Three men arrested and face 1 year in prison for killing tiny fish, | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 May 2016

Three men arrested and face 1 year in prison for killing tiny fish,

Three men have been arrested and charged with the killing of a tiny fish (an endangered specie) destruction of property, trespassing and unlawful possession of a firearm by police after they allegedly broke into a fenced-off protected area of Death Valley National Park in Nevada on 30 April.

The 3 drunk men Steven Schwinkendorf, 29, Edgar Reyes, 35, and Trenton Sargent, 26, stomped around in the water of Devils Hole, they threw up in the pond, threw beer cans and boxer shorts over the area, and tore up the habitat of the Devils Hole pupfish, one of the rarest fish in the world. One of the fish was later found dead.

According to the National Parks Service, the men fired a gun at least 10 times at gate locks, a motion sensor and several signs. Sensitive scientific monitoring equipment was also damaged. They face the possibility of fines of up to $50,000 and a year in prison.

The Sherriff's office said:
“Their unlawful visit ultimately culminated with at least one of the suspects stripping off their clothes and entering the water of Devils Hole.”
“The suspects in the water stomped around the shelf area of the critical ecosystem before swimming around the deeper water, leaving behind a pair of dirty underwear when finished.
“The intrusion is believed to have resulted in the death of at least one endangered Devils Hole pupfish, and fisheries biologists are trying to ascertain the extended damage that may have been done to food sources and egg sites which could lead to more loss of a species whose numbers are now below the last count of 115 in existence.”

Source:  The Guardian

31 comments:

Wait, it's a crime to killed fishes but it's not a crime to kill blacks? US of dumb A

You kill a fish...you'll get fished! Lol

Lol was about saying just for killing a fish, before I read their mode of entry and other things they did. They deserve to be punished but the term seems too much.

Guys they hungry, they go catch fish make them chop, you arrest them. If they carry gun go rob now, nah still wahala..leave them make they chop fish nah

Nature conservers ain't joking mehn

I don't know what people enjoy in drinking and getting drunk

Nawa 4 diz oyinbo people sef..

Lol.. dey are crazy mbok

Chinedu said...

Ndi ocha sef...

Ahh,na wa o... #Lindatakenote

Mcheeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

This is weird!
Stories, tips and recipes

Lol sounds funny

They committed several crimes naa... Linda you come scatter my head with that headline 'three men arrested and face 1year in prison for killing tiny fish' lol

Hiaaaan fish?

Ok.. Noted!

Interesting

Alcohol and stupidity don't mix

Good for dem

Nawaooo 1 year in prison because of fish

Drunkards

#RUBISH RUBISH RUBISH#BE COS OF AZU

Lock them up so they can sober down.

Lol! Animal cruelty!

A few American misfits gone out of control. Meth can be so bad.

1 year in kirikiri for killing eja shawa ,na waoooo.

Okay.

Adekunke said...

See patriotic media.. They reported it without saying or writing U.S or even the states whereit happened.. I read everything and still could not get where it happened. if na Nigerian blogger.. First thing is his tribe or Nigerian man or Lagos.. You will know where it happened.. mostly if it's drugs abraod. Very unpatriotic blogger will write Nigeria man in Malasia nabbed.. See how Source: The Guardian covered the state and you will never hear anything like U.S man American man..

oluchi said...

Rubbish