Bowen University closed indefinitely following students' riot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 March 2014

Bowen University closed indefinitely following students' riot

The management of Bowen University this morning closed the school indefinitely following students' protest last night. Students of the private uni. say they are protesting scarcity of electricity, water and plans by the university to increase school fees. The students say they are not being treated right
"They take the light by 8am, and bring it back by 8pm and it goes off by 11pm again. We don't have water, no socket light, while our lecturers are in AC offices and cars. We have time table for eating. 7-9am for breakfast, 12-3 for lunch and 6-8 for dinner. Most times we have classes during these periods" one student told me.
All students have been asked to leave the university...while some students who were detained last night after the riot are yet to be released. Continue...

Students protesting at the front of the VC's office this morning after they were told to vacate school premises...

Pics from the riot yesterday...

266 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 266 of 266
lilbobby said...

if your not in the system, you would not know how it works. I am A Bowenite and i know were it Pains Us,
Paying Such a huge amount And Getting back little is not right...
imagine a university without SUG, they make laws on the fly that inconvenience us i personally do not support Aluta, but the university deserve what they got.

and for those people that are blaming parents for sending their wards to private schools, answer this: if your papa fit afford am e no go send you go private school?

i love bowen university..every school has its pros and cons.

Damn! Bro, sufferness don wire yu ehn...ah hope yu wont av ur uni later and make it that way...whats your name sef so ah can make sure ma child never attended you school if you ever have oneIin the future

Pls jst shut it dere. Wh told u moni is d main issue? We r talkin abt justice nd u r sayin trash, idiot!

Pls stop blaming bowenites if u were in our shoes u would have done more than that... Dumb heads.. I can't blame u tho when u can't afford it.. Follish idiots

whitney said...

During ur tym 2002,2003 dere whr barely rules, u paid NOTHING compared to wat we are paying Nw, u weren't givin a food tym table.u were not spoken to rudely by "cortesy officers" and yet charged for being rude, u ad lite, there was water,u weren't being chased from your hostel, ur parents whr not being insulted by lecturers n cortesy officers n u Jes stare cos there is really nothing u can du,dd u av a food tym table? N evn av classes during that tym? Were u forced to use cooler toh buy ur food? so tell me z the sch developing? Pleaseeeee tink dnt just comment... what are we payin 4 to be treated any aw? F u whr treated like tis will u b sain patience n tolerance...evn ryt nao can u buy a spoilt fone n den collect t dat wae n sae patience n tolerance?

Dear CU students, wen u entered the sch u new the rules,u agreed to stay wit those rules it ddnt chnge xcpt that dey stoped d girls from heels n makeup wit REASON, wit a reason dat u can evn relate wit.Its totally different. 4 us every week 2 new rules! That's not wat we signed up 4 na, we av bin obeyin the rules we signed up 4 na..u dnt give rules 4 no reason na!aw r we supposed to relate wit t,the VC nos we av no choice n he z Jes givin irrational rules whch z veryyyyy rong na! Asif dose whr the rules he trained z children wit.. CU student pls tink, I expect more frm u guys.

unknown said...

Fool! Speak for yourself not your entire dead school! Students and parents are sad they pay so much and get nothing in return, you're there comparing your good for nothschool with mine. Who knows your school? Mad people!

U guys are fools now

Mumu, don't talk when you see adults talking, I am quite sure u r stupid and u can't fight for what u wnt cos u are coward so just shut the fuck up

unknown said...

AY!! Why would you say you weren't proud of it before now? Smh. Make I no change am for you oo!

unknown said...

Jo,bawo lose kan e? I can see you attend a federal school and you sound so bitter about it. Why don't you sit for jamb this year and just go to a private school cos you really sound bitter. You are the ignoramus here cos you know nothing about the situation. Have you spent a night or even a whole day in bOWEN before? Biko why famz? Ode.

unknown said...

Vivian! Sorry oo but are they useless in your family?? Co's you just said 'schools ' and hope you know students make up the schools that you call useless. The names are gonna be on our certificates you know. So gbenusoun. Olosho!

unknown said...

You will not die young. God bless you.let them keep insulting us. They are fools!

Good it is not worth it

I support the protest but not the vandalisation. Great IFE can never destroy their school property.

Is this English? Nigga sit down!

Let them talk now if dere mama or papa get chance to attend havard awon wayraeeee oloshi.Babcock\covenant. Shut big up awon olodo if una dey use light read u no go come here and start to dey yarn rubbish Na. Because dem dey give una mark now Omo jatijati.u don't read d y una no value light for more details see africanSpotlight.com

Kaypee said...

As an ex student of the school,I must say I'm impressed at the unity between the students, they passed a very important message to the school authorities "Enough with the rubbish, we need a better standard of living"

However I'm not in support of arson,vandalism and beating up people to prove a point,there is something called a "peaceful protest" the students definitely got carried away while venting their emotions.

To those who think private university students are living the life , well...you have heard the the news,that's what we face, despite the ever increasing school fees.

The private school authorities just wake up and give new rules and regulations at any time.

Imagine giving undergraduates breakfast,lunch and dinner time,are they in boarding school? or telling them not to use mobile phones, what if there is an emergency?! Is that why their parents are paying millions for?!

The sad part of uprisings like this is that the school authorities don't always seem to get the message being passed across, what they would do is to come up with more rules

Covenant you're next!!!

As a university graduate, can't you just write in correct English? All these short forms doesn't make for good read!

"If you flog a child, don't expect him not to cry " .
I have series of questions to ask :
1. What actually transpired between the parties in conflict (riots don't just happen because of minor inconveniencies)?
2. Are there competent bodies that caters for the affairs of the students? if yes , Why didn't they assuage or at least listen to the student's demands?
I think the management should change their approach as it regards management / student relationship.

Proudly a bowenite!!!pple shud hear d full gist b4 runnin deir mouths......we sure r "GENERATN CHANGERS"hrd we wud b resumin april 1!so all does h8ters 4rm federal schs shud nt famz us!looool

Linda!post my coment na

We shall always fight for our right.

Soon all the schools in Nigeria will close?!

Lool you guys yabbing bowen are so funny. I dont really like the fact that they destroyed people's cars and started taking things from the complex.... but this just set a precedent. They just treat us like we are nothing. Increasing school fees almost every school year with nothing to show for it. The thing is we would not even mind so much if they asked for more school fees but we could see the result. Just increasing it cos they need more money like we are their personal fund raisers. The beds we sleep on are soooo flat cos dey've most likely been in use since the school opened. Sumtyms people have to double their beds to be able to sleep on it. 8 in a room made for 4. So dt means we av to share our wardrobes 2 to 1. Does dt sound reasonable to any of you guys? Nd den nau cos he says they dont want to spend the money it'll take to get rid of our waste...we should bring cooler to collect food!!!!! Like you guys should kno wt we are going thru 1st b4 saying anything. Eating times??? Nd the annoying thing is that they know that they can do absolutely anything to us and dts already like slavely lets be honest. Like if they want to av a revival and they know we students will be at home.. dey will find people to punish so that the chapel will be populated. You guys dont know the half of it. So im happy that this riot has set a precedent. They should know at least that our voices should be heard.

Aviky said...

You took the words right out of my mouth and majority of them are anonymous.

Were you forced into the school? Unknown calling ppl names and making unnecessary assumptions doesnt make u any better. Your attitude is repulsive n if u were smart enough you would have made jamb when you wrote it. DUMBASS

Well thank God I'm in CU oooo sef. Which kind VC them get sef..!

A peaceful demonstration would hv yielded no results at al!! For a school like Bowen to hv resulted to this, think hard! The students MUST HAVE BEEN PUSHED TOO FAR!!!!the fact that it's the first time it's happening in their university is proof that this time, it wz simply unbearable!

I had to look at your picture closely to see how reasonable you look to have the guts to call any private university " useless".. It's no surprise that i wznt dissapointed after seeing your face, dress and bag.. I already knew you would be " useless"

Yawns... spare us the lot

tesdeckk said...

Omo shut up....

tesdeckk said...

Omo shut up

tesdeckk said...

U'll jus open ur mouth qnd sae crap.... Beta luk for sumthin reasonable to do dat speak lyk a foolish person

Good development from private university,still hope her more from other private schools. Fight for freedom! Fight for ur right!

EmmySphere said...

You guys won't understand...we had to because it was getting unbearable. For instance, on Mondays and Tuesdays, my lectures start from 8am and ends by 6pm...so i have to starve or better still live on snacks all day. Can you guys face that with the "other rules"?

fisky said...

u know dis!!! bowen students are angry shaaaa, CU watchout oooo, dis is coming soon, sugbon dem dey fear mass expulsion nd bishop's curse!

Bowenite said...

all dese fools nd ill literates nd people wit an admirable low i.q re abusin bowenites.may god punish u.dese same mumus shouting cant pay for a bottle of water nd av dem served satchet water.we cum pay 520k.matthew come dey do as im want.baptist covention turn blind eye.highly unreasonable people.drm go dey do like say na dem create us.no jeans.no armless.no camera fone.no beard.u sleep by 11pm.chapel dey compulstory.we stomach all dese.den u provide used beds,bunk structure,toilets dat dont flush,no water,no light,food timetable.we wont b d people who claimed to b patient bt d world sees as fools.we av had enough of all dat rubbish.all dese cowards abusing us.walahi u will die of nt been able to stand 4 urself.now lemme make dese clear to all africans.we did dese wit purpose.wen u live in an environment where ur wishes nd ideas nd even view re nt welcomed den u re totally a slave.i know d white used to enslave d blacks back in d days.bt now,d black do dese ti demselves.we bowenites will not be cheated nd enslaved because our generation is made up of patient nd courageous people who stand up for themselves nd not cowards running under d disguise of been patient.we all totally knew what we were doing.we had purpose.we av rioted to teach bowen nd baptist a lesson nd effect change.cause if no one will ever effect change.no one will ever be a freeman in his heart.we know d consequences of wat we av done nd re totally ready to dance to d music if dat will b d cost of good change in our lifes nd dat of other generations yet to come.so if u cant still manage to see reason.then u re so damn blind

Hae anonymous guess u still strugglin for ur degree so stop hatin nd get a life
If ur ajebo life brought u to dis link sharpenly run away. Ur mates r in their house wid wife nd kids u r here tellin us we r razz nt ur fault

D amt u pay in publi uni aren't d same wid private so dnt compare. I fink ur mouth is one of d taps we vandalised data y its runnin like dat.Sorry take hrt.

God bless Bishop Oyedepo, God bless Covenant University, I now understand why Covenant is the best University. This can never ever happen there, Bowen has lost it, so sad.

anonymous said...

it's so funny this is happening ......i guess the management just attained the brink point of this students..the last news linda posted about this school was of them kneeling down....thou i was in the school at that time ...they were actually not being punished they were rather asked to kneel down in apology to the ushers for coming late to the chapel #imagine#...anyways i think they have endured more than enough....thou violence aint the way out and i aint supporting that..i guess they were just frustrated (the management has refused to listen to the student representative so what else]....i miss my friends there and am wishing every thing would get better #E.A#

Olamide Aribisala or whatsoever u are called keep quiet and stop complaining, at least u can use a fone dt doesn't ve camera. its nt allowed in my skul at all and u all should b quiet, what has happened has happened, bowen students or there school management should find a way forward instead of having 2 disrupt d calendar.....lord ve mercy, let dere b peace

TO ALL THE BOWEN STUDENTS... THIS IS THE BEST ADVICE I CAN GIVE YOU... AS YOU ARE AT HOME NOW, JUST WRITE JAMB AND DONT GO BACK TO YOUR SCHOOL... COME TO A SCHOOL LIKE COVENANT UNIVERSITY. THIS RIOT HAS LEFT AN EXTREMELY IRREVOCABLE STAIN IN YOUR SCHOOL... AFTER YOU GRADUATE, EMPLOYERS MAY PROBABLY NOT WANT TO EMPLOY YOU, NO ONE WITH THE RIGHT MIND WOULD EVEN WANT TO WRITE POSTJAMB THIS YEAR AND ALL THAT... COME TO A SCHOOL LIKE COVENANT UNIVERSITY WHERE WE GET THE BEST OF EVERYTHING AN EDUCATIONAL SCHOOL NEED... COVENANT UNIVERSITY IS THE MO0DEL/BLUEPRINT AN IDEAL UNIVERSITY SHOULD FOLLOW... APART FROM THE QUALITATIVE EDUCATION WE RECEIVE AND SPIRITUAL TRAINING, WE'VE GAT THE FINEST GIRLS, HOT FASHION, ANT OTHER REALLY GREAT STUFF. DONT SAY I DIDNT TELL YOU SHA... I AM SAYING IT AGAIN FOR THOSE THAT DIDNT HEAR WELL, COME TO COVENANT UNIVERSITY!!!!!

lilian said...

wat a pathetic story

lilian said...

basic amenities shuld be provided by the VC for the students cos dey paid for it.

We did what we heard to do OJO had it coming all he knows how to do is to enforce stupid rules we r humans not lab rats we where better under OLAGBEMIRO we already spoke to d Vc before d riot happened d BBSF in our school where able to talk to d Vc but what would d Vc response b .A leader does not go back on his word what does dat imply d Vc thought that we couldn't do anything taking we bowenites for granted .....we are d generation changers and fuck u people rubbishing my skool u r not der nw if u where der during olagbemiro shut up if u r not in Bowen shut up cos dis our school not ur school anymore or r u a bowenite all dis fools putting comments insulting us pls stop ....#bowen....

you wey talk say how much w dey pay for bowen...how much be your papa dey pay for babcock wey you dey?No be say dem dey Give una food for there??i bet am nah regular hostel your papa Go dey..Werey people...We dey pay over half a million you dey talk shit!!

Generation changers, dats wat we r. A peaceful protest wld never av had any effect. Violence' wat Uncle Mathew nd co understand. We r nt getting value for d money paid nd some mumus r saying nonsense. Pls get a life. All these cunts were d ones laughing at us wen they heard we had feeding time-table nd used coolers. If u cnt stand up to d authorities in ur skul nah ur wahala be dat. Don't evn try to compare, we r more civilised than u cld ever imagine.

Not evryone has a money tree in their house. There' no such thing as "innocent students". We r all victims nd we shld all benefit frm dis protest. Our accomodation' nonsense. U shld sleep on our mattresses or use our smelly pillows. Am sure u won't survive staying in dat environmnt for 3days. Imagine Ojo lying to d press, dat shows how low he cn go. If u av nothing reasonable to say pls jst keep reading nd don't comment. No one' paid for commenting, ts better than embarrassing urslf or ur skul

It is well... Hail Alma Mata... I rep u guys die... Dat riot was a crazy one... Lol... Deres no water ND light on Saturday but once is 8:30am on Sunday u will get water sha by force to bath for chapel... Some students av even become hypocrites cos of dier bowen christian life...

LINDA said...

Dont mind them jare. I finished from Bowen and I understand u all. Those yarnin balls can talk nw dat they are out of the school. The school authority needs to be taught a lesson. They enjoy taking student's gentility for cowardice... I really hope them chaplains n courtesy were taught a lesson too. And dat big head wicked Ojo!

I have carefully read all 250 comments and I am worried for the Nigerian Youth. We all need to go back to the basics as depth and exposure is a big problem in our generation.

Private Universities administrators should put common sense before religion. The Bible is misinterpreted and pastors/chaplain now cause from the alter rather than preach and encourage their congregation.

I decided to start from the chaplains because they are suppose to provide moral supports but they have blurred vision, no manners and lack the spirit of God.

Now to bowen

We have a university where they have feeding timetable. When and what to eat, I know this is the case in babcock but not in a pay as you eat situation as they have in bowen.

A university where everyone leaves the hostel from 8pm to 4pm to the library. If the university is about 7000 students and 4000 have lectures at a time how will 3000 students sit in a less than 1000 capacity library.

Parents pay over 500k Fees and Generators come on from 7pm to 11 pm. What's the point of putting on a generator from 7 to 11 when students will be in darkness all through the night.

No take away packs students must compulsorily use coolers.

Not to go further I must say I am disappointed in the Management of Nigerian Baptist Convention, Bowen University Board and all Churches under the convention for allowing our great university to deteriorate to this level.

Thanks

Adedayo Obatola

Your lifr is Sad

it is nt lik we didnt av dese challenges during d former vc's regime buh den he acknowledged it nd dere was gd relationship between him and students. imagine we even had his fone numba cud cal him at anytime. the new vc, hmmm.... he would just wake up one mawning n bring up new annoying rules,doesnt evn care abt wat students tink. we need to pray for GOD's intervention. was kind of hapi abt d riot but violence is nt d way. bowenites pls calm down. tink about ur parents and for d fact dat u v been enduring it since. i'm proud to be a bowenite. God bless u al . God loves you so do i . 'generation changers '

and pls bowenites let us portray d scul wel even in our speech, i know we av an obdurate vc buh pls no matter wat bowen is our almamater. God bless us, God bless Bowen uni.

Tobi said...

Is it me, or do all this Bowen University students have poor vocabulary and bad grammar? #justAsking

Cn prof Olagbemiro come bk,Matthews tenure is fucked #angry student

na naija.pple we cum.we go redeem our image.all dese stupid pikin frm covenant nd babcock.we sabi say una papa b thief.u knw say u no get liver.if im sure 4 u give me ur home adress.bowen 4 lyf

Nyc 1 IBK

proud generation changer said...

I don't support violence, but i totally understand why it was done. See, it's easy to open your mouth and say rubbish about what you don't know. As a bowenite, and i know how much we go through that we PAID to avoid. So please, if u are not a PRESENT bowenite and have thus not experienced the tyrannical reign of the new VC, u have absolutely no right to tell us what we should or should not have done. Do u think we did not try dialogue? Or that we don't pity our parents? That man doesn't listen to words. So if this is what would make him listen, so be it.

You're too daft

Death

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 266 of 266   Newer› Newest»