Patients are dying in Nigeria as doctors continue to strike | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 November 2010

Patients are dying in Nigeria as doctors continue to strike

Lagos Medical Doctors have been on strike for almost 10 weeks now and have refused to call it off until their demands are met. They want increase in salary among other things. Lagos State Govt have said they can't afford their salary demand. And Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola has vowed not to bat an eyelid.
More than 30 patients have died since the strike started. One I know died yesterday. And there seems to be no end to the strike.

Quite sad!

12 comments:

I thought Fashola's slogan during the election was"Promise me for a brighter and rewarding Future".I guess the rewarding is future "DEATH" of young people happening everyday?VERY SAD!

this is so sad- the government needs to spend money on improving our health care system- that means improving training facilities for our medical staff, paying them to do their jobs and enjoying Nigerians to use the medical services in Nigeria rather than going to India for medical care (or better still, encourage Indian doctors and teachers to come and work in Nigeria- I remember having Indian doctors and teachers- they provided a better level of service than their Nigerian colleagues!)

Fashola won't bat an eyelid over lives but he can bat eyelids for second campaign. May the blood of all the innocent lives lost be on their heads.

i dont blame fashola,when all his family members dont go to nigerian hospitals...and they say eko oni baje, its so annoying and sad and he even has the balls to run for 2nd term, all lagos roads are bads, kai and lastma keeps stealing and attacking innocent citizens, lagos police abandon their work and stand to collect N20 ..please can anyone list at least 10 good things dat fashola's regime has brought us? i can list 100 bad ones, including killing 30 lagosians due to a strike he cld have avoided..their blood are on his head...afterall we pay heavy taxes in lagos..God punish them all
Pls linda make sure u approve my comment if not i will never come to ur blog and people will no where u stand, at least for d sake of the person u lost, its time we put an end to dis craze..
i feel very bitter cos i lost a friend due to d same strike last week

Joan said...

This is crazy! What's are those things under the bed, I see something that looks like a rag and the bowl, what's that coloured liquid in it? I hope it's not urine.

I feel for that young boy lying on that bed. Won't it be better for him if he's at home? Meanwhile, Fashola is campaigning for re-election so he can continue to exploit the masses through exorbitant taxes through his thieving LASTMA and KAI.

He should stop pretending to fix roads, we want a governor with a human face.

Joan said...

This is crazy! What are those things under the bed? I see something that looks like a rag and the bowl, what's that coloured liquid in it? I hope it's not urine.

I feel for that young boy lying on that bed. Won't it be better for him if he's at home? Meanwhile, Fashola is campaigning for re-election so he can continue to exploit the masses through exorbitant taxes through his thieving LASTMA and KAI.

He should stop pretending to fix roads, we want a governor with a human face.

joicee said...

Hmm....I guess the doctors aren´t letting up ...It is sad that lives are lost as a result.... this is greed and selfishness in action..May God have mercy.

Surprise said...

Sign of a failed state.

Fran said...

I thought Fashola was supposedly the shining light of all governors in Nig?? What is happening? Is he really paying the doctors that bad i.e. below what the other docs in other states are earning? Are the doctors asking for a massive increase i.e. above their counterparts? It is soooo sad that people are dying and yet no one is giving way... Fashola has proven to be someone with integrity and I am so shocked at this news... Can someone pls let us know the real deal... Is he paying Lagos state doctors that bad or are they asking for overly high salary increases?

I hope this comes to an end soonest and that lives are spared IJN xxx

Fran said...

I thought Fashola was supposedly the shining light of all governors in Nig?? What is happening? Is he really paying the doctors that bad i.e. below what the other docs in other states are earning? Are the doctors asking for a massive increase i.e. above their counterparts? It is soooo sad that people are dying and yet no one is giving way... Fashola has proven to be someone with integrity and I am so shocked at this news... Can someone pls let us know the real deal... Is he paying Lagos state doctors that bad or are they asking for overly high salary increases?

I hope this comes to an end soonest and that lives are spared IJN xxx

tplusf said...

Its only in Nigeria we have...

Doctors on strike,
Nurses on strike,
Teachers on strike,
Lecturers on strike,
Bus drivers on strike,
Taxi drivers on strike,
Lawyers on strike,
Food sellers on strike

And yet, the Government NEVER strikes but fails!

I am a doctor, though our own clinic isnt on strike yet sha. but its very very sad. A doctor with eight years experience in lagos state isnt paid up to 200k. infact where i worked before, my oga, who was about retiring, and had worked all his life after graduation with lagos state, was earning 180k. Apart from the fact that they gave him a brand new kia sha. but its really sad sha