme. The system is design to prepare graduates for the harsh realities to life, and besides corp members are para-military, so nothing wrong with frog jumps, or sweeping parade ground.

Asampokoto said...

Is this the point ? Imagine those that are 30 at camp. How can you be punishing grown ass human beings? Where do they do this at please?

Reli!

Drizzy said...

Boneheads

So we should hold the authority responsible foe kneeling the 9th Platoon huh? Go home if you don't want to serve. I'm still reminiscing my moments at the Nsit Attai Orientation camp Akwa Ibom state.

Why are you selling ass hole pads? Do you use them also? You must have had your ass smashed into pieces, to have found them to sell, when all gay men, have never heard of them.

Who raped you? Or maybe you're a prostitute. How is your mouth? Does it look like the yansh of a chicken?

Anon 8.14 you don't just need a pad, you need an ass transplant.

If it's abnormal, pls stay off Nysc,last i checked NYSc isn't compulsory!People make a fuss out of nothing at times! #WhiningPupy

QL Homes said...

Give yourself the best December gift. Be a Landlord at Ibeju Lekki for as low as 600k. This place offers the best affordable opportunity. For further enquiries, WhatsApp : +2348034334692. Call: +2348130373753. IG-@qlhomes. Fb-@qlhomes. Visit: qlhomes.blogspot.com.

Abidemi u said it well n right on point,NYSC orientation is a regimental n any form of training is allowed during ds period n if any platoon member is aggrieved they can walk to d coordinator n asked to live d camp by opting not to serve.From 1973 to date such has taken place so what is d big deal here making mud hills of rubbish.Youths obey d clarion call under d sun or in d rain as well as undergo all kinds of punishment or training.

Purge excessive bad attitude in less than 3 weeks. Gosh you're an idiot. The problem with you Nigerians is u don't realize the bad attitudes should be curbed from the home!not at the hands of some power drunk drugged up soldiers who don't give a fuck about you or your children. Stay stupid o

Being told to kneel down does not translate to being treated like animals...u obviously haven't gone to an orientation camp hence your talking from a point of ignorance...btw, how many animals do u tell to kneel down and do they actually understand/obey u?

Get off ur high horse...I'm sure ur not yet a graduate...as long as the soldier is in a position of authority over you at that time...ur duty is to obey and comply with the camp rules...'na ur type go sleep for guard room because of insubordination'

It's sooo obvious Linda didn't go through NYSC...cos if she did, she'd have known that kneeling, sitting or squatting is not out of place in NYSC camp.

neyo said...

Baggas you feel you are in camp to take ice cream you must feel it

Are u d first person to be a graduate, bcos d soldier ask u to kneeldown go and ask were is dasuki were is Alex bade,is bade not a general were is he today ordinary corp member like u is complaining. Go to maiduguri a female graduate offer like u she is there at d war front.nonses

kachi_k said...

This set of Corp members are so annoying,ur complaints are too much and so childish,NYSC was so much fun 4 us DAT served even amidst d punishments and all,its a different case if it has 2 do with d death of Corp members due 2 negligence, but dis is different, its a paramilitary training, so suck it up and shut up,u Linda 2,u are becoming very annoying.

U don see where goat kneel down before? What is animalistic about kneeling down. Wen u kneel down to pray u feel like an animal abi? NYSC is a paramilitary camp. These things are expected. Oh! You didn't know?
Ur ignorance is on another level sha. "They didn't join the army..." Shatap dia!!!

***********************na all pf dem constitute the orientation ********simply tryno humble u********upon say u don grad*******u be ur own boss*********but certain circumstances in life go still make u bend dax d simple lesson behind it***********we knee down tire*********frog jump*********and u go dey ax ursef ********shey na me be dix????????but all na fun of it*********enjoy it n roll over to another levo****

Bisola said...

I dunno. Can we call kneeling down and raising your hands discipline or humiliation.
Anyway that's what makes Nysc camp interesting sha.

The day I met a true Christian

six things you ought to be writing down

In the paramilitary and military organisations you voluntary sign up and get medically tested to confirm you are fit for corporal punishment and regimented exercises you are bound. NYSC is a community service program you MUST partake when you graduate, there is a big difference. I still don't understand the presence of soldiers in their camps and there being termed paramilitary.

The problem with this generation of snapchat and IG. We also went through orientation camp, we were disciplined too. I am sure they did something wrong. The camps v certain rules that need to be followed. But no o, we v bunch of silly brats not wanting to be corrected. That is why this world is turning upside down.

Have you graduated from university? I am not sure you are in self.

I dunno maybe y'all are stupid or something, is it by force to serve. Buhari's daughter abi son just Graduated from university in England, why aren't they participating in the exercise, aren't they Nigerian. No governor's or president's child will serve the nation, so why should you?? Please wise up.

Some of you that are saying crap, please kindly tell me what you have achieved at the NYSC shit. Did the government provide jobs for you, even if you did are you earning 200k every month, please don't be daft and borrow sense,ministers, governor's, president's children will never pass thru it so why is it a must ??

Muna said...

We really enjoying in Lagos camp! Swear down!

Loooooooolll linda and madam reporter. So this is new to you. Linda did you not serve?

Mumu post

sholaolu samuel said...

No b new thing .... Even the batch b that jst passed out experienced somefin similar during their orientation .very stupid set of scallywags @ the umunna bende camp.

I totally respect your comment here.

Exactly it is not by force! You can stay in your father's House. If I have my way or given an opportunity to serve my father land again in NYSC capacity. I will gladly go back to FaruFaru sokoto. Where the camp is done in a secondary school,no electricity, no clean water nor restroom.Harmattan that can shut down the human system in no time,expect for some nice big flies. But guess we were very happy! What is this country turning into, people living fake life, if u check very well,the person that reported this,probably went to a community high school. Why are you trying to disassociate yourself from your past? It is still yours !

Afonja boy please me tell the brat that if he/she wants to enjoy the Abia camp better, to look for the camp commandment or better still any of the soldiers and slap them real hard. They won't be asking her to kneel down anymore because they will ensure the legs will not be available for her to use for the next 3 weeks. Ko let rare. Omo e base gbogbo. You think going to camp is all about chasing fine girls or wearing white bump short.

I will tell the platoon inspector to go fuck himself .Ignorant Bastard.

Exactly it is not by force! You can stay in your father's House. If I have my way or given an opportunity to serve my father land again in NYSC capacity. I will gladly go back to FaruFaru sokoto. Where the camp is done in a secondary school,no electricity, no clean water nor restroom.Harmattan that can shut down the human system in no time,expect for some nice big flies. But guess we were very happy! What is this country turning into, people living fake life, if u check very well,the person that reported this,probably went to a community high school. Why are you trying to disassociate yourself from your past? It is still yours !

Ifiok said...

Tome, there's nothing wrong with the punishment. I'm also a corps member serving in Abia State. The cam at Umunna Bende is the best to me. The writer didn't state what offence they committed.

Absolute rubbish,nonsense in the highest order,this stupid thing called NYSC should be scrapped!! What benefit does it have in the Nigerian society? What value does it add? I'm really suprised some idiots on this forum are supporting this stupid action.How in God's name will an adult be told to kneel down!! For what now!! I'm pissed !! A very big shame on all of you supporting this act,the likes of such myopic minded people can never ever make this country move forward.For those of you that always blame the government for everything,take a look at those fish brained idiots supporting such actions.Shame on this nation for allowing such a thing!!

Same almost happen then in Jalingo,,guess wat we all did,,we walk back to our room...why will I kneel down for what rubbish😡😡😡😡😡😡