Redeemed Church to build a university, sports complex, golf course in Texas | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 February 2014

Redeemed Church to build a university, sports complex, golf course in Texas

Here's an article I found on BBC written by one of their reporters Jason Margolis. See below...
For centuries, European and American missionaries have gone to Africa to spread the word of Christ. That trend is now working in reverse, with a Nigerian minister in Texas who plans to build churches as numerous as Starbucks coffee shops.
Drive an hour north-east of Dallas, and you will find yourself staring off into a barren, flat horizon. One out-of-place building rises above the landscape: a 10,000-seat auditorium.
It is the centrepiece for the Redeemed Christian Church of God in North America. It is one of Africa's largest and most influential Christian movements, claiming more than five million followers worldwide, mostly in Nigeria.
Pastor James Fadele, who runs the Church in North America, said God told the Church's leader Enoch Adeboye that its North American headquarters would be founded near Dallas - but not where, and not when.

Then, Fadele (pictured above) said, a white man in Texas had a vision.
"God told him, 'The land doesn't belong to you, it belongs to a group of church people,'" Fadele said. "'When you meet them, I will let you know who they are.'"

Fadele, a short man with a booming voice, said a few Redeemed Church members were eating at a local restaurant when they were approached by the white man.

The man told them God had asked him to buy a patch of land, but that the Church was the owner.
"They accepted it, they paid the check, and the rest, as they say, is history," said Fadele with a laugh.

The Redeemed Church plans to build a university, sports complex and golf course on its land near Dallas
That divine spot is Floyd, Texas, an unincorporated community with a population of 220. Church leaders have grand plans for the property, which now spans 700 acres (283ha): a university, sports complex, even a golf course.

Fadele radiates with excitement describing his vision for future events at the auditorium: "Crazy people for Jesus, people who are in love with Jesus, shouting 'hallelujah', praising Jesus, having prayer vigils, having fun, giving each other high-fives."

Fadele's goal is to establish a church within every 10 miles (16km) in North America, to take as many people as possible to heaven.
"Because heaven is real, God is real," he said. "And that is why we want to plant churches like Starbucks."

At a recent Sunday morning service at a parish in Melrose, Massachusetts, just north of Boston, about 120 people were gathered, larger than the average Redeemed Church congregation. Once parishes start to gain much size, they quickly split to create more branches - the church's growth strategy.
Redeemed leaders say there are 720 churches in North America, nearly double from four years ago, and they claim 15,000 members in the US.

Ruth Marshall with the University of Toronto, who studies Christian movements in Africa and has studied the Redeemed Church, said its aggressive plans stem from its leader and guiding force, Enoch Adeboye in Nigeria.

"He really wants to be an important global player," said Marshall. "One could say that he's almost obsessed with this logic of church planting because for him it's an index of success. And also, prosaically, because the more parishes there are, the wealthier the central organisation."
Each pastor, she said, must send 20% of tithes, offerings and other funds to the headquarters in Nigeria.

The US - where Pentecostalism began - holds special appeal to Church leaders who believe in a manifest Christian destiny from Africa.

At the church service in Melrose, their passion for their mission was clear. People were dancing in the aisles, hugging, and breaking into conga lines. The public address system was cranked way up. People sang with arms outstretched and eyes tightly shut. The place was rocking.

These are Pentecostal Christians who believe strongly in faith healing and miracles and speak in tongues to connect with the Holy Spirit. There were young and old in attendance. Children were downstairs in their own service and toddlers were running around the lobby.

Nearly all Redeemed Church members in Massachusetts, as well as in most North American locations, are Nigerian or African immigrants. For the church to grow, they'll need a lot more non-Africans. That's proven challenging.

Marshall of the University of Toronto said the children of African-immigrant churchgoers are less interested in attending the Redeemed Church, preferring congregations more relevant to their lives.
Back in Floyd, Texas, Pastor James Fadele is not discouraged. He says it will take some time, but they will connect with the greater community, perhaps by renting out the huge auditorium for weddings and rodeos.

He said when people learn they are genuine, they'll join his church.

"I'm not saying all the churches in America are fake," he said. "But... we have come all the way from Africa. We are engaging the people to show them the true Gospel, making sure that people are being saved and people are making it to heaven."

Culled from the BBC

56 comments:

Peejay said...

Nice and welcomed development.

Wow! That's a good one, why can't it be built in 9ja

wow......make sense die.....but na money them go spend oooo...too much money sha...how wish my church can build auni also

Pastor caught with another man’s wife in Hotel room
Watch Video Here

Man tried to Rape a little Girl but got beaten in the proccess
Watch Video Here

Husband’s ghost Cam caught his Wife “In The Act” with their 16 year old Son.
Watch Video Here

See How 2 Couple caught “In the Act” at the Car Park were Bursted. So Interesting!
Watch Video Here

last baby said...

Pls we need money here. So many poor people around them here in Nigeria can actually be help

MARKET MONITOR said...

Wow wow...... They are rich na. They should be able to. And Linda approve our comments na
see the full photos and identity of the stripper who was breast-feeding justin bieber

All good #bright bravo#

cool and nice development for them sha. it's ok.

We've found a sleek and easy way for anyone to get/income online pay from anywhere. check here .

Where do they get all this money from. They Keep taking from the rich and poor nigerians and giving to them selves.

make dem flex, dem get d money

Church where members attend service naked

Ok now let's go there

Black man wants to show white man, (the owner of the religion, Christianity) the true gospel.I'm laughing HARD.

Brass said...

Good development

Keep using the ignorance of the masses of nigerians to enrich your pockets and build empires.

Americans are different from nigerians, they are not stupid.that's all I have to say

This is a beautiful move to a much better SITE.. #TAKEITOUTSIDE!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

When are group of people are naïve,ignorant and desperate for miracles, you can make millions of dollars out of them. That it what is going on in this nigeria pastor business. (I'm not hating I'm just telling you iggy azalea voice)

FDJ said...

Gud one.d Lord is ur strenght

Harnikky said...

Hallelujah! Praise the lord! Let the work of d lord continue growing up, God its time Æ”☺u manifest urself in my life too.

Money! Money!! Money!!! Heaven is waiting for us. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Mystic Falls said...

Money really never sleeps lol @ more branches than starbucks..hmm now the tithe will strictly come in dollars after showin' them th real gospel I guess.

AnnMarie said...

okay nice one but don't allow church security beat up law enforcing agents cos you will go to jail and don't expect Americans to use their hard earned money to buy u cars and private jets.

dhobiz said...

They have carried this their miracle and vision seeing to there(oyibo is not desperate for miracle like some Nigerians)

So why didn't God direct them to New York or L.A? Why a village in Texas, in the middle of nowhere! Na so!

There are lots of people in redeem dat needs financial help yet, d has so much to give out to a better society. Why have u pastors deviated from d original plan of God for ur lives? #shakingmyhead#

Must be nice....after brainwashing their congregants to extort money from them they build universities that the very people who contributed to the existence of it can't afford to send their children there...Nigerian pastors are business men, anyone with a brain should know this#Not impressed but Good for them

PRETTY GIRL

See hw these churches are cashing in on ppls stupidity. Only nigerians in america will buy this. Keep up the tithes and offerings, but also ask uself if u or ur children will ever be able to afford that university ur tithes and offerings are helping them to build, talk less of a golf course which I dnt see hw it helps anyone make heaven

sunday otuns said...

They should take their envangelism to iraq and northern nigeria where souls have being brainwashed by devils.

LINDA said...

Nice project. May God help them.

the lord's army said...

It's their life and money, God would judge everyone in d end.

GOD BLESS THE REDEEMED CHRISTIAN CHURCH OF GOD!!

There are already more churches than starbucks in the USA. There is a church in every corner. What this man is saying makes no sense. Grow the present churches you have before talking of expansion. 120 member church is nothing. They have not even reached maximum capacity for the big church building they have and they are talking about expansion - talk about putting the cart before the horse.

Y is redemption camp not in lekki or banana island? Be logical ma'am. Vegas or LA won't v such mass of land

Its okay oh I am not hating the church but why not build the sport complex n golf course in nigeria our own country is it wrong to do it here, America is already developed but naija is still 3rd world country so it wud have been bera if dey do it here #myopinion

Business is booming. You'll always have magas and sheep to give you their hard-earned dollars. No difference between you and the Yahoo! boys. It's the method that differs.

Thank you. Fucking jokers!

last baby said...

Why r they wasting money when there r millions of poor ones around them. God is watching us ooo

I believ dey know that God is seeing them if they r saying d trueth,bcos is nt there he will send dem is Irang or d norther part of nigeria,is all for momey

Y not in naija? OkoOooo.

Gloorrrryyyyy in the highest! The American society has been degenerating for some time now, it's time to take back the sound gospel to them,... Africa is God's end time tool to bring back his Glory on earth and Nigeria is a key player. God bless Pastor Enoch Adeboye.

Dee Brown said...

smh...4 their mind na achievement. God said tinz. y not build a more affordable uni here in naija so ur church members' kids can attend. waiting till i hear there's an rccg in the middle east sha. stop going 2 countries where there r enuf churches already.

Nice development,@least we can nau go to churches to chill like we go to bars nd resorts.seems I dnt understand what a church is nd its priorities.CHRISTIANITY is nt abt going to church alone,its abt ur personal relationship with God#

Okay.... Nice one!

Swaggs isimemen said...

Nawaoooo y nt naija

Isn't African Christianity too conservative for the US though? The value systems are far apart. If the pastor counsels a woman in an abusive relationship to stay because "God hates divorce". She stays and dies. Her children will sue him.

why build it in USA, why not build it here in nigeria?

Humanbeings sha.una hate to see churches rich,well equiped n grow.wont dey maintain d church.if u know who u are in christ u will be rich.richness is not over nite.while all of u were sleepn dey were working.una go wake up cum dey judge rubbish.pastors are eating ppls tithes.who will eat it bfr.dem carry d mony give God fr heaven? No be God himself say pay tithe.follow christ,workhard,be discipline,stp talking anyhow.den u will see hw ur life changes fr good.

Thank God

The problem is that the followers from this church in America belong to the group of people with the lowest income. Why he want to build an University, there are so many University in America and they search for students all over the wold that this Universities can work. Adeboye is not a real christian, he only want to build his own empire, and he has lose the contact to the people in Nigeria because i know there are many people in his own country who need help. Why he didnot show what he realy make for charity, he cannot work in america like he work in America because the goverment will look what he makes with the money and a church is in America a non profit organisation, and the goverment look what they are doing. God is watching you!

God let your Kingdom come!

otevee said...

okay toh

Anon 8:34 Am, oh please shut up! You sound very clueless. ...you're a typical example of fools who are so gullible and easily can be brainwashed , I feel really sorry for you

PRETTY GIRL

Kessysoft said...

this is great... am happy

In deed God is at work. Praise the Lord

Bcos Africa is conservative still does not make the first part if your statement right. Bcos pastors don't get sued in Nigeria shouldn't permit them to encourage wives to stay in physically abusive marriages and then get killed. It shows how much these pastors don't care about their church members, especially the women. I go to rccg in America, my pastor preaches against divorce but he always adds that except if there's physical violence in the marriage. Safety first. Just Me

Just making use of poor people money why there is poor people around them and in there church also...only God can judge

Ikponwa