Dear LIB readers: Should I collect transport fare from my in-law? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 April 2014

Dear LIB readers: Should I collect transport fare from my in-law?

From a male LIB reader. I laughed!
I am an avid reader of your blog and I need advice from LIB house on this issue. I work with a prestigious bank and am OK. I have been dating a girl since January and we are really serious. I have introduced her to my parents and I know hers too, most especially her mom ad sister. Last weekend she took me to her brother's house for introduction, when leaving, her brother gave me transport fare in an envelope which I politely rejected (don't know how much was in the envelop sha). The brother took no harm with the expression on his face. For 3 days after the visit my babe condemned me for not collecting the cash from her brother though it's been settled. But next weekend we are visiting another brother's house, if I am given transport fare again, should I collect?

262 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 262 of 262

U are a very STUPID boy! "I work wit a prestigious bank and I'm OK"... OK? All bcz u wrk in d bank? Wat is wrong wit all dese bank boys of nowadays? FYI... My husband is RICH. And I mean we are both multi millionares by the grace of God, n if my elder broda gives him anythin as a gift (money, material tins or anythin he feels like) my husband take it wit thanksgiving and he reciprocates. My husband neva saw my pple as his "in-law" b4 we got married, n he will nevado dt nw. My pple are his pple are 100% mine. Copy that???

i dont see myself collecting such money either.....i am just too proud to do that. I will be ok. i am segun.

only a lazy fool will collect transport money from his in-law. are u not a man with self respect. u did the right thing and if u had collected that money it wont be long and they will start sending u on errands. if you want to be a man in your home, 1 never collect money from your in-laws especially in the first 5 to 7 yrs of ur marriage. 2 never sleep in ur in-laws' house .

Silly question

Bruv!!!! Bruv!!!!!
DO not collect it!!
But introduction in April tho??
Is it me, or is that quite quick??

U spoke my mind

Those inlaws must be underating u...how can a fellow man offer u tp and u accept? Crazy idea from the inlaw to even do dat...btw it depends on ur packaging generally..

Don't think he should sha. Some brothers do things like this to put their sisters husbands in their place. Trying to indirectly say you are lower than me...just my opinion from experience.

Keep shaking your head. Is this all you can write? Why bother commenting at all?

You are laughing at your own foolishness!

Exactly!

Linda!!! Oniro! Dis story was on eitha laila or emeh's blog weeks ago. Hw is it ur blog reader dat sent it? Tufiakwa. anythn 4 money. No scruples at all. If u like don't post. It's 4u. U totally lack ethics and morals. Grow up! It's nt always abt money.

Real1 said...

Why u no borrow him one of the jet from ur papa garage?must u get a car before marriage?

U are a cheap fool for insulting an online user like u for no reason. Daft soul ...........

Well, this is marriage we are talking about here and not some guy going to pay a visit to his uncles place and accepts transportation fare. The very moment you are introduced as THE ONE test and observation has started.You are presenting your self as the acclaimed man that is capable to take care of their daughter/sister so there is a lot of pride there to protect and you must protect it because it will do you good in the future. Cheers.

Do not collect. If u r going to see anoda inlaw drive in ur own car or u borrow or hire one to avoid such happening again ....u neva can tell wat they r up to.

veeon said...

lol... dead shit

Jay...MD,USA said...

People be talking stupid like "its not good to collect money from your in law". Only a fool would think that way. People talking about self respect or self pride. What if the in law is Dangote, President Jonathan or Mike Adenuga? Will you reject? Let's face reality. I once went to my fiance's house in another state and true to God i had no cash except my atm card, and the available atm machine was miles away. On my way home after the visit, my mother-in-law to be gave my babe an envelope to give me as transport. Now tell me, do u expect me to reject that money.

The koko is that as a man, you have to reciprocate that gesture by taking good care of their girl or better still buy gifts for the family anytime you visit.

Most of these families that try to help their daughter's husband mean well, they are not trying to buy the guy's rights or something, they are simply sowing a seed that their daughter will reap. They know a hustling guy when they see one. Imagine the guy that married President Jonathan's daughter recently. So if Jonathan gives him contract or FG appointment, he should reject abi? make una face reality jor oo.

MY guy abeg collect the money, even if you don't need it. Its gonna show to your in-laws that you are not proud. The person that handed you an envelope of cash today might get you a business link tomorrow, that might change your life forever.

Abeg collect o.

@BeatsArena

Yes, u can collect transport fare if u're that their brother that visits and they know its normal for u to collect TF..

Wot r u sayn?ode

Lwkmd. The caption on this post got me laughing even before I opened it. Can I shit, can I piss, can I fuck my wife, can I collect transport money? Etc. *rme*

Gbam

Mind u, what he gave u is not really transport fare. If he wanted to give u transport fare he would av given u like 1k or so. Its just out of being modest dat he called it transport fare.

Very good point.

Testing testing 1 2 abi na 1 2 testing

Do Not Collect it o. DON'T DON'T DON't

dont collect and do not also feel bad,...explain to your wify the reasons.my self,i do not matter how much my own wife persuade me,especially the young ladies.your wife loves u and feels u not collecting means u do not love her people,that was my wifes thought.so bro,inform ur babe...Izuu

mimi said...

don't collect, but buy something, a drink or anything don't go empty handed. the giver is the boss

Very good point

Bro! you did the very right thing. if I were in your shoes I'll do the same. this isn't a matter of pride or big ego. next week when you go visiting, please don't collect, by this you'll gain more respect from her brothers. if the support is coming during your wedding to their sister that will be a different thing.

Fizzy Kay said...

Abeg who get blackberry charger

If you believe you have a good job and you are doing well then DO NOT collect your money. It is difficult to understand Families so you need to prove to them that you can take care of her after marriage. If they wanna help, they should channel their resources to the wedding not your transport.

Uju said...

Pls dont collect. it belittles your manhood and prestige o. He would have given the money to the sister;how can a man of your age who will soon start a family be collecting transport fare? are u a student? and you ain't unemployed either. You are a grown up man now ready to take responsibilities,there are other ways ur brother in law will help in the future like doing one or two things during ur wedding but definitely not transport fare.

bros to avoid future insalt, don`t collect any csh fro them, please be wise and respect ur self. hold ur pride high ooooooo else u will become a messager for them.

Staton said...

bros no collect, be a man u should be d one giving dem nt d other way round

ALL DIS WAN FOLLOW 4 PROBLEM WEY DEM DEY ASK QUESTION FOR.... Nawa ooooooo

FUCK NOOO! what sort of girl is dat ur fiancee self, U beta shine ur eyes b4 U marry her

Very good point! !!!!

Heheheehehehhehehehehe......lmao

BelLaBomba said...

What in hecks name has ego got to do with him not collecting it, tshewww. anyway I'd advice you not collect it, it's not pride nor ego, it's called self respect or worth plus in different first place they are not suppose to give you money because you took a step to want to marry their sister if money sold exchange hands it should be yours to theirs for now. It might be a test if it's not take it as an opportunity to prove your self worth. blah blah blah

amaka agatha said...

how you dress matters a lot.if u dress like one who does not hv transport money,they will offer u and make sure u collect it, it,s ur fault.

amaka said...

how u dress matters a lot, or the look is on ur face. collect it, if they offer u another one.its ur fault.

ZeeZee said...

Do what your instincts tell you though. Familys operate differently and so does yours so go with what you know and how you have been brought up, ask her why it's so important to collect it, maybe he was just trying to extend a kind gesture

dress to be addressed. how u dress will determine.

Ezeoke L. said...

plz if ur really a man and have respect 4 ur self don't collect it bc it will make them look down on u and can also talk 2 u d way they like, there will be no respect 4 u. u can tell d girl 2 collect it if she want bc is her family. but hope d girl don't love money all that much.

abujakenneth said...

According to your story, the man should best be tagged your prospective in law. Point of correction

Seun Odufuwa said...

I think its not right for you to collect such money, but you must reject it politely. Its dignity not pride.

Seun Odufuwa said...

I think its not right for you to collect such money, but you must reject it politely. Its dignity not pride

Context... If the guy knows you brought a car for instance, its just a gesture. If you came by bus, you obviously should have prepared for you return trip once again a nice gesture. You can even spend it on the girl, and say "let me buy you something nice courtesy of your brother's money" not in those exact words but play around with it and smile...

Excuse me o, wot if the uncle is President Jonathan, won't you collect?

its rude not to accept a gift . i think you should have taken the gift.

No! No!! No!!! Do not Collect broda.

Pls dont collect it, it WOULD be used against u soon, how u presented urself to dem is d reason he packaged some money for u, how were u dressed? or her bro could be a proud dude u know... wants to treat u as a subject.

areu broke u go collect tranport. then u are not ready to marry my sister.

PD said...

Lol...

And later in life when they treat him like a houseboy where will U be. No matter how poor U are, as a man All U have is your sense of self and pride.

but why would your in-law offer you money when they know you are employed, and you don't need it. Is there no other thing to give you?
I think you should package some money in an envelope and give them, see how they will react to it. Unless you are broke and need the money and maybe your girlfriend has chipped in some info on your situation. Otherwise decline politely, even when you see it for what it is, an insult.

Looooooooooooooool!

if you are "OK" and they know it, trust me if you collect it or not, it don't matter...

if you don't feel good about it, don't collect it. Has nothing to do with pride, except your spouse has given dem d wrong impression about your financial status

A BIG fool i swear. Cracked me up when i read it!!! So jobless nd stupid, what a question. Is common sense finished ne? Mcheeeerw.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 262 of 262   Newer› Newest»