Pay-Per-View: What You Need To Know | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 June 2015

Pay-Per-View: What You Need To Know

Pay-per-view (PPV) is a television service through which subscribers can buy events to watch via private telecast. Every subscriber who pays to watch an event gets to watch it at the same time.

It is different from a video-on-demand service, like the one offered by DStv Catch-Up, that allows subscribers watch recorded broadcasts at their convenience. PPV is used for the broadcast of high-ticket, one-off events that include feature films, live sporting and entertainment events.

A subscriber that wants to watch an event on PPV is required to have a base subscription. This means an active monthly pay-TV subscription that does not include the cost of an event being purchased on PPV. Payment for an event on PPV is separate.

Thus, PPV is not the same as pay-TV For example, the recent boxing match between Floyd Mayweather and Manny Pacquaio was sold to viewers in the US at the cost of $99.5. In the UK, it was sold for 65 pounds. That cost is in excess of the equivalent of N20,000 and some way above the cost of DStv premium subscription.

DStv subscribers, however, watched it here at no added cost. Viewers in the US and elsewhere, who watched the fight on PPV, had to pay the rate charged. In the US, live WWE fights are sold to subscribers on PPV. Such events are bought by order, using an on-screen guide, an automated telephone system or through a customer service representative.

PPV events are usually in the premium content category and are thus considerably expensive. Television audience in the UK can access PPV via satellite, cable and over the internet TV services, mainly for films via such services as Sky Box Office. While pay-per-view allows the subscriber to view those important events, the subscriber is eligible to pay for PPV events if he or she has a subsisting pay-TV subscription. Thus, PPV is not a la carte. Neither is it pay-as-you-watch, a model that is non-existent in pay-TV.

Currently, the PPV model is not being used in any African country. Broadcast rights to PPV events are different from those of monthly subscriptions and an adoption of the PPV model carries a huge potential of making pay-TV subscriptions considerably more expensive to users.

When you think of PPV, picture walking into a restaurant where the standard plate of food, with two pieces of beef or fish, costs N500. Now, when you feel an itch for bush meat or stock fish, neither of which is included in the standard plate, the cost jumps astronomically. That is the way PPV works.

PPV is not cheaper. In fact, it is considerably more expensive than the monthly subscription model.

34 comments:

Nice one.

Not interested. Lindaobserve

Noted!!

~album drops 8th June~

Lol. Why is dstv trying to dissuade us from our right?

I saw this same article on thecable.ng recently. I don't know why its such an issue or who is pushing this and what the true motives are. Well, truth remains that Nigerians want change. Maybe the name is not right, but what we want is pay as you use. I want cable tv service that if there's no light, my money isn't going, period. I want value for money.
Dstv, please just come clean. MTN told us that per second billing is impossible, same way you guys are saying payment by use is impossible. But we would get it, soon, very soon.

That is to say what?

We are in trouble!!

Mac10...

Okay...

Techrammer.com said...

Linda, Is this a sponsored post by DSTV or did you write this? I believe, we can still have a pseudo Pay-Per-View plan from DSTV or may be I should say pay-per-channel so that I can select the channels I want instead of they stuffing a whole lot of useless channels that I do not watch down my throat. Anyways no be their fault, it's because serious competition no dey.

Mikel enjoying himself. Cool.

It's raining DISCOUNTS on PHONES and yours is waiting for you. Apple iPhone, Samsung, LG, Tecno, Infinix all included. Don't miss this opportunity. Click here to check it out.

Linda are u kidding me? Is this suppose to be news? So naija people no knw wetin be Pay-per-view? Seriously? Pls next jor!!

Deji said...

So we should thank DSTV for extorting Nigerians?
Is that why they give preferential treatment to customer that calls with MTN number or make payment through Stanbic IBTC

Dstv is a rip off

Golda Awosika said...

H.. Mmmmmm

We are not fools. We know what pay per view is and dis is not it. Give us pay per view or go back to SA. Enough of d hoodwinking!

Wonderful but considerably more expensive.

Too much grammar. Linda take note!

arike said...

Linda its not ur fault sebi u una get connection abi,au much were u paid by dstv for dis. Anyway I have stop subscribing to my explorer enough of der bullshit or wat benefit do i have dt I only listen to news at night go to d cinema wen am not interested in most of d over-hyped movies. Want to start using CONSAT if dy like dy shld go and die in d lagoon.

DStv should revert back to their old price and they will have their customers back. I have been off DStv for over a month now and life is moving on fine. Infact, I have been able to save more money rather than give it to DStv.

Pay as u go is wat we want. And DSTV should stop increasing their subscription rate anyhow.

Probably they gave Linda money to post this rubbish. I don't like anything South African. So I have abandoned my Dstv and settled for my Metro Digital and Star time! To hell with Dstv.

psalm said...

Ok.so is this coming from DSTV to discourage us from PPV

Saying pay as you watch does not exist anywhere in the world is a sordid lie. Sky has a one day and 7 days package for their sports channels. No contract needed; its called a day pass or a week pass. Pls check www.skysports.com/nowtv .Spare us the lies and stop the extortion!

Asi asi.... I smell liessssss

I receive lectures from 8am to 6pm and when I get home there's no light but all the time I've been in school my dstv sub is there with little or no use. Fuck you dstv fuck your pay per view my 7,500 sub is now 10k and Linda is here saying rubbish because she has been paid fuck all of you I don't need ur service anymore... I'll survive we have star times

Me too

I have abandoned my Gotv until dey bring down the price ndi ara

Make I pay finish then, no light to watch _ we done hear, Linda my baby girl

Yinka said...

Useful Info

Just what thieves will say, lol

You should try actv it's awesome

Please,how can I subscribe to get your E-mail newsletters?