Nigerian Idol 3 Unveils Top 12 Contestants at Grande Gala | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 February 2013

Nigerian Idol 3 Unveils Top 12 Contestants at Grande Gala

After several weeks of intense suspense, surprises and in some cases, disappointments, the Top 12 of the Etisalat-sponsored Nigerian Idol Season 3 were revealed at a Grande gala on Saturday, February 16th at the Civic Centre in Lagos. The highly entertaining and star-studded event with built-in performances from former show host Tiwa Savage and R&B artiste, Lynxxx, marked the conclusion of the theatre stage of the competition and the lead-up to the crowning of Nigerian Idol 3, the voice of tomorrow.

Prior to the unveil, the question on everyone’s lips was: Who gets the Wild Card to join the nine chosen from the Top 30 stage? Interestingly, even the judges themselves made up of Femi Kuti, Yinka Davies and Jeffrey Daniels were at a loss on who to pick. The reason, Daniels said, is the high quality of talent at this season’s show, adding that this also influenced the decision to include eight contestants instead of the usual six for the Wild Card stage of the competition. “There was just too much talent to let go of,” he explained.

In the end, the trio of Abasiakan from Akwa Ibom state, Dani Angus from Lagos, and Moses from Port Harcourt made it to the Top 12, while Modele, Okeyjazz, Oweck and Micheal were evicted. The Wild Card votes which were audited by Alexander Forbes Consulting firm, confirmed Abasiakan as the viewers’ choice, while the judges picked the duo of Dani Angus and Moses.

The other contestants who made it through to the final top 12 are Vicci from Port Harcourt, Safeeyat from Abuja, Debie Rise from Owerri, Immaculate Victoria from Lagos, Joe-Emma from Abuja, Kome from Port Harcourt, Efezino from Benin, Amara from Owerri and Jay-Feel from Abuja.

The judges encouraged the contestants who were evicted at the Wild Card stage to carry on with their pursuit and to keep on training to better their chances in making a successful music career

See the top 12 below...

25 comments:

Mobellezza said...

they ar all gud luking

Watch dem perform ystrday,d 1st guy messed up bt great stage presence,odas was gud bt my best was def d 4th pix(angus),vry calm n smooth. All d best to dem all.

What have they done for Mercy that won?

Moses all the way!!!!

My favourite is still Danny Angus. Cool guy with great Talent also Efezino had a great performance. Wish u both success

#team Moses!

dominic Alabi said...

good question ! Dis fake naija idol. What have they done to take mercy to the next level in music. Only takin her to major etisalat shows to perform. Total rubbish ! Etisalat shame on you and d organ isers. Take several seats and ,learn from mtn project fame. They help their contestants and season winners. Hook them up with relevant record labels. naija idols sound quality i wack and their back up singers so bad. Learn and improve so dat these talents can be heard and nutured. Slight improvement dis year sha !

AfroBizNews.Blogspot.com said...

Hope we get talents that can compare with those from other countries. Goodluck to y'all.

SEE HOW YOUTUBE WENT FROM STARTUP TO THE WORLD'S LARGEST VIDEO-SHARING SITE at AfroBizNews.blogspot.com:
http://afrobiznews.blogspot.com/2013/02/how-youtube-went-from-startup-to-worlds.html

miss kdd said...

Avnt beeen watchin it for a long time but Obinna micheal is supposed to be dere,dnt knw y he messed dis up.

Dey r all grt. All man wid im own talent. Wishin dem bst of Luck!

OMY!! said...

Amara is d cutest and the best!!!

Angus is good but seems gay................just saying.....

I've pick my three favourites, they are Efezino, debbie rice, and moses.

oge said...

Nawa o!

eliaza said...

MOSES AND ANGUS ARE THE BEST. MOSES IS RAW TALENT AND WITH SEXIEST AND SOOTHING VOTE. WONDER WHY FOLKS HARDLY VOTE FOR HIM

DISCOVER the scret of loosing weight and burning belly fat Click here said...

the contestant are looking good

Great contestants!

Pls where is Esosa Cole?

It is absolutely incredible that Nigerian entertainment industry which is running from pillar to post in search money to develop the industry can afford to part away with the some of $500,000,.00 to Kardashian. They were crying that the federal government did not redeem the money they promised them recently. Why are they throwing away such a sum for nothing. To me Kardashian does not worth that sum. If that amount is voted to develop the music industry it will go a long way. there are many artist looking for lesser amount to develop their music; the same people that parted with that amount will say there is no money. please us celebrate ourselves. Omotala is better than that girl. Let us stop wasting our God given wealth. Let us not continue to fill water to a pot that has already been filled (our local saying).

They have raw talents here.I like efezino,moses and angus but the back up singers are just wack.they ruin the songs.

Efezino,moses and angus all the way.back up singers shld be gotten rid off

I Love you moses!!!! Moses all the way!

Yinka Davies, why do you have to expose your breasts? Don't you know you are old and many young people see u as a role model? You were paid to be a judge (which you do not even do well) not to come and flash your boobs.

J-feel all d way