Dr. Tunde Soleye's estranged wife, Funmilayo, begs court to dissolve her marriage, asks Nike Oshinowo to pay her N10m for marrying her husband | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 November 2010

Dr. Tunde Soleye's estranged wife, Funmilayo, begs court to dissolve her marriage, asks Nike Oshinowo to pay her N10m for marrying her husband

Nike and Tunde Soleye

The divorce proceedings between Dr. Tunde Soleye and his estranged wife, Dr. Funmilayo Soleye, which also includes former beauty queen, Nike Oshinowo came up last week at a lagos High Court.

Here's how Tolani Abatti of Encomium mag reported it...

Dr. Funmilayo Soleye, the estranged wife of Dr. Tunde Soleye, has said that her husband is a serial adulterer who throughout their 28 years of living together had sexual relationships with seven women, including Nike Oshinowo.
Mrs. Soleye in suit N0 LD/280WD/07, filed at Lagos High Court, Igbosere, Lagos Island, alleged that these illicit relationships between her husband and these women have caused her a lot of embarrassment, humiliation and emotional distress. In her words "Since the marriage, he has unscrupulously breached his marital vows and frequently committed adultery in the most scandalous manner with at least seven women. (She mentioned names, occupations of these women and when the affairs took place. It's published in Encomium but let's leave that out here). Three of these affairs produced three sons.
She added that she tolerated the affairs because of the emotional stability of the children of the marriage and in the hope that her husband would men his ways. But his affair with Nike Oshinowo was what gave her the impression that her husband was beyond redemption. It was then she asked for a divorce. Her husband refused to grant her divorce, instead he brought a nuptial agreement prepared by his lawyer to be signed by her, Nike and himself. She said she refused to sign the agreement and despite her advise against her husband marrying Nike, and if he must marry her, he must divorce her first, he still went ahead to do the introduction in January 2007.
Dr. Funmilayo alleged in her petition that while her husband was cavorting with his numerous mistresses, he completely and willfully abandoned his conjugal responsibilities for 10 years, despite the fact that they lived together under the same roof.
Now, because of all these allegations, she's asking the court to dissolve her marriage which was contracted in 1979 and produced 3 children. She's also asking for a lump sum of 250, 000 pounds and N75 million respectively. She wants the court to order her husband to give her the title documents of the property Mews, London. A flat at Gray's Inn rd for their first daughter. For her son, she wants the court to order her husband to pay a total sum of $276, 000 for his university education and maintenance. And more money to their second daughter. She also wants Nike Oshinowo to pay her N10million as damages for marrying her husband despite knowing full well that he was still married.
Dr Tunde Soleye in response to his wife's allegations of adultery, admitted having affairs with some of the women mentioned by his wife, but said it was at a time when the relationship between him and his wife had ended. He argued that at the time, it was his wife herself who stated that she would no longer sleep with him and he was therefore free to sleep with other women. He confirmed asking his wife to sign a tripartite nuptial agreement between himself and Nike Oshinowo but denied telling anybody that he intended having any wedding at all with Ms Oshinowo. He said what he told his wife was that he was going to be introduced to Ms Oshinowo's family and that he intended marrying her after their divorce. He denied that any introduction carried out by him to Oshinowo's family amount to a customary marriage. (So they are not married?) While admitting being very close to Nike, he denied even having any sexual intimacy with her. Therefore as far as he was concerned, he had no committed any adultery with her as being alleged by his wife.
He  agreed with his wife that he had not performed his conjugal responsibilities towards her for a very long time (according to him, 20 years) but denied deliberately doing that. According to him, it was his wife who had willfully refused him despite several attempts and demands from him. He said for this reason and the fact that he had not lived under the same roof with her since 1998, he also wants the marriage dissolved. He said that aside other reliefs that the court may grant, he is willing to give her the sum of N30m to enable her buy a residential property in Lagos and another N20m payment. he also said since all the children from the marriage were adults, there was no need to make any arrangement for them in the divorce settlement...
Wo, I don tire to type o jare, the report is too long...but y'all get the gist...
I know this is gossip, but they made their divorce public, so I guess it's fair game...:-)

59 comments:

CC said...

Personally I would have sued that Nike Osinowo for way more money. He's very mad saying he's not married to Nike, when he's introduced her publicly several times as his wife. Aunty Funmi you no try o, if I were you i'd sue for a WHOLE lot more. If he was having unprotected sex with so many women outside then I don't blame you for not sleeping with him, abeg AIDS is real

Chichi said...

As a single woman I look at this kind of scenario and marvel.

All other issues aside, Man has finished with one woman and replaced her with another abi???

They have been married for 28years sha, and like that Funmi go don turn to single mother? As single as me?

Maybe when their marriage got to a decade, they were appointed in their church marriage committee to advice all of us 'miserable single ladies' on how to be submissive, dont wear makeup, dont wear trousers etc so as to keep a man etc etc.

Not knowing wetin dey front TWENTY EIGHT YEARS SHA?

And Nike nko? after years of being addressed as miserable spinster. You know Nigeria na, she must have been receiving insults for being single and successful (in public eye) she is now the 'responsible' married one living with the man. (A public dog himself!)

It just goes to show exaclty how life is, all these married women who enjoy humiliating single ladies (and yes they do!)should use that energy to encourage singletons or at least use it to keep their marriage cus like magic, that single woman can be married to your husband, while you the self righteous woman will join the rank of 'miserable' single ladies.

LMAO

This is absolutely crazy!!

His wife definitely deserves a lot more for putting up wit his ass for all these years!
And the cheek, willing to pay peanuts when he should be pleased she decided not to take him to the cleaners!

I really dont understand these triflin men, at your age? And the woman he is messing with? Has she no respect for womanhood? If she thinks her pussy is made of Gold she needs to have a reconsideration cos that man is going to CHEAT ON YOU with 7 other hotter, beauty queens by the time they ACTUALLY get married.

Good riddance.

Please Ladies, we need to wisen up! These men think they can do whatever they like but we cant keep letting this happen!! Take charge of ur life-I know i will! x x

Nike Oshinowo, the whore trapped under the crown of a "former beauty queen". This chic cracks me the heck up everytime she tries to forcefuly exude class as well we all don't know how she prostituted herself to Lebanese men and government offiicals. Yeah she had to steal someone's husband otherwise, her chances of ever ever getting married were pretty imaginary, and nothing more. Stupid botox overdosed old hag!forty and Fit my left nut

This goes to forewarn all we married women and intending ones to be very careful when in marriage because you can never tell ur fate.You can imagine this man could have infected his wife with HIV due to his promiscuity because for sure he would have had far more flings than his MRS knows.And he is not remorse about it cause men feel it is normal to cheat on us,toil with our feelings at the same time.I can't imagine what is MRS must have gone thru all thes yrs.

Nollywood Forever said...

This man sounds scandalous. If what he is saying is true why didn't he get a divorce a long time ago and he is trying to get his wife to sign agreements with his mistress... CHIMOOO!

pls leave nike oshinowo out of this whole madness, the wife was never matured for marriage , i see her as a woman with very low self esteem, if she knows what goes on in other peoples home, she will stop disgracing herself, afterall can she swear she never had sex all this years

all ds dirty laundry....ha!

HoneyDame said...

Nawa for people o!!!!Talk about airing dirty linens outside!!He must think the readers are "dumb"..Like seriously?, two "un-virgin" grown adults in a long relationship without sexual intimacy?..Please tell that to a toddler!.Just maybe if we have divorce laws like in the US and UK, men will be a little more discreet in their indiscriminate and infidel ways,TA!

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

oh he doesn't want to give his real wife the money..now he's claiming he's not married to nike.

truth said...

This post should be titled "Rants from (another) useless Nigerian man".

I probably should just reserve my comment but hey....Nike Oshinowo's beauty is anything but skin deep.All the fakeness she exhibits just make me roll my eyes at this post. So i guess they are not married? or are they? but she bears his name abi?

o ga o said...

Why doesn't he want to pay school fees for his children? With his grey beard, he is acting like an irresponsible child haba! Shameless man.

Chima said...

why should Nike go ahead and marry the man considering Dr Soleye happened to be married to his wife.awahy won't single girls leave married men alone??Am amazed at how young girls frolics married men these days.They rent or buy landed properties/cars for these single girls at the expense of their wife.If i were a woman and finds out that my husband is a philanderer,i will stop sleeping with him.HIV is real!!!

i pity the man that will have to clean up this 20yrs of cobwebs...lol

naija men sha...i tire...Nike as fine as u reach u no fit find ur own husband...shame to u

Dlapikin said...

CC I'm with you on that one...

Is it Nike oshinowo she contracted marriage to or is she the one breaching the contract?

NINA said...

ALL THESE WOMEN THAT JUST SLEEP WITH ANYBODY ARE THEY BLIND...DOES IT MEAN ALL MEN ARE FAIR GAME??? WHY CANT WE WOMEN BE MORE CHOOSY?? MONEY OR NO MONEY AH AH!!!

Surprise said...

Please Dr. Funmie don't allow any woman to come and take over what you laboured for over the years. Give him a 2nd or as many chance as possible. Take a cue from Hilary Clinton. Live everything in the hands of God.

i really hope Nike pays that money. both she and the Dr Soleye himself. looking at that picture makes me feel like vomiting sef! mschewww

Men, after 5-10 years he may dump Oshinowo too. What goes round comes around.

While admitting being very close to Nike, he denied even having any sexual intimacy with her.

Is the man in the closet?
Or is this a case of Erectile Dysfunction?

Ade_Cool said...

"said since all the children from the marriage were adults, there was no need to make any arrangement for them in the divorce settlement..."

Ain't that typical of a Yoruba man to say that..and I'm Yoruba..honestly our elders are cut from a different cloth...This man is deluded..all thanks to viagra..Nike has found a real mugu!!..funny what a BJ can do to some of this stupid old men..

the place wey Nike tie the jazz on this man, walahi it is deep deep under the sea!

agbaya oshi.

Mena UkodoisReady said...

Nike is beautiful sha

skankmypeaceofmind said...

sweetheart..........KICK HIS ASS TO THE CURB and as for Nike.......he let her for you means he'll leave you for another and no JUJU go help you.

Abike said...

Women- we are our own worst enemies.

Esther said...

Marriage Marriage Marriage! the ceremonies are always sweet o,the truth is i am speechless at the sight of all these information

Linda, Nike already confirmed on Moments with Mo that she is not legally married to Dr Soleye and that they only did the traditional wedding.

I believe the one is entitled to her divorce and financial settlements so that he can go off and stay with Nike. Good luck to them all.

Olaotan, UK

nuella said...

you dont know the woman's own sins. it takes TWO to build and maintain a marriage. I'm not a proponent of divorce, so al i'll say is: MARRIAGE IS AFRIGGING BIG DEAL. u have to BE SURE that wen you say "for better or worse", it's going to be so.

Be wise and shine your eye.

And i like Nike... but dis? hmmm :)

nwanne said...

please chichi, you have just shown that you have a complex as a single woman.You dont need to

in my opinion , you are only humiliated if you allow it happen....what is this talk bout married women humiliating single ladies.

your post seems like you have an issue you like to vent, you make it out as if its a war between single vs married women meanwhile the issue is about a Philandering man who clearly has an issue with keeping to the vows he made before God and just cant keep it in his pants.

which church is that that tells you not to wear make up....in the bible did Esther not beautify herself before she met with her husband the King and the issue of submission is clearly in the bible.
all this information is in the bible so you choose to let them humiliate you by listening to all that and letting it affect your psyche as you have shown in this post!

Fomsky said...

Is it 10 years or 20 years? Dr Tunde said he hadn't performed his conjugal duties in about 20 yrs but Funmi says it's 10. Anyways, that's a really long time in my book! Did she have her own affairs?

Hello Linda my dear, it is sickening to see how how some of your readers can be so judgmental and quick to make conclusions....u all live Nike alone...none of u know what went wrong in that marriage or what the marriage was like...so live Nike alone....and that crazy ass Anon.who said don't let Nike take what u work for all these years...shows how Shallow and uneducated u r...I guess in Nigeria or Africa...Marriage is a Do or Die Affair...don't matter if u happy or not...or if u try and try but can't make it work...Wake up People

Teaser said...

I shall not comment on this.

And as for you Linda, I can't believeeeeeeee you typed all this. U get time ooh. Next time use your scanner or make a video of you reading it. A video of you reading juicy gossip about some woman messing with another woman's man would be fun. Linda, what do you think? Go on, make a video :)

Teaser said...

In my comment which I made earlier, I said I wasn't going to comment on this silly story, but I've just read the story again and I've changed my mind. Here we go... I mean here's my comment. You ready?

I stongly feel that Dr. Tunde Soleye should shave off his filthy looking Osama Bin Laden beard.

Kevin Obosi said...

@ADE COOL-Pls ditch tribal issues and state you point.I hate it when people bring this whole TRIBE/RACE into issues it really does my heading.
It shows your level.....nothing cool about it.

Wild Boy said...

heheheheh, i laugh on your behalf my people! ROFLMAO

Nigerian women go through hell in marriage, they tell not talk or air your dirty laudry when u are drying in pain. Nike is not to blame but the man, the man who can not take care of his children when buying houses and cars for girls. i will not sleep wit that thing for a millon bucks, even if his wife did anything he shuld not to be told to take care of his children. At chichi i agree wit u, they shuld have commtiee in church to teach men on hw to be a better husband and father. As a married woman i believe wen u say some married humiliate single girls, those married women are the ones their husbands sleep around they see u as a treat.

ada said...

Nigerian women go through hell in marriage, they tell not talk or air your dirty laudry when u are drying in pain. Nike is not to blame but the man, the man who can not take care of his children when buying houses and cars for girls. i will not sleep wit that thing for a millon bucks, even if his wife did anytning he shuld not to be told to take care of his children. At chichi i agree wit u, they shuld have commtiee u church to teach men on hw to be a better husband and father. As a married woman i believe wen u say some married humiliate single girls, those married women are the ones their husbands sleep around they see u as a treat.

@olotan UK
traditional marriage is recognized as legal in Nigerian legal system, so Nike saying she is not legally married to that douche bag makes absolutely no sense.

bottom line if he cheated on his wife with Nike he will definitely cheat on Nike with someone else

Ade_Cool said...

@Kevin Obosi

Pls..u don't know my level..u might be in denial like most typical Nigerians are but I'm talking from my side of the fence..the truth uncomfortable for you??
Anyways keep it moving..

Kevin Obosi said...

@ADE COOL:
Ain't that typical of a 'YORUBA MAN' to say that..and 'I"M YORUBA'..honestly our elders are cut from a different cloth...This man is deluded..all thanks to viagra..Nike has found a real mugu!!..funny what a BJ can do to some of this stupid old men..

Listen to yourself...

indeed she is estranged and also embattled, but i dont knw why she is asking Nike for money why is it Nike that she wants money from?what about the remaining 27women?haba!!!!28women when he is not Fela......
sad tale anywhich way , but why bring everything to the public?i wish them luck

Lady said...

@ Kevin Obosi - pls shut the fuck up! You listen to yourself - what tribal insinuation did he bring in? He was only trying to make a point.

If you want to comment on the topic - go ahead and do so and not criticizing someone else's comment - olodo!

doll (retired blogger) said...

this Dr. soleye sounds like a womanizer.but why attack Nike? abeg let the woman pick her bone with her hubby

Dr. Soleye is an unrepentant womanizer, chronic debtor, and a lier. He enjoys all these controversy. What is written here is just a tip of the iceberg, he is worse.What women see in him is beyond me, he is not even as rich as he portray himself. Ms. Nike left him in 2001 when she first realize is had no private jets, limos,etc. I wonder why she changed her mind, maybe desperation. With all these been said i still think they should resolve their issues privately not on the pages of magazines, at least for the sake of their children.

Chichi said...

Linda, pls where is my comment? If you published Nwanne insulting me, why arent you publishing my reply to nwanne?

abi u be nwanne? This is my comment!!!

@nwanne: Do not think you have a monopoly on insults.I can dish it out as well. Its obvious that when others were drinking from the fountain of knowledge, you merely sipped!

Else why will you concentrate your amebor energy on me and leave the topic itself? Or is your brain so empty you have nothing to say about the issue

Anumanu! Only you looked at my post as a 'war'. It is merely an opinion, and puhlease dont pretend you do not know what singles above 24 go through in Nigeria! Or maybe you are one of those married women whose husband is in every woman's except her bed. So in real terms you are neither really married nor single,frustrated, you zero in on this topic but stupidly concentrated on chichi. (yes IMO too!)

Its apparent that you were holding an umbrella when God was showering intelligence on earth.. Better go and order a stronger dose of 'uppers'. Useless woman.
LOL

Chichi said...

(Linda if you dont publish, I will start calling you nwanne, lmao!!! )

@ Ada: thanks for your reasonable comment. I agree that church leaders, parents even teachers should teach young men on how to be responsible fathers, nobody ever advices men, all the advice is on women and thats why this kind of scandal breaks.

Also women should take pride in themselves and stop tolerating shit from men. Its not worth it and your life and peace of mind is gone! You cant bring back those years! 10years of no sex?? And you call that a marriage? even some singles are more 'married'. LMAO!

But I understand, most women tolerate the shit that reduces their self esteem all bcos of what society will say, forgetting that the (selfish) man does not give a damn about society, As we can see 28yrs of marriage and she is back to being single and has the added bonus of bitterness. Him? he is happily with a younger sexier woman who seems to have full control of him for now sha (At least anywhere he moves to, Nike makes sure she is there with him)

I dont blame Nike one bit. She was single and someone courted her. She was not married was she? Didnt our society make single matured women look like possessed witches like less human? So of course she will jump on the available man, if just to stop the pressure!! Her hands are clean in this one oh, its the man that married her!

And your point about married women feeling threatened, nne thanks, I didnt even consider that.:)

Single women (from 24 and above or with a first degree) are under pressure in Nigeria whether from the church, or from social recreation sites where they are mocked 'at your age' even on this blog and in some articles, you see married women insulting single women. Linda herself has posted blogs about how people disturb her all because her younger sister is married.

People should live and let live, as life is so short, it could be you being single or childless or a widow (er) or ill or poorer tomorrow.

(Ada not you, your marriage shall remain intact and healthy, IJN! you just focus on the right person, *your husband* and please Be vigilant(like Nike. looool, just joking) and dont take any slacking from him!)

later xx

Ade_Cool said...

@Lady
Thank u o!..who knows one if not oneself..this behaviour seen enough times even within our own circles ..really well to do families suddenly the man sees some young thang loses his head and abandons the family...Lagos..US/UK is crawling with some of this really bitter kids however some have managed to amount to something in their lives..and for most of this men it's never a happy ending they end up begging the same kids to bail them out..what goes around...

@chichi, I agree with you. Some married ladies like humiliating some single ladies. They will say that "married women are better than single women as they are not married. So, they don't have nothing in common." Me, i take style dey avoid women that are married. Before they accuse one of trying to snatch their husbands from them, you never know, since those are their thoughts. I make sure I make my life interesting and have me several single friends; for that peace of mind, abi o.

nwanne said...

Linda why didnt you post Chichis comment

Chichi i cant join issues with you because your thick....who else rains abuses on someone then type LOL at the end!

Chichi said...

@ Nwanne gbeborun, are you still too dumb to post a comment on the topic athand that you now choose to stalk me? is the topic titled chichi! or are you one of those mumu/didirin people? Just asking#

@Anonymous 3.09pm

" married ladies like humiliating some single ladies. They will say that "married women are better than single women as they are not married "

Better person, so true! Yet one nwanne didirin is trying to insult my intelligence when my point is on Linda's topic which is that, all other issues aside, the tide of marital status can change so very quickly!
Even after 28 good years of marriage!!

@chichi dear, i completely agree with u and dats a beautiful piece there. statuses change and there are more than one million cases to prove dat. Need i say more!

ps: seems d woman's acting confused, she begs for divorce and at d same time asks for 10 million. which one she dey?

na wa o
people fighting for nothing. single ladies become married women then understand why single ladies can never be trusted
my dear, experience is d best teacher, the men r the enemies not the women whether single or married. when u find out ur hubby is cheating on u, u will be suspicious of his single female friends thats just how it goes.
women cant help it and some single ladies r out for the married men anyway. and most men cheat on their wives

I happen to know Tunde Soleye and Fumi Soleye formerly Doherty. While he was residing in Abuja, Tunde was practically housing girls who had cat fights over him, while Fumi worried her head about the children. I even remember stories about some of them doing juju to keep him lol!Government money was used as is Nigerian practice, to carry out his foolery. I can only say the marriage was over way before Nike.

ok, i am absolutely fed up with all these F.CK & GROW phenomenum in Nigeria. Look at this shameless anty Nike, what example is she setting for the future so-called beauty queens. Gold diggers, look back, and check out till the most recently married so called queens, they have all gold-dug. Abeg..make i rest

They both deserve each other. Has anyone ever come across this Nike?. She has no manners, very unsecured about herself, yet self centered. There is nothing beautiful about her, as beauty is from within. As yorubas says, omokomo tio ni eko. As for the Tunde he is definately lost, and Funmi should just move on with her life with the children. She does not need association with such low life people.