Nigeria deports 700 immigrants in sect crackdown | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 November 2010

Nigeria deports 700 immigrants in sect crackdown

Lead Image

Hundreds of immigrants have been deported from northern Nigeria back to neighbouring countries as part of a security crackdown on a radical Islamic sect, a senior immigration official said on Thursday.

Suspected members of the Boko Haram sect have been blamed for torching police stations and carrying out fatal sniper attacks on police officers and local officials in the remote northeast of Africa's most populous country.

Around 700 migrants from Niger, Cameroon and Chad have been expelled amid fears the sect may be drawing members from outside Nigeria, said Babayo Alkali, the top immigration official in Maiduguri, capital of the northeastern state of Borno.

Source: 234Next

9 comments:

Nigeria Jobs said...

I hope this will stop the Northern crisis.

Deported..U mean boko-Mallams abi Boko-hammers..?

Surprise said...

Good decision. These are the people that will be used to forment trouble during the time of election under the guise of fighting a holy war. A stitch in time saves nine.

DaChick! said...

Hmmm...Not sure about the deportation o...Hmmm

why were they chained and tortured,if it was a nigerian in a european country ,we will be shouting "human rights"

Which other Newspaper reported this, were they handed over to their respective governments. I do not believe that they have been truely deported. Immigration Officials should wake up, our boaders are so porous and un patroled. All u need to become a Nigerian is sneak into the country change ur name to a mohammed or musa and u can claim u re form any part of the country and u re accepted shikena!

THis is ridiculous. Yes deport, but the way the have these people are very inhuman. I say America, UK, South Africa, and even Ghana sef should wake up and deport all the Nigerians that come in illegally. We need to be able to accept what we do to other people.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

hmm.........as we whack reach we too dey follow deport. wow!

This is so ridiculous. You know how many Nigerians are in other countries? I just pray that they will be treated the same way we treat others. That will shake up some of the people who are saying that this is a good decision. Hypocrites!!!