Is this a gruesome suicide photo or a prank photo? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 September 2014

Is this a gruesome suicide photo or a prank photo?

A twitter user said he was passing through a street in Magodo, Lagos and saw people taking pics of an apparent suicide victim... he took the pic and shared on Twitter. Is this for real though? Someone committed suicide and they are taking photos or...that's not a human being?

107 comments:

Phone madness

I think u'd be the one to tell us what it is/was later..sure you going to confirm now.. It is well psalm 118:17. BishopDammy#

Its for real Linda, I drove past it this morning.
No idea who she is though

well,one of the disadvantages of technology, and y did the Twitter user take a pic of people taking pics too? y didnt he come down to help if he really cared?

Peejay said...

Don't know what to think...*bbmconfusedface*

wow!!! It looks real
i just hope its a ummy or sometin,
cuz if its not.. Nigerians are on a different level of ''cold''

Lol @ dead body attracting paparrazzis. Anything is possible in our Nigeria.

*My R1.50c comment*

Its 4 real. Linda post my comment o

How cud de be dat close to d person? Maybe na person wey find out say em carry ebola, decided to end her life. But it doesn't look real.......

confessor said...

Can't be real tho..seeing those mature women taking photos,i refuse 2 believe

Hi Linda,

I have lived at Magodo before, there is no where like that in Magodo.

Please, it can not be real

Amaka

Righteous Gang* said...

Whatz tha fun in takin d pix of som1 who has committed suicide...
Ma'not be human being tho /:)

Juliebabe said...

That is naija mentality for you, they take things for granted

Looks like a suicide and yes it is the new world order, every man, woman with a camera phone wants to be the next Christina Amanpour. We all crave the spotlight, irrespective of what we do to get there.

Foolish people...

The essence of government is also to check and control the ills of the society. There must be a law no matter how bizarre it might look banning people from taking some pictures

This must not be real. Straight face

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

People sef.....life's getting funnier by d day.

Lol am confused too#iamswish#

It looks like a prank.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

People do not value life again.

Don't tink is for real.da head doesn't luk real

Nothn wey person no go see for naija

I can't believe this

Chukwudi Okpara said...

Looks more like a movie scene

Yes Linda, this could be true

This is the result of social media, people try to make quick cash thru pictures and videos

It's really sad, pictures and videos are sent out before anyone considers helping the victim

Tee....

This is shangisha and not Magodo please!!!

haters-slayer said...

nothing new surprises me again,on this planet 'earth'.

One can only commit suicide wen he or she is possesed by kinda demon #kellywester#

FIRST TO COMMENT****(GURU)

LOOKS LIKE A PRANK PHOTO @LINDA.WHY ON EARTH WILL SOMEONE TAKE HIS OWN LIFE?

Nothn wey person no go see or hear for naija

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

The expression on their faces will simply let u in on the answer you seek.. These is not real Biko..!!

Neks said...

very bad but you wey take picture for correct them..na wah oh

Nt reali makin sense

MZ G

***that can not be human being biko..someone put that thing there.if its someone that committed suicide,those people can not stand there not to talk of taking picture of it.look closely,some of them are smiling.

Nawa

Darkchildlovethyhair said...

I don't know what this is but I think people have actually lost their humanity. Why take pictures of a dead or dying individual? What does it actually do for you? Smh

5 secrets to longer hair

Bosslady said...

It could be real oooo…. Na wa oooo!!!

maryam said...

Jeeez....wats d world turning into for petes sake

Jade said...

He also took a pic didn't he? Don't be a hypocrite. These days people are obsessed with twitter, facebook, and blogs that the first thing that comes to mind in such unfortunate situations is to take pics.

Hmmmmmm.....dat's serious

jaybeyblu said...

Them wan put am for their own twitter na

Is true ooo , is d third street to my house .

Bibby Palace said...

Dey are senseless,is it a tin a joy or funny...God

maybe the person was a witch

Best believe dt this picture is real, as real as 'Ebola'..... Aluu video is available on youtube because of this kind of gadget ignorant fools......#cheEzyjayne

Its a pity cos that's what social media has turned people into, these days people will see someone in trouble instead of helping, they are taking pix and the victim will end up dead.

Definatly that is not a human being or they wont be taking pictures of a dead person.

This is not real

Reen Angel said...

Naija, wetin we no go see,na wa o!

Weird things happening all the time. Linda seriously getting a good news from your blog is like finding an Ebola patient in US. #Rarely

Techno una see wetin una cos.....its so alarming the way ppl re obsessed abt social networks, instead of reviving her na to snap picture so dey cn upload....if this is for real those ppl snapping shud be arrested for murder cos they killed dt fella twice

yaxx said...

if u ask me, na who i go ask?

Clear prank photo

Linda are you asking me? Or do I need 2 do ur job for you, it's your job go and find out

Nigerians are getting MAD!!!!!

Why did you post it here if you feel it's not good? there should be a limit to what we send out all in the name of "breaking news"...or "digging deep"

Janelicious said...

Let's assume that is a scene in a movie .

Gbemmysola said...

This is real human being. passed that area this morning and i saw it. it is not prank. i just wonder why people will be so bold to take picture. i had to call the emergency no and they informed me that they are already aware.

This can't real. They can't that heartless watching their fellow being die.

Anyway, Discover how you can apply the power of internet to your career and business

D person don get Ebola

This is bluff. If not, they're not human

I think it a prank...if it was real people wouldn't be taking pictures,rather they would try to save her or something.

He is no different from them bcos all he did was take photos too.

shollymama said...

I dnt wanna belv this is real

I can't believe is suicide but rather murdered

IG - @Hairbyniyot_ (08135891923) said...

I don't think it's. A human being

i saw this also this morning while driving out of magodo isheri gate...very sad.

He cant beat them and he joined...Madam Linda your reporter is no different from the people taking pic...he did what they did

Welcome to d digital world. Technology has made us more stupid than d early men and we don't even know

Hmmmmmmmm...

short of words.

Naija don't take things serious. #####QUEENMAYA#####

#king said...

Wtf..it looks like a human to me..bt why are they busy taking pictures?..................................#KingOfKings

Trendy Cause! said...

Ok ...wow!!

Linda you are talking..the photo you are using to report the story nko? was the guy not driving by and taking the picture? did he go and help the victim down? pls judge not jor!!! this is a sign of how much things have degenerated in the world. people would first take pictures before they take action. sighhhh!!!#internetagethings

Trendy Cause! said...

Ok...wow

d person wey send d pix nko...why im no park come check wetin dey happen....these day we are living in...jst sooo sad

it could b real . thz days d love of many has waxed cold .

Unreal

Its true Linda, my Aunt stays around Magodo and this caused a lot of traffic around the area.

No comments

May God grant us d grace to hv confidence in him.

Adroit said...

lol, ds is so funny. hagtag #suicideTinz #SheDonDie

Sucide tinz

Signs our tragic modern times. Nobody is attempting to cut her down/lose. Even women are taking pictures.... sad.

NIGERIANS! NIGERIANS. Why will you stand they boldly taking pics without even trying to bring the lady down, what kind of people are we? I bet most of them go to church every day of the week.

Mendous said...

MAY HER SOUL REST IN PACE AMEN,

Gosh! this is true..i wonder what is wrong with those people there..they saw someone hanging, all they could do was to take picture of her..some of them are even smiling while snapping the body

Ebola: Liberian Woman commit suicide in Lagos

There was confusion on Bankole Street, Isheri-Oke, Lagos this morning when residents woke up to the sight of a woman hanging on a tree. The woman, popularly called Kate in the area, was found dead in a black sweater and orange skirt under a pear tree. Residents who spoke to Punch said the woman was a Liberian who worked in a sachet water factory before she died and that the woman did not live on their street. While they said that the woman had been sickly for some time, the residents said she did not appear to have any problem with anyone in the community...Read more..see more photos
But after the outbreak of the Ebola disease that was brought to Nigeria by a Liberian diplomat, Patrick Sawyer, some of the people in the area opted not to have anything to do with her. One of the residents who pleaded anonymity said:
“We see her in this neighbourhood every day. She always looked sick but people stopped selling to her after the Ebola outbreak. It could be because she was Liberian and looked sickly. This might have frustrated her.” Another resident who spoke to Punch after his request for anonymity was granted said:
“She attended a church in the area and her church members still saw her yesterday. I used to see her every day in the dress she died in. She was sick and people in this area had avoided her, especially after the Ebola outbreak.”

Seriously??????? D craze associated with taking pics at every damn tin we see is getting worse by d day.
Of wat use dis particular pics.

Linda I dont know ooo, ask d person dat sent d pics 2u. He/she shld hv confirmed b4 passing.

R.I.P

Uloma said...

Dts it na... Uploading dp is more important.... Mschewwww and dis discrimination is a bit too much jare

Wow! This is real end time! Some1 committed suicide and all dese old women with kids at home cld do is happily take pictures? Hmmm! There is truly ffire on d mountain!!

God have mercy! its is no prank @ all, check d news out on punch website.

Na me snap first! What have we turned into?

Heard she was a frustrated liberian woman she killed herself because she was being humiliated due to the Ebola Outbreak in her country

Fucking bastards and illiterates! Dats a human being for crying out loud!! Gosh i'm so pissed right now!! Ignorance is rily a disease

Lol see people taking selfies in front of a dead corpse..height of insanity

Nigerians are Heartless people who are Cold blooded..i believe we will all answer to God for how we lived.,,Kai ...Wickedness instead of calling police

2ndeSlash said...

smh...........imagine..what social media has turned nigeria to-insensitive...some one dead...you people are heartless.even peoples mother

You need an English teacher ASAP.

MISS UNDERSTOOD said...

Welcome to the 21st century where we have too many stupid people using smartphones... they don't know that as they are snapping some ghosts around them are dancing shoki aggressively.

The picture they sent to you for this report how was it taken..Linda ,it is people like you they send such pictures to..

femoratty said...

linda, i stay in that neighborhood and i saw it on my way to the office this morning. It is so saddening.

femoratty said...

this happened very close to isheri grammer school and not far from the enterance gate to magodo isheri.

dis is a pure prank photo no leg and blurred face

What is wrong ths people? It's not their fault. Where are nigerian cops ? Someone committed suicide outside/ on a busy street and no one was there to rescue her? I am going to say this, nigeria is not a safe place to live .